Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

2.0 Methods

Forensic Identification Services Chemical Carcinogenicity Evaluation

The objective of the methods outlined below was to identify the carcinogenic potential and to classify or categorize this potential of chemicals that have been, may have been, or are in current use or development for use by FIS personnel.

Cantox was provided a list of 66 chemicals used by FIS personnel in their laboratory work. The primary sources of information used to evaluate carcinogenicity potential was to identify the chemicals that have already been evaluated and classified by government and non-government agencies, such as Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS), the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) monographs, the National Toxicology Program’s Report on Carcinogens (NTP RoC), European Commission’s Institute for Health and Consumer Protection (IHCP), California Environmental Protection Agency - Proposition 65: List of Chemicals Known to Cause Cancer (CalEPA Prop 65), American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists – Threshold Limit Values for Chemical Substances and Physical Agents & Biological Exposure Indices (ACGIH, 2009), and Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry (ATSDR). If a chemical was not listed in any of these databases, further searches of publicly available scientific databases, such as PubMed, ToxNet or other databases provided by CCOHS were conducted to locate pertinent data to characterize the potential for a substance to cause cancer.

The strength of data in determining carcinogenic potential in descending order, includes: a) the results of studies in humans, called epidemiology studies, often occupationally exposed to the chemicals in question, b) the results of animal studies, generally 2-year bioassays conducted in rats and mice, c) the results of genetic toxicity testing to assess DNA-damaging potential, and d) structure-activity relationship analyses (Goodman and Wilson, 1991; ICPEMC Membership Committee, 1982; Anderson, 1993; Richard, 1994; Ashby, 1996; van den Brandt et al., 2002; Cogliano et al., 2004; U.S. EPA, 2005; IARC, 2006; Mayer et al., 2008; Benigni and Bossa, 2008; Guyton et al., 2009; SCHER, 2009). New technologies involving the assessment of changes in gene and protein expression in relation to tumour development, use of transgenic animals, and of enhanced computer simulations are also emerging for application in cancer hazard identification (Barlow et al., 2002; Benfenati et al., 2009; Guyton et al., 2009).

The notion of human epidemiology and animal testing is reasonably straightforward and there exist a number of guidelines regarding their design, conduct, and interpretation (OECD, 1981a,b; Cogliano et al., 2004; Pocock et al., 2004; IARC, 2006). However, the concept of genetic toxicity testing may be a little less familiar. The assessment of the potential for chemicals to cause damage to DNA is generally conducted in a tiered fashion (Anderson, 1993; Brusick, 1994) whereby the initial assessment is through the use of (bench-top type) tests, often in bacteria or cultured mammalian cells. Chemicals that produce negative results in these tests are generally not assessed further. If the results of the test(s) are positive (i.e., suggesting mutagenic activity), chemicals are usually then assessed in one or more in vivo tests involving whole animals whereby the exposure to the chemical of interest incorporates pharmacokinetics as well as appropriate biotransformation products (Anderson, 1993; Ashby, 1996). As such, the results of in vivo tests are generally preferable to those of test as they most likely better reflect the mutagenic potential of the chemical in whole organisms. Tests for genotoxic effects are essentially screening level assays used to predict potential for carcinogenic activity (ICPEMC, 1982; Anderson, 1993; Ashby, 1996).

It has been well documented that the genetic toxicity, and by extrapolation the carcinogenic potential, of chemicals is determined by their structure and to a lesser extent their physical-chemical properties. A number of functional chemical groups have been identified which are likely to produce positive results in test(s) of mutagenic potential (Ashby and Tennant, 1991; Ashby, 1996; Benigni and Bossa, 2008). For example, nitrosoureas, nitrosoamides, epoxides, polyaromatic hydrocarbons, aromatic amines, and others have been clearly identified as possessing mutagenic potential. Many of these have also been documented to be potent carcinogens, particularly in animal bioassays. From such structure-activity relationships, the mutagenic potential of classes of compounds can be inferred (i.e., chemicals containing nitrosamine groups are almost invariably mutagenic). Similarly, there exists chemical structures for which there is little evidence of mutagenic activity. Given the utility of chemical structure in assessing genetic toxicity potential, the assessment of a chemical for which mutagenicity test data are not available can involve the analysis of the functional groups present and/or the use of data from similarly-structured compounds which contain the same functional groups as the chemical of interest. This structure activity approach was applied to those chemicals that either had no identifiable human or animal carcinogenicity data and which have not been subjected to actual genetic toxicity testing. In addition the SAR approach was applied to those chemicals where only limited genetic toxicity testing data were available.

The chemicals assessed were categorized according to the weight-of-evidence available from public databases developed by authoritative regulatory bodies and from the published scientific literature. The categories and their levels of evidence were considered according to a modification to IARC’s (IARC, 2006) and Health Canada’s (Health Canada, 1994) classification criteria. The specific IARC model was not used since many of the chemicals on the list have not been specifically evaluated by this agency. The classification categories included: "Known to be human carcinogens", "Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive", and "Not reported to have carcinogenic potential". The description of these categories is presented below.

  • Known to be human carcinogens: Chemicals classified in this category have been demonstrated to human carcinogens on the basis of human experience, results of human epidemiology data, and on the classification of chemicals as human carcinogens by appropriate competent authorities.
  • Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals, but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive: Chemicals classified in this category have shown some evidence of carcinogenic potential in animal studies that were conducted according to established protocols (e.g., OECD, NTP, EPA, NTP), used appropriate routes of exposure (i.e., oral, dermal, or inhalation), and were reported in adequate detail. As a conservative procedure some chemicals were classified in this category on the basis of weak evidence of carcinogenic activity in animals.
  • Not reported to have carcinogenic potential: Chemicals in this category have not been reported to be associated with the development of tumours in humans or in studies conducted with animals. This category was further subdivided into:
    • Chemicals with theoretical risk:  These chemicals have been reported to show evidence of genetic toxicity or have structural alerts present identifying carcinogenic or mutagenic potential.
    • Chemicals without theoretical risk:   These chemicals have not been reported to cause genetic toxicity and do not have any identifiable structural alerts present to indicate genetic or carcinogenic concern.

It should be noted that these classification systems are to some extent arbitrary and do not necessarily take into account the fact for some chemicals that could be placed in category "B", in that they have weak or moderate evidence of carcinogenic activity in experimental animals, actually could be considered in category "C" since the manner in which the tumours in animals develop in response to chemical treatment is not relevant to humans (i.e., due to excessively high doses, occurring by a route of exposure not relevant to occupational exposure, or are due to species-specific toxic mechanisms). The classification systems and associated nomenclature used in this report, however, do not allow for this level of interpretation of the experimental data.

It is critical to note that the classification system is based on hazard alone. It does not take into account the nature and magnitude of potential human exposures, including those of FIS personnel. The likelihood of a given chemical causing cancer in human populations, even those classified as "Known to be human carcinogens" requires careful consideration of the exposure circumstance and of the conditions under which the chemical was classified. As a result, as part of this evaluation, where data exist, limits of "safe" exposure to chemicals considered either "Known to be human carcinogens" (category "A") or "Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals, but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive" (category "B") were identified so as to provide a measure of the carcinogenic potency of the chemical involved. Chemicals with higher allowable daily exposures are less "potent" in terms of toxicity or carcinogenic activity. "Safe" levels of exposure to chemicals that have carcinogenic potential and which have DNA-damaging ability, or for which the way in which the chemical causes cancer is not known, are calculated so as to provide de minimis or negligible amount of risk. As a result, for those chemicals a "safe" level of exposure may be stated for a risk of cancer of 1 in 100,000 or 1-in-1,000,000. These types of exposure limits, often called "risk-specific-doses" (RsD), "Virtually Safe Doses (VsD), or Non-Significant Risk Level (NSRL as used by the CalEPA), are generally based on very conservative (i.e., health protective) assumptions and are derived from mathematical modeling of either cancer in incidence rates in humans exposed to the chemical or tumour data from rodent studies (Krewski et al., 1990; U.S. EPA, 2005; Barlow et al., 2006; SCHER, 2009). These types of exposure limits are associated with chemicals, in terms of our classification scheme, considered "Known to be human carcinogens". In some cases, these types of exposure limits are also associated with chemicals considered "Reported to produce tumours in experimental animals, but for which human evidence is either lacking or inconclusive".

The "safe" levels of exposure to chemicals that show no evidence of cancer causation in humans, but are associated with cancer development in rodents, but by mechanisms not involving DNA damage, are generally calculated differently than for those chemicals that cause cancer in humans and/or in animals and show evidence of DNA damaging potential. For these chemicals, doses that are not associated with tumour development (usually from animal studies since human data for chemicals in this category are generally lacking), a dose termed a no-observable-adverse-effect level or NOAEL, is used as starting point to which "safety" or "uncertainty" factors are applied to arrive at an exposure limit (U.S. EPA, 2005). The starting point could also be dose determined through mathematical modelling of tumour data to establish a dose level, known as the "Benchmark Dose Level" (BMDL)" associated with a pre-determined degree of risk (e.g., the statistical determination from tumour data the dose associated with a 10% additional risk from background) (U.S. EPA, 2005; EFSA, 2009). Exposure limits derived from NOAELs or BMDLs to which safety factors are applied are often called an Acceptable Daily Intake (ADI) or Reference Dose (RfD) (Bolt and Degen, 2004; U.S. EPA, 2005; EFSA, 2009; SCHER, 2009). It is worthy to note that exposures below the ADI or RfD would be considered to have "zero" risk for cancer development. In our scheme, ADI or RfD type exposure limits would typically be applied to those chemicals considered "Not reported to have carcinogenic potential".

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

2.0 Méthodes

Évaluation de la cancérogénicité des produits chimiques utilisés au Service de l’identité judiciair

Les méthodes décrites ci-dessous visaient d’abord à déterminer le potentiel cancérogène des produits chimiques qui ont été utilisés, qui pourraient avoir été utilisés ou qui sont actuellement utilisés par le personnel du SIJ, ou encore que l’on est en train de mettre au point en vue d’une utilisation par le personnel de la SIJ; elles visaient aussi à caractériser ce potentiel cancérogène, par exemple grâce à des catégories de cancérogénicité.

Cantox a reçu une liste de 66 produits chimiques utilisés par le personnel du SIJ dans son travail en laboratoire. La première étape pour évaluer le potentiel cancérogène a consisté à recenser les produits chimiques ayant déjà été évalués et classés par des organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux, cela grâce à des sources telles que le Centre canadien d’hygiène et de sécurité au travail (CCHST), les monographies du Centre international de recherche sur le cancer (CIRC), le rapport sur les cancérogènes (Report on Carcinogens; RoC) du National Toxicology Program (NTP), l’Institut pour la santé et la protection des consommateurs (ISPC), la proposition 65 (liste des produits chimiques connus pour causer le cancer) de la California Environmental Protection Agency (CalEPA Prop 65), les valeurs limites d’exposition aux substances chimiques et aux agents physiques ainsi que les indices d’exposition biologique de l’American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH, 2009), et l’Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry (ATSDR). Dans les cas où le produit chimique ne figurait dans aucune de ces bases de données, d’autres sources de données scientifiques accessibles au public ont été consultées, par exemple PubMed, ToxNet ou d’autres bases de données fournies par le CCHST, afin de trouver des données permettant de caractériser le risque que la substance en question cause le cancer.

Voici, en ordre décroissant de valeur pour la caractérisation du potentiel cancérogène, les types de données recueillies : a) résultats d’études chez les humains (appelées études épidémiologiques) souvent exposés aux produits chimiques concernés dans le cadre de leur travail; b) résultats d’études chez les animaux, en général des essais biologiques sur deux ans menés sur des rats et des souris; c) résultats d’essais de génotoxicité évaluant la capacité de la molécule à endommager l’ADN; d) analyses des rapports structure-activité (Goodman et Wilson, 1991; ICPEMC Membership Committee, 1982; Anderson, 1993; Richard, 1994; Ashby, 1996; van den Brandt et al. , 2002; Cogliano et al. , 2004; U.S. EPA, 2005; IARC, 2006; Mayer et al., 2008; Benigni et Bossa, 2008; Guyton et al., 2009; SCHER, 2009). De nouvelles technologies comprenant l’évaluation des changements dans l’expression des gènes et des protéines en lien avec le développement de tumeurs, l’utilisation d’animaux transgéniques ainsi que le recours à des simulations par ordinateur perfectionnées voient également le jour, avec des applications dans le domaine de la détermination du risque de cancer (Barlow et al., 2002; Benfenati et al., 2009; Guyton et al., 2009).

Les concepts d’épidémiologie humaine et d’essais sur les animaux sont raisonnablement clairs, et les protocoles expérimentaux, la conduite des études et l’interprétation des résultats sont encadrés, dans ces domaines, par diverses lignes directrices (OECD, 1981a,b; Cogliano et al., 2004; Pocock et al., 2004; IARC, 2006). Cependant, le concept d’essais de génotoxicité est peut-être un peu moins bien connu. On évalue habituellement la capacité des produits chimiques à causer des dommages à l’ADN en suivant une certaine progression (Anderson, 1993; Brusick, 1994) selon laquelle l’évaluation initiale se fait par des essais in vitro (sur paillasse, en laboratoire), souvent sur des bactéries ou des cultures de cellules de mammifères. Quand les résultats sont négatifs pour un produit chimique à cette étape, on ne poursuit généralement pas l’évaluation. Si les résultats d’essai(s)<em>in vitro</em> sont positifs (c’est-à-dire qu’ils laissent supposer une activité mutagène), le produit chimique est habituellement soumis à au moins un essai in vivo sur des animaux (organismes entiers), pour évaluer l’exposition à ce produit du point de vue pharmacocinétique et des produits de biotransformation (Anderson, 1993; Ashby, 1996). Ainsi, les résultats des essais in vivo sont en général préférables à ceux des essais in vitro puisqu’ils reflètent vraisemblablement mieux le potentiel mutagène du produit chimique dans les organismes entiers. Les essais sur les effets génotoxiques sont essentiellement des tests de dépistage utilisés pour prédire le potentiel d’activité cancérogène (ICPEMC, 1982; Anderson, 1993; Ashby, 1996).

Il a été établi, nombreuses preuves à l’appui, que la génotoxicité des produits chimiques et, par extension, leur potentiel cancérogène sont déterminés par leur structure et, dans une moindre mesure, par leurs propriétés physiques et chimiques. On a constaté que la présence de certains groupements chimiques fonctionnels est susceptible de produire des résultats positifs dans les tests in vitro mesurant le potentiel mutagène (Ashby et Tennant, 1991; Ashby, 1996; Benigni et Bossa, 2008). Par exemple, un potentiel mutagène a été attribué de manière claire aux nitroso-urées, aux nitrosamides, aux époxydes, aux hydrocarbures polyaromatiques et aux amines aromatiques, entre autres. On a observé, particulièrement dans le cadre d’essais biologiques sur les animaux, que nombre de substances de ces types sont de puissants cancérogènes. Le potentiel mutagène de certaines classes de composés peut être déduit à partir des rapports structure-activité (par exemple, les composés renfermant des groupements nitrosamine sont presque invariablement mutagènes). De la même manière, il existe des structures chimiques pour lesquelles peu d’éléments indiquent une activité mutagène. Vu l’utilité de la structure chimique pour caractériser le risque de génotoxicité, on peut, quand on veut évaluer un produit chimique sur lequel on ne dispose pas de données d’essais de mutagénicité, se fonder sur l’analyse des groupements fonctionnels présents ou sur les données concernant des composés de structure apparentée, portant les mêmes groupements fonctionnels que le produit visé par l’évaluation. On a adopté la méthode des rapports structure-activité dans le cas des produits chimiques sur lesquels on ne disposait pas de données de cancérogénicité chez les humains ou les animaux, et qui n’avaient pas fait l’objet de réels essais de génotoxicité. Cette méthode a également été appliquée aux produits chimiques sur lesquels on n’avait que des données d’essais de génotoxicité limités.

Les substances chimiques évaluées ont été classées en catégories d’après les éléments probants recensés dans les bases de données d’accès public constituées par les organismes de réglementation faisant autorité et dans les publications scientifiques. Les catégories ainsi que le degré de certitude qui leur est associé ont été établis d’après une adaptation des critères de classification du CIRC (IARC, 2006) et de Santé Canada (Health Canada, 1994). Le modèle du CIRC n’a pas été utilisé directement, car nombre des composés chimiques sur la liste de Cantox n’ont pas été évalués comme tels par cet organisme. Les catégories de la classification étaient les suivantes : « produits dont la cancérogénicité a été établie »; « produits ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquels les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants »; « produits non réputés cancérogènes ». La description de ces catégories est donnée ci-dessous.

  • Produits dont la cancérogénicité a été établie : Les produits chimiques appartenant à cette catégorie ont été déclarés cancérogènes pour l’humain d’après des expériences chez l’humain, les résultats d’analyse de données épidémiologiques concernant des populations humaines, et la désignation des substances cancérogènes pour l’humain par les autorités compétentes.
  • Produits ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquels les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants : Les produits chimiques placés dans cette catégorie ont montré des signes de cancérogénicité dans le cadre d’études sur les animaux menées en conformité avec des protocoles reconnus (par exemple, par l’OCDE, le NTP ou l’EPA), portant sur des voies d’exposition appropriées (par exemple, voie orale, voie cutanée, inhalation), et dont les résultats ont été communiqués de manière suffisamment détaillée. Par prudence, certains produits chimiques ont été classés dans cette catégorie sur la base d’éléments indiquant, mais de manière peu probante une activité cancérogène chez les animaux.
  • Produits non réputés cancérogènes : Les produits chimiques de cette catégorie n’ont pas été associés au développement de tumeurs chez l’humain ou dans le cadre d’études sur des animaux. Cette catégorie comporte deux subdivisions :
    • Produits chimiques présentant un risque théorique : On a signalé des indications de génotoxicité pour ces produits, ou encore la structure de ces derniers possède des caractéristiques associées à un potentiel cancérogène ou mutagène
    • Produits chimiques ne présentant aucun risque théorique : On n’a signalé aucun signe de génotoxicité associé à ces produits chimiques, et la structure de ces derniers ne possède pas de caractéristiques associées à un potentiel cancérogène ou mutagène.

Il est à noter que ce système de classification est dans une certaine mesure arbitraire, et ne prend nécessairement en compte le fait que certains produits chimiques qui pourraient être placés dans la catégorie B parce que certains éléments indiquent de manière peu ou moyennement probante l’existence d’une activité cancérogène chez les animaux de laboratoire, pourraient en réalité être considérés comme appartenant à la catégorie C étant donné que la manière dont les tumeurs se développent chez les animaux en réponse au traitement chimique ne se transpose pas chez l’humain (par exemple, parce que des doses excessivement élevées sont administrées, parce que l’exposition se fait par une voie non pertinente dans un cadre professionnel, ou en raison de mécanismes de toxicité propres à l’espèce).

Il est primordial de savoir que le système de classification est fondé uniquement sur le danger. Il n’est pas tenu compte de la nature de l’exposition humaine potentielle ni du degré de cette exposition, y compris pour le personnel du SIJ. La probabilité qu’un produit chimique cause le cancer dans des populations humaines, même dans le cas des produits dont la cancérogénicité a été établie, doit être évaluée en tenant rigoureusement compte des circonstances de l’exposition et des conditions appliquées pour la classification du produit en question. Ainsi, dans le cadre de la présente évaluation, lorsque l’on disposait des données pertinentes, on a fixé des limites d’exposition « sans danger » aux produits chimiques soit « dont la cancérogénicité a été établie » (catégorie A), soit « ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquels les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants », afin de donner une mesure de la puissance cancérogène des produits chimiques considérés. Les produits pour lesquels l’exposition quotidienne acceptable est élevée sont moins « puissants », en termes de toxicité ou d’activité cancérogène. En ce qui concerne les produits chimiques qui possèdent un potentiel cancérogène et sont capables de causer des dommages à l’ADN, ou pour lesquels on ne connaît pas le mécanisme suivant lequel ils causent le cancer, le degré d’exposition « sans danger » est calculé de manière à maintenir le risque à un niveau minimal ou négligeable. Ainsi, pour ces produits chimiques, le degré d’exposition « sans danger » peut correspondre à un risque de cancer de 1 pour 100 000 ou encore de 1 pour 1 000 000. Ces types de limites d’exposition, appelés aussi « doses associées à un risque », « doses quasi sans risque » ou « niveau de risque non significatif » (la California Environmental Protection Agency utilise cette expression; en anglais, « non‑significant risk level », soit NSRL), sont fondés sur des hypothèses très prudentes (propres à protéger la santé) et sont dérivés de modélisations mathématiques soit du taux d’incidence de cancer chez les humains exposés au produit chimique, soit de données sur les tumeurs tirées d’études sur les rongeurs (Krewski et al., 1990; U.S. EPA, 2005; Barlow et al., 2006; SCHER, 2009). Selon les termes de la classification utilisée ici, ces types de limites d’exposition sont associés aux produits chimiques « dont la cancérogénicité a été établie ». Dans certains cas, ils sont également associés à des produits chimiques « ayant provoqué des tumeurs chez des animaux de laboratoire, mais pour lesquels les éléments de preuve chez l’humain manquent ou ne sont pas concluants ».

Dans le cas des produits chimiques n’entraînant pas de cancer chez l’humain, mais qui sont toutefois associés avec le développement de cancers chez les rongeurs – quoique par des mécanismes ne causant pas de dommages à l’ADN – les limites d’exposition « sans danger » ne sont en général pas calculées de la même manière que pour les produits causant le cancer chez les humains ou les animaux, ou les deux, et pour lesquels on observe des signes de dommages à l’ADN. Pour ces produits chimiques, les doses qui ne sont pas associées avec le développement de tumeurs (habituellement selon des études sur les animaux, puisqu’il n’existe en général pas de données sur les effets de ces produits chez l’humain), une dose appelée « dose sans effet nocif observé » (DSENO) est employée comme valeur de départ, à laquelle on applique des facteurs « de sécurité » ou « d’incertitude » afin d’obtenir une limite d’exposition (U.S. EPA, 2005). Cette valeur de départ peut également être établie par modélisation mathématique de données sur les tumeurs afin d’établir une dose appelée « dose repère », associée à un degré de risque prédéterminé (par exemple, détermination statistique, à partir de données sur les tumeurs, de la dose associée à un excès de risque de 10 % par rapport au risque de base) (U.S. EPA, 2005; EFSA, 2009). Les limites d’exposition dérivées de DSENO ou de doses repères auxquelles des facteurs de sécurité sont appliqués sont souvent appelées « doses journalières admissibles » (DJA) ou « doses de référence (DRf) (Bolt et Degen, 2004; U.S. EPA, 2005; EFSA, 2009; SCHER, 2009). Il convient de faire remarquer que les expositions inférieures à la DJA ou à la DRf sont considérées être associées à un risque “nul” de développement de cancer. Dans la classification employée ici, les limites d’exposition correspondant à une DJA ou à une DRf concerneraient généralement les produits chimiques “non réputés cancérogènes”.