Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Emergency Response Team

Overview

Emergency Response TeamAn ERT is a group of highly-trained RCMP members capable of employing specialized weapons, equipment, and tactics to resolve extremely high-risk situations. The potentially violent and often dynamic nature of these incidents requires a highly integrated and coordinated tactical response. ERT members, in addition to possessing advanced tactical skills, must also possess the self-discipline to function effectively in physically and psychologically stressful environments for extended periods of time. ERT operations can take place on land or at sea, both within Canada or abroad.

No matter where in Canada an RCMP member works, he / she can be part of an ERT. There is a minimum of one (1) team in every province and territory to provide support to front-line police personnel. There are both part-time and full-time ERTs, and the program is composed entirely of volunteers. Some of the functions an ERT may be asked to perform include, but are not limited to:

  • Resolving incidents involving armed & barricaded persons;
  • Aircraft interventions;
  • Marine interventions (armed ship boarding);
  • High-risk searches & arrests;
  • VIP & witness protection duties;
  • Covert surveillance and intelligence gathering;
  • Rural tracking operations.

The mandate of the Emergency Response Team is to assist in the successful resolution of dangerous situations, thereby enhancing public safety and security. This is accomplished through teamwork, professionalism, advanced training and tactics.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Groupe tactique d'intervention

Vue d'ensemble

Groupe tactique d'interventionUn GTI est un groupe de membres de la GRC hautement formés qui ont la capacité d’utiliser des armes spécialisées, de l’équipement et des tactiques afin de résoudre des situations à risque élevé. La nature potentiellement violente et souvent dynamique de ces situations exige une réponse tactique hautement intégrée et coordonnée. En plus de posséder des habiletés tactiques supérieures, les membres du GTI doivent faire preuve d’auto-discipline afin de travailler efficacement dans des environnement physique et psychologique stressants durant des périodes prolongées. Les opérations du GTI peuvent avoir lieu sur terre ou sur mer, et au Canada ou à l’étranger.

Qu’importe l’endroit au Canada où un membre de la GRC travaille, il / elle peut faire partie du GTI. Il y a un minimum d’une (1) équipe dans chaque province et territoire afin d’offrir un support au personnel policier sur le terrain. Il y a des GTI à temps partiel et à temps plein et le programme est entièrement composée de volontaires. Les GTI peuvent, entre autres, être appelés à accomplir les tâches suivantes:

  • Résoudre des incidents impliquant des personnes armées et barricadées ;
  • Intervention aéroportuaire ;
  • Intervention maritime ;
  • Fouille et arrestation à risque élevé ;
  • Fonctions de protection de personnes de marque et de témoins ;
  • Surveillance secrète et cueillette d’information ;
  • Opérations de poursuite en milieu rural.

Le mandat du groupe tactique d’intervention est d’aider à la résolution positive de situations dangereuses et ainsi préserver la sécurité du public. Ceci est accompli grâce au travail d’équipe, au professionnalisme, à la formation poussée et aux tactiques enseignées.