Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

"O" Division Fact Sheet

Our Motto "Maintiens le droit"

The adoption of a French motto, "Maintiens le droit" (defending the law), gave the badge a bilingual character from the very beginning. The exact origin of this motto, however, is not known. At first, the word "Maintiens" was spelled without the "s." For more information about RCMP's badges and insignia read our Badges and Insignia Fact Sheet.

About the RCMP in Ontario

The “O” Division RCMP is responsible for federal policing in Ontario and has primary law enforcement authority in federal matters. With a focus on Serious and Organized Crime, Financial Crime, and National Security, the “O” Division RCMP is on the water, in the air, and at work across the province towards a safe and secure Canada.

Want to know more about our Federal Policing Services?

Federal Policing Services

The Commanding Officer, senior executive, administrative and support services for RCMP “O” Division (Ontario) operate from Headquarters located in London, Ontario.

On 2017-01-01, “O” Division had a total of 1525 employees represented by 1097 Regular Members (Police), 167 Civilian Members and 261 Public Service employees Our civilian employee’s include support professionals, such as intelligence analysts, forensic specialists, information technology specialists, and other professionals.

The “O” Division operating environment is large and diverse and identified by three geographical areas within Ontario: 

Early History

“O” Division came into existence in 1920 when the Force, which had the title “Royal North West Mounted Police” conferred on it by King Edward VII in 1904, was reorganized into Canada’s federal police force as the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Division covered Ontario west of a line between Haileybury in the north and Belleville in the south and consisted of six detachments located at such strategic points as Haileybury, Sault Ste. Marie, Niagara Falls, Windsor, Bridgeburg (now part of Fort Erie) and Sarnia, with a headquarters established in Toronto.

“O” Division HQ, 1921-1036Post Office Building, 6 Charles St. E.
RCMP Offices, Floors 2 and 3
“O” Division HQ, 1921-1936

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Fiche Documentaire de la Division O

Notre devise « Maintiens le droit »

Le choix de la devise française, « Maintiens le droit », a conféré une dimension bilingue à l’insigne dès le début. Toutefois, l’origine exacte de ce choix demeure obscure. Au début, le mot « Maintiens » était orthographié sans « s ». [Crest with Motto graphic] Pour en savoir davantage sur les écussons et insignes de la GRC, lire notre fiche documentaire sur les écussons et insignes.

À propos de la GRC en Ontario

La GRC de la Division O est chargée des services de police fédérale en Ontario et a la responsabilité première en termes d’application de la loi pour les affaires fédérales. Ses priorités étant les crimes graves et le crime organisé, la criminalité financière et la sécurité nationale, la Division O est présente sur l’eau, dans les airs et sur le terrain partout dans la province pour assurer la sécurité des Canadiens.

Vous voulez en savoir davantage sur nos services de police fédérale?

Services de police fédérale

Le bureau du commandant divisionnaire et les services d'état-major, administratifs et de soutien de la Division O (Ontario) de la GRC se trouvent au quartier général divisionnaire situé à London.

En date du 1er avril 2017, la Division O comptait 1 525 employés représentés par 1 097 membres réguliers (policiers), 167 membres civils et 261 employés de la fonction publique. L’effectif de membres civils est composé de professionnels de soutien comme des analystes  de renseignements, spécialistes judiciaires, spécialistes de la technologie de l’information et autres  professionnels.

L’environnement opérationnel de la Division O est vaste et diversifié et est délimité en trois régions géographiques en Ontario : 

Ses débuts

La Division O a été fondée en 1920 au moment où la Royale gendarmerie à cheval du Nord Ouest, ainsi nommée par le roi Édouard VII en 1904, a été annexée au service de police fédéral du Canada sous le titre de Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

La Division O œuvrait en Ontario, à l'ouest d'une frontière partant de Haileybury au nord et de Belleville au sud. Elle était composée de six détachements situés stratégiquement à Haileybury, à Sault Ste. Marie, à Niagara Falls, à Windsor, à Bridgeburg (qui fait maintenant partie de Fort Erie) et à Sarnia, tandis que le quartier général était à Toronto.

“O” Division HQ, 1921-1036Bureau de poste, 6, rue Charles Est
Bureaux de la GRC, 2e et 3e étages
Quartier général de la Division O
De 1921 à 1936