Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

What is Organized Crime?

Canadian Definition

Within Canadian law enforcement, a legal definition for organized crime has only existed since the late 1990's following the enactment of Bill C-95. Amendments to this area of the Criminal Code have led to the present legal definition found within section 467.1(1) of the Criminal Code of Canada , which states a "criminal organization" means a group, however organized, that:

(a) is composed of three or more persons in or outside Canada; and,
(b) has as one of its main purposes or main activities the facilitation or commission of one or more serious offences, that, if committed, would likely result in the direct or indirect receipt of a material benefit, including a financial benefit, by the group or by any one of the persons who constitute the group.

The various components that comprise this legal definition are based on the exclusion of a group of three of more persons that has formed randomly for the immediate commission of a single offence.

International Definition

Globally, a consensus on a definition for organized crime was reached in 2002. The UN Convention on Transnational Organized Crime , Article 2 defines "organized criminal group" as follows: a group having at least three members, taking some action in concert (i.e., together or in some co-ordinated manner) for the purpose of committing a ‘serious crime’ and for the purpose of obtaining a financial or other benefit. The group must have some internal organization or structure, and exist for some period of time before or after the actual commission of the offence(s) involved.

Most of the major international organized crime groups are active within Canada. These groups include: Asian, Eastern European, Italian, Latin American organizations, outlaw motorcycle gangs, and a variety of domestic groups.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Quest-ce que le crime organis?

Définition canadienne

La communauté canadienne de l’application de la loi ne dispose d’une définition légale du crime organisé que depuis la fin des années 1990, après l’adoption du projet de loi C-95. Ainsi, le paragraphe 467.1(1) du Code criminel stipule qu’une « organisation criminelle » est un groupe, quel qu’en soit le mode d’organisation :

a) composé d’au moins trois personnes se trouvant au Canada ou à l’étranger;
b) dont un des objets principaux ou une des activités principales est de commettre ou de faciliter une ou plusieurs infractions graves qui, si elles étaient commises, pourraient lui procurer – ou procurer à une personne qui en fait partie – , directement ou indirectement, un avantage matériel, notamment financier.

Cette définition ne vise pas les groupes d’individus formés au hasard pour la perpétration immédiate d’une seule infraction.

Définition internationale

À l’échelle mondiale, on s’est entendu sur une définition du crime organisé en 2002. L’article 2 de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la criminalité transnationale organisée stipule que l’expression « groupe criminel organisé » désigne un groupe structuré de trois personnes ou plus existant depuis un certain temps et agissant de concert dans le but de commettre une ou plusieurs infractions graves pour en tirer, directement ou indirectement, un avantage financier ou un autre avantage matériel.

La plupart des principaux groupes criminalisés internationaux sont actifs au Canada. Ces groupes sont notamment de souche asiatique, est-européenne, italienne et latino-américaine, et englobent aussi les bandes de motards criminalisés et divers groupes canadiens.