Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Investment and Securities Fraud

Investment and securities (or stock market) fraud encompasses a variety of illicit activities and strategies, which generally include the deception of investors or the misrepresentation by capital market participants.

Ponzi Schemes

This type of scheme is named after Charles Ponzi who became notorious for using the technique in early 1920. A Ponzi scheme is an investment fraud that promises high financial returns or dividends that are not available through traditional investments. Unknown to the investors, returns are paid from their own money or money paid by subsequent investors rather than from profit. This provides an appearance of legitimacy.

In a Ponzi scheme, there is no legitimate investment. The scheme generally falls apart when either the operator flees with all of the proceeds, a sufficient number of new investors cannot be found to allow the continued payment of the promised returns, or the scheme is discovered by authorities.

Two recent Ponzi schemes include the Earl Jones case in Montreal and Bernard Madoff in the USA.

Another form of a Ponzi scheme is a called a Pyramid or Multi-Level Marketing Scheme. In this scheme, participants earn money not by the sale of any product but by recruiting new participants to pay money to join the program.

Insider Trading

Most laws allow individuals to lawfully trade in the securities of the corporations with which they are considered an insider. Unlawful insider trading though occurs when privileged, non-public, material information is used to buy or sell a security.

Tipping refers to an insider disclosing privileged, non-public, material information to someone else (ie. a family member, friend or other 3rd party). The person receiving this information is then considered an insider.

A recent case of unlawful insider trading in Canada saw Stanko Grmovsek plead guilty and was sentenced to 39 months in prison in early 2010. Also, several years ago in the United States, Martha Stewart was found guilty of insider trading and served time in prison.

Illegal Distribution

In the 2009 Enforcement Report recently released by the Canadian Securities Administrators, an illegal distribution is characterized as:

“a sale of securities to investors that does not comply with securities law trading and disclosure requirements.

A prospectus is a document that describes the investment and the associated risks to the investor. Registration with regulators is required of anyone in the business of advising or trading in securities, unless certain exemptions are provided.

In cases of illegal distribution, investors are often promised guaranteed or unrealistic returns on an investment. Illegal distributions of securities sometimes involve Ponzi schemes. These fraudulent schemes pay returns to initial investors from funds provided by subsequent investors. The schemes eventually collapse because there is usually no underlying asset and the perpetrator is ultimately unable to make payments to investors.

Illegal distributions can also involve affinity fraud, a common type of investment scam that targets members of identifiable groups, such as religious or ethnic communities, the elderly, or professional groups. The fraudsters who promote affinity scams frequently are - or pretend to be - members of the group, whereby they exploit the trust and friendship that exist in a shared community.”

Registrant misconduct (including brokers and investment advisors)

The Canadian Securities Administrators define a capital market registrant as:

“any person or company in the business of advising or trading in securities in Canada must be registered under the securities laws of each Canadian jurisdiction in which they conduct this activity, unless an exemption is provided in legislation or by order from the securities regulators. Misconduct by registrants occurs when a registered person or company violates securities laws. It is also misconduct to fail to register when required to do so, or to fail to adhere to the conditions of a registration exemption.”

Market Manipulation

As defined by the Canadian Securities Administrators in their 2009 Enforcement Report

“market manipulation involves efforts to artificially increase or decrease a company’s share price. Examples of market manipulation include pump and dump schemes, high closing activities and volume manipulation.”

Other investment and stock market related fraud

Please see Canadian Securities Administrators Avoiding Fraud web page for more information on these and other types of investment and stock market fraud:

  • Affinity Fraud
  • Boiler Rooms
  • Pump and Dump
  • Exempt Securities Scams
  • Forex Scam
  • Investment seminar scam
  • Offshore investment scam
  • Retirement account scam
  • Spam e-mail
Protect Yourself

Want more information? Inform yourself on your money and your investments. The Canadian Securities Administrators and their provincial and territorial partners have put together a wide range of investor tools, including the "Protect your money: Avoiding frauds and scams" guide you can access and use free of charge by following this link: CSA Investor Tools.  

You can also visit the federal Competition Bureau's Fraud Prevention web site for useful initiatives, resources and other important information.

What do you do if you feel you have been a victim of stock market or securities fraud or scam? What should you do? Who should you contact? Follow this link on reporting scams and frauds: Reporting Scams and Frauds.

To read Adobe Acrobat (PDF) files, you may need to download and install the free Adobe Reader available from Adobe Systems Incorporated.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Fraude en matire dinvestissements et en valeurs mobilires

Il englobe tout un éventail d'activités et de stratagèmes illicites qui consistent généralement, pour des participants aux marchés financiers, à flouer des investisseurs ou à véhiculer de l'information trompeuse.

Combines à la Ponzi

Ce type de combine est nommé d'après Charles Ponzi, qui est devenu tristement célèbre pour l'avoir employé au début des années 1920. Le stratagème consiste à promettre un rendement ou des dividendes beaucoup plus élevés que ceux des investissements traditionnels – sans toutefois mentionner à l'investisseur que le « rendement » vient en fait de son propre argent, ou de celui des investisseurs arnaqués après lui. Ainsi, la légitimité est illusoire.

Une combine à la Ponzi ne met en jeu aucun investissement légitime. Elle finit généralement par s'effondrer soit quand les fraudeurs s'enfuient avec l'argent, soit quand ils n'arrivent plus à trouver assez d'investisseurs pour verser les sommes promises, soit quand les autorités découvrent le pot aux roses.

Les affaires Earl Jones (Montréal) et Bernard Madoff (États-Unis) sont deux exemples récents de combines à la Ponzi.

L'opération pyramidale, aussi appelée commercialisation à paliers multiples, est une variante de combine à la Ponzi dans laquelle les participants s'enrichissent non pas en vendant un produit, mais en recrutant de nouveaux participants et en leur faisant payer des frais d'adhésion.

Délits d'initiés

La plupart des systèmes juridiques autorisent les investisseurs à faire le commerce des valeurs mobilières d'entreprises sur lesquelles ils détiennent des renseignements privilégiés. En revanche, on parle de délit d'initié lorsqu'une personne utilise un renseignement privilégié, concret et non connu du public pour acheter ou vendre des valeurs mobilières.

Un tuyau est un renseignement privilégié, concret et non connu du public divulgué à un parent, à un ami ou à une autre personne qui, de ce fait, devient un initié.

Début 2010, au Canada, Stanko Grmovsek a été condamné à 39 mois de prison après avoir plaidé coupable à des accusations de délit d'initié. De même, il y a quelques années aux États-Unis,  Martha Stewart a été condamnée pour délit d'initié, et elle a dû purger une peine de prison.

Placements illégaux

Selon le rapport 2009 des Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières sur l’application de la loi, les placements illégaux se définissent comme suit :

« […] vente de titres à des investisseurs qui n’est pas conforme aux obligations prévues par les lois sur les valeurs mobilières en matière de commerce de valeurs et de communication d’information.

Le prospectus est un document qui décrit le placement et les risques auxquels l’investisseur s’expose. À certaines exceptions près, l’inscription auprès des autorités en valeurs mobilières est obligatoire pour exercer l’activité de conseiller ou de courtier en valeurs mobilières.

Dans un placement illégal, les investisseurs se voient souvent promettre des rendements garantis ou irréalistes. Il s’agit parfois de stratagèmes de type Ponzi, dans lesquels les rendements versés aux investisseurs initiaux sont prélevés sur les capitaux des investisseurs subséquents. Ces stratagèmes finissent par s’effondrer parce qu’il n’y a généralement aucun actif sous-jacent et que le fraudeur n’est plus en mesure de faire les versements.

Les placements illégaux peuvent aussi résulter d’une fraude par affinité, stratagème courant qui vise les membres de groupes particuliers, comme les communautés religieuses ou ethniques, les personnes âgées ou les groupes professionnels. Dans ces cas, les fraudeurs sont souvent membres du groupe en question ou prétendent l’être, ce qui leur permet d’abuser de la confiance des autres membres ou des liens qu’ils peuvent avoir tissés avec eux. »
 

Manquements commis par des personnes inscrites (courtiers, conseillers en investissements, etc.)

Voici ce que les Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières disent des personnes inscrites :

« Les personnes et les sociétés qui exercent l’activité de conseiller ou de courtier en valeurs mobilières au Canada doivent s’inscrire en vertu de la loi sur les valeurs mobilières de la province ou du territoire où elles exercent, sauf si elles sont dispensées de cette obligation. Elles commettent un manquement lorsqu’elles enfreignent les lois sur les valeurs mobilières, qu’elles ne s’inscrivent pas alors qu’elles y sont tenues ou qu’elles ne respectent pas les conditions d’une dispense d’inscription. »

Manipulation du marché

Extrait du rapport 2009 des Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières sur l’application de la loi :

« La manipulation du marché consiste à influencer à la hausse ou à la baisse le cours des actions d’une société, notamment en gonflant artificiellement le cours des actions pour les vendre à profit, en effectuant des opérations à cours de clôture élevé et en manipulant le volume. »

Autres fraudes boursières, autres fraudes en matière d'investissements

Visitez la page Web « Éviter la fraude » des Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières pour en savoir plus sur les types de fraude, qui ne se limitent pas à ceux susmentionnés :

  • Fraude par affinité
  • Vente sous pression
  • Double prélèvement ou arnaque à répétition 
  • Escroquerie sur titres dispensés
  • Escroquerie de change
  • Séminaires d’investissement
  • Escroquerie sur compte de retraite
  • Pourriels
Protégez-vous

Vous voulez en savoir plus? Renseignez-vous sur votre argent et sur vos investissements. Les Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières et leurs partenaires dans les provinces et territoires vous proposent toute une gamme d'outils, dont le guide « Protégez votre argent contre les fraudes et les escroqueries », que vous pouvez consulter gratuitement en cliquant sur le lien ci-dessous (Outils de l'investisseur) :

Vous pouvez aussi visiter le site du Bureau de la concurrence Canada sur la prévention de la fraude , qui vous offre une panoplie de ressources et de renseignements fort utiles.

Que faire si vous croyez avoir été victime d'une escroquerie, d'une fraude boursière ou d'une fraude en valeurs mobilières? Qui appeler? Consultez la page « Signalement des escroqueries et fraudes » de la GRCpour le savoir.

 

 

Pour consulter les fichiers Adobe Acrobat (PDF), il peut être nécessaire de télécharger et installer le lecteur Adobe gratuit fourni par Adobe Systems Incorporated.