Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Federal Policing Services

Our operational response is organized into five areas of priority:

Serious and Organized Crime

Serious and organized crime in Canada is a multi-faceted and borderless problem impacting all Canadians, directly or indirectly. Increasingly, organized crime networks are not focused on any one type of criminality, but rather multiple markets at once. Our specialized programs and teams work in collaboration with domestic and international partners on intelligence led investigations which focus on combating the risk presented to Canadians by Organized Crime groups regardless of where they are located.

Our Serious and Organized Crime and Financial Crime teams are strategically located across Ontario to allow for effective and efficient response to the threat of organized and financial crime. The teams are flexible and adaptable to meet the evolving needs and requirements of the RCMP. They are able to integrate with other municipal, provincial, federal and international law enforcement agencies in order to leverage resources and expertise to meet the scope and sophistication of these criminal groups.  

Financial Crime

The RCMP contributes to the security of the Canadian economy and seeks to protect Canadians and their governments from financial crimes committed by organized crime and others. Economic integrity is a priority for the RCMP with a focus on preventing, detecting and deterring crimes that affect the Canadian economy. When working to battle financial crime the RCMP collaborates with partners both domestically and internationally, including government agencies, stakeholders and communities.

National Security

As Canada's national law enforcement agency, the RCMP has the primary responsibility for preventing, detecting, denying and responding to national security-related criminal threats in Canada in partnership with other police agencies and federal agencies to address national security investigations and concerns.The RCMP is mandated to investigate criminal offences acts arising from terrorism, espionage, cyber-attacks, nuclear security risks, foreign influenced activities, incidents involving the security of an Internationally Protected Person, the unlawful release of national security information and terrorist financing.

The Criminal Code of Canada, defines a "criminal organization" as a group, however organized, that:

(a) is composed of three or more persons in or outside Canada; and,
(b) has as one of its main purposes or main activities the facilitation or commission of one or more serious offences, that, if committed, would likely result in the direct or indirect receipt of a material benefit, including a financial benefit, by the group or by any one of the persons who constitute the group.

Protective Policing

Protective Policing is dedicated to delivering professional protective operations services that ensure the safety of our protectees and the security of Canadian interests. Our mandate consists of providing security and ensuring the safety of Canadian dignitaries such as the Prime Minister and the Governor General of Canada, as well as Internationally Protected Persons (IPPs), designated sites, Major Events, Consular Operations, and selected Canadian Air Carrier flights.

Criminal Intelligence

RCMP Criminal Intelligence (CI) is responsible for the development, coordination and distribution of criminal intelligence within Canada's national police force. Acting in support of policing operations on serious and organized crime, financial crime and national security, CI enhances the RCMP's ability to protect Canadians from current or emerging criminal trends by providing tactical and strategic criminal intelligence. The area of intelligence is integral to the day-to-day work of RCMP employees to combat crime both domestically and internationally.

The area of intelligence is integral to the day-to-day work of RCMP employees to combat crime both domestically and internationally.

Federal Operations Support Branch

Federal Operations Support Branch (FOSB) encompasses 14 units that provide expertise and essential support to all operational areas.  This includes:  the provision of air services consisting of both fixed wing aircraft and a helicopter; technical expertise to investigate computer crime including assistance with forensic analysis; oversight of the Federal Witness Protection Program and its application to high risk investigations requiring witness protection; all aspects of forensic evidence gathering through the Forensic Identification Unit, and 24 hour access to the RCMP through our Operational Communications Centre.

Community Outreach Program

Our Community Outreach teams make contact with various communities most affected by National Security investigations to build trust and provide information relating to national security concerns. 

To contact the GTA/Southwestern Ontario team email: ODiv_INSET_Community_Outreach@rcmp-grc.gc.ca

Integrated Units

The O Division RCMP enhances its police operations by working closely with police partners and other law enforcement agencies for a safe and secure Canada. O Division integrated units are specialized RCMP-led units, consisting of multiple federal, provincial and municipal law enforcement agencies. Their efforts range from dedicated marine and border response, to highly skilled counterfeit and financial market experts. The support of our policing partners and the development of permanent multi-disciplinary teams contribute to the efficiency and effectiveness of our efforts.

In addition to the INSET Units, O Division operations include the following integrated units:

Border Response Units
There are 16 teams across the country with five based in Ontario. These teams are joint-force law enforcement bodies harmonizing Canadian and U.S. efforts to target cross-border criminal activity and a need to enhance border integrity. The “O” Division teams are based out of detachments in Kingston, Sault Ste. Marie, Thunder Bay, Windsor, Hamilton Niagara and Sarnia. [Read more]

Combined Forces Special Enforcement Unit (CFSEU)
A multi-partner agency operation specifically tasked with the mandate to expose, investigate, prosecute dismantle, and disrupt organized crime.

Cornwall Regional Task Force
This integrated unit, located in Cornwall, Ontario is comprised of members from the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP), the Akwesasne Mohawk Police Service, the Ontario Ministry of Finance (MOF) and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Immigration Task Force (ITF)
This team is part of the GTA Serious & Organized Crime section and works closely with other police departments and partner agencies to apprehend high-risk migrant fugitives through teamwork and the effective use of intelligence. [Read more]

Integrated National Security Enforcement Team (INSET)
INSET includes representatives of the RCMP, federal partners and agencies as well as provincial and municipal police services. This specialized team collects, analyzes and shares intelligence in order to detect, investigate and disrupt terrorist groups or individuals who pose a threat to Canada’s national security. [Read more]

Integrated Proceeds of Crime (IPOC)
These units bring together the skills, knowledge, and abilities of diverse groups of experts focused on identifying and dismantling money laundering operations that seek to disguise funds or assets in order to integrate them into the legitimate economy. The source of these funds is often derived from Canada's illicit drug trade, but can also originate from any crimes for profit, such as smuggling, human trafficking, and fraud. IPOC investigations are often international in scope, and result in the seizing and forfeiture of illicit wealth, and criminal prosecution.

Marine Security Emergency Response Team (MSERT)
Delivers emergency response team capabilities that are both land based and marine. Integrated with provincial and municipal partners, MSERT provides specific policing expertise which extends beyond those of normal policing resources.

Marine Security Enforcement Team (MSET)
These marine units patrol the Great Lakes with a mandate to enforce laws relating to national security, organized crime and other federal statutes.

Shiprider
An integrated operational approach to maritime law enforcement and security in shared waters (inland and coastal) between Canada and the U.S.  Shiprider vessels are jointly crewed by specially trained and designated Canadian and U.S. Coast Guard officers authorized to enforce the law on both sides of the international boundary line.  This program provides a more efficient means of securing both sides of the border while respecting citizen’s rights and the sovereignty of each country.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Nos services de police fédérale

Notre intervention opérationnelle est organisée en cinq secteurs de priorité :

Crimes graves et Crime organisé

Les crimes graves et le crime organisé représentent au Canada un problème très complexe qui transcende les frontières et qui touche tous les Canadiens, de près ou de loin. De plus en plus, les réseaux du crime organisé ne se concentrent plus uniquement sur un type de criminalité, mais plutôt sur plusieurs marchés à la fois. En collaboration avec des partenaires canadiens et étrangers, nos équipes et nos programmes spécialisés mènent des enquêtes axées sur le renseignement afin de protéger les Canadiens contre le risque que présentent les groupes de crime organisé, peu importe où ces derniers se trouvent. 

Nos équipes de Crimes graves et Crime organisé et de Criminalité financière sont situées à des endroits stratégiques en Ontario de manière à pouvoir répondre en toute efficience à la menace de criminalité organisée et financière. Elles sont flexibles afin de pouvoir s’adapter aux exigences et besoins changeants de la GRC. Elles sont en mesure de s’intégrer avec d’autres organismes municipaux, provinciaux, fédéraux et étrangers d’application de la loi afin de mettre en commun les ressources et l’expertise requises face à la portée et au degré de sophistication de ces groupes.

Criminalité financière

La GRC aide à assurer la protection de l'économie canadienne et cherche à protéger le gouvernement du Canada et les Canadiens contre les crimes financiers commis par des groupes du crime organisé ou autres. L'intégrité économique est une priorité pour la GRC afin de prévenir, de déceler et de perturber l'activité criminelle qui nuit à l'économie canadienne. Dans le cadre de son travail visant à combattre la criminalité financière, la GRC collabore avec ses partenaires nationaux et étrangers, incluant des organismes gouvernementaux, des intervenants et les collectivités.

Sécurité nationale

En tant que service de police national du Canada, la GRC a la responsabilité principale de prévenir, de déceler, de perturber les menaces criminelles liées à la sécurité nationale, et d'intervenir le cas échéant, en partenariat avec d’autres services de police et organismes fédéraux pour mener des enquêtes sur des questions relatives à la sécurité nationale. La GRC a le mandat d'enquêter sur les infractions criminelles associées au terrorisme, à l'espionnage, aux cyberattaques, aux risques pour la sécurité nucléaire, aux activités influencées par l'étranger, aux incidents compromettant la sécurité des personnes jouissant de la protection internationale, à la divulgation illégale de renseignements relatifs à la sécurité nationale et au financement d'activités terroristes.

Le Code criminel stipule qu’une « organisation criminelle » est un groupe, quel qu’en soit le mode d’organisation :

a) composé d’au moins trois personnes se trouvant au Canada ou à l’étranger;
b) dont un des objets principaux ou une des activités principales est de commettre ou de faciliter une ou plusieurs infractions graves qui, si elles étaient commises, pourraient lui procurer – ou procurer à une personne qui en fait partie – , directement ou indirectement, un avantage matériel, notamment financier.

Police de protection

La Police de protection s’emploie à fournir des services de protection professionnels visant à assurer la sécurité de ses protégés et celle des intérêts canadiens. Notre mandat consiste à fournir des mesures de sécurité et d'assurer la protection de dignitaires canadiens tels que le premier ministre et le gouverneur général ainsi que des personnes jouissant d'une protection internationale (PPI), des sites désignés, des événements majeurs, des Opérations consulaires et de certains vols de transporteurs aériens canadiens.

Renseignements criminels

Le Programme des renseignements criminels de la GRC est responsable de l'élaboration, de la coordination et de la diffusion des renseignements criminels au sein du service de police national du Canada. Appuyant les opérations policières visant les crimes graves et le crime organisé, la criminalité financière et la sécurité nationale, les Renseignements criminels renforcent la capacité de la GRC à protéger les Canadiens contre les tendances criminelles actuelles ou nouvelles en lui fournissant des renseignements criminels tactiques et stratégiques. Le domaine du renseignement fait partie intégrante du travail quotidien des employés de la GRC pour combattre le crime au Canada et à l'étranger.

Le domaine du renseignement fait partie intégrante du travail quotidien des employés de la GRC pour combattre le crime au Canada et à l'étranger.

Service divisionnaire du soutien aux affaires fédérales

Le Service divisionnaire du soutien aux affaires fédérales comprend quatorze services qui fournissent une expertise et un soutien essentiel à tous les secteurs opérationnels, à savoir : services d’un aéronef à voilure fixe et d’un hélicoptère, ressources techniques spécialisées en matière d’enquêtes  informatiques, y compris des analyses judiciaires, surveillance du Programme fédéral de protection des  témoins et de son application dans le cadre d’enquêtes à risques élevés qui nécessitent la protection de sources ou de témoins, tous les aspects de la collecte d’éléments de preuve grâce aux services du Groupe de l'identité judiciaire, et accès à la GRC 24 heures sur 24 grâce à notre Station de transmissions opérationnelles.

Programme de sensibilisation communautaire

Nos équipes de sensibilisation communautaire entrent en contact avec diverses collectivités le plus touchées par les enquêtes relatives à la sécurité nationale afin d’établir la confiance et donner de l’information pour dissiper les préoccupations concernant la sécurité nationale.

Pour communiquer avec l’équipe de la RGT-Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario, veuillez envoyer un courriel à : ODiv_INSET_Community_Outreach@rcmp-grc.gc.ca

Services intégrés

La GRC de la Division O renforce ses opérations policières en travaillant étroitement avec des partenaires policiers et d’autres organismes d’application de la loi pour assurer la sécurité des Canadiens. Les services intégrés de la Division O sont des services spécialisés dirigés par la GRC et  composés de multiples organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux d’application de la loi. Leur travail touche divers domaines, allant de l’intervention frontalière et maritime aux enquêtes par des experts des marchés financiers et de la contrefaçon. Le soutien de nos partenaires policiers et la mise sur pied d’équipes multidisciplinaires contribuent à notre efficience et notre efficacité.

La Division O comprend les services intégrés suivants :

Équipes d'intervention à la frontière
Seize équipes sont réparties dans tout le Canada, dont cinq en Ontario. Il s’agit d’équipes mixtes d'application de la loi fondées sur une approche de coopération harmonisée entre le Canada et les États-Unis dans le but de cibler l'activité criminelle transfrontalière et d'accroître l'intégrité des frontières. Les équipes d'intervention à la frontière de la Division O sont situées à Kingston, Sault Ste. Marie-Thunder Bay, Windsor, Hamilton-Niagara, et Sarnia. [Pour en savoir plus]

Unité mixte d’enquête sur le crime organisé (UMECO)
Opération conjointe dont le mandat est de mettre au jour le crime organisé, d’enquêter sur celui-ci, de le démanteler et  de le perturber,  et de le poursuivre en cour.

Groupe de travail régional de Cornwall
Le Groupe de travail, situé à Cornwall, en Ontario, est une équipe intégrée composée de membres de la Police provinciale de l'Ontario, du Service de police mohawk d'Akwesasne (SPMA), du ministère du Revenu de l’Ontario (MRO), et de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Groupe de travail sur l’immigration
Le Groupe de travail sur l’immigration fait partie de Crimes graves et Crime organisé de la Région du Grand Toronto et travaille en étroite collaboration avec d’autres services de police et organismes partenaires pour arrêter des migrants fugitifs dangereux grâce au travail d’équipe et à l’utilisation efficace de renseignements. [Pour en savoir plus]

Unité mixte des produits de la criminalité (UMPC)
Ces unités bénéficient d’un éventail de compétences, de connaissances et d’habiletés de divers groupes d’experts qui s’emploient à repérer et démanteler des activités de recyclage d’argent visant à maquiller les fonds ou les  biens dans le but de les introduire dans le système économique légitime. Ces fonds découlent souvent du commerce de la drogue au Canada, mais peuvent aussi provenir de crimes motivés par l'appât du gain comme la contrebande, la traite de personnes et la fraude. Les enquêtes de l’UMPC sont souvent d’envergure internationale et mènent à la saisie et la confiscation des gains et à des poursuites judicaires.

Équipes intégrées de la sécurité nationale (EISN)
Les équipes intégrées de la sécurité nationale se composent de représentants de la GRC, de partenaires et d'organismes fédéraux ainsi que de services de police provinciaux et municipaux. Ces équipes spécialisées recueillent, analysent et échangent des renseignements afin de déceler les groupes terroristes ou les individus qui menacent la sécurité nationale, d’enquêter sur eux et de perturber leurs activités. [Pour en savoir plus]

Groupe tactique d'intervention en sûreté maritime (GTISM)
Le Groupe assure une capacité d'intervention d'urgence tant terrestre que maritime. Un service intégré avec des partenaires provinciaux et municipaux, le GTISM fournit une expertise policière particulière qui s’étend au-delà des compétences normales.

Équipes de la sûreté maritime (ESM)
Les équipes maritimes patrouillent les Grands Lacs pour appliquer les lois relatives à la sécurité nationale et au crime organisé et d’autres lois fédérales. Les équipes de la sûreté maritime sont un partenariat combinant l’expertise du domaine maritime de la Garde côtière canadienne et le rôle d’application de la loi de la GRC, de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario, du service de police de Toronto et du service de police régional de Niagara, qui travaillent à bord de patrouilleurs semi-hauturiers.

Shiprider
Shiprider est une initiative opérationnelle intégrée en termes de sécurité et d’application de la loi maritimes sur les voies navigables communes (intérieures et côtières) du Canada et des États-Unis. L’équipage des navires de Shiprider est constitué d’agents d’application de la loi spécialement formés et désignés du Canada et de la garde côtière américaine qui sont autorisés à faire appliquer la loi des deux côtés de la frontière internationale. Le programme est une façon efficace d’assurer la sécurité des deux côtés de la frontière tout en respectant les droits des citoyens et la souveraineté nationale de chaque pays.