Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Truth Verification

Truth verification techniques assist investigators in determining the veracity of subjects including complainants, victims, witnesses, persons of interest, suspects and charged or accused persons. Although the opinion of the truth verification specialist is not intended for court purposes, the service provides focus to investigations.

The polygraph instrument is a device designed to detect and record physiological functions of the body, such as pulse rate, increase and decrease in blood pressure, respiration rate and change in sweat gland activity. Changes in physiological functions occur involuntarily as a response to a stressful activity. By continuously monitoring body responses, any changes that occur as a response to questioning can be observed. Under controlled conditions, a polygraphist can evaluate physiological changes that determine if they are consistent with truthfulness or attempted deception.

Statement analysis is a scientific approach that combines many disciplines including linguistics, psychology, sociology, criminology and psychiatry to form a systematic method of analyzing speech patterns to determine if statements originated in memory or imagination. The method presents an effective method for obtaining information and detecting deception strictly by means of verbal communication, oral or written. A statement analyst is able to identify areas of truthfulness, deception, sensitivity and withheld information. Since most subjects do not attempt to lie directly, they simply edit or withhold information, most frequently the scope of the search is for what the subject did not say as opposed to actual deception.

Forensic hypnosis is useful in eliciting information from a complainant, victim or witness. Hypnosis is intended to enhance memory recall and not to establish the truth. Since subjects can confabulate during a hypnotic session, the accuracy of all information obtained through hypnosis must be verified and/or corroborated through careful investigation. Hypnosis is not used in relation to suspects or accused/charged persons for the noted reasons.

Voice stress analysis is currently utilized in evaluation and research applications only. It focuses on tiny frequency modulations called micro tremors in the human voice. A deceptive subject's autonomic or involuntary nervous system causes an audible increase in the micro tremor frequency. The analyzer detects, measures, quantifies and displays the micro tremors, allowing an evaluation of the subjects overall honesty.

Requesting Truth Verification services

Canadian and international police services can contact the RCMP to request the services of a Truth Verification analyst. These services are limited to our policing partners.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Contrôle de la sincérité

Grâce aux techniques de Contrôle de la sincérité , les enquêteurs sont à même de déterminer la sincérité de différents sujets, dont des plaignants, des victimes, des témoins, des personnes d'intérêt, des suspects, des prévenus et des accusés. Si l'opinion du spécialiste en la matière n'est pas destinée à être présentée au tribunal, le service qu'il offre permet cependant d'orienter les enquêtes.

Le polygraphe est un instrument conçu pour détecter et enregistrer les fonctions physiologiques du corps, telles que le pouls, les hausses et les baisses de tension artérielle, le rythme respiratoire et les fluctuations dans l'activité des glandes sudoripares. Les changements dans les fonctions physiologiques surviennent de façon involontaire en réponse à une activité stressante. En contrôlant continuellement les réactions physiologiques, on peut observer les changements qui surviennent durant un interrogatoire. Dans des conditions contrôlées, le polygraphiste est en mesure de relever les changements physiologiques traduisant la sincérité ou la tentative de tromperie.

L'analyse de déclaration est une méthode scientifique alliant les principes de la linguistique, de la psychologie, de la sociologie, de la criminologie et de la psychiatrie pour analyser les formes d'expression afin de déterminer si les déclarations sont issues de la mémoire ou de l'imagination. C'est un moyen efficace d'obtenir des renseignements et de déceler toute tentative de fabrication par le seul mode de l'expression verbale ou écrite. Un analyste de déclaration est en mesure de cerner les éléments de sincérité, de fabrication, de sensibilité ou de retenue chez une personne. La plupart des sujets ne tentent pas de mentir directement, mais ils censurent ou retiennent de l'information; par conséquent, il s'agit davantage de déterminer ce que le sujet ne dit pas plutôt que de chercher à relever les éléments de mensonge.

L'analyse de la tension vocale est réservée à l'heure actuelle à l'évaluation et à la recherche. Elle a pour objet les infimes modulations de fréquence de la voix appelées micro-tremblements. Le système nerveux autonome d'un sujet qui ment provoque une hausse audible de la fréquence des micro-tremblements. L'analyste détecte, mesure, quantifie et affiche les micro-tremblements, de façon à évaluer l'honnêteté globale du sujet.

Demander des services de Contrôle de la sincérité

Les services de police canadiens et internationaux peuvent communiquer avec la GRC pour demander les services d'un analyste de Contrôle de la sincérité. Ces services sont réservés à nos partenaires du maintien de l'ordre.