Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

National Security Community Outreach

What is the RCMP’s Role in Ensuring
National Security?

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) has the primary responsibility for preventing, detecting and investigating terrorism-related criminal activities in Canada. The RCMP aims to build capacity to eliminate terrorist criminal activity in Canada, and considers national security an organizational priority.

Furthermore, the RCMP effectively responds to threats to Canada’s security by detecting, preventing, denying and investigating national security criminality, and is committed to protecting the safety and security of Canadians while respecting their personal rights and freedoms.

RCMP National Security Community Outreach

The RCMP National Security Community Outreach initiative is a comprehensive effort to engage all of Canada’s ethnic, cultural and religious communities in the protection of Canada’s national security.The effective protection of Canada’s national security requires the awareness and active engagement of all citizens, as it is a shared responsibility.

A strong and integrated law enforcement approach, in partnership with impacted communities, has been created to counter terrorist criminal activity and radicalization leading to violence. While there is a clear role for law enforcement in countering violent radicalization, it must be undertaken in full collaboration with both the affected communities and the relevant government agencies.

Goals of National Security Community Outreach

National Security Community Outreach is part of the RCMP’s strategy to build mutual trust and understanding between the RCMP and communities affected by national security criminal investigations.

Community Outreach is based on the philosophy that effective counter-radicalization programming is about promoting a community that is tolerant and inclusive, and not about targeting specific ideologies or beliefs.

National Security Community Outreach encourages open dialogue to help communities and the RCMP better understand common objectives, and identify and resolve local concerns. National Security Community Outreach also ensures that appropriate channels of communication exist on an ongoing basis by maintaining regular contact with community members through meetings and other community-based events.

The RCMP targets criminal activity wherever it takes place in Canada. For that reason, the RCMP has a clear policy on bias-free policing, and consistently aims to provide equitable policing services to all the people it deals with, while respecting diversity.

The RCMP welcomes invitations to meet with community groups to discuss its role in national security. To request information on the RCMP’s outreach services, please contact National Security Community Outreach at

For more information on the RCMP’s role in national security, please visit:

To read Adobe Acrobat (PDF) files, you may need to download and install the free Adobe Reader available from Adobe Systems Incorporated.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sensibilisation communautaire à la sécurité nationale

Quel rôle la Gendarmerie royale du Canada joue-t-elle en matière de sécurité nationale?

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) a comme responsabilité principale la prévention et la détection des activités criminelles liées au terrorisme au Canada, ainsi que les enquêtes sur ces activités. Elle vise à renforcer la capacité nécessaire pour éliminer les activités terroristes au Canada et fait de la sécurité nationale une priorité organisationnelle.

De plus, elle répond effi cacement aux menaces à la sécurité nationale en prenant des mesures pour déceler, prévenir et interdire la perpétration d’actes criminels menaçant la sécurité nationale et en menant des enquêtes sur ces actes. De plus, elle est résolue à assurer la sécurité de la population canadienne tout en respectant les droits et libertés de chaque personne.

La Sensibilisation communautaire à la sécurité nationale de la GRC

L’initiative de Sensibilisation communautaire à la sécurité nationale de la GRC est un effort global qui vise à faire intervenir toutes les communautés ethniques, culturelles et religieuses dans la protection de la sécurité nationale du Canada. La protection effi cace de la sécurité nationale exige la sensibilisation et la participation active de tous les citoyens, car il s’agit d’une responsabilité partagée.

La GRC a élaboré une approche solide et intégrée d’application de la loi en collaboration avec les collectivités touchées afi n de lutter contre les activités liées au terrorisme et la radicalisation menant à la violence. La communauté d’application de la loi a un rôle bien précis dans la lutte contre la radicalisation, mais celui-ci doit être accompli avec l’entière collaboration des collectivités touchées et des organismes gouvernementaux intéressés.

Buts de la Sensibilisation communautaire à la sécurité nationale

L’initiative de Sensibilisation communautaire à la sécurité nationale de la GRC s’inscrit dans la stratégie pour établir la confi ance et l’entente entre la GRC et les collectivités touchées par les enquêtes criminelles liées à la sécurité nationale. La sensibilisation communautaire repose sur le principe qu’un programme effi cace de lutte contre la radicalisation crée une collectivité tolérante et inclusive, plutôt que de cibler des idéologies ou des croyances particulières.

L’initiative de Sensibilisation communautaire à la sécurité nationale encourage un dialogue ouvert pour aider les collectivités et la GRC à mieux comprendre leurs objectifs communs, à cerner et à résoudre les préoccupations locales, et à assurer une communication effi cace et continue grâce à des contacts réguliers avec les membres de la collectivité lors de réunions et d’activités communautaires.

La GRC cible les activités criminelles au Canada là où elles sévissent et, pour cette raison, elle a une politique claire sur l’application de la loi sans préjugés. De plus, elle cherche continuellement à offrir des services de police de manière équitable à tous tout en respectant la diversité.

La GRC accepte volontiers les invitations à rencontrer les groupes communautaires pour parler de son rôle dans la sécurité nationale. Pour obtenir de l’information sur les services de sensibilisation de la GRC, veuillez communiquer avec la Sensibilisation communautaire à la sécurité nationale à RCMP.FPPublicEngagement-EngagementDuPublicPF.GRC@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.

Pour en savoir plus sur le rôle de la GRC dans la sécurité nationale, veuillez visiter le : www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/SecuriteNationale

Pour consulter les fichiers Adobe Acrobat (PDF), il peut être nécessaire de télécharger et installer le lecteur Adobe gratuit fourni par Adobe Systems Incorporated.