Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Parent Help Sheet

Globally, young boys and girls are among those who have fallen victim to human trafficking. Canada is no exception. Our youth have also fallen victim to human trafficking and the trend is continuing. Police investigations have shown our youth have been primarily coerced or forced into prostitution. Forced prostitution is a form of human trafficking.

In order to help parents stay vigilant in keeping their children safe, the following child attitudes, behaviors and/or physical signs of abuse could be indicators that your child is being groomed for or already involved in forced prostitution.

Children could be at risk for involvement in forced prostitution if they demonstrate a number of the following attitudes, behaviours and/or signs of physical abuse:

Attitudes:

  • Withdraws from family and/or friends;
  • secretive and reserved with information about where they have been or with whom;
  • extreme mood swings ranging from withdrawn to angry outbursts to very happy;
  • angry, confrontational or abusive; and
  • protective of a new boyfriend/girlfriend or friend and provides little information when asked about the relationship.

Potential Behavioural Indicators:

  • Comes home later than usual for unexplained reasons;
  • binge eats or eats less, resulting in weight loss;
  • hangs around with new and different group of friends;
  • wears expensive clothing and/or jewelry he/she could not possibly afford to buy;
  • carries a cell phone or pager using blocked or private phone numbers;
  • carries condoms or other sexual aids; and
  • is secretive about Internet sites and contacts.

Physical Abuse Indicators:

  • Unexplained bruises, cuts and or broken bones;
  • black eye(s);
  • tattooing or branding symbols, particularly names tattooed on neck, arms and/or legs; and
  • cigarette burns on body.

Children who are trafficked for sexual exploitation in Canada are often exploited by pimps. A pimp is a person who makes money off a prostitute's earnings. Pimps are usually male, but can also be female, in which case they are referred to as "madams". They both often use violence and threats to control their victims. This may include sexual assaults, threats of violence, and/or physical abuse such as beating and tattooing/branding.

Often pimps will purport themselves as a loving boyfriend and shower their "girlfriends" with expensive gifts and romantic or expensive dates. This may include expensive jewelry, clothing, eating out at expensive restaurants, etc. Pimps will often give their "girlfriends" lots of compliments about their appearance and make them feel very comfortable. Pimps build trust with their victims by romancing and seducing them. This is all part of the recruitment and grooming stage, prior to forcing their victims into prostitution.

Keep in mind that the above listed indicators do not necessarily mean that your child is a victim of forced prostitution/human trafficking. Our help sheet is simply reminding parents that forced prostitution of young girls/boys by pimps/madams is a form of human trafficking in Canada.

If you need further assistance or have any questions or concerns please refer to the RCMP Human Trafficking National Coordination Centre (HTNCC) webpage, contact the RCMP HTNCC directly by telephone at 1-855-850-4640, or contact your local police.

Feuille d'information pour les parents

À l'échelle mondiale, les victimes de la traite de personnes comprennent de jeunes garçons et de jeunes filles. Le Canada n'échappe pas à cette réalité. Nos jeunes sont également victimes de la traite de personnes, et la tendance persiste. Des enquêtes policières ont démontré que nos jeunes sont essentiellement forcés à se prostituer. La prostitution forcée est une forme de traite de personnes.

Afin d'aider les parents à demeurer vigilants pour assurer la sécurité de leurs enfants, voici une liste d'attitudes, de comportements et de signes de violence physique chez un enfant qui peuvent indiquer qu'on prépare un enfant à se prostituer ou qu'il est déjà forcé à se prostituer. 

Les enfants qui démontrent un certain nombre des attitudes, des comportements et des signes de violence physique qui suivent pourraient être impliqués dans la prostitution forcée.

Attitudes

  • se tient loin de sa famille ou de ses amis;
  • en dit le moins possible sur les endroits qu'il fréquente et sur les personnes avec qui il se tient;
  • a des sautes d'humeur démesurées, qui vont du repli sur soi à un grand sentiment de bonheur, en passant par des accès de colère;
  • est en colère, agressif ou violent;
  • protège son nouveau petit ami/sa nouvelle petite amie ou un(e) nouvel(le) ami(e), et ne dit pas grand-chose lorsqu'on lui pose des questions sur la relation.

Indicateurs de comportement possibles

  • revient à la maison plus tard que d'habitude sans raison;
  • se lance dans une frénésie alimentaire ou mange moins que d'habitude, ce qui entraîne une perte de poids;
  • fréquente un nouveau groupe d'amis;
  • porte des bijoux ou des vêtements chers qu'il n'aurait pas les moyens de s'acheter;
  • a un téléphone cellulaire ou un téléavertisseur avec des numéros de téléphone bloqués ou privés;
  • a des condoms ou d'autres stimulants sexuels;
  • est très discret à l'égard des sites Internet qu'il visite et de ses contacts.

Signes de violence physique

  • coupures, fractures ou ecchymoses inexpliquées;
  • œil au beurre noir;
  • tatouages ou marques, en particulier des noms tatoués sur le cou, les bras ou les jambes;
  • brûlures de cigarette sur le corps.

Les enfants qui sont trafiqués à des fins d'exploitation sexuelle au Canada sont souvent sous l'emprise d'un  proxénète, c'est-à-dire d'une personne qui vit de la prostitution des autres. Les proxénètes ou les pimps, comme ils sont appelés dans le milieu, sont habituellement des hommes, mais il y a également des femmes, qui sont appelées des « madames ». Les proxénètes ont recours à la violence et aux menaces pour contrôler leurs victimes. Cela peut comprendre des agressions sexuelles, des menaces de violence ou des mauvais traitements, comme une volée de coups ou des tatouages/marques.

Souvent, les proxénètes se font passer pour des amoureux. Ils comblent leur « petite amie » de cadeaux coûteux et l'amène dans des endroits romantiques ou très chers. Il peut s'agir de bijoux ou de vêtements de grande valeur ainsi que de sorties dans des restaurants très chers. Les proxénètes font souvent beaucoup de compliments à leur « petite amie » au sujet de son apparence et font en sorte qu'elle se sente très bien dans sa peau. Les proxénètes gagnent la confiance de leurs victimes en leur faisant la cour et en les séduisant. Cela fait partie de l'étape du recrutement et de la préparation, après quoi ils forcent leurs victimes à se prostituer. 

N'oubliez pas que les indicateurs énumérés plus haut ne signifient pas nécessairement que votre enfant est victime  de prostitution forcée ou de la traite de personnes. Notre feuille d'information vise simplement à rappeler aux parents que la prostitution forcée de jeunes filles et de jeunes garçons par des proxénètes/madames  est une forme de traite de personnes au Canada.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide ou que vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, veuillez consulter la page Web du Centre national de coordination contre la traite de personnes (CNCTP) de la GRC, communiquer directement par téléphone avec le CNCTP au 1-855-850-4640 ou vous adresser à votre service de police local.   

Date de modification :