MADD Canada awards RCMP NL police officers for impaired driving enforcement

June 9, 2022
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

News release


Nine RCMP Officers stand on a stairwell outside the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary Lecture Hall.

Today, RCMP NL congratulates the six RCMP NL officers who were inducted into the Nick Coates Impaired Driving Team for 2022 by MADD Canada. They were honored by MADD Canada at a ceremony today.

Nick Coates' Team is a MADD program that recognizes dedicated police officers throughout Newfoundland and Labrador who diligently work to reduce the number of drivers on the road impaired by alcohol and/or drugs.

The team is named for Nicholas Coates, who was killed by an alcohol-impaired driver in 2013. While this initiative is named after Nick Coates, its purpose is to honour all survivors and victims of impaired driving.

"The fact that impaired driving continues to take lives and cause catastrophic injuries on the roadways of Newfoundland and Labrador is tragic and entirely preventable," said Assistant Commissioner Jennifer Ebert, Commanding Officer of RCMP NL. "I commend all the police officers recognized by MADD Canada for their diligence in combatting impaired driving and thank MADD for its important work and recognition of our police officers."

To be part of the Nick Coates' Team, an officer is required to have removed eight or more impaired drivers from the province's roadways from April 1, 2021, to March 31, 2022. The awards are classified into two categories: gold (12 or more impaired drivers) and silver (minimum of 8 impaired drivers).

Your RCMP NL 2022 recipients are:

Cst. Caleb Pellerin** - Stephenville - Gold

Cst. Raymond Whalen*** - Holyrood Traffic Services - Gold

Cst. Francis Turgeon*** - Happy Valley-Goose Bay Traffic Services - Gold

Cpl. Corey Goulding** - Bay Roberts - Silver

Cst. Caleb Brobbel* - Clarenville - Silver

Cst. John Marsh – Harbour Grace – Silver

*Police officers who are award winners for the second year in a row.

**Police officers who are award winners for the third year in a row.

*** Police officers who are award winners for the fourth year in a row.

RCMP NL recipients from 2020 and 2021 were also recognized at today's ceremony as the event was cancelled in 2020 and 2021 due to Covid-19. The list of award recipients for 2020 and 2021 are contained in the links below.

"Our police officers work tirelessly to keep roadways safe for all users and many have developed specialized skills in the detection of impaired drivers," said Staff Sergeant Roger Flynn, supervisor of RCMP NL Traffic Services. "Being recognized by MADD Canada is a great honour and reflects the importance of impaired driving enforcement in preventing deaths and serious injuries."



Contact information

Corporal Jolene Garland
Media Relations Officer

Date modified: