Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Police Services (NPS) Advisory Committee

The National Police Services (NPS) Advisory Committee provides strategic advice to the Commissioner of the RCMP and to F/P/T ADMs-Policing Issues through the Deputy Commissioner, Specialized Policing Services. The committee is made up of senior policing officials representing provinces and territories. 

The mandate of the NPS NAC is to:

  • review the NPS mandate and provide recommendations to ADM-PI and the Commissioner of the RCMP as it pertains to its relevancy and alignment with the NPS user community's needs;
  • recommend strategic priorities for the Commissioner and ADM-PI's consideration regarding the services to be maintained and delivered to the NPS community, as well as to how these services are to be delivered;
  • support the exchange of information across the law enforcement community about NPS and its challenges, to ensure all stakeholders have opportunity to influence the NPS strategic direction; and generally, support the integrity, accessibility, viability and sustained delivery of national police services.

Current membership of the NPS Advisory Committee:

  • Chief Constable David Jones, New Westminster, BC
  • Assistant Commissioner Norm Lipinski, BC
  • Assistant Commissioner Marlin Degrand, Edmonton, AB
  • Chief Rod Knecht, Edmonton, AB - (Co-Chair)
  • Chief Troy Cooper, Prince Albert, SK
  • Chief Ian Grant, Brandon, MB
  • Chief Steven Tanner, Halton, ON
  • Deputy Commissioner Gary J. Couture, ON
  • Deputy Chief Patrick Lamarre, Montreal, QC
  • Deputy Chief Andre Goulet, Sureté du Québec
  • Chief Stephen McIntyre, Rothesay, NB (Atlantic representative)
  • Deputy Chief Lloyd MacCormack, Cape Breton, NS
  • Deputy Chief William Janes, NL and Labrador
  • Chief Superintendent Peter Clark, Territories
  • Deputy Commissioner Peter Henschel (Chair)