About the RCMP in Ontario

Our Motto "Maintiens le droit"

The adoption of a French motto, "Maintiens le droit" (defending the law), gave the badge a bilingual character from the very beginning. The exact origin of this motto, however, is not known. At first, the word "Maintiens" was spelled without the "s."

RCMP O Division has primary authority in federal law enforcement in Ontario.

Under the authority of the RCMP Act and RCMP Regulations (2014), the Federal Policing mandate is multi-faceted with law enforcement authorities provided under more than 260 Acts.

The broad Federal Policing mandate is to:

  • Enforce federal laws, secure Canada’s borders between ports of entry, collect criminal intelligence, and ensure the safety of critical infrastructure, internationally protected persons and other designated persons;
  • Investigate serious and organized crime, financial crime and criminal activity related to national security;
  • Conduct international law enforcement capacity-building, support Canadian international peace operations and advance domestic police operations through enhanced visibility, reach and influence abroad.

O Division resources are optimally placed for successful and efficient delivery of our operations and services, which are categorized into five distinct areas: Financial Crime, Serious and Organized Crime, Cybercrime, National Security, and Protective Policing.

Want to know more about our O Division Federal Policing Services?
Federal Policing Services

Our employees

The Commanding Officer, senior executive, administrative and support services for RCMP O Division operate from Headquarters located in London, Ontario.

O Division has a total of 1,524 full-time employees represented by 1,109 Regular Members (Police), 152 Civilian Members (CMs) and 259 Public Service employees (PSEs).

In addition, O Division employs 8 Reservists and 45 term and casual PSEs, for a grand total of 1,577 employees. (as of August 1, 2018)

For information about becoming an RCMP officer visit our Careers page.

Our civilian staff include support professionals, such as intelligence analysts, forensic specialists, information technology specialists, and other professionals. Visit Civilian Employee Careers page for more information.

Our operating environment

The O Division operating environment is large and diverse and identified by three geographical areas within Ontario: 

Greater Toronto Area (GTA)

Greater Toronto Area (GTA)

The Greater Toronto Area (“GTA”) covers approximately 30,000 square kilometres, encompassing all of the GTA census divisions and also includes Muskoka District Municipality, Dufferin, Haliburton, Peterborough and Simcoe Counties, and Kawartha Lakes Division.

Investigative teams travel throughout the GTA to conduct their policing operations, regardless of worksite.

RCMP worksites in the GTA are located at:

  • Toronto Airport (Etobicoke)
  • Toronto North (Newmarket)
  • Toronto West (Milton)

North East (NE) District

North East (NE) District
The North East District includes five Detachments in O Division. These detachments provide Federal policing services to an area that is approximately 841,000 square kilometers or about 94% of the total geographic area of Ontario.

RCMP worksites in the NE District are located at:

  • Cornwall
  • Kingston
  • Ottawa
  • Sault Ste. Marie
  • Thunder Bay

South West (SW) District

South West (SW) District
The South West District encompasses four RCMP detachments plus the Division Headquarters. This district represents 4.4% of Ontario’s land mass, or about 40,000 square kilometers. The district’s four detachments are some of the smallest Detachment Service Areas in O Division in terms of geographic area.

RCMP worksites in the NE District are located at:

  • Hamilton-Niagara Regional (Stoney Creek)
  • Kitchener
  • London
  • Windsor
  • Headquarters (London)

Need to contact a Detachment located in Ontario?
O Division Detachments

Early history

Post Office Building, 6 Charles St. E.
RCMP Offices, Floors 2 and 3
O Division HQ, 1921-1936

O Division came into existence in 1920 when the Force, which had the title “Royal North West Mounted Police” conferred on it by King Edward VII in 1904, was reorganized into Canada’s federal police force as the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The division covered Ontario west of a line between Haileybury in the north and Belleville in the south and consisted of six detachments located at such strategic points as Haileybury, Sault Ste. Marie, Niagara Falls, Windsor, Bridgeburg (now part of Fort Erie) and Sarnia, with a headquarters established in Toronto.


Date modified: