Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

The Quarterly

Published since 1933, The Quarterly is the official magazine of the RCMP Veterans' Association. Its origin stems from the activities and accomplishments of the Force which have and continue to be inextricably interwoven with the development of Canada. Since its early beginnings and even today, the Quarterly is intended to display the wealth of tradition, history and stories of the RCMP.

In October 1999, the RCMP Veterans' Association assumed publication of the Quarterly from the Force to ensure its continued success and enjoyment by all readers. Now more than ever, the Veterans' Association recognizes the importance of communication. The Quarterly offers the RCMP, its current and former members and interested contributors a chance to keep in touch and to share information on programs, events and stories.

Who reads the Quarterly?

With over 6,000 subscribers, the Quarterly's readership is comprised of current and former RCMP members and employees as well as various educational institutions, law enforcement and government agencies, libraries and historical societies as well as the general public. The Quarterly is often one of the only sources of reference regarding RCMP history available to these groups.

Quarterly subscribers are not only Canadian but international as well, whose only connection with the Force is a deep-rooting respect and admiration for the RCMP and everything on which it stands. Quarterly subscribers, be they individuals or agencies, are proud of their association with the RCMP.

The Quarterly has long enjoyed its international reputation for excellence and is considered by many to be in the same league as other prestigious law enforcement publications like Policelife (Australia), The Outpost (Zambia), The OPP Review (Ontario Provincial Police; www.gov.on.ca/OPP), Legion magazine (www.legionmagazine.com), Centinelas (Argentina; www.gendarmeria.gov.ar) as well as historical magazines like The Beaver (Hudson's Bay Company; www.beavermagazine.ca) and Montana (Montana Historical Society; www.montanahistoricalsociety.com).

What makes the Quarterly so appealing?

  • Letters to the Editor allow readers to comment on articles and stories or ask questions.
  • Editor's Notes publicize upcoming activities and events.
    Articles cover events of interest, innovative community policing programs and collaborations with other law enforcement agencies, new police technologies, RCMP history and traditions. Humorous articles, stories and light-hearted vignettes are regularly included.
  • Scarlet & Gold™ features news, events and information specifically for RCMP veterans.
  • Divisional Dispatches feature RCMP members and employees involved in local, national and international community policing initiatives, fundraisers and competitions. Dispatches also contain the latest births and marriages, write-ups about new and retiring members, troop reunions, achievement recognition and awards across Canada.
  • Book News & Reviews on publications with a significant connection to the RCMP or of sufficient interest to a broad cross-section of its readership are also published.
  • Graduating troop photos, academic achievements, promotions, retirements, obituaries and, occasionally, In Memoriam for members killed in the line of duty are also included.

Note: The Quarterly is published separately in English and French. The publications are a mirror image of one another.

What are readers saying about the Quarterly?

"While on mission with UNCIVPOL in Haiti, we received several copies of the Quarterly. I must admit that in the past, I usually quickly leafed through the magazine. Perhaps it's the distance from home, family and friends, but this time I read the Quarterly from cover to cover, discovering news from old friends and troop mates as well as numerous interesting articles and stories about the Force."

"In reading your latest issue of the Quarterly, I was impressed with the scope of RCMP duties, as well as by its innovative approach to community policing. Your magazine is an excellent educational tool for my 20-year-old daughter as well as my son, both of whom are involved in the Explorer Program. Thank you for expanding my children's minds." [Gonic, New Hampshire]

"The last issue of the Quarterly has just arrived and I am happy to say that I have thoroughly enjoyed reading every single copy, since its inception in 1933. I think it is very helpful that the general public has access to information on the functions of the RCMP through a medium such as your magazine, in that it helps foster more favourable relations. The police are only as effective as the public can make them, therefore, good relations are essential. The Quarterly fulfils that requirement admirably." [Edmonton, Alberta]

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

La Trimestrielle

Dernier numéro

100 Ans : Hommage aux soldats tués sur la crête de VimySuivez-nous sur Facebook

Publiée depuis 1933, La Trimestrielle est la revue officielle de l'Association des anciens de la GRC. Ses origines proviennent des activités et des réalisations de la GRC qui sont inextricablement mêlées au développement du Canada. Depuis ses débuts, l'objectif de la Trimestrielle consiste à démontrer la richesse des traditions, de l'histoire et des articles de la GRC.

Au mois d'octobre 1999, l'Association des anciens de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada a pris en main la publication de la Trimestrielle afin d'assurer la continuité de son succès, au grand plaisir de tous les lecteurs. Aujourd'hui, plus que jamais, elle reconnaît l'importance de la communication. La Trimestrielle permet à la GRC, à ses membres actifs et retraités ainsi qu'aux collaborateurs concernés de rester en contact et de partager de l'information concernant certains programmes, événements et articles.

Qui lit la Trimestrielle?

Les 6 000 abonnés de la Trimestrielle sont des membres et des employés actifs et retraités de la GRC de même que des établissements d'enseignement, des organes judiciaires et des organismes gouvernementaux, des bibliothèques et des sociétés d'histoire ainsi que le grand public. La Trimestrielle représente souvent la seule source de référence associée à l'histoire de la GRC qui est à la disposition de ces groupes.

La Trimestrielle n'a pas uniquement des abonnés canadiens, mais aussi des lecteurs internationaux dont le seul lien avec la GRC consiste en une admiration et un respect profonds à l'égard de l'organisation et de tous les éléments qui s'y rapportent. Les abonnés de la Trimestrielle, qu'il s'agisse de particuliers ou d'organismes, sont fiers d'être associés avec la GRC.

La Trimestrielle jouit depuis longtemps d'une réputation internationale en ce qui a trait à l'excellence, et on la compare à des revues prestigieuses publiées par des organes judiciaires comme Policelife (Australie), The Outpost (Zambie), The OPP Review (Police provinciale de l'Ontario; www.gov.on.ca/OPP), la revue Legion (www.legionmagazine.com), Centinelas (Argentine; www.gendarmeria.gov.ar) ainsi que des revues à caractère historique comme The Beaver (Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson; www.beavermagazine.ca) et Montana (Montana Historical Society; www.montanahistoricalsociety.com).

Pourquoi la Trimestrielle est-elle si intéressante?

Les Lettres à la rédaction permettent aux lecteurs d'émettre leurs commentaires sur des articles et des histoires ou de poser des questions.

  • Les Notes de la rédaction annoncent les activités et les événements à venir.
  • Les articles traitent d'événements dignes d'intérêt, de programmes de police communautaire innovateurs et de collaborations avec d'autres organes judiciaires, de nouvelles techniques policières, de l'histoire et des traditions de la GRC. On y retrouve régulièrement des articles, des histoires et des capsules humoristiques.
  • Écarlate et Or™ présente des nouvelles, des événements et de l'information qui sont particulièrement destinés aux anciens de la GRC.
  • Les Dépêches divisionnaires présentent les membres et les employés de la GRC qui participent à des initiatives locales, nationales et internationales de la police communautaire, à des levées de fonds et à des compétitions. Les dépêches annoncent également les naissances et les mariages, l'arrivée ou la retraite de membres, les réunions de troupes, la reconnaissance des performances et les prix qui sont décernés à l'échelle du Canada.
  • Il y a des Nouvelles et Recensions des publications qui sont liées de manière significative à la GRC ou qui suscitent un certain intérêt chez de nombreux lecteurs.
  • On y trouve également des photographies de troupes et de diplômés , des annonces de promotion et de retraite , des articles nécrologiques et, à l'occasion, des rubriques In Memoriam pour des membres tués dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions.

Nota : La Trimestrielle est publiée en français et en anglais de manière distincte. Les publications représentent une image symétrique l'une de l'autre.

Que pensent les lecteurs de la Trimestrielle?

« Alors que je participais à une mission avec la Police civile de la Force des Nations Unies à Haïti, nous avons reçu plusieurs exemplaires de la Trimestrielle. Je dois avouer que j'avais l'habitude de feuilleter cette revue assez rapidement. La distance qui me séparait de ma maison, de ma famille et de mes amis m'y a peut-être poussé, mais cette fois, j'ai lu la Trimestrielle de la première à la dernière page et j'y ai découvert des nouvelles concernant de vieux amis et des compagnons de troupe ainsi que de nombreux articles intéressants et des histoires sur la GRC. »

« En lisant votre dernier numéro de la Trimestrielle, j'ai été impressionné par la portée des fonctions de la GRC ainsi que par son approche innovatrice à l'égard de la police communautaire. Votre revue est un excellent outil éducatif pour ma fille âgée de 20 ans ainsi que pour mon fils qui participent tous les deux au programme Explorer. Merci d'ouvrir l'esprit de mes enfants. » [Gonic, New Hampshire]

« Je viens tout juste de recevoir le dernier numéro de la Trimestrielle et je puis vous dire que j'ai aimé chaque numéro depuis la création de la revue en 1933. Le fait que le grand public ait accès à de l'information concernant les fonctions de la GRC grâce à un support tel que votre revue favorise les bons rapports. La police peut seulement être efficace dans la mesure où le grand public lui permet de l'être, et les bons rapports sont donc essentiels. La Trimestrielle répond admirablement bien à cette exigence. » [Edmonton (Alberta)]