Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Contraband Tobacco

Injects Criminal Activity Into Our Community

Contraband Tobacco - Injects Criminal Activity Into Our Communities

PDF Format (9.75 MB)

What is it?

Contraband / Illicit Tobacco is any tobacco product that does not comply with federal and provincial laws, which includes importation, marking, manufacturing, stamping and payment of duties and taxes.

Contraband tobacco is illegal tobacco.

Why is it a serious problem?

Organized crime groups are extensively involved in the distribution of contraband tobacco. When you buy contraband tobacco products you contribute to a major underground economy worth hundreds of millions of dollars and growing.

Profits from the sale of contraband tobacco are used to fund other illegal activities, such as the movement of drugs, weapons and money laundering operations. The contraband tobacco market is a serious threat to public safety.

Within the first three years of the RCMP 2008 contraband tobacco enforcement strategy, the RCMP disrupted over 56 organized crime groups, laid over 2,350 charges under the excise act, 2001 and seized over 3.2 million cartons/unmarked bags of contraband cigarettes, 1,600 vehicles, 70 vessels and 7 other properties.

The clear plastic resealable bags or "baggies" of 200 cigarettes are the most commonly found form of illegal tobacco.

Where does it come from?

There are four main sources of contraband / illicit tobacco in Canada:

  1. Illegal Manufacturers: Unlicensed and unregulated production operations make the tobacco products. These manufacturers range from small improvised facilities to fully equipped manufacturing plants involving serious organized crime groups.
  2. Counterfeits: Illegal reproductions of common tobacco brands, along with other foreign tobacco products, which enter the country illegally, often by way of sea containers or cross-border smuggling.
  3. Tax-exempt Diversions: Tobacco products from First Nations communities, which have tax reliefs, are diverted throughout Canada and then resold to consumers. Such a scheme allows the seller to offer the product at a discounted rate, making it more appealing.
  4. Other Illegal Forms: For example, the reselling of legal tobacco products obtained through theft.

How can I tell if it's contraband?

A tear strip or stamp must appear on packages of cigarettes and pouches of tobacco, which indicate the manufacturer paid the duties.

The name and address or permit number of the manufacturer must also appear on the packaging.

Tobacco products that have no tear strip or stamp and no manufacturing name and address or permit numbers are illegal products.

Contraband tobacco increases the tax burden on Canadians through lost tax revenues. Legitimate businesses suffer because they cannot compete with the low cost of illegal cigarettes.

What happens if I'm caught with it?

The consequences of dealing in illegal tobacco products are serious. Offenders are liable to substantial fines, confiscation of their property (including money, boats, vehicles and homes) and a prison term of up to five years pursuant to the Excise Act, 2001 and any other provincial legislation.

What can I do about it?

If you suspect illegal tobacco production, packaging and/or trafficking in your neighbourhood or if you have information regarding the illegal tobacco market, contact the RCMP, your local police service or Crime Stoppers at 1-800-222-TIPS.

For more information, visit our website at:

All information provided will be treated confidentially.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le tabac de contrebande

Injecte la criminalité dans nos communautés

Le tabac de contrebande - Injecte la criminalité dans nos communautés

Format PDF (9.91 MB)

Qu’est-ce que c’est?

On entend par tabac de contrebande ou illicite tout produit du tabac qui n’est pas conforme aux lois fédérales et provinciales, notamment en matière d’importation, d’étiquetage, de fabrication, d’estampillage, de douanes et de taxation.

Le tabac de contrebande est du tabac illicite.

En quoi est-ce un problème grave?

La distribution de tabac de contrebande est fortement assurée par des groupes du crime organisé. En achetant des produits du tabac de contrebande, vous contribuez à une économie au noir de centaines de millions de dollars.

Les profi ts de la vente de tabac de contrebande servent à fi nancer d’autres activités illégales, comme la contrebande d’armes et de drogues et le blanchiment d’argent. Le marché du tabac de contrebande constitue une grave menace à la sécurité publique.

Au cours des trois premières années de la stratégie de lutte contre le tabac de contrebande de 2008, la GRC a perturbé plus de 56 groupes criminels organisé, déposé plus de 2350 accusations en vertu de la loi de 2001 sur l’accise et saisi plus de 3,2 millions de cartouches et sacs non marqués de cigarettes de contrebande , 1600 véhicles, 70 bateaux et 7 autres biens.

Dans sa forme la plus répandue, le tabac de contrebande se présente dans un sac de plastique transparent et refermable de 200 cigarettes.

D’ou vient le tabac de contrebande?

Au Canada, il y a quatre principales sources pour le tabac de contrebande ou illicite :

  1. Fabricants hors-la-loi : Des usines sans permis et non réglementées fabriquent les produits du tabac. On trouve de petites usines improvisées, mais aussi de grosses usines avec tout l’équipement nécessaire exploitées avec la participation de groupes du crime organisé.
  2. Contrefaçon : La reproduction non autorisée de marques connues de produits du tabac, nationales et étrangères, qui entrent illégalement au pays, souvent dans des conteneurs maritimes ou en contrebande à la frontière.
  3. Détournement de produits exonérés : Le tabac produit dans les communautés des Premières Nations, exonérées des taxes de vente, est distribué dans tout le pays et revendu aux consommateurs. Le vendeur peut ainsi vendre à rabais, ce qui rend le produit plus attrayant.
  4. Autres sources illégales : Par exemple, la revente de produits licites obtenus par le vol.

Comment savoir si c’est de la contrebande??

Le paquet de cigarettes et la blague à tabac licites doivent porter une bandelette ou un sceau indiquant que le fabricant a acquitté les droits.

Le nom et l’adresse ou le numéro du permis du fabricant doivent aussi paraître sur l’emballage..

Les produits du tabac qui n’ont pas de bandelette pas le nom et l’adresse ou le numéro de permis du fabricant sont des produits illicites.

Le saviez-vous : la contrebande de produits du tabac alourdit le fardeau fiscal des Canadiens par la perte de recettes fiscales qu’elle entraîne. Les entreprises légitimes en souffrent parce qu’elles ne peuvent pas vendre leurs produits du tabac à des prix comparables.

Et si j’en ai en ma possession?

S’adonner au commerce de produits du tabac illicites a des conséquences graves. Les contrevenants s’exposent à des amendes considérables, à la confi scation de leurs biens (argent, bateau, véhicules, maisons, entre autres) et à une peine d’emprisonnement pouvant atteindre cinq ans en application de la Loi de 2001 sur l’accise et de toute autre loi provinciale.

Que puis-je faire?

Si vous soupçonnez une activité illicite de production, d’emballage ou de commerce de produits du tabac dans votre voisinage ou si vous savez des choses sur le marché noir du tabac, communiquez avec la GRC, avec le service de police de votre localité ou avec Échec au crime au 1-800-222-TIPS.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez notre site Web à : http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/ce-da/

Toute l’information fournie sera traitée en toute confi dentialité..