About the RCMP in the Northwest Territories

Although we are one of the smallest divisions in the RCMP, we are big in land mass at 1.17 million square kilometers of mountains, forests and tundra threaded by wild, clean rivers feeding thousands of pristine lakes. Over 40,000 people live amid this rugged natural beauty.

As a northern RCMP division, we attract many RCMP officers who come North to experience the adventure, cultures and traditions of the Territory.

The Northwest Territories (NWT) for the RCMP is divided into two districts (North & South) and Yellowknife City Detachment. In total there are currently 21 detachments in the NWT of which 11 are fly-in remote communities.

As your territorial law enforcement and community policing service, we at the RCMP "G" Division, take tremendous pride in protecting you. We respect our long standing relationships and value the new ones. Together in partnership, we continue to strive in making our Territory and our communities a safe one.

Date modified: