Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Police Services (NPS)

The RCMP is the steward of the cluster of programs known as the National Police Services (NPS), created following the Federal/Provincial Conference on Organized Crime in 1966. During the Conference, the Federal Government committed to providing a range of services to the policing and the criminal justice communities free of charge. The service lines created then were the Canadian Police Information Centre, Criminal Intelligence Service Canada, Fraudulent Cheques, Criminal History / Fingerprint Repository, Forensic Laboratory Services, and the Canadian Police College.

Approximately 70 percent of NPS clients are external to the RCMP. In many instances, the RCMP is the sole provider of these specialized police support services. NPS has grown significantly over the years and currently includes:

As well, a number of advisory bodies assist NPS programs by offering strategic and tactical advice and guidance, such as the NPS Advisory Council, the CPIC Advisory Committee and the National DNA Data Bank Advisory Committee.

Since 1990, NPS has been the subject of several studies and reviews. The Office of the Auditor General tabled reports in 1990, 2000 and 2011 identifying the need to review the mandate of NPS as well as to determine what changes in governance, service delivery, funding and stakeholder engagement would be required to ensure the needs of the law enforcement and criminal justice communities are met, today and in the future.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Services nationaux de police (SNP)

La GRC assume la gestion du groupe de programmes connu sous le nom de Services nationaux de police (SNP), créés à la suite de la Conférence fédérale-provinciale sur le crime organisé en 1966. Lors de cette conférence, le gouvernement fédéral s'est engagé à fournir gratuitement des services variés aux organismes policiers et de justice pénale. À cette époque, on a créé les secteurs de service que sont le Centre d'information de la police canadienne (CIPC), le Service canadien de renseignements criminels (SCRC), la Section des chèques frauduleux, le Dépôt d'empreintes digitales et d'information sur les casiers judiciaires, les Services de laboratoire judiciaire et le Collège canadien de police.

Environ 70 % des clients des SNP se trouvent à l'extérieur de la GRC. Dans de nombreux cas, la GRC constitue l'unique fournisseur de services spécialisés de soutien à la police. Les SNP ont connu une forte croissance au fil des ans et ils se composent maintenant des secteurs de service suivants :

De plus, quantité d'organes de consultation donnent des directives et des conseils stratégiques et tactiques aux programmes des SNP. Il s'agit du Conseil consultatif des SNP, du Comité consultatif du CIPC et du Comité consultatif de la Banque nationale de données génétiques.

Depuis 1990, les SNP ont fait l'objet de plusieurs études et examens. Le Bureau du vérificateur général a déposé des rapports en 1990, 2000 et 2011 qui faisaient ressortir la nécessité de revoir le mandat des SNP et de déterminer les changements à apporter sur le plan de la gouvernance, de la prestation de services, du financement et de l'engagement des intervenants afin de s'assurer de répondre aux besoins des organismes d'application de la loi et de justice pénale, dans l'immédiat et dans l'avenir.