Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

International Peace Operations

Program Overview

Since 1989, Canada has deployed police officers to international peace missions around the world. They assist in rebuilding and strengthening police services in countries that have experienced conflict or upheaval.

By building the capacity of foreign police to maintain law and order, Canadian police, in cooperation with international partners, help create a safer and more stable environment.

This in turn paves the way for long-term development and can also prevent illicit activities from spilling across borders into other countries, including Canada.

How It Works

Foreign requests for Canadian police participation in international peace operations come from organizations such as the United Nations or from specific countries.

The decision to deploy Canadian police is made within the framework of the Canadian Police Arrangement (CPA), a partnership between the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development, Public Safety Canada and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP).

Renewed in 2011, the CPA is designed to help Canada respond to foreign requests for police participation in international missions without affecting policing at home.

The RCMP manages the deployment of Canadian police, including planning and evaluating missions, selecting and training personnel from across the country as well as providing support throughout deployment.

Canadian police who serve abroad come from municipal, provincial and regional police forces as well as the RCMP, and represent a variety of backgrounds.

They play a wide range of roles within each mission, from training and mentoring their police counterparts and providing humanitarian assistance to ensuring security for elections and investigating human rights violations.

Serving on a mission is a unique opportunity for police officers to contribute to public safety in unstable countries. Mission experience also enables our police to improve their leadership, problem-solving and intercultural skills, which ultimately benefits participating police services and the communities they serve.

Quick Facts

  • Canadian police have been involved in international peace operations since 1989. 2014 will mark 25 years of deployments.
  • To date, more than 3,000 Canadian police have served on close to 60 peace operations around the world.
  • In 1995, municipal, provincial and regional police agencies began participating in peace operations.
  • Today, just over 100 Canadian police officers are serving in peace operations in Afghanistan, Haiti and the West Bank. In addition, senior police advisors are posted to the Philippines Independent Commission on Policing and Canada's Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York.

For more information:

PDF Version

To read Adobe Acrobat (PDF) files, you may need to download and install the free Adobe Reader available from Adobe Systems Incorporated.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sous-direction des missions de paix internationales

Aperçu du programme

Depuis 1989, le Canada déploie des policiers dans le cadre de diverses missions de la paix à l'étranger. Ces agents participent à la réorganisation et au renforcement des services de police dans les pays ayant vécu des conflits ou des bouleversements.

En aidant la police étrangère à être mieux en mesure de maintenir l'ordre public, les policiers canadiens, en collaboration avec des partenaires internationaux, contribuent à instaurer un climat plus sécuritaire et plus stable dans ces pays.

Un tel climat facilite ensuite le développement à long terme et permet d'éviter que des activités illicites ne franchissent les frontières d'autres pays, y compris celles du Canada.

Fonctionnement

Les demandes pour la participation de la police canadienne aux opérations de paix internationales proviennent d'organisations telles les Nations Unies ou de pays étrangers.

La décision de déployer des policiers canadiens est prise en vertu de l'Arrangement sur la police au Canada (APC), conclu entre le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du développement, Sécurité publique Canada et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC).

L'APC a été renouvelé en 2011 pour permettre au Canada de répondre aux demandes de pays sollicitant la participation de policiers canadiens aux missions internationales, sans toutefois compromettre les services de police au pays.

La GRC gère le déploiement des policiers canadiens, en veillant notamment à planifier et à évaluer les missions, à sélectionner et à former le personnel provenant de partout au pays, puis à lui fournir du soutien tout au long de la mission.

Les policiers canadiens en service à l'étranger proviennent des services de police municipaux, provinciaux et régionaux ainsi que de la GRC, et possèdent un bagage varié.

À chaque mission, ils sont appelés à effectuer des tâches très diversifiées, notamment, former et guider leurs homologues policiers, veiller à la sécurité lors d'élections, assurer l'assistance humanitaire et enquêter sur les violations des droits de la personne.

Les missions de paix offrent à nos policiers l'occasion unique de contribuer à la sécurité des pays instables. Ces expériences permettent aussi aux policiers d'améliorer leurs compétences en leadership, dans la résolution de problèmes et dans leur efficacité interculturelle, ce qui bénéficie les services de police participants ainsi que les communautés qu'ils desservent.

Quelques données...

  • Les policiers canadiens participent aux opérations de paix internationales depuis 1989. Nous soulignerons notre 25e anniversaire en 2014.
  • Plus de 3000 policiers canadiens ont participés à près de 60 opérations de paix depuis 1989.
  • La participation des policiers municipaux et provinciaux aux opérations internationales remonte à 1995.
  • Aujourd'hui, un peu plus de 100 policiers canadiens sont déployés dans des opérations de paix en Afghanistan, dans la Cisjordanie et en Haïti. Des conseillers supérieurs en matière de police sont attachés à la Commission indépendante sur la police aux Philippines et à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies à New York.

Pour plus de renseignements

Version PDF

Pour consulter les fichiers Adobe Acrobat (PDF), il peut être nécessaire de télécharger et installer le lecteur Adobe gratuit fourni par Adobe Systems Incorporated.