Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

G1-026 Guide to the Application of Physical Security Zones

Physical Security Guide
Lead Agency Publication   G1-026

Issued: September 2005

Table of Contents

 

1.  Introduction

1.1   Purpose and Scope

The physical environments of facilities can be designed and managed in order to reduce the risk of unwanted events. Zoning is one component of physical security designed to reduce such risk. It should not be considered as a means that will eliminate risk, nor should it be considered as the only method to address risk. Instead, it should be viewed as an integral component of the overall risk management strategy.

This document provides information to assist departments in the application of the Government Security Policy (GSP) and the Operational Security Standard on Physical Security (OSSPS) as they relate to zoning.

1.2   Roles and Responsibilities

The Government Security Policy (Section 10.8 - Access Limitations) stipulates that “departments must limit access to classified and protected information and other assets to those individuals who have a need to know the information and who have the appropriate security screening level”.

The Operational Security Standard on Physical Security (Section 6.2 - Hierarchy of Zones) states that “departments must ensure that access to and safeguards for protected and classified assets are based on a clearly discernable hierarchy of zones”.

This guide should be reviewed in conjunction with the Threat and Risk Assessment (TRA) in order to develop an effective zoning strategy for each facility.

Departments are responsible for the implementation of this guideline and can contact the RCMP Technical Security Branch (the lead agency) to obtain safeguards above baseline threats based on a TRA. The RCMP is responsible for the development, approval and issuance of this guide and for advising on its application.

2.  Zoning

2.1  Design Strategy

Zones, when appropriately integrated, should contribute to the overall security environment of a facility. The security environment may be defined as those physical and psychological measures that contribute to a reduction in criminal activity and the fear of crime. Zoning should promote a sense of ownership or territorial reinforcement, provide opportunities for natural surveillance and establish a clearly defined sequence of boundaries through which a visitor or departmental employee may or may not pass.

Before a person proceeds from one zone to another, they should perceive the zoning boundary (implied or actual) and understand the rules / limitations associated with crossing it. The departmental functional space requirements must also be taken into consideration when establishing zoning boundaries.

Zoning should not be implemented by simply adhering to the prescribed technical requirements for zones (refer to Section 3.4 for baseline zone requirements), or by integrating zones into the plan based solely on functional space requirements. Security measures that are excessive, inappropriate or that have not taken into account a department’s functional space requirements will eventually be bypassed and become ineffective. Any incentive for unauthorized personnel to cross zoning boundaries (i.e., washrooms, cafeteria, etc.) should be removed.

2.2  Need-to-Know

A fundamental requirement of the Government Security Policy is to limit access to sensitive information to those whose duties require such access; that is, to those who need-to-know the information.

A significant threat to a department’s assets comes from insiders, i.e., those who have authorized access. Limiting the areas where personnel are authorized or able to access will reduce the opportunistic threat that these people pose.

While personnel screening levels may grant access to certain levels of sensitive information, application of the need-to-know principle restricts access within those levels to specific items, topics or types of sensitive information. Personnel are not entitled to access merely because it would be convenient for them to know or because of status, rank, office or level of clearance.

An effective way of implementing / maintaining the need-to-know principle consists of segregating and controlling access to the sensitive assets through the effective use of zones.

2.3  Zone Selection

In order to determine the appropriate zone(s) for the processing, storage or destruction of sensitive assets, it is first necessary to establish the minimum baseline requirements. The Operational Security Standard on Physical Security assigns zones based solely on the confidentiality of the asset and corresponding injury that would result from its unauthorized disclosure, destruction, removal, modification, interruption or use. The zone selection made at this point is the baseline minimum requirement.

Zone Selection
Sensitivity of information
(see Note 1)
Injury level
(see Note 2)
Baseline threat
(see Operational Security Standard on Physical Security, Section 5)
Enhanced threat
Protected A Limited injury Operations Zone

Operations Zone
Protected B Serious Operations Zone

 

A TRA must be completed to determine the safeguards
Protected C Extremely serious Security Zone
Confidential Injury Operations Zone
Secret Serious Security Zone
Top Secret Exceptionally grave Security Zone

NOTES:

  1. Consult with the RCMP for storage requirements of assets other than information having high integrity and availability requirements.
  2. The “Operational Standard on Identification of Assets” requires that injury assessment levels be assigned for the integrity, availability and value of the asset. Refer to the standard for definitions of the various injury levels. It may be necessary to increase the zone requirement if the assigned injury level is greater than the level established for confidentiality.

2.4  Baseline Zone Requirements

2.4.1  Fundamental zone types

The Operational Security Standard on Physical Security identifies five fundamental zone types as well as the baseline security requirements for each. The following charts summarize those baseline requirements.

Public Zone
Definition “Where the public has unimpeded access and generally surrounds or forms part of a government facility”.
Examples “The grounds surrounding a building or public corridors and elevator lobbies in multiple occupancy buildings”.
Perimeter Refer to Operational Security Standard on Physical Security, Section 7.37.
* Monitoring N/A

* Monitoring - to watch for or detect a breach of security.

 

Reception Zone
Definition “Where the transition from a public zone to a restricted-access area is demarcated and controlled”.
Examples “Typically located at the entry to the facility where initial contact between visitors and the department occurs; this can include such spaces as places where services are provided and information is exchanged. Access by visitors may be limited to specific times of the day or for specific reasons”.
Perimeter May be delineated by signage, perimeter may vary depending on the time of day.
Monitoring The extent of monitoring will vary depending on the time of day or as indicated by the TRA.

 

Operations Zone
Definition “An area where access is limited to personnel who work there and to properly escorted visitors”.
Examples Typical open office area.
Perimeter “Must be indicated by a recognizable perimeter” or a secure perimeter as indicated by the TRA.
Monitoring * Monitored periodically.

* Monitored periodically - to confirm on a regular basis that there has not been a breach of security. The frequency and diligence of monitoring is based on the recommendations of a Threat and Risk Assessment. Examples include a guard patrol or employees working at the location.

 

Security Zone
Definition “An area to which access is limited to authorized personnel and to authorized and properly escorted visitors”.
Examples “An area where secret information is processed or stored”.
Perimeter “Must be indicated by a recognizable perimeter or a secure perimeter as indicated by the TRA”.
Monitoring Monitored continuously **, i.e., 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.

** Monitored continuously - to confirm on a continuous basis that there has not been a breach of security. Examples include electronic intrusion detection systems or someone guarding a particular point on a constant basis.

 

High Security Zone
Definition “An area where access is limited to authorized, appropriately screened personnel and authorized and properly escorted visitors”.
Examples “An area where high-value assets are handled by selected personnel”.
Perimeter “Must be indicated by a perimeter built to the specifications recommended in the TRA”.
Monitoring “Monitored continuously **, i.e., 24 hours a day and 7 days a week and where details of access are recorded and audited”.

** Monitored continuously - to confirm on a continuous basis that there has not been a breach of security. Examples include electronic intrusion detection systems or someone guarding a particular point on a constant basis.

 

The forgoing definitions do not preclude the establishment of a temporary restricted zone either inside or outside a controlled area. For example, a temporary security zone could be established around a seized vessel or truck under continuous guard. It could also be a desk in an open office area that normally functions as an Operations Zone, as long as the person processing sensitive information and assets in that area controls access to the asset on a need to know basis.

The first two zones (Public, Reception) establish access conditions for the three restricted zones (Operations, Security, High Security).

The minimum requirement stipulates that access be controlled in Operations Zones and higher. Since no two facilities are identical, the locations where Operations Zones begin will also be different from one facility to another. The following examples, however, illustrate some generic facility types.

2.4.2  Example 1

Site Plan

Floor Plan

The building in this example is a single-purpose government building on government land. The Public Zone consists of the grounds around the building. Although departments may wish to monitor this area, there is no requirement to control access. A Reception Zone is located at the front entry. Within this zone there is a means for the public to make initial contact and exchange information. This may happen at a reception desk, where there will be personnel present to monitor the space. Entry beyond the Reception Zone is required to be restricted to those who have a need to access. There should be a recognizable perimeter such as a doorway or an arrangement of furniture which clearly demarcates the entrance to the restricted access area. Access should be controlled from this point on. Access should also be controlled at every other point which enters into an Operations or Security Zone.

2.4.3  Example 2

Building Section

Upper Level Floor Plan

The building in this example is a multi-storey building in which the government is a tenant on one or more floors. The Public Zone includes the main floor lobby as well as the elevator and corridors on each floor. There is a Reception Zone located adjacent to the Public Zone on one side of the floor. The remaining office areas are Operations Zones.

Control of access is required at all entry points into the Operations Zones. In this example it is possible to enter an Operations Zone from either a Reception Zone or a Public Zone (the corridor). Departments should make it clear to any visitors that entry into an Operations Zone is for authorized personnel only. Typically this is done with signage which should also direct the individual to the location of the Reception Zone.

In addition to meeting this minimum requirement, departments may wish to establish additional levels of restricted-access areas in order to further limit access within a facility. The requirement for Security or High Security Zones within a facility will depend upon the levels of information handled, as well as the specific threats to the department’s assets.

Zones should be implemented in a progressively restrictive manner, proceeding from the least restrictive (Public) to the highest zone required, so that sequential entry points must be passed through.

2.4.4  Example 3

An entry point is a design feature that channels traffic in such a way that effective control of access is possible at that point. Entry points between zones should be clearly identifiable. The boundary of the zone cannot permit access except at an entry point. The floor plan below illustrates the relationship between zones.

Ground Floor Plan

Different means of controlling access may be appropriate depending on the zone accessed by the entry point. For example, a personal recognition system might be acceptable at an entry to an Operations Zone; however, a biometric system might be selected when entering a High Security Zone. In addition, there should be a corresponding level of personnel security screening and physical barriers to support the access control measures.

3.  Frequently Asked Questions

Can a zone of a given type be skipped?

Typically, zones should not be skipped. They should instead be implemented in a progressively restrictive manner, proceeding from the least restrictive (Public Zone) to the highest zone required.

However, reality dictates that there are instances where it is difficult or impractical to implement the full range of zones. In these limited cases, a single zone can be skipped, provided that the security measures of that zone are compensated for in the subsequent zone.

Can Secret information be stored in an Operations Zone?

As a minimum, the Operational Security Standard on Physical Security (Appendix B) requires that Secret information be stored in an approved container (see RCMP Security Equipment Guide) within a Security Zone.

In limited circumstances, consideration may be given to permitting the storage of small amounts of Secret information within an Operations Zone provided the proposed compensatory measures are submitted to the RCMP for review / recommendation.

Can the zone designation of an area vary, depending on the time of day / evening?

It is possible that the zone designation could change once the office area is locked up during non-work, non-business, limited access hours or time periods outside of normal business hours. This will depend on the type of security measures (locked doors, monitoring) that are implemented when the area is closed up during the evening and who (security guards, cleaning personnel) is granted access.

4.  Advice and Guidance

Advice and assistance regarding this guide or concerning site-specific issues related to zoning that are not covered herein, contact:

Client Services, Technical Security Branch
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
1426 St. Joseph Boulevard
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0R2

E-mail: TSB-ClientServices@rcmp-grc.gc.ca

5.  References

6.  Conclusion

This document presents an overview of the application of physical security zones that is intended to provide guidance to departments by describing the range of options on how to meet the minimum zoning requirements. Departments should frequently re-evaluate how they are meeting these requirements in conjunction with their ongoing evaluation of the threats and risks.


To read Adobe Acrobat (PDF) files, you may need to download and install the free Adobe Reader available from Adobe Systems Incorporated.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

G1-026 Guide pour ltablissement des zones de scurit matrielle

Guide de sécurité matérielle
Publication de l’organisme‑conseil  G1-026

Émis : septembre 2005

Table des matières

 

1.  Introduction

1.1   But et portée

Les environnements physiques des installations peuvent être conçus et gérés de manière à réduire le risque d’événements non désirés. Le zonage est un élément de la sécurité matérielle mis au point à cette fin. Il ne devrait pas être considéré comme un moyen d’éliminer les risques, ni comme la seule façon de composer avec ceux‑ci, mais plutôt comme une partie intégrante de la stratégie globale de la gestion des risques.

Le présent document fournit des renseignements qui aideront les ministères à appliquer la Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité (PGS) et la Norme opérationnelle sur la sécurité matérielle en ce qui concerne le zonage.

1.2   Rôles et responsabilités

La Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité (article 10.8 – Limites à l’accès) stipule que « les ministères doivent limiter l’accès aux renseignements classifiés et protégés et autres biens aux seules personnes qui ont besoin de les connaître et qui ont la cote de fiabilité ou de sécurité appropriée. »

Dans la Norme opérationnelle sur la sécurité matérielle (article 6.2 – Hiérarchie des zones), on précise que « les ministères doivent assurer l’accès et la protection des biens protégés et classifiés en fonction d’une hiérarchie des zones clairement reconnaissable. »

Le présent guide devrait être examiné conjointement avec l’évaluation de la menace et des risques (ÉMR) afin d’élaborer une stratégie de zonage efficace pour chaque installation.

Les ministères sont responsables de la mise en œuvre de cette ligne directrice et peuvent communiquer avec la Sous‑direction de la sécurité technique (l’organisme conseil) afin d’obtenir des dispositifs de protection supérieurs aux menaces de base fondés sur une ÉMR. La GRC est responsable de l’élaboration, de l’approbation et de la publication de ce guide et de la prestation de conseils sur son application.

2.  Zonage

2.1  Stratégie de conception

Quand elles sont correctement intégrées, les zones devraient contribuer à l’environnement de sécurité global d’une installation. L’environnement de sécurité peut être défini comme les mesures physiques et psychologiques qui contribuent à réduire les activités criminelles et la peur du crime. Le zonage devrait promouvoir un sentiment d’appartenance ou un renforcement du sentiment territorial, fournir des occasions de surveillance naturelle et établir un ensemble clairement défini de frontières par lesquelles un visiteur ou un employé du ministère peut passer ou non.

Avant qu’une personne passe d’une zone à une autre, elle devrait percevoir la délimitation des zones (implicite ou réelle) et comprendre les règles et les restrictions associées à son passage. On doit également tenir compte des besoins d’espace fonctionnel du ministère lorsqu’on établit la délimitation des zones.

Le zonage ne devrait pas être mis en œuvre en se conformant simplement aux exigences techniques prescrites pour les zones (référez‑vous à la section 3.4 pour les exigences de zonage de base) ou en intégrant des zones dans le plan en fonction exclusivement des besoins d’espace fonctionnel. Les mesures de sécurité qui sont excessives, inappropriées ou qui n’ont pas tenu compte des besoins d’espace fonctionnel du ministère seront ignorées à la fin et deviendront inefficaces. On devrait éliminer tout ce qui pourrait inciter le personnel non autorisé à traverser les délimitations des zones (à savoir, les toilettes, la cafétéria).

2.2  Besoin de connaître

L’une des conditions fondamentales de la Politique du gouvernement sur la sécurité est de limiter l’accès aux renseignements de nature délicate aux personnes dont les fonctions l’exigent, c’est‑à‑dire celles qui doivent prendre connaissance des renseignements.

Le personnel interne représente une grande menace pour la sécurité des biens ministériels. On parle ici des personnes qui jouissent de droits d’accès à ces biens. Le fait de limiter les zones auxquelles le personnel a accès réduira la menace opportuniste qu’il présente.

Bien que les niveaux d’enquête de sécurité sur le personnel puissent permettre l’accès à des renseignements de nature délicate dont le niveau de confidentialité peut varier, l’application du principe du besoin de connaître limite l’accès dans ces niveaux à certains articles, sujets ou types de renseignements de nature délicate. Les employés n’ont pas le droit d’accéder aux renseignements uniquement parce que cela leur conviendrait ou en raison de leur statut, de leur grade, de leur poste ou de leur niveau d’autorisation.

Une bonne façon de mettre en œuvre ou de maintenir le principe du besoin de connaître consiste à isoler et à contrôler l’accès aux biens de nature délicate grâce à l’utilisation efficace de zones.

2.3  Sélection des zones

Afin de déterminer les zones appropriées pour le traitement, le stockage ou la destruction des biens de nature délicate, il est d’abord nécessaire d’établir les exigences de base minimales. Dans la Norme opérationnelle sur la sécurité matérielle, on attribue des zones en fonction seulement de la confidentialité des biens et du degré correspondant de préjudice qui résulterait de leur divulgation, destruction, suppression, modification, interruption ou utilisation sans autorisation. La sélection des zones effectuée à ce stade est l’exigence de base minimale.

Sélection des zones
Nature délicate des renseignements
(voir la note 1)
Degré de préjudice
(voir la note 2)
Menace de base
(voir la section 5 de la Norme opérationnelle sur la sécurité matérielle)
Menace accrue
Protégé A Préjudice limité Zone de travail Zone de travail
Protégé B Préjudice grave Zone de travail

 

Une ÉMR doit être effectuée afin de déterminer les dispositifs de protection
Protégé C Préjudice extrêmement grave Zone de sécurité
Renseignements confidentiels Préjudice Zone de travail
Renseignements secrets Préjudice grave Zone de sécurité
Renseignements très secrets Préjudice exceptionnellement grave Zone de sécurité

NOTES:

  1. Consultez la GRC à propos des besoins de stockage des biens autres que des renseignements qui ont des exigences élevées d’intégrité et de disponibilité.
  2. La « Norme de sécurité opérationnelle – Identification des biens » exige que des niveaux d’évaluation du préjudice soient attribués pour l’intégrité, la disponibilité et la valeur du bien. Référez vous à cette norme afin d’obtenir des définitions des divers degrés de préjudice. Il peut être nécessaire d’accroître les exigences en matière de zones si le degré de préjudice attribué est supérieur au degré établi pour la confidentialité.

2.4  Exigences de zonage de base

2.4.1  Principaux types de zones

Dans la Norme opérationnelle sur la sécurité matérielle, on détermine les cinq principaux types de zones ainsi que les exigences de sécurité de base de chacun. Les graphiques suivants résument ces exigences de base.

Zone d'accès public
Définition « Zone où l’accès est libre pour le public et qui entoure habituellement un immeuble gouvernemental ou en fait partie. »
Exemples « Les terrains entourant un immeuble et les corridors publics, ainsi que les vestibules d’ascenseur dans des immeubles à plusieurs occupants. »
Périmètre Référez vous à la section 7.37 de la Norme opérationnelle sur la sécurité matérielle.
* Surveillance SO

* Surveillance - faire l’objet de guet ou de détection d’infraction à la sécurité.

 

Zone d'accueil
Définition « Où la transition d’une zone d’accès public à une zone à accès restreint est délimitée et contrôlée. »
Exemples « Elle est située généralement à l’entrée de l’immeuble où survient le premier contact entre le public et le ministère, y compris des endroits où des services sont fournis et où des renseignements sont échangés. L’accès au public peut être restreint pendant certaines heures de la journée ou pour des motifs particuliers. »
Périmètre Elle peut être délimitée par des panneaux de signalisation. Le périmètre peut varier en fonction de l’heure du jour.
Surveillance L’étendue de la surveillance variera en fonction de l’heure du jour ou de la façon précisée par l’ÉMR.

 

Zone de travail
Définition « Secteur dont l’accès est limité au personnel qui y travaille et aux visiteurs accompagnés comme il se doit. »
Exemples Espace à bureaux à aire ouverte typique.
Périmètre « Elle doit être indiquée par un périmètre reconnaissable ou un périmètre de sécurité tel qu’il est précisé dans l’ÉMR. »
Surveillance * Surveillée sur une base périodique.

* Surveillée sur une base périodique - faisant l’objet de confirmation sur une base régulière qu’il n’y a pas eu infraction à la sécurité. La fréquence et la diligence de la surveillance sont basées sur les recommandations d’une évaluation de la menace et des risques, comme une patrouille de surveillance ou des employés qui travaillent sur les lieux.

 

Zone de sécurité
Définition « Zone dont l’accès est limité au personnel autorisé et aux visiteurs autorisés et accompagnés comme il se doit. »
Exemples « Une zone où des renseignements secrets sont traités ou conservés. »
Périmètre « Elle doit être indiquée par un périmètre reconnaissable ou un périmètre de sécurité tel qu’il est précisé dans l’ÉMR. »
Surveillance Surveillée continuellement ** (à savoir jour et nuit, sept jours par semaine).

** Surveillée continuellement - faisant l’objet de confirmation sur une base continuelle qu’il n’y a pas eu d’infraction à la sécurité, comme un système de détection électronique de l’intrusion ou quelqu’un qui garde un point particulier sur une base constante.

 

Zone de haute sécurité
Définition « Zone dont l’accès est limité au personnel autorisé qui détient une cote de sécurité valide et de niveau approprié et aux visiteurs autorisés et accompagnés comme il se doit. »
Exemples « Une zone où des biens de grande valeur sont manipulés par des employés sélectionnés. »
Périmètre « Elle doit être indiquée au moyen d’un périmètre bâti selon les caractéristiques techniques recommandées dans l’ÉMR. »
Surveillance « Surveillée continuellement ** (à savoir jour et nuit, sept jours par semaine) et être un secteur où les détails de l’accès sont enregistrés et vérifiés. »

** Surveillée continuellement - faisant l’objet de confirmation sur une base continuelle qu’il n’y a pas eu d’infraction à la sécurité, comme un système de détection électronique de l’intrusion ou quelqu’un qui garde un point particulier sur une base constante.

 

Il faut noter que ces définitions n’excluent pas l’établissement d’une zone restreinte temporaire, soit à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur d’une zone contrôlée. Par exemple, une zone de sécurité temporaire pourrait être établie autour d’un navire ou d’un camion saisi qui a été placé sous surveillance continue. Il pourrait également s’agir d’un pupitre situé dans une aire de bureau ouverte fonctionnant normalement comme une zone de travail, si la personne qui y traite des renseignements et biens de nature délicate contrôle l’accès aux biens selon un principe de connaissance sélective.

Les deux premières zones (accès public, accueil) établissent les conditions d’accès pour les trois zones restreintes (travail, sécurité, haute sécurité).

Au minimum, il faut que l’accès soit contrôlé dans les zones de travail, de sécurité et de haute sécurité. Étant donné que toutes les installations sont différentes, l’endroit où commencent les zones de travail varie d’un immeuble à l’autre. Voici toutefois des exemples d’installations typiques.

2.4.2  Exemple 1

Plan de situation

Plan d'étage

L’immeuble qui figure dans l’exemple ci dessus est un immeuble gouvernemental à destination unique situé sur un terrain gouvernemental. La zone publique consiste en le terrain entourant l’immeuble. Bien que les ministères puissent vouloir surveiller cette zone, il n’existe aucune exigence en ce qui concerne le contrôle de l’accès. La zone d’accueil se trouve à l’entrée principale. C’est ici que le public entre en contact avec le ministère et obtient des renseignements. Cela peut se faire à un comptoir d’accueil, où le personnel en poste surveillera la zone. L’accès aux zones situées au delà de la zone d’accueil doit être restreint aux personnes qui ont besoin d’y pénétrer. Un périmètre facile à reconnaître, comme une porte ou des meubles disposés d’une façon particulière, doit clairement délimiter le point d’entrée de la zone à accès restreint. L’accès doit être contrôlé à partir de ce point d’entrée, ainsi qu’à tout autre point d’entrée donnant accès à une zone de travail ou de sécurité.

2.4.3  Exemple 2

Coupe tranversale de l'immeuble

Plan des tages suprieurs

L’immeuble présenté ci dessus est un bâtiment à niveaux multiples dont le gouvernement occupe un ou plusieurs étages. La zone publique inclut le hall de réception du rez de chaussée, de même que les halls d’ascenseurs et les couloirs à chaque étage. Il y a une zone d’accueil attenante à la zone publique d’un côté de l’étage. Les autres aires de bureau sont des zones de travail.

Il faut contrôler l’accès à tous les points d’entrée des zones de travail. Dans l’exemple présenté ci dessus, on peut entrer dans une zone de travail en passant par une zone d’accueil ou une zone publique (le couloir). Les ministères devraient clairement faire comprendre aux visiteurs que l’accès aux zones de travail est réservé au personnel autorisé. Habituellement, cela se fait au moyen de panneaux de signalisation, qui devraient aussi indiquer la direction à prendre pour se rendre à la zone d’accueil.

En plus de cette exigence minimale, les ministères voudront peut être établir des niveaux supplémentaires de zones à accès restreint afin de limiter davantage l’accès au sein d’une installation. Le besoin d’établir des zones de sécurité ou de haute sécurité dépend de la nature des renseignements traités ainsi que des menaces auxquelles sont exposés les biens du ministère.

Les zones devraient être mises en œuvre d’une manière progressivement restrictive, de la zone la moins restrictive (zone publique à la plus restrictive, de façon à ce que des points d’entrée séquentiels doivent être franchis.

2.4.4  Exemple 3

Un point d’entrée est une caractéristique technique qui permet de canaliser la circulation de manière à contrôler efficacement l’accès à cet endroit là. Les points d’entrée des différentes zones devraient être faciles à reconnaître. Le périmètre d’une zone ne doit permettre aucun accès, sauf par le point d’entrée. Le plan d’étage suivant illustre les points de passage entre les zones.

Plan du rez-de-chaussée

Différents moyens de contrôle de l’accès peuvent convenir, selon la zone à laquelle donne accès le point d’entrée. Par exemple, un système de reconnaissance personnelle peut suffire au point d’entrée d’une zone de travail; par contre, il pourrait y avoir lieu d’installer un système biométrique à l’entrée d’une zone de haute sécurité. Il faudrait également établir des procédures de filtrage du personnel et des barrières matérielles de niveau correspondant pour appuyer les mesures de contrôle d’accès.

3.  Foire aux Questions

Est ce qu’un certain type de zone peut être omis?

Habituellement, on ne devrait pas omettre de zones. On devrait plutôt les mettre en œuvre d’une manière progressivement restrictive, de la zone la moins restrictive (zone publique) à la plus restrictive.

Toutefois, dans la réalité, il y a des cas où il est difficile ou pas pratique de mettre en œuvre la gamme complète des zones. Dans ces cas, une seule zone peut être omise pourvu que les mesures de sécurité de cette zone soient compensées dans la zone suivante.

Est ce que des renseignements secrets peuvent être stockés dans une zone de travail?

Au minimum, la Norme opérationnelle sur la sécurité matérielle (annexe B) exige que les renseignements secrets soient stockés dans un conteneur approuvé (consultez le Guide d’équipement de sécurité de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada) dans une zone de sécurité.

Dans certaines situations, on pourrait envisager de permettre le stockage de petites quantités de renseignements secrets dans une zone de travail pourvu que les mesures de compensation proposées soient soumises à la GRC à des fins d’examen et de recommandation.

La désignation des zones peut elle varier selon l’heure du jour ou de la nuit?

Il est possible que la désignation des zones puisse changer une fois que le bureau est verrouillé pendant les heures de loisir, en dehors des heures d’ouverture, durant les heures d’accès restreint ou les périodes à l’extérieur des heures d’ouverture normales. Cela dépendra du type de mesures de sécurité (portes verrouillées, surveillance) qui sont mises en œuvre lorsque la zone est fermée le soir et des personnes (gardiens de sécurité, personnel de nettoyage) auxquelles on accorde l’accès.

4.  Conseils et orientation

Si vous désirez obtenir des conseils et de l’aide sur le présent guide ou sur des questions propres au site liées au zonage qui ne sont pas considérées ici, veuillez communiquer avec le service suivant :

Services à la clientèle, Sous direction de la sécurité technique
Gendarmerie royale du Canada
1426, boul. Saint. Joseph
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0R2

Adresse de courrier électronique : TSB-ClientServices@rcmp-grc.gc.ca

5.  Références

6.  Conclusion

Le présent document fournit une vue d’ensemble de l’application des zones de sécurité matérielle qui vise à aider les ministères en décrivant la gamme d’options offertes en vue de répondre aux exigences minimales de zonage. Les ministères devraient réévaluer fréquemment la façon dont ils répondent à ces exigences conjointement avec leur évaluation continue des menaces et des risques.


Pour consulter les fichiers Adobe Acrobat (PDF), il peut être nécessaire de télécharger et installer le lecteur Adobe gratuit fourni par Adobe Systems Incorporated.