Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Integrated National Security Enforcement Teams

National Security requires an integrated approach to ensure early detection and prevention of any potential threats to Canada and the public. The importance of greater integration of resources and intelligence has been heightened by the reality of terrorism for many countries, including Canada.

The RCMP has refocused its National Security Investigations Sections (NSIS) to become Integrated National Security Enforcement Teams (INSETs) in major centres throughout the country. The purpose for this is to increase the capacity for the collection, sharing and analysis of intelligence among partners with respect to individuals and entities that are a threat to national security and; create an enhanced investigative capacity to bring such individuals and entities to justice; and enhance partner agencies collective ability to combat national security threats and meet all specific mandate responsibilities, consistent with the laws of Canada and the Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

INSETs are made up of representatives of the RCMP, federal partners and agencies such as Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), and provincial and municipal police services. In addition to the newest one in Alberta, with offices in Edmonton/Calgary, INSETs exist in Vancouver, Toronto, Ottawa and Montreal.

Through shared federal, provincial and municipal resources - INSET members are better able to track, deter, disrupt and prevent criminal activities (major or minor offences) of terrorist groups or individuals who pose a threat to Canada's national security. This type of increased capacity enables INSET members to work with their partners nationally and internationally.

The mandate of INSETs is to:

  1. Increase the capacity to collect, share and analyze intelligence among partners, with respect to targets (individuals) that are threat to national security.
  2. To create an enhanced enforcement capacity to bring such targets to justice.
  3. Enhance partner agencies' collective ability to combat national security threats and meet specific mandate responsibilities.

See also:

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

quipes intgres de la scurit nationale

La sécurité nationale nécessite une intervention intégrée afin de déceler et de contrer rapidement toute menace à la sécurité nationale et publique. Pour de nombreux pays, y compris le Canada, la réalité du terrorisme a fait ressortir l'importance d'accroître l'intégration des ressources et l'échange de renseignements.

La GRC a remanié ses sections des enquêtes relatives à la sécurité nationale (SESN) afin de créer des Équipes intégrées de la sécurité nationale (EISN) dans les grandes villes à l'échelle du pays. Cette initiative a pour but d'accroître la capacité de collecte, d'échange et d'analyse des renseignements parmi les partenaires concernant des individus et des entités qui menacent la sécurité nationale, d'améliorer la capacité d'enquête afin de traduire ces individus et entités en justice et d'accroître la capacité des organismes partenaires de contrer les menaces à la sécurité nationale et de remplir toutes les responsabilités propres au mandat, conformément aux lois du Canada et à la Charte des droits et libertés.

Les EISN comptent des représentants de la GRC ainsi que de partenaires et organismes fédéraux comme l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) et des services de police provinciaux et municipaux. En plus de la nouvelle EISN en Alberta avec des bureaux à Edmonton et Calgary, les EISN sont situées à Vancouver, Toronto, Ottawa et Montréal.

Grâce à la mise en commun des ressources fédérales, provinciales et municipales, les membres des EISN sont en mesure de mieux cibler et contrer l'activité criminelle (infractions majeures ou mineures) des groupes terroristes ou des individus qui menacent la sécurité nationale du Canada. Cette capacité accrue permettra aux membres de l'EISN de travailler avec leurs partenaires nationaux et internationaux.

Mandat des EISN :

  1. Accroître la capacité des partenaires de recueillir, d'échanger et d'analyser des renseignements concernant des cibles (individus) qui menacent la sécurité nationale.
  2. Accroître la capacité de la police de traduire ces cibles en justice.
  3. Améliorer la capacité collective des organismes partenaires de contrer les menaces à la sécurité nationale et de s'acquitter des responsabilités spécifiques prévues par le mandat.

Voir aussi: