About Depot Division

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police Academy, Depot Division, is located in Regina, Saskatchewan. It is in Treaty 4 Territory, the original lands of the Nêhiyawak (Cree), Anihšināpēk (Saulteaux), Dakota, Lakota and Nakoda and the homeland of the Métis Nation.

We have been training members of our national police force since 1885, making us the oldest division in the RCMP.

From 1885 to 1920, Depot was the headquarters of the North West Mounted Police and then the Royal Northwest Mounted Police.

Cadet Training Program

Before becoming police officers, all RCMP cadets must complete the Cadet Training Program at the RCMP Academy.

National Law Enforcement Training

In addition to cadet training, we provide training to national and international law enforcement and regulatory agencies.

Police Dog Service Training Centre

The Police Dog Service Training Centre, located in Innisfail, Alberta, is also part of Depot Division. It is in Treaty 7 Territory, the traditional territories of the Blackfoot Nations, including Siksika, Piikani and Kainai, the Tsuut’ina Nation and Stoney Nakoda First Nations.

This world-renowned centre prepares teams of police service dogs and their handlers for various duties across Canada.

The Centre also breeds and rears all dogs used in the RCMP.

Date modified: