Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Drug Recognition Expert Evaluations

When a police officer suspects that a person is impaired by alcohol and or drugs, he or she will conduct a series of tests to determine if there are probable grounds to conduct further testing. A police officer may use a divided attention test battery known as the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests or SFSTs. This series of tests has undergone a number of field validation studies in the United States and Canada that have shown it produces accurate indicators of a blood alcohol level of 80mg% (.08) or greater. In addition, the tests do show impairment that can be caused by other things such as prescription or illicit drugs. The SFST test battery consists of examining eyes, the Walk and Turn test and One Leg Stand test.

The evaluation of a suspected drug impaired driver is conducted by an evaluator who is accredited by the International Association of Chiefs of Police, through the RCMP. The Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) uses a 12-step procedure in performing the evaluation. These steps are:

  1. Breath test to rule out alcohol as the primary cause of impairment
  2. Interview of the arresting officer
  3. Preliminary examination (includes the first of three pulse checks)
  4. Eye examinations (Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus, Vertical Gaze Nystagmus and the ability of the eyes to converge)
    A man follows a pen with his eyes A man follows a pen with his eyes
  5. Divided attention tests (SFSTs plus finger to nose and Modified Romberg balance test)
    A man walking heel-to-toe A man with his eyes closed touches his nose with his index finger
  6. Clinical indicators examinations (blood pressure, temperature, second pulse)
    Close-up of an arm getting blood pressure taken
  7. Darkroom examination of pupil sizes (also includes examination of nasal and oral cavities)
    A police officer checks a man's pupil size
A police officer checks a man's pupil size
  8. Muscle tone examinations
  9. Search for and examination of injection sites
    A police officer uses a magnifying glass with a light to check for injection sites
  10. Statements and interview of the suspect
  11. Opinion of the DRE
    Based on the totality of the evaluation, the DRE forms an opinion as to whether or not the subject is impaired. If the DRE determines that the subject is impaired, the DRE will indicate what category or categories of drugs may have contributed to the subject's impairment. The DRE bases these conclusions on his training and experience and the DRE Drug Symptomatology Matrix. While DREs use the drug matrix, they also rely heavily on their general training and experience.
  12. Toxicological sample (urine and oral fluid or blood)
    After the evaluation, the toxicological sample is sent to a forensic laboratory for analyses to confirm or refute the findings of the evaluator. The mere presence of a drug in the sample does not constitute sufficient evidence to charge a person as being impaired by a drug. The evaluation must show impairment, signs and symptoms consistent with one or more drug categories, and the evaluator's findings must be supported by the toxicology.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Évaluation de l'expert en reconnaissance de drogues (ERD)

Lorsqu'un policier soupçonne un conducteur d'avoir les facultés affaiblies par l'alcool ou par une drogue, il procédera à une série de tests afin de déterminer s'il a des motifs probables pour procéder à des tests plus poussés. Le policier peut avoir recours à divers tests d'attention divisée appelés tests de sobriété normalisés. Plusieurs études de validation sur le terrain ont été menées aux États-Unis et au Canada et ont démontré que les tests pouvaient déceler un taux de 80 mg d'alcool par 100 ml de sang (.08) ou supérieur. En outre, les tests révèlent l'affaiblissement des facultés par d'autres causes possibles, comme les médicaments ou les drogues. Le test du nystagmus horizontal, l'épreuve consistant à marcher et à tourner et l'épreuve d'équilibre sur un pied font partie de la batterie de tests de sobriété normalisés.

L'évaluation de la personne soupçonnée de facultés affaiblies par la drogue est effectuée par un évaluateur agréé par l'Association internationale des chefs de police. L'expert en reconnaissance de drogues recourt à une procédure composée des douze étapes suivantes :

  1. Épreuve respiratoire visant à éliminer l'alcool comme cause principale des facultés affaiblies
  2. Entrevue de l'agent procédant à l'arrestation
  3. Examen préliminaire (qui comprend la première des trois prises du pouls)
  4. Yeux (test du nystagmus horizontal, du nystagmus vertical et de convergence)
    Un homme suit un stylo avec ses yeux Un homme suit un stylo avec ses yeux
  5. Tests d'attention divisée (TSN, épreuve doigt-nez et épreuve de Romberg)
    Un homme marche du talon aux orteils Un homme avec les yeux fermés touche son nez avec son index
  6. Signes vitaux (pression artérielle, température et deuxième prise du pouls)
    Gros plan d'un bras durant la prise de la pression artérielle
  7. Dilatation des pupilles dans l'obscurité et examen des cavités buccale et nasales
    Un policier vérifie la taille de la pupille d'un homme Un policier vérifie la taille de la pupille d'un homme
  8. Tonus musculaire
  9. Vérification des points d'injection
    Un policier utilise une loupe avec une lumière pour vérifier les sites d'injection
  10. Déclarations et entrevue du suspect
  11. Opinion de l'ERD
    En fonction de l'ensemble de l'évaluation, l'ERD émet une opinion sur l'affaiblissement ou non des facultés du sujet. Si l'ERD estime que le sujet a les facultés affaiblies, il indiquera quelles catégories de drogues ont selon lui contribué à l'état du sujet. L'ERD assoit ses conclusions sur sa formation et sur son expérience ainsi que sur la matrice de symptomatologie des drogues de l'ERD. Bien que l'ERD utilise la matrice, il se fie aussi beaucoup à sa formation et à son expérience.
  12. Échantillon toxicologique (urine, salive ou sang)
    L'échantillon toxicologique est envoyé à un laboratoire judiciaire pour analyse afin de confirmer ou de réfuter les constatations de l'évaluateur. La présence de drogue dans l'échantillon ne constitue pas à elle seule un élément de preuve permettant de porter contre une personne des accusations de facultés affaiblies par la drogue. L'évaluation doit démontrer que les facultés sont affaiblies, les indices doivent correspondre à une ou plusieurs catégories de drogues et les constatations de l'évaluateur doivent être corroborées par l'analyse toxicologique.