Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

4.0 Discussion and Conclusion

Forensic Identification Services Chemical Carcinogenicity Evaluation

Following a review of the public literature, including government and occupational health and safety databases, the list of 66 chemicals provided by the RCMP were evaluated for potential carcinogenicity. In instances where no data was identified, chemical structures were evaluated in order to identify possible structural alerts that could indicate reactivity and consequently mutagenicity and/or carcinogenicity. Though not 100% precise, structure alerts provide at least a certain amount of information as to potential hazard where additional information is lacking.

Out of the 66 chemicals evaluated, 10 chemicals were conservatively classified as "Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals, but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive" based on information in the literature or classifications outlined by regulatory agencies (see Table 5).

Table 5 - Summary of Chemicals Classified as "Reported to Produce Tumours in Experimental Animals, but for Which Human Evidence is Either lacking or Inconclusive"
Chemical CAS# Use level Exposure Limit Target Organ (Animal Species)
Chloroform 67-66-3 Seldom

20 μg/day (oral)
40 μg/day (inhalation) (CalEPA, 2009)

Kidney, liver
(rats and mice)
Methanol 67-56-1 Often 500 μg/kg bw/day
(US EPA, 2009a)
testes, head/neck
(rats)
Phenol 108-95-2 Rare 300 μg/kg bw/day
(US EPA, 2009b)
adrenal gland, blood
(rats)
Coomassie brilliant blue 6104-59-2 In use 30 µg/day (CalEPA, 2009) (based on Coomassie violet) mammary gland, skin
(rats)
Petroleum ether 8032-32-4 Until 2000, rare 300 ppm in air TWA* (ACGIH, 2009) skin
(mice)
Hydrogen peroxide 7722-84-1 Not stated 1 ppm in air (ACGIH, 2009) intestine
(mice)
Trichloroacetic acid 76-03-9 Rare 1 ppm in air TWA* (ACGIH, 2009) liver
(mice)
Crystal/Gentian violet 548-62-9 In use Not established liver, blood
(rats and mice)
Rhodamine 6G 989-38-8 Seldom Not established adrenal gland, integument
(rats)
Leucomalachite Green 129-73-7 Seldom Not established thyroid, testes, liver
(rats)

*TWA - time-weighted average

Only 3 of the chemicals, chloroform, crystal/Gentian violet, and, indirectly, Coomassie brilliant blue (based on the NSRL for Coomassie violet) of the listed chemicals have been specifically evaluated for carcinogenic potency. Other chemicals listed in Table 5 have exposure limits based on effects noted in the workplace. These generally relate to irritation, or, occasionally to organ toxicity. These exposure limits are not intended to be protective of carcinogenic effects. Exposure limits based on carcinogenicity and those based on other endpoints cannot be compared to other chemicals directly, as they have been derived based on different methodologies or testing protocols. Furthermore, most of the chemicals considered as "Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals, but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive" are primarily based on animal data, and as such only indicate that a hazard could exist to humans exposed to them.

Only 3 of the chemicals, chloroform, crystal/Gentian violet, and, indirectly, Coomassie brilliant blue (based on the NSRL for Coomassie violet) of the listed chemicals have been specifically evaluated for carcinogenic potency. Other chemicals listed in Table 5 have exposure limits based on effects noted in the workplace. These generally relate to irritation, or, occasionally to organ toxicity. These exposure limits are not intended to be protective of carcinogenic effects. Exposure limits based on carcinogenicity and those based on other endpoints cannot be compared to other chemicals directly, as they have been derived based on different methodologies or testing protocols. Furthermore, most of the chemicals considered as "Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals, but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive" are primarily based on animal data, and as such only indicate that a hazard could exist to humans exposed to them.

Whether actual carcinogenic effects would be observed in humans is unknown for each of the 10 chemicals classified as "Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals, but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive" is unknown as no human based data are available. In any case assessment of potential risk, a function of both hazard (i.e., inherent potential to cause cancer, in this case for the 10 chemicals classified as "Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals, but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive") and exposure. The nature of the exposure would determine the potential risk associated with each of the chemicals. In other words, the potential risk will depend on how the chemicals are used in the laboratory, what safety precautions (i.e., personal protective equipment, fume hoods, etc.) are in place to protect workers, the purity/composition of the chemical and the actual duration of exposure.

Based on the data shown in Table 5, of the 10 chemicals considered as "Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals, but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive" exposures to Coomassie brilliant blue, Crystal/Gentian violet, and methanol appear to be the most prevalent or of the longest duration. This assessment is based only on the preliminary data provided by FIS. A future phase of the evaluation could focus more on the actual exposures of FIS personnel to the chemicals of greatest concern. From a toxicological standpoint, of the 3 chemicals classified as "Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals, but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive" and which are listed as in use, often used, or very often used, those of highest concern could include: Coomassie brilliant blue and crystal/Gentian violet since they have shown carcinogenic activity in experimental animals, show structural alerts for genotoxicity/ carcinogenicity, and, in the case of Coomassie brilliant blue, are closely related to chemicals that have shown carcinogenic activity in animals.

In addition to the chemicals classified as "Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals, but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive", basic/brilliant yellow, trans-dichloroethylene, and 1,8-diazafluoren-9-one were classified as "Not reported to have carcinogenic potential, but may have theoretical risk" and noted to be in use often or very often. Given the results of genetic toxicity testing and/or presence of structural alerts for genotoxic/carcinogenic activity, each of these 3 chemicals were also considered of potential concern.

Overall, it is important to note that none of Coomassie brilliant blue, Crystal/Gentian violet, basic/brilliant yellow, trans-dichloroethylene, and 1,8-diazafluoren-9-one are clearly carcinogenic to humans (none are classified as "Known to be human carcinogens"). In all probability, given reasonable exposure scenarios, these chemicals are unlikely to increase carcinogenic risk significantly above background.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

4.0 Discussion et conclusion

Évaluation de la cancérogénicité des produits chimiques utilisés au Service de l’identité judiciair

Après examen des publications scientifiques pertinentes, y compris le dépouillement des bases de données des autorités publiques et des bases de données de santé et sécurité, on a établi le potentiel cancérogène des 66 produits chimiques figurant sur la liste fournie par la GRC. Dans les cas où aucune donnée n’a été répertoriée, les structures chimiques ont été analysées afin de déterminer si elles possédaient des caractéristiques pouvant indiquer une réactivité et, par conséquent, une mutagénicité ou une cancérogénicité, ou les deux. La présence de caractéristiques structurales préoccupantes, même si elle ne constitue pas un critère précis à 100 %, procure au moins certaines indications du danger possible quand on ne dispose pas d’autres éléments d’information.

Sur les 66 produits chimiques évalués, 10 ont été désignés, de manière prudente, comme étant des substances « ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquelles les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants », cela d’après l’information contenue dans les publications scientifiques ou dans les systèmes de classification établis par les organismes de réglementation (voir le tableau 5).

Tableau 5 - Produits chimiques « ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquels les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants »
Produit Numéro CAS Fréquence d'utilisation Limte d'exposition Organe cible (espèces animales)
Chloroforme 67-66-3 Parfois

20 μg/jour (voie orale)
40 μg/jour
(inhalation) (CalEPA, 2009)

reins, foie (rats et souris)
Méthanol 67-56-1 Souvent 500 μg/kg p.c./jour
(US EPA, 2009a)
testicules, tête/cou
(rats)
Phénol 108-95-2 Rarement 300 μg/kg p.c./jour
(US EPA, 2009b)
glandes surrénales, sang (rats)
Bleu brillant de Coomassie 6104-59-2 Utilisé 30 μg/jour (CalEPA, 2009)
(d'après les résultats pour le violet de Coomassie)
glandes mammaires, peau (rats)
Éther de pétrole 8032-32-4 Jusqu'en 2000, Rarement MPT de 300 ppm dans l'air (ACGIH, 2009) peau (souris)
Peroxyde d,hydrogène 7722-84-1 Indéterminé 1 ppm dans l'air (ACGIH, 2009) intestin (souris)
Acide trichloroacétique 76-03-9 Rarement 1 ppm dans l'air MPT (ACGIH, 2009) foie (souris)
Violet de gentiane/violet cristal 548-62-9 Utilisé Non déterminée foie, sang (rats et souris)
hodamine 6G 989-38-8 Parfois Non déterminée glandes surrénales, tégument (rats)
Leucobase du vert malachite 129-73-7 Parfois Non déterminée thyroïde, testicules, foie (rats)

Seuls trois des produits chimiques figurant sur la liste – le chloroforme, le violet de gentiane/violet cristal et, indirectement, le bleu brillant de Coomassie (d’après le niveau de risque non significatif associé au violet de Coomassie) – ont été évalués précisément du point de vue de leur puissance cancérogène. Les autres substances figurant dans le tableau 5 sont assorties de limites d’exposition établies d’après les effets observés en milieu de travail, habituellement des irritations et, à l’occasion, des effets de toxicité au niveau des organes. Les limites d’exposition fondées sur la cancérogénicité et les limites fondées sur d’autres paramètres ne peuvent être comparées directement à celles d’autres produits chimiques puisqu’elles sont dérivées à partir de méthodologies ou de protocoles d’essai différents. En outre, les substances « ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquels les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants » sont pour la plupart classées dans cette catégorie principalement sur la base de données enregistrées chez les animaux, ces dernières indiquant seulement qu’un danger pourrait exister pour les humains exposés à ces substances.

On ne sait pas si des effets cancérogènes seraient ou non observés chez l’humain pour chacun des 10 produits chimiques « ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquels les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants » puisqu’on ne dispose d’aucune donnée enregistrée chez l’homme. Dans tous les cas, l’évaluation du risque est faite en fonction tant du danger (c’est-à-dire la capacité potentielle à causer le cancer, ici celle des 10 produits chimiques « ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquels les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants ») que de l’exposition. La nature de l’exposition déterminerait le risque associé à chacun des produits chimiques. Autrement dit, le risque dépendra de la manière dont les composés sont utilisés en laboratoire, des mesures de précaution (port d’équipement de protection individuel, utilisation de hottes, etc.) prises pour protéger les travailleurs, de la pureté ou de la composition du produit chimique ainsi que de la durée réelle de l’exposition.

Selon les données figurant dans le tableau 5, parmi les 10 produits chimiques « ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquels les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants », ce sont le bleu brillant de Coomassie, le violet de gentiane/violet cristal et le méthanol qui semblent être associés aux expositions les plus fréquentes ou les plus longues. Cette évaluation est fondée uniquement sur les données préliminaires fournies par le SIJ. On pourrait, dans le cadre d’une autre évaluation, se concentrer plus précisément sur l’exposition réelle du personnel du SIJ aux produits chimiques les plus préoccupants. D’un point de vue toxicologique, sur les trois produits chimiques « ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquels les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants » et que le SIJ a déclaré être utilisés, fréquemment utilisés ou très fréquemment utilisés, ceux qui sont les plus préoccupants pourraient être le bleu brillant de Coomassie et le violet de gentiane/violet cristal puisqu’ils se sont montrés cancérogènes chez les animaux de laboratoire, qu’ils possèdent des caractéristiques structurales pouvant indiquer une génotoxicité ou une cancérogénicité et, dans le cas du bleu brillant de Coomassie, qu’ils sont étroitement apparentés à des produits chimiques cancérogènes pour les animaux.

En plus des produits chimiques « ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquels les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants », le jaune basique/jaune brillant, le trans-dichloroéthylène et la 1,8‑diazafluorén-9-one ont été qualifiés de produits « non réputés cancérogènes, mais pouvant présenter un risque théorique », et de produits d’utilisation fréquente ou très fréquente. À la lumière des résultats des essais de génotoxicité et/ou de la présence de caractéristiques structurales pouvant indiquer une activité génotoxique ou cancérogène, chacun de ces trois composés a également été jugé potentiellement préoccupant.

Globalement, il est à noter qu’aucun des produits, parmi le bleu brillant de Coomassie, le violet de gentiane/violet cristal, le jaune basique/jaune brillant, le trans-dichloroéthylène et la 1,8‑diazafluorén-9-one, n’est clairement cancérogène pour l’humain (aucun ne figure dans la catégorie des « produits connus pour causer le cancer chez l’humain »). Selon toute probabilité, vu les scénarios d’exposition prévisibles, ces substances ne sont pas susceptibles d’accroître le risque de cancer de manière significative par rapport au risque de base.