Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Strategic Priorities


Serious and Organized Crime

What is Organized Crime?

Under the Criminal Code (Section 467.1), Organized Crime is defined as being composed of three or more persons, having as one of its main purposes a serious offence likely to result in a financial benefit. So, just about any type of illicit activity can be undertaken by organized crime groups, as long as there is money to be made. Identity theft, human trafficking, sex crimes against children, credit card fraud and counterfeit goods, just to name a few, can, and often do have links to organized crime.

The Impact of Organized Crime

Organized crime affects the daily lives of Canadians. You may not be aware of it, but it can affect the taxes you pay (tax revenue losses from contraband tobacco and alcohol); your car insurance premiums (higher auto insurance due to car thefts by organized crime rings); your banking fees (banks recovering fraud costs); even your safety and health (drug-related violence, faulty counterfeit goods, and neighborhood marihuana grow operations). In terms of economic-related crimes (e.g. credit & debit card fraud), it is estimated that organized crime costs Canadians $5 billion every year; that translate into $600 a year for a family of four.

Globalization and rapid advances in technology have contributed to the expansion and internationalization of organized crime activities; Canadians can easily fall victim to organized crime groups operating outside of our borders, (identity theft, internet, e-mail scams, phishing, etc.), making it a global problem that cannot be fought solely within our borders.

The violence and corrupting effect of organized crime groups are mainstays of primary activities, which greatly affect every Canadian's right to safety and security.

Plans and Priorities

The RCMP is committed to safe homes and safe communities for all Canadians, and to accomplish this we identified the fight against organized crime as a strategic priority in 2001. Using an intelligence-led, integrated approach, the RCMP is focusing its activities on reducing the threat and impact of organized crime. In fulfilling its mandate, the RCMP is working closely with domestic and international partners in a sustained effort to dismantle today's criminal groups. To contribute to a successful outcome, the RCMP will:

  • reduce the total harmful effects caused by organized crime by disrupting illicit markets
  • improve the quality of the criminal intelligence/information process
  • share intelligence with partners and cooperate with enforcement units at the municipal, national and international levels
  • formulate an up-to-date picture of the threat of organized crime and prioritize investigations
  • provide scientific and technical support and new technologies to enhance investigative abilities
  • enhance public awareness of the dangers and impacts of organized crime
  • reduce demand for illicit products

National Security

Anything that impacts the fabric of Canadian society could be considered a threat to national security. The RCMP will focus its efforts on: espionage or sabotage against Canada; foreign influenced activities detrimental to the interests of Canada; activities directed toward or in support of the threat or use of acts of serious violence against Canadians for political, religious or ideological objectives; and, activities leading to the destruction or overthrow by violence of the government of Canada.

The greatest threat to Canada's national security is the threat of terrorist criminal activity in Canada and abroad. The RCMP's role is to prevent, detect, deny and respond to this criminal activity. There is an organizational necessity to ensure that our response to the threat of terrorist criminal activity is strategically aligned, focused and centrally controlled by National Headquarters. We need to ensure capacity and capability to achieve a multifaceted approach including outreach/awareness at all levels of policing with communities and partners, prevention, strategic analysis, information/intelligence sharing, and enforcement.

Our investigative successes are largely determined by our flexibility, leadership and collaboration with foreign and domestic law enforcement partners. We must continue to become more proactive and responsive in accordance with the level of threat.

This end-state can be achieved by maintaining a nation-wide integrated National Security Criminal Investigations Program; by continuously improving our information sharing practices with other federal agencies and partners consistent with current policies; by developing outreach and education strategies that will lead to the engagement of stakeholders across the country and assist Canadians in avoiding being victimized; and, by ensuring the situational awareness of the RCMP Senior Executive and the Government of Canada on the status of the threat environment.

Finally, we must also enhance our abilities to evaluate lessons learned to better equip the RCMP to prevent, detect, deny and respond to criminal activity.

NATIONAL SECURITY TIP LINE
1-800-420-5805

(to report information regarding terrorism, criminal extremism or suspicious activities which could pose a threat to national safety and security)

Plans and Priorities

The RCMP is committed to working in partnership with both domestic and foreign agencies to enhance prevention measures against terrorist criminal activity in Canada and abroad.

The RCMP National Security strategy will "Conduct focused and effective criminal investigations".

The RCMP will:

  • counter criminal threats to the security of Canada
  • establish and maintain relationships
  • enhance information management
  • conduct focused and effective criminal investigations
  • influence public policy

Learn more about National Security:


Youth

One of the RCMP's five strategic priorities is to reduce youth involvement in crime, whether as victims or offenders. The current priority issues are bullying and cyberbullying, impaired and distracted driving, substance abuse, and youth violence.

In order to reduce youth crime and victimization, the RCMP aims to:

  • support sustainable long-term responses;
  • support approaches that are consistent with the Youth Criminal Justice Act;
  • focus on risk factors, prevention and early intervention; and
  • promote youth engagement and empowerment.

To help achieve these goals, the RCMP focuses on: 1) Outreach and Engagement and 2) Intervention and Diversion.

Outreach and Engagement Intervention and Diversion
Increasing youth awareness and influencing youth behavior through behaviour modeling, mentoring, active learning and engaging youth to positively influence their peers, school and community. Intervening with youth offenders and victims of crime to address underlying causes of crime and victimization through direct programming, multi-agency partnerships and referrals to community programs.
This includes:
  • school-based prevention initiatives;
  • community engagement;
  • youth consultation;
  • youth-police partnerships;
  • on-line resources; and
  • technology-enabled engagement.
This includes:
  • extra-judicial measures;
  • restorative justice approaches; and
  • multi-agency partnerships.

Every province and territory has an RCMP Youth Officer who supports the development of national youth policy and programs, and oversees local initiatives. These officers are trained through the National Youth Officer Program. This program provides education and awareness to officers working with youth on the causes of youth crime and victimization and what police officers and youth can do to prevent it.

The RCMP's Centre for Youth Crime Prevention website provides police officers and adults working with youth with tools and resources to assist them in their interactions with youth in schools and the community. The Centre for Youth Crime Prevention encourages effective youth engagement and provides resources on youth crime and victimization issues such as bullying, Internet safety, dating violence and impaired driving, among others.

It is important that young people have the opportunity to provide their perspective on issues that affect them since they are believed to be key players in the prevention of crime in communities. Understanding their perspective enables police officers to interact more effectively with and better understand youth. The RCMP National Youth Advisory Committee brings together youth from all over Canada to discuss important issues that they face in their respective communities, while providing valuable input to the RCMP's policies, programs and strategies.

The RCMP believes that long-term prevention of youth crime and victimization can only be accomplished in partnership with the community. For this reason, the RCMP works closely with local organizations and social services so that young people who come into contact with the police, as either victims or offenders, receive the help they need to overcome the challenges in their lives.

For more information please contact youth_jeunesse@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.


Aboriginal Communities

Contributing to safer and healthier Aboriginal communities is one of the five strategic priorities of the RCMP. Delivering culturally competent police services provides the foundation necessary to build relationships and partnerships with the more than 600 Aboriginal communities we serve.

Our shared and unique history with Canada's Aboriginal peoples provides an environment in which we can work collaboratively to improve community health and wellness. We are committed to continue building upon these relationships as we encourage, sustain and foster honest and open dialogue among our Aboriginal partners. As we work together, the RCMP is in a position to assist and advocate for Aboriginal communities at a local and national level.

We contribute to safer and healthier Aboriginal communities by:

  • promoting and encouraging the recruitment of Aboriginal people as potential employees and police officers.
  • working collaboratively with the communities to ensure enhanced and optimized service delivery by developing relevant and culturally competent police services.
  • contributing to the development of community capacity to prevent crime through on-going social development.
  • maintaining and strengthening partnerships with Aboriginal communities, our policing and government partners, stakeholders and with Aboriginal organizations.
  • promoting and using alternative / community justice initiatives for Aboriginal people.
  • demonstrating value for service through the development, management and evaluation of the detachment performance plan created in collaboration with the local Aboriginal communities.
  • contributing to public policy development and implementation and development to assist in building safer, and healthier Aboriginal communities.

Economic Integrity

The types of crimes driven by the motivation for profit are extensive and certainly not victimless. Illegal economic activity either robs or diverts funds away from hard-working Canadians. The confidence of Canadian consumers and investors in their economy can be shaken – their economic security undermined and their trust in institutions put at risk. Examples of crimes that impact Canada's Economic Integrity include:

  • an employee engages in insider trading, defrauding company stockholders out of millions;
  • an individual files a false insurance claim for a staged auto accident, contributing to a rise in insurance rates;
  • an organized criminal group finances activities by manufacturing and selling counterfeit batteries, threatening the safety of Canadians and diverting profit from legitimate business;
  • a restaurant merchant uses a sophisticated payment card reader to overcharge its patrons, stealing their money and personal information; and
  • an individual from another country engages in a telemarketing scam, taking the life-savings of a recently-retired Canadian senior.

The nature of crimes that affect the economy is rapidly changing. In the face of globalization and technological progress, criminals are operating beyond jurisdictions using sophisticated and continuously-evolving methods to find victims. Law enforcement plays an important role in strengthening and preserving the security and economic interests of Canada. However, maintaining Canada's Economic Integrity is a complex issue that must be tackled in cooperation with other law enforcement agencies, governments at all levels, the private sector and our international partners. Together, we must work to ensure that Canadians have confidence in their financial, currency and market systems.

Plans and Priorities

The RCMP will adopt Economic Integrity as a new strategic priority for 2006-2007 with a focus on preventing, detecting and deterring crimes that affect the Canadian economy. Education, awareness and enforcement initiatives to support the priority will be drawn from existing and newly-developed programs. We will continue to work with key partners and consult and engage our communities in driving out this new priority, with a strategic focus on the counterfeiting of currency and on corruption wherever it might occur.

The RCMP will:

  • communicate effectively with citizens, partners and stakeholders
  • enhance public awareness of the methods to reduce and prevent economic crimes
  • formulate an up-to-date picture of the risks to confidence in Canada's economy and prioritize investigations
  • improve the quality of the intelligence/information process
  • impact crime through education, prevention and awareness
  • contribute to confidence in monetary, financial and market systems
  • share intelligence with partners, and cooperate with enforcement units at the municipal, national and international levels
  • reduce opportunity for crimes impacting Canadian market and financial systems with our partners
What is Economic Integrity?

Economic Integrity refers to consumer and investor confidence in that Canada is a safe and secure place to conduct business, invest and save money. It is where consumers and investors have confidence in Canada's financial, currency and marketing systems.

When consumers and investors become victims of economic crimes, their confidence is weakened in the system. As an example, individuals could be more fearful of using certain methods of payment, even when the commerce that is being conducted is legitimate and secure.

Which crimes can affect confidence in Canada's Economic Integrity?

The RCMP is involved in preventing and detecting crimes that can affect Canada's Economic Integrity. These include:

  • mass marketing fraud
  • currency counterfeiting
  • counterfeit of goods/intellectual property crime
  • payment card fraud
  • identity fraud
  • money laundering
  • securities fraud
Why was Economic Integrity chosen as a strategic priority?

Research and environmental trends indicated that this was an area of concern. The nature of crimes that affect the economy has been rapidly changing. In the face of globalization and technological progress, criminals are operating beyond jurisdictions, using sophisticated and continuously-evolving methods to find victims.

There are already several activities related to Economic Integrity and we are looking at what else the RCMP can do in this area. The priority is still in its infancy and the RCMP is currently undertaking planning activities to roll-out the priority for the 2006-2007 fiscal year.

How will the RCMP contribute to this new priority?

Law enforcement agencies play a critical role in strengthening and preserving the security and economic interests of Canada. The RCMP's role in contributing to Canada's Economic Integrity involves education, awareness and enforcement to prevent, detect and deter crimes that affect the Canadian economy.

The RCMP already undertakes a number of activities that contribute to the new priority, in cooperation with our partners. These include:

  • RECOL (Reporting Economic Crime On-line): Complaints of fraud are reported.
  • Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre (Phonebusters): Intelligence on scams and identity theft is collected.
  • Integrated Marketing Enforcement Teams (IMETs ): These teams detect, investigate and bring to justice those who commit serious capital market offenses.
  • Proceeds of Crime and Money Laundering: The identification, seizure and forfeiture of proceeds of crime .
  • Specific measures to detect and deter currency counterfeiting, including educating merchants are undertaken.
  • Work with FINTRAC to combat terrorist fundraising.
What does it mean when something is a strategic priority at the RCMP?

There are five RCMP strategic priorities that impact RCMP planning and operations.

  • Aboriginal Communities,
  • Terrorism,
  • Organized Crime,
  • Youth, and now,
  • Economic Integrity.

The RCMP conducts strategic planning and performance management in relation to its priorities. When undertaking strategic planning activities, if something is a priority, initiatives will be linked to it. A critical component of this planning activity involves consulting our community partners on activities surrounding priorities in the interest of ensuring that our goals are aligned.

Canadian communities are diverse in nature and therefore face different challenges. For example, one community's key area of interest related to Economic Integrity could be currency counterfeiting, while another's could be mass marketing fraud.

Each strategic priority has a dedicated working group at RCMP headquarters that is championed by a Deputy Commissioner.

Will new funding be allocated to this strategic priority?

Our current funding will be allocated to ensure that it meets the requirements of this new priority. Planning continues to be underway, and as such, no exact determinations have been made about how funding for the new priority will be directed.

Will there be any new initiatives to support this priority?

To support Canada 's Economic Integrity in our diverse communities, the current initiatives available to law enforcement could be augmented by new initiatives designed to respond to different circumstances and needs.

What is the difference between Organized Crime and Economic Integrity? Don't they cover the same ground?

There are aspects of the Economic Integrity priority that are not covered in the Organized Crime priority. For example, groups of individuals that commit crimes are not necessarily classified as "organized crime". As well, Organized Crime does not take into account crimes committed by individuals that affect the economy. For one, computer hackers that look for personal financial information are not necessarily organized criminals nor are individuals who manipulate stocks.

So does this mean that the RCMP will be putting away more white-collar criminals?

It is up to the courts to decide the most appropriate punishment in any case. However, the enforcement and penal system are a joint responsibility of all members of the justice system; therefore, we must work in cooperation with the courts as well as other law enforcement agencies. Maintaining Canada's Economic Integrity is a complex issue that must be tackled in cooperation with other law enforcement, multiple orders of government and our international partners.

Les priorités stratégiques

Sur cette page

Crimes graves et crime organisé

Qu'est-ce que le crime organisé?

Selon l'article 467.1 du Code criminel, une organisation criminelle est définie comme étant un groupe composé d'au moins trois personnes, dont un des objets principaux est de commettre une infraction grave qui pourrait lui procurer un avantage financier. Donc, presque n'importe quel type d'activité illicite peut être entrepris par des groupes du crime organisé, pourvu que cette activité soit lucrative. Le vol d'identité, la traite des personnes, les crimes sexuels commis contre des enfants, la fraude par carte de crédit et les biens contrefaits, par exemple, sont des activités qui peuvent être liées au crime organisé, et qui souvent le sont.

Incidence du crime organisé

Le crime organisé affecte le quotidien des Canadiens. Vous ne le savez peut-être pas, mais le crime organisé peut avoir une incidence sur les impôts que vous payez (pertes de recettes fiscales liées à la contrebande d'alcool et de produits du tabac); sur vos primes d'assurance automobile (hausse des primes d'assurance automobile attribuables aux réseaux de vols de voitures du crime organisé); sur vos frais bancaires (recouvrement par les banques des coûts liés à la fraude); et même sur votre sécurité et votre santé (violence liée à la drogue, produits contrefaits défectueux et installations de culture de la marihuana dans votre quartier).

La mondialisation et les avancées technologiques rapides ont contribué à l'essor et à l'internationalisation des activités liées au crime organisé; les Canadiens peuvent facilement devenir des victimes de groupes du crime organisé actifs à l'étranger (vol d'identité, fraude par Internet, courriels frauduleux, hameçonnage, etc.), ce qui en fait un problème mondial contre lequel on ne peut lutter exclusivement à l'intérieur de nos frontières.

La violence et l'effet de corruption des groupes du crime organisé constituent le fondement des activités primaires et portent considérablement atteinte au droit à la sûreté et à la sécurité des Canadiens.

Plans et priorités

La GRC est résolue à assurer la sécurité des foyers et des collectivités pour tous les Canadiens, et pour y arriver, elle a désigné la lutte contre le crime organisé comme une priorité stratégique en 2001. Par une approche intégrée et axée sur le renseignement, la GRC concentre ses activités sur la réduction de la menace et de l'incidence du crime organisé. Afin de remplir son mandat, la GRC travaille de près et de manière soutenue avec ses partenaires nationaux et étrangers pour démanteler les groupes criminels. Pour obtenir des résultats, la GRC :

Savoir plus

Savoir plus

Sécurité nationale

Sachant que toute atteinte au tissu de la société canadienne peut être considérée comme une menace à la sécurité nationale, la GRC concentre ses efforts sur les formes de menaces suivantes : espionnage et actes de sabotage ciblant le Canada, agissements sous influence étrangère qui nuisent aux intérêts du Canada, agissements ayant pour fin la destruction du gouvernement canadien ou son renversement par la force, agissements ayant pour fin ou pour résultat de susciter la perpétration ou la menace de la perpétration d'actes de violence grave contre des Canadiens pour des motifs de nature politique, religieuse ou idéologique.

Le terrorisme, au pays comme à l'étranger, constitue la plus grande menace à la sécurité nationale du Canada. La GRC a pour tâche d'empêcher, de déceler, de priver et d'intervenir les activités criminelles liées au terrorisme. C'est pour obéir à un impératif organisationnel que nous veillons à ce que nos interventions soient stratégiquement harmonisées, orientées et contrôlées par la Direction générale. Nous nous assurons de disposer des moyens et de la capacité de remplir une mission qui comporte de multiples aspects, notamment la sensibilisation auprès des communautés et des partenaires par l'ensemble du personnel policier, la prévention, l'analyse stratégique, l'échange d'information et de renseignements et l'exécution de la loi.

Le succès de nos enquêtes repose principalement sur notre faculté d'adaptation, notre sens du commandement et les mérites de notre collaboration avec divers organismes partenaires au pays et à l'étranger. Nous devons continuer à nous montrer plus proactifs et plus prompts à réagir selon le niveau de menace.

Nous pouvons atteindre notre objectif par l'exploitation d'un programme national intégré d'Enquêtes criminelles relatives à la sécurité nationale, par l'amélioration continue, en conformité avec les politiques en vigueur, des pratiques d'échange de renseignements avec d'autres organismes et partenaires fédéraux, par l'élaboration de stratégies de sensibilisation et d'information susceptibles d'attirer le concours des parties intéressées partout au pays et ainsi de réduire les chances que des Canadiens subissent quelconque préjudice, et par le constant relais, à la haute direction de la GRC et au gouvernement du Canada, d'une connaissance de la situation qui les informe sur l'état courant des menaces.

Enfin, il nous faut apprendre à mieux tirer des leçons de nos expériences afin de perfectionner les outils dont se sert la GRC pour empêcher, déceler, priver et intervenir les activités criminelles.

Réseau Info-Sécurité Nationale

1-800-420-5805

(Pour signaler toute information sur des activités liées au terrorisme ou à des formes criminelles d'extrémisme ainsi que sur tous genres d'agissements suspects pouvant menacer la sécurité nationale.)

Plans et priorités

La GRC investit beaucoup d'efforts dans sa collaboration avec des organismes canadiens et étrangers en vue d'améliorer les mesures de prévention contre les activités terroristes au Canada et à l'étranger.

La stratégie de la GRC en matière nationale consiste à « Mener des enquêtes criminelles ciblées et efficaces ».

La GRC est résolue à :

Voir aussi

La jeunesse

L'une des cinq priorités stratégiques de la GRC consiste à réduire l'activité des jeunes dans la criminalité et leur présence parmi les victimes.

Nos priorités de l'heure sont:

Afin de réduire la criminalité et la victimisation chez les jeunes, la GRC entend :

Pour atteindre ses objectifs, la GRC mise sur ce qui suit :

Sensibilisation et mobilisation

Accroître la sensibilisation des jeunes, exercer une influence sur eux en leur proposant des modèles de comportement ainsi que des possibilités de mentorat et d'apprentissage actif, et les mobiliser afin qu'ils jouent un rôle positif auprès de leurs pairs, à l'école et dans leur collectivité.

Cela comprend :

  • des initiatives de prévention en milieu scolaire;
  • la mobilisation communautaire;
  • la consultation des jeunes;
  • des partenariats entre les jeunes et la police;
  • des ressources en ligne;
  • la sensibilisation technohabilitée.
Intervention et déjudiciarisation

Intervention auprès des jeunes, qu'ils soient contrevenants ou victimes, pour s'attaquer aux causes sous-jacentes de la criminalité et de la victimisation grâce à une programmation directe, à des partenariats entre divers organismes et à des renvois aux programmes communautaires.

Cela comprend :

  • des mesures extrajudiciaires;
  • des stratégies de justice réparatrice;
  • des partenariats multiorganismes.

Bon nombre d'écoles dans les territoires de compétence de la GRC compte un policier éducateur qui fait office de personne-ressource clé pour les jeunes, les parents et les enseignants d'une école donnée ou d'un groupe d'écoles. Les policiers éducateurs soutiennent les efforts de police communautaires et participent souvent à la prestation de programmes et d'initiatives locales de la GRC destinés aux jeunes.

Le site Web du Centre de prévention du crime chez les jeunes de la GRC fournit aux jeunes, aux policiers et aux éducateurs des outils et des ressources pour les aider à gérer leurs interactions avec les jeunes dans les écoles et la collectivité. Il encourage la participation efficace des jeunes grâce à la pensée critique et propose des ressources sur des sujets de criminalité et de victimisation chez les jeunes, tels que l'intimidation, la sécurité sur Internet, la violence dans les fréquentations, la conduite avec facultés affaiblies et la distraction au volant, entre autres problèmes sociaux que vivent les jeunes.

Il importe que les jeunes prennent la parole dans les sujets qui les concernent, puisqu'ils jouent un rôle essentiel dans la prévention du crime dans les collectivités. En connaissant leur point de vue, les policiers peuvent interagir plus efficacement avec eux et mieux les comprendre. Le Comité consultatif national sur la jeunesse rassemble des jeunes de partout au Canada pour discuter des problèmes importants auxquels ils font face dans leurs collectivités respectives, tout en apportant une précieuse contribution aux politiques, aux programmes et aux stratégies de la GRC.

La GRC croit que la prévention à long terme de la criminalité et de la victimisation chez les jeunes n'est possible que si les collectivités y participent. Voilà pourquoi la GRC travaille de près avec les organismes locaux et les services sociaux de manière à ce que les jeunes qui entrent en contact avec la police, que ce soit comme victimes ou comme contrevenants, puissent obtenir l'aide dont ils ont besoin à ce moment de leur vie.

Pour plus d'information ou pour demander une copie de la Stratégie nationale sur la jeunesse, veuillez contacter : CYCP_CPCJ@rcmp-grc.gc.ca

Les Communautés autochtones

Les communautés autochtones constituent l'une des cinq priorités stratégiques de la GRC, une priorité qui vise à créer des communautés autochtones plus saines et plus sûres. Fournir des services de police adaptés sur le plan culturel jette les bases nécessaires pour établir des relations et des partenariats avec les quelque 600 communautés autochtones que nous servons.

Les liens historiques que nous entretenons avec les peuples autochtones au Canada fournissent un climat de collaboration dans lequel nous pouvons travailler à l'amélioration de la santé et du bien-être de la communauté. Nous nous engageons à continuer à miser sur ces relations en encourageant, en maintenant et en favorisant un dialogue honnête et ouvert avec les partenaires autochtones. En travaillant ensemble avec ses partenaires, la GRC est en mesure d'aider les communautés autochtones et de défendre leurs intérêts à l'échelle locale et nationale.

Nous contribuons à créer des communautés plus saines et plus sûres :

L'intégrité économique

Les divers crimes motivés par le profit sont nombreux et loin d'être sans victimes. Toute activité économique illégale entraîne pour les Canadiens le vol ou le détournement de leurs avoirs. La confiance des consommateurs et des investisseurs canadiens envers l'économie du Canada a été ébranlée, leur sécurité économique a été minée et leur confiance envers les institutions a été menacée. Divers crimes ont une incidence sur l'intégrité économique du Canada, comme ceux-ci :

La nature des crimes qui ont une incidence sur l'économie change rapidement. Compte tenu de la mondialisation et des progrès technologiques, les criminels se livrent à leurs activités sans être limités par les frontières et ont recours à des méthodes perfectionnées et en constante évolution pour trouver des victimes . La répression joue un rôle important dans le renforcement et la préservation de la sécurité et des intérêts économiques du Canada. Cependant, préserver l'intégrité économique du Canada est une lutte complexe qui doit être menée en collaboration avec d'autres organismes d'application de la loi, tous les ordres de gouvernement, le secteur privé et nos partenaires étrangers. Ensemble, nous devons travailler à s'assurer que les Canadiens font confiance aux régimes financiers, monétaires et de marché du pays.

Plans et priorités

La GRC adoptera l'intégrité économique comme nouvelle priorité stratégique pour l'exercice 2006-2007, en mettant l'accent sur la prévention et la détection des crimes qui affectent l'économie canadienne. Des initiatives d'éducation, de sensibilisation et de répression relevant de programmes existants et nouveaux serviront à soutenir cette priorité. Nous continuerons à travailler avec les partenaires clés ainsi qu'à consulter et à faire participer les communautés à la réalisation de cette nouvelle priorité, qui sera principalement axée sur la fabrication de fausse monnaie canadienne et la corruption.

La GRC :

Voir également les sites suivants

Voir également les sites suivants

Intégrité économique : Questions et réponses

Intégrité économique : Questions et réponses

Q1. Qu'est-ce que l'intégrité économique?

L'intégrité économique désigne la confiance des consommateurs et des investisseurs dans les systèmes financier, monétaire et commercial d'un pays.

Lorsque les consommateurs et les investisseurs sont victimes de crimes économiques, leur confiance dans le système est ébranlée. Par exemple, les victimes peuvent en venir à craindre d'utiliser certains modes de paiement, même lorsque les transactions sont légitimes et sûres.

Q2. Quels crimes peuvent miner la confiance dans l'intégrité économique du Canada?

La GRC s'efforce de prévenir et de déceler les crimes qui peuvent nuire à l'intégrité économique du Canada, notamment :

  • la fraude en marketing de masse
  • la fabrication de fausse monnaie
  • la contrefaçon de produits ou les crimes contre la propriété intellectuelle
  • la fraude sur les cartes de paiement
  • l'usurpation d'identité
  • le blanchiment d'argent
  • la fraude en valeurs mobilières
Q3. Pourquoi l'intégrité économique est-elle devenue une priorité stratégique ?

Des recherches et des analyses de l'environnement ont indiqué que l'intégrité économique était une source de préoccupation. La nature des crimes qui touchent l'économie évolue rapidement. En tirant profit de la mondialisation et des avancées technologiques, les criminels sévissent sans se soucier des frontières, en utilisant des méthodes de pointe en constante évolution.

La GRC mène déjà plusieurs activités liées à l'intégrité économique et cherche d'autres moyens de favoriser cette dernière. Cette priorité en est au stade embryonnaire et la GRC planifie actuellement son introduction pour l'exercice 2006-2007.

Q4. De quelle façon la GRC prendra-t-elle en charge cette nouvelle priorité?

Les organismes chargés de l'application de la loi jouent un rôle déterminant dans le renforcement et la préservation de la sécurité et des intérêts économiques du Canada. Le rôle de la GRC dans le maintien de l'intégrité économique du Canada consiste, par la sensibilisation et la répression, à prévenir, à déceler et à décourager les crimes qui touchent l'économie canadienne.

La GRC est déjà engagée dans un certain nombre d'activités à l'appui de la nouvelle priorité, en collaboration avec ses partenaires. En voici quelques exemples :

  • RECOL (auparavant SEDDE) (Signalement en direct des délits économiques) : Signalement des arnaques de fraude;
  • Centre antifraude du Canada (Phonebusters) : Collecte de renseignements sur les escroqueries et le vol d'identité;
  • Équipes intégrées de la police des marchés financiers (EIPMF ) : Ces équipes repèrent les auteurs de délits graves liés aux marchés financiers, enquêtent sur eux et les traduisent en justice;
  • Recyclage des produits de la criminalité : Identification, saisie et confiscation de produits de la criminalité;
  • Mesures visant précisément à déceler et à décourager la fabrication de fausse monnaie, notamment en sensibilisant les commerçants;
  • Collaboration avec le Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE) pour lutter contre le financement d'activités terroristes.
Q5. Que représentent les priorités stratégiques de la GRC?

La GRC compte cinq priorités stratégiques : les communautés autochtones, le terrorisme, le crime organisé, la jeunesse, et désormais, l'intégrité économique. Les priorités stratégiques sont un élément essentiel de la planification et des activités de la GRC.

La GRC effectue de la planification stratégique et de la gestion du rendement en rapport avec ses priorités. Au stade de la planification, elle prévoit toujours des initiatives liées à ses priorités. La planification consiste notamment à consulter nos partenaires communautaires pour connaître leurs activités et nous assurer que nos objectifs sont en conformité.

Vu qu'elles sont diversifiées, les communautés canadiennes sont confrontées à des difficultés différentes. Par exemple, le principal problème d'intégrité économique d'une communauté peut être la fausse monnaie, tandis que ce sera la fraude en marketing de masse pour une autre.

Chaque priorité stratégique est prise en charge par un groupe de travail à la Direction générale de la GRC qui est chapeauté par un sous-commissaire.

Q6. Est-ce que de nouveaux fonds seront affectés à la nouvelle priorité stratégique?

Nos fonds actuels seront alloués de façon à répondre aux exigences de cette nouvelle priorité, mais il n'a pas encore été déterminé avec exactitude de quelle façon les fonds alloués à la nouvelle priorité seront utilisés.

Q7. Est-ce que de nouvelles initiatives seront lancées à l'appui de cette priorité?

Les initiatives en cours pour soutenir l'intégrité économique dans les communautés diversifiées du Canada pourraient être renforcées par de nouvelles initiatives conçues en fonction des circonstances et des différents besoins.

Q8. Quelle est la différence entre le crime organisé et l'intégrité économique? Ces priorités ne se chevauchent-elles pas?

Certains aspects de l'intégrité économique ne se rapportent pas au crime organisé. Par exemple, les groupes qui commettent des crimes ne font pas nécessairement partie du crime organisé. De même, la priorité du crime organisé ne tient pas compte de certains crimes qui nuisent à l'économie. Les pirates informatiques qui cherchent à obtenir des informations financières personnelles et les individus qui manipulent des actions n'appartiennent pas nécessairement au crime organisé.

Q9. Est-ce que l'adoption de cette priorité signifie que la GRC incarcérera un plus grand nombre de criminels en col blanc?

C'est aux tribunaux qu'il incombe de déterminer les sanctions qui doivent être imposées aux criminels. Cependant, l'application de la loi et le système pénal sont la responsabilité de tous les membres du système judiciaire; c'est pourquoi, nous devons collaborer avec les tribunaux et les autres organismes chargés de l'application de la loi. Le maintien de l'intégrité économique du Canada est un défi complexe qui doit être relevé en collaboration avec des partenaires de la communauté canadienne de l'application de la loi, de différents paliers du gouvernement et de l'extérieur du Canada.

Date de modification :