Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Protective Policing Services

Protective Policing Services

Quick Facts

RCMP Protective Policing is responsible for:

  • Over 125 embassies and high commissions in the National Capital Region;
  • The protection of 500 Resident Foreign Diplomatic Missions;
  • Approximately 500 foreign Consulates across Canada;
  • The security of approximately 500 visits by foreign dignitaries and Internationally Protected Persons per year;
  • Responding to approximately 600 demonstrations a year on average; and
  • Providing specially trained police officers on board select Canadian registered aircraft.

PDF PDF Version (262 KB)

LEARN MORE book

Information on Public Order - Demonstrators

RCMP Parliament Hill Detachment

Overview

Protective Policing business line is part of Federal Services provided by the RCMP. In the 1950s and 1960s, RCMP members were assigned to Canadian dignitaries and major visits for ceremonial presence as well as for security.

It is only in the 1970s that Protective Policing was established as an independent, identifiable function within the RCMP.

Protection is extended to Canadian and foreign dignitaries, persons designated by the Minister of Public Safety, major events held in Canada, and Canadian air carriers.

Canadian Dignitaries

The RCMP is mandated at all times, during both private and official functions, for the personal protection of the Governor General of Canada, the Prime Minister, their families and residences. When traveling abroad, the Governor General and the Prime Minister are accompanied by Protective Policing members. These members maintain communication with local protective and law enforcement authorities, ensuring that appropriate levels of protection are provided.

The security measures implemented are commensurate with the high profile positions held by the Governor General as the representative of the Head of State and of the Prime Minister as the Head of Government.

The RCMP continuously assesses the security requirements, and as a matter of practice makes recommendations to the Governor General and Prime Minister with respect to the effective delivery of security measures, which would include advice regarding transportation. For security and safety reasons, the RCMP requests that all their air movements be on government aircraft.

Protective Policing is responsible for the safety of Supreme and Federal Court judges, as well as Federal Cabinet Ministers. Protective Policing also secure designated protected sites, including the grounds of Parliament Hill, Rideau Hall, and the Supreme Court of Canada. It also has a Traffic Unit that is responsible for enforcing provincial and federal traffic acts on National Capital Commission roadways in the National Capital Region.

Foreign Dignitaries

Internationally Protected Persons, such as Heads of State and government and foreign diplomats, are provided with protection while in Canada.

Major Events

Security at significant national or international events hosted by the Federal Government, including Royal Visits and international summits fall under the mandate of Protective Policing. Additionally, certain events can be designated to receive RCMP security, such as the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Canadian Air Carrier Protective Program

Air Travel

In 2001, as a result of an initiative put forward by Transport Canada, the RCMP entered into an agreement with the Canadian Air Transport Security Authority (CATSA) to provide specially-trained RCMP officers on board select Canadian registered aircraft.

The Canadian Air Carrier Protective Program (CACPP) was created in the aftermath of the tragic events of September 11, 2001 at the request of Transport Canada, the lead agency in this National Security initiative. Protective Policing is responsible for the deployment of In Flight Security Officers (IFSO) aboard selected domestic and international flights.

Under the RCMPs Protective Policing, the mandate of the CACPP is to ensure the protection of Canadian and international air travelers by placing highly trained covert officers on board selected Canadian-registered domestic, transborder and international passenger flights.

To read Adobe Acrobat (PDF) files, you may need to download and install the free Adobe Reader available from Adobe Systems Incorporated.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Services de police de protection

Police de protection

En bref

Responsabilités de la Police de protection de la GRC :

  • Plus de 125 ambassades et hauts-commissariats dans la région de la capitale nationale
  • 500 missions diplomatiques
  • Environ 500 consulats dans l'ensemble du pays
  • Environ 500 visites par an de dignitaires étrangers et de personnes jouissant d'une protection internationale
  • Quelque 600 manifestations par an en moyenne
  • Affectation de policiers formés à bord de certains aéronefs immatriculés au Canada

PDF Version PDF (218 Ko)

SAVOIR PLUS book

Information sur l'ordre publique - manifestants

Aperçu

Le secteur d'activité de la Police de protection fait partie des Services fédéraux offerts par la GRC. Dans les années 1950 et 1960, des membres de la GRC étaient affectés aux visites majeures et aux visites de dignitaires canadiens à des fins cérémoniales et de sécurité.

Ce n'est que dans les années 1970 qu'on a établi la Police de protection comme une fonction indépendante et distincte au sein de la GRC.

Cette protection s'étend aux dignitaires canadiens et étrangers ainsi qu'aux personnes désignées par le ministre de la Sécurité publique. Elle couvre également les événements majeurs tenus au pays et les transporteurs aériens canadiens.

Dignitaires canadiens

La GRC a la responsabilité en tout temps, à la fois durant les évènements privés et officiels, d'assurer la protection de la gouverneure générale du Canada, du premier ministre, et de leurs familles et résidences. Lors de leurs déplacements à l'étranger, la gouverneure générale et le premier ministre sont accompagnés par des membres de la Police de protection. Ces membres restent en communication avec les autorités policières et de protection locales et assurent une protection appropriée est reçue. Les mesures de sécurité offertes correspondent à l'importance des postes occupés par Son Excellence en tant que représentant du Chef d'État et par le premier ministre en tant que Chef du gouvernement.

La GRC évalue continuellement les exigences au plan de la sécurité et fait des recommandations à la Gouverneure générale et au premier ministre quant à la prestation efficace des mesures de sécurité, ce qui englobe l'offre de conseils en matière de transport. Pour des raisons de sécurité et de protection, la GRC demande que ceux-ci effectuent tous leurs déplacements en avion à bord de l'aéronef du gouvernement.

La Police de protection assure la sécurité des juges de la Cour suprême et des autres cours fédérales, ainsi que des ministres du Cabinet fédéral. La Police de protection garde aussi des sites protégés désignés, dont les terrains de la Colline du Parlement, la résidence de la gouverneure générale (Rideau Hall) et la Cour suprême du Canada. La Police de protection comporte également un Groupe de la sécurité routière qui est responsable d'appliquer les lois provinciales et fédérales du code de la route sur les routes gérées par la Commission de la capitale nationale dans la région de la Capitale nationale.

Dignitaires étrangers

Les personnes jouissant d'une protection internationale, comme les chefs d'État et de gouvernement et les diplomates étrangers, sont protégées pendant leur séjour au Canada.

Événements majeurs

La sécurité lors d'événements majeurs nationaux ou internationaux organisés par le gouvernement du Canada, dont les visites royales et les sommets internationaux, font partie du mandat de la Police de protection. En outre, certains événements comme les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques peuvent être désignés pour que leur sécurité soit assurée par la GRC.

Programme de protection des transporteurs aériens canadiens

Déplacements aériens

En 2001, dans la foulée d'une initiative lancée par Transports Canada, la GRC a conclu une entente avec l'Administration canadienne de la sûreté du transport aérien (ACSTA) visant à affecter des membres de la GRC spécialement formés, à bord de certains aéronefs immatriculés au Canada.

Créé à la suite des événements tragiques du 11 septembre 2001, le Programme de protection des transporteurs aériens canadiens (PPTAC) a été mis en œuvre à la demande de Transports Canada, organisme responsable de cette initiative en matière d'aviation civile. La Police de protection est responsable de la formation d'Agents de sûreté à bord (ASB) et de leur affectation à certains vols intérieurs et internationaux.

Sous la direction de la Police de protection de la GRC, le PPTAC a pour mandat d'assurer la protection des voyageurs aériens sur des vols canadiens et internationaux en plaçant des agents qui ont reçu une formation étendue à bord des aéronefs immatriculés au Canada désignés.

 

Pour consulter les fichiers Adobe Acrobat (PDF), il peut être nécessaire de télécharger et installer le lecteur Adobe gratuit fourni par Adobe Systems Incorporated.