Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

History

Forensic History of DNA: Highlights

1891
Captain Juan Vucetich a young Argentinian police captain changed forensic science forever with the first use of fingerprint evidence left at the crime scene (latent fingerprint) to solve the dual murder of two young children.

1983
A young woman was found sexually assaulted and murdered in a small town near Leicester, United Kingdom. After an intensive police investigation the case remained unsolved. Three years later, under similar circumstance and in a nearby town, another young woman was sexually assaulted and murdered. A suspect was eventually identified in the second case. Police investigators sent samples of forensic evidence from both crime scenes and a sample of the suspect's blood to Dr. Alec Jeffreys, a prominent British scientist conducting research in evolution using DNA. Dr. Jeffreys was able to tell the police two things:

  1. The DNA evidence collected at both crime scenes came from the same person (thereby linking the crime scenes together and identifying a serial offender); and
  2. The suspect's DNA did not match the DNA evidence from the crime scenes and the first prominent use of forensic DNA evidence led to an exoneration of an individual who confessed to the crime.

Blood samples were later taken from more than 4500 men in the surrounding communities. A DNA match was found, and one man was convicted of both murders/sexual assaults.

1989
In early April, the RCMP first used DNA analysis in an investigation of a sexual assault in Ottawa, Ontario. The victim visually identified her assailant but the suspect denied any involvement in the sexual assault. DNA analysis later confirmed the suspect was the perpetrator. In mid trial but after the DNA evidence was presented, the suspect suddenly changed his plea to guilty.

1995
Parliament made history when Bill C-104 was unanimously passed in a single day which, enabled a judge to issue a warrant allowing police to obtain DNA evidence from suspects in a criminal investigation.

1998
A special DNA typing task force led by the RCMP which included scientist from both the RCMP and the Centre of Forensic Sciences, used DNA analysis to help identify human remains from the Swissair Flight 111 disaster.

2000
Launch of the National DNA Data Bank, and proclamation of Bill C-3, enabling a judge to authorize collection of DNA samples from offenders convicted of designated offences.

Chronology of DNA legislation in Canada

July 1995
Bill C-104, Forensic DNA analysis (Statutes of Canada 1995, c. 27) receives Royal Assent. The bill amends the Criminal Code and the Young Offenders Act to enable judges to issue a warrant allowing police to obtain DNA evidence from suspects in criminal investigations. This is Phase I of the Government of Canada's DNA Strategy which provided the legislative framework for the use of DNA evidence in criminal proceedings.

January 1996
Phase II of the Government of Canada's DNA Strategy begins with nation-wide consultations for the establishment of a national DNA data bank.

December 1998
Bill C-3, DNA Identification Act (Statutes of Canada 1998, c. 37) receives Royal Assent. Work begins with an 18-month schedule to establish the NDDB.

November 1999
Bill S-10 is tabled in the Senate. Based on Senate recommendations, the Bill contains amendments to Bill C-3 including: the taking of fingerprints for identification purposes, the inclusion of offenders convicted of designated offences in the military justice system, and a full legislative review of the DNA legislation and NDDB to be conducted by the Senate and House of Commons after five years.

May 2000
Partial proclamation of Bill C-3 to permit the creation of the DNA Data Bank Advisory Committee by Regulations.

June 2000
Full proclamation of Bills C-3 and S-10. DNA sample collections are to commence immediately following proclamation.

May 2005
Royal Assent of Bill C-13, Act to amend the Criminal Code, the DNA Identification Act and the National Defence Act (Statutes of Canada, 2005, c. 25). Amendments to expand the retroactive scheme, to clarify the NDDB DNA profile sharing procedures with Canadian forensic laboratories, and to establish procedures to confirm the validity of DNA orders come into force on Royal Assent. Other provisions of the Bill will come into force on proclamation.

June 2007
Royal Assent of Bill C-18, Act to amend certain Acts in relation to DNA identification (Statutes of Canada 2007, c. 22). Amendments to facilitate the implementation of Bill C-13, and:

  • further expand the retroactive scheme to include attempted murder and conspiracy, and replace the "is serving a sentence of two years or more" requirement with "is on the date of the application serving a sentence of imprisonment" for that offence;
  • the court can issue a DNA order for an offence committed at any time, including before June 30, 2000, if that offence is a DNA designated offence when the person is sentenced or discharged;
  • allow for DNA orders to be made within 90 days after the person is sentenced or found not criminally responsible on account of mental disorder;
  • creation of Primary Compulsory offences category;
  • creation of Secondary Generic designated offences category: any offence that is prosecuted by indictment and that the maximum punishment is imprisonment for five years or more;
  • allow a person to be summoned for the execution of a DNA order and penalties for failure to appear;
  • DNA orders are valid Canada wide;
  • clarify international NDDB DNA profile sharing procedures; and,
  • clarify destruction procedures for defective orders.

January 2008
Full proclamation of Bills C-13 and C-18. Amending the DNA Identification Act, National Defence Act and the Criminal Code.

June 2009
Parliamentary Statutory Review of the DNA legislation and the NDDB by the House of Commons Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security (SECU Report, June 2009). The government response in October 2009 accepted in principle the SECU Report's recommendations.

October 2009
Full proclamation of Bill C-14, Organized crime and protection of justice system participants (Statutes of Canada 2009, c. 22). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by adding three offences to the list of primary compulsory offences.

June 2010
Parliamentary Statutory Review of the DNA legislation and the NDDB by the Senate Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs (Report- June 2010). The Government response in December 2010 noted that recommendations requiring legislative change are "in broad agreement" with those made by SECU and that operational recommendations would require broader discussion.

June 2010
Proclamation of Bill C-268, Minimum sentencing for trafficking of persons under the age of 18 years (Statutes of Canada 2010, c. 3). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by adding one offence to the list of primary presumptive offences.

April 2011
Proclamation of Bill S-2, Protecting Victims from Sex Offenders Act (Statutes of Canada 2010, c. 17). The Bill amended the Criminal Code to make DNA sampling mandatory for convicted sex offenders and added six offences to the list of primary offences (4 compulsory and 2 presumptive). Convicted sex offenders arriving in Canada must also be registered in the National Sex Offender Registry.

August 2012
Proclamation of Bill C-10, Safe Streets and Communities Act (Statutes of Canada 2012, c. 1). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by adding two offences to the list of primary compulsory offences.

June 2013
Proclamation of Bill C-309, Preventing persons from concealing their identity during riots and unlawful assemblies Act (Statutes of Canada 2013, c. 15). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by creating two offences that meet the criteria to be a secondary generic offence.

July 2013
Proclamation of Bill S-7, Combatting Terrorism Act (Statutes of Canada 2013, c. 9). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by adding four offences to the list of primary presumptive offences.

November 2013
Proclamation of Bill S-9, Nuclear Terrorism Act (Statutes of Canada 2013, c. 13). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by adding four offences to the list of primary presumptive offences.

June 2014
Proclamation of Bill C-394, Criminal organization recruitment (Statutes of Canada 2014, c. 17). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by adding one offence to the list of primary presumptive offences.

June 2014
Proclamation of Bill C-217, Mischief relating to war memorials (Statutes of Canada 2014, c. 9). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by creating one offence that meets the criteria to be a secondary generic offence.

December 2014
Proclamation of Bill C-36, Protection of Communities and Exploited Persons Act (Statutes of Canada 2014, c. 25). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by adding six new primary mandatory offences, four new presumptive offences and a new offence to the list of secondary listed (discretionary) offences. Also, the Bill created a class of primary mandatory historical offences and primary presumptive historical offences.

December 2014
Royal Assent of Bill C-43, Economic Action Plan 2014 Act, No. 2 (Statutes of Canada 2014, c. 39). The Bill amends the DNA Identification Act to expand the national use of DNA analysis so it could be used in missing persons' investigations. Five new indices within the NDDB will eventually be created: three that will support humanitarian efforts and two that will strengthen existing operations.

March 2015
Proclamation of Bill C-13, Protecting Canadians from Online Crime Act (Statutes of Canada 2014, c. 31). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by creating one offence that meets the criteria to be a secondary generic offence.

April 2015
Proclamation of Bill C-10, Tackling Contraband Tobacco Act (Statutes of Canada 2014, c. 23). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by creating one offence that meets the criteria to be a secondary generic offence.

June 2015
Proclamation of Bill C-51, Anti-Terrorism Act, 2015 (Statutes of Canada 2015, c. 20). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by adding one offence to the list of primary presumptive offences.

June 2015
Proclamation of Bill C-35, Justice for Animals in Service Act (Statutes of Canada 2015, c. 34). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by creating one offence that meets the criteria to be a secondary generic offence.

July 2015
Proclamation of Bill S-7, Zero Tolerance for Barbaric Cultural Practices Act (Statutes of Canada 2015, c. 29). The Bill amended the Criminal Code by creating two offences that meet the criteria to be a secondary generic offence.

NDDB Milestones

July 6th, 2000
First crime scene DNA profile received in CODIS

July 7th, 2000
First convicted offender sample received at the NDDB

July 31st, 2000
First convicted offender DNA profile entered in CODIS

September 5th, 2000
First Match (identical twins in Convicted Offender Index)

October 13th, 2000
First match between a convicted offender and a crime scene

November 10th, 2000
First match between two crime scenes

December 13th, 2000
First murder investigation aided

December 5th, 2001
First 100 matches between crime scenes and convicted offenders

April 8th, 2002
First 200 matches between crime scenes and convicted offenders

April 25th, 2002
The RCMP signs an agreement with Interpol to share DNA information in support of international criminal investigations

May 14th, 2002
First international match with the Crime Scene Index

November 13th, 2002
First international match with the Convicted Offender Index

July 31st, 2003
First 1,000 matches between crime scenes and convicted offenders

February 13th, 2004
First 100 matches between two crime scenes

May 27th,2004
First 2,000 matches between crime scenes and convicted offenders

February 21st, 2005
First 3,000 matches between crime scenes and convicted offenders

May 19th, 2005
Sections 5, 16, 17 and 30.1 of Bill C-13 received Royal Assent

October 12th, 2005
First 4,000 matches between crime scenes and convicted offenders

August 14th, 2006
Over 100,000 convicted offender profiles entered into CODIS

April 19th, 2007
First 7,000 matches between crime scenes and convicted offenders

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Historique

Histoire judiciaire de l'adn: faits saillants

1891
Juan Vucetich, un capitaine de la police argentine, a changé les sciences judiciaires pour toujours lorsqu'une analyse d'empreintes digitales a été utilisée pour la première fois devant un tribunal au cours d'une enquête sur les meurtres de deux jeunes enfants.

1983
Dans une petite ville près de Leicester, au Royaume-Uni, une jeune femme est retrouvée après qu'elle eut été agressée sexuellement et assassinée. Malgré une enquête policière poussée, l'affaire n'a pu être élucidée. Trois ans plus tard, dans une ville avoisinante et dans des circonstances similaires, une autre jeune femme est retrouvée violée et assassinée.

Un suspect a finalement pu être identifié dans la deuxième affaire. Les enquêteurs ont transmis des échantillons de preuves provenant des deux lieux de crime, ainsi qu'un échantillon du sang du suspect au Dr Alec Jeffreys, un éminent chercheur britannique effectuant des recherches sur l'ADN. Le Dr Jeffreys a pu révéler deux choses à la police :

  1. Les preuves provenant de l'ADN recueilli sur les deux lieux de crime provenaient de la même personne (ce qui a permis de relier les crimes et d'identifier un meurtrier en série).
  2. L'ADN du suspect ne correspondait pas à la preuve provenant de l'ADN recueillie sur les lieux du crime et la première utilisation marquée de preuves judiciaires d'ADN permit de disculper un individu qui avait admis être l'auteur du crime.

Par la suite, on a recueilli des échantillons de sang auprès de plus de 4 500 hommes dans les localités environnantes. Un échantillon d'ADN correspondant a été trouvé, et un homme a été condamné pour les deux agressions sexuelles et meurtres.

1989
Au début d'avril, la GRC a utilisé pour la première fois une analyse d'ADN dans le cadre d'une enquête sur une agression sexuelle survenue à Ottawa, en Ontario. La victime avait identifié l'assaillant visuellement, mais ce dernier a nié avoir participé à une agression sexuelle. Par la suite, l'analyse de l'ADN a confirmé que le suspect était le coupable. Au milieu du procès, suite à la présentation des preuves d'ADN, le suspect a décidé soudainement de reconnaître sa culpabilité.

1995
Le Parlement passa à l'histoire lorsque le projet de loi C-104 fut adopté à l'unanimité au cours d'une seule journée. Ce projet de loi permet à un juge d'émettre un mandat permettant à la police d'obtenir auprès de suspects une preuve provenant de l'analyse d'ADN dans le cadre d'une enquête criminelle.

1998
Un groupe de travail spécial sur l'analyse de l'ADN, dirigé par la GRC, qui était composé à la fois d'experts scientifiques de la GRC et du Centre des sciences judiciaires, a utilisé des analyses d'ADN pour faciliter l'identification des restes humains après l'écrasement du vol 111 de la Swissair.

2000
La Banque nationale de données génétiques est créée, et suite à l'adoption du projet de loi C-3, un juge pourra autoriser le prélèvement d'échantillons d'ADN sur des personnes accusées d'infractions désignées.

Chronologie de la législation sur l'adn au Canada

juillet 1995
Le projet de loi C-104 (Lois du Canada 1995, c. 27) reçoit la sanction royale. Il modifie le Code criminel et la Loi sur les jeunes contrevenants et permet à un juge de délivrer un mandat autorisant les policiers à obtenir des échantillons d'ADN de suspects dans le cadre d'une enquête criminelle. Il s'agit de la Phase I de la stratégie sur l'ADN du gouvernement du Canada, qui fournissait le cadre législatif régissant l'utilisation d'éléments de preuve provenant de l'analyse de l'ADN lors de procédures au criminel.

janvier 1996
La phase II de la stratégie sur l'ADN du gouvernement du Canada s'amorce avec des consultations pancanadiennes sur la création d'une banque nationale de données génétiques.

décembre 1998
Le projet de loi C-3 (Lois du Canada 1998, c. 37) reçoit la sanction royale. Les travaux commencent avec un calendrier échelonné sur 18 mois en vue d'établir la BNDG.

novembre 1999
Le projet de loi S-10 est déposé au Sénat. S'inspirant des recommandations du Sénat, le projet de loi contient des modifications au projet de loi C-3, dont la prise d'empreintes digitales aux fins d'identification, l'inclusion de contrevenants reconnus coupables d'infractions désignées en vertu du système de justice militaire, ainsi qu'une révision complète de la législation et de la BNDG après cinq ans devant être effectuée par le Sénat et la Chambre des communes.

mai 2000
Proclamation partielle du projet de loi C-3 qui prévoit la constitution du comité consultatif de la Banque de données génétiques.

juin 2000
Les projets de loi C-3 et S-10 sont adoptés. Le prélèvement d'échantillons d'ADN doit commencer après l'adoption.

mai 2005
Le projet de loi C-13, Loi modifiant le Code criminel, la Loi sur l'identification par les empreintes génétiques et la Loi sur la défense nationale (Lois du Canada 2005, c. 25) reçoit la sanction royale. Les modifications visant à élargir les dispositions sur la rétroactivité, à préciser les procédures de communication des profils de la BNDG à des laboratoires judiciaires, et à établir les procédures pour confirmer la validité des ordonnances de prélèvement à des fins d'analyse par la BNDG entrent en vigueur immédiatement. D'autres dispositions du projet de loi entreront en vigueur lors de la proclamation.

juin 2007
Le projet de loi C-18, Loi modifiant certaines lois en matière d'identification par les empreintes génétiques (Lois du Canada 2007, c. 22) reçoit la sanction royale. Les modifications visant à faciliter l'application du projet de loi C-13 sont adoptées, et :

  • ajoutent la tentative de meurtre et le complot en vue de commettre un meurtre aux infractions visées par les dispositions rétroactives, et remplacent l'exigence selon laquelle une personne doit être en train de purger « une peine de deux ans ou plus» par « à la date de la demande, elle purgeait une peine d'emprisonnement »;
  • la cour peut émettre une ordonnance d'ADN à l'égard d'une infraction qui a été commise même avant le 30 juin 2000 et qui, à la date du prononcé de la peine ou de l'absolution, était une infraction désignée;
  • permettent la prescription d'une ordonnance autorisant le prélèvement pour la BNDG dans les 90 jours suivant le prononcé de la condamnation d'une personne ou d'un verdict de non responsabilité criminelle pour causes de troubles mentaux;
  • création de la catégorie des infractions primaires désignées;
  • création de la catégorie des infractions secondaires résiduelles : qui est poursuivie par voie de mise en accusation et passible d'un emprisonnement maximal de cinq ans ou plus;
  • permettent la sommation d'une personne pour l'exécution d'une ordonnance autorisant le prélèvement et une sanction pour le défaut de se présenter;
  • les ordonnances d'ADN sont valident au travers du Canada;
  • précisent les procédures de mise en commun des renseignements contenus dans la BNDG à l'échelle internationale;
  • précisent les procédures de destruction d'échantillons dans le cas d'ordonnances irrégulières.

janvier 2008
Les projets de loi C-13 et C-18 entrent en vigueur.La Loi sur l'identification par les empreintes génétiques, la Loi sur la défense nationale et le Code criminel sont modifiés.

juin 2009
Examen parlementaire prévu par la loi du cadre législatif régissant le prélèvement de substances corporelles à des fins d'analyse génétique et de la BNDG par le Comité permanent de la Chambre des communes sur la sécurité publique et nationale (Rapport du SECU - juin 2009) et acceptation en principe par le gouvernement des recommandations du rapport du SECU en octobre 2009.

octobre 2009
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-14, Crime organisé et protection des personnes associées au système judiciaire (Lois du Canada 2009, c. 22). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en ajoutant trois infractions à la liste des infractions primaires obligatoires.

juin 2010
Examen parlementaire prévu par la loi du cadre législatif régissant le prélèvement de substances corporelles à des fins d'analyse génétique et de la BNDG par le Comité sénatorial permanent des Affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles (Rapport - juin 2010). La réponse du gouvernement en décembre 2010 soulignait que les recommandations exigeant une modification législative « concordent pour l'essentiel avec celles formulées par le Comité permanent de la sécurité publique et nationale (SECU) et que les recommandations d'ordre opérationnel devront être débattues davantage ».

juin 2010
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-268, peine minimale pour les infractions de traite de personnes âgées de moins de dix-huit ans (Lois du Canada 2010, c. 3). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en ajoutant une infraction à la liste des infractions primaires désignées.

avril 2011
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi S-2, Loi protégeant les victimes des délinquants sexuels (Lois du Canada 2010, c. 17). La loi modifiait le Code criminel en rendant obligatoire le prélèvement d'échantillons d'ADN de délinquants sexuels condamnés et en ajoutant six infractions à la liste des infractions primaires (4 obligatoires et 2 désignées). Les délinquants sexuels condamnés entrant au Canada doivent aussi être inscrits au Registre national des délinquants sexuels.

août 2012
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-10, Loi sur la sécurité des rues et des communautés (Lois du Canada 2012, c. 1). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en ajoutant deux infractions à la liste des infractions primaires obligatoires.

juin 2013
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-309, Loi empêchant les participants à des émeutes ou des attroupements illégaux de dissimuler leur identité (Lois du Canada 2013, c. 15). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en créant deux infractions qui rencontre les critères de qualification pour les infractions secondaires résiduelles.

juillet 2013
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi S-7, Loi sur la lutte contre le terrorisme (Lois du Canada 2013, c. 9). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en ajoutant quatre infractions à la liste des infractions primaires désignées.

novembre 2013
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi S-9, Loi sur le terrorisme nucléaire (Lois du Canada 2013, c. 13). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en ajoutant quatre infractions à la liste des infractions primaires désignées.

juin 2014
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-394, recrutement : organisations criminelles (Lois du Canada 2014, c. 17). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en ajoutant une infraction à la liste des infractions primaires désignées.

juin 2014
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-217, méfaits à l'égard des monuments commémoratifs de guerre (Lois du Canada 2014, c. 9). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en créant une infraction qui rencontre les critères de qualification pour une infraction secondaire résiduelle.

décembre 2014
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-36, Loi sur la protection des collectivités et des personnes victimes d'exploitation (Lois du Canada 2014, c. 25). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en ajoutant des nouvelles infractions à la liste des infractions primaires obligatoires et désignées et une nouvelle infraction secondaire classée. De plus, la loi à crée une nouvelle catégorie d'infractions primaires obligatoires historiques et désignées historiques.

décembre 2014
Sanction royale du projet de loi C-43, Loi no 2 sur le plan d'action économique de 2014 (Lois du Canada 2014, c. 39). Le projet de loi modifie la Loi sur l'identification par les empreintes génétiques afin d'étendre l'utilisation nationale de l'analyse génétique aux enquêtes sur les personnes disparues. Cinq nouveaux fichiers seront éventuellement créés au sein de la BNDG : trois pour assister les efforts humanitaires et deux pour renforcer les activités existantes.

mars 2015
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-13, Loi sur la protection des Canadiens contre la cybercriminalité (Lois du Canada 2014, c. 31). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en créant une infraction qui rencontre les critères de qualification pour une infraction secondaire résiduelle.

avril 2015
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-10, Loi visant à combattre la contrebande de tabac (Lois du Canada 2014, c. 23). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en créant une infraction qui rencontre les critères de qualification pour une infraction secondaire résiduelle.

juin 2015
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-51, Loi antiterroriste de 2015 (Lois du Canada 2015, c. 20). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en ajoutant une infraction à la liste des infractions primaires désignées.

juin 2015
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-35, Loi sur la justice pour les animaux qui fournissent de l'assistance (Lois du Canada 2015, c. 34). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en créant une infraction qui rencontre les critères de qualification pour une infraction secondaire résiduelle.

juillet 2015
Entrée en vigueur du projet de loi S-7, Loi sur la tolérance zéro face aux pratiques culturelles barbares (Lois du Canada 2015, c. 29). Le projet de loi modifiait le Code criminel en créant deux infractions qui rencontre les critères de qualification pour les infractions secondaires résiduelles.

Évènements marquants de la BNDG

le 6 juillet 2000
Premier profil d`identification génétique prélevé sur les lieux d`un crime, à être soumis dans le système CODIS

le 7 juillet 2000
Premier échantillon de condamné à être soumis dans la BNDG

le 31 juillet 2000
Premier profil d`identification génétique de condamné à être soumis dans le système CODIS

le 5 septembre 2000
Première correspondance (jumeaux identiques dans le fichier des condamnés)

le 13 octobre 2000
Première correspondance entre un condamné et les lieux d`un crime

le 10 novembre 2000
Première correspondance entre deux lieux de crime

le 13 décembre 2000
Assistance prêtée pour la première fois à une enquête sur un meurtre

le 5 décembre 2001
100 premières correspondances entre des lieux de crime et des condamnés

le 8 avril 2002
200 premières correspondances entre des lieux de crime et des condamnés

le 25 avril 2002
La GRC signe une entente avec Interpol visant le partage des données génétiques à l'appui des enquêtes criminelles internationales

le 14 mai 2002
Première correspondance internationale avec le fichier de criminalistique

le 13 novembre 2002
Première correspondance internationale avec le fichier des condamnés

le 31 juillet 2003
1000 premières correspondances entre des lieux de crime et des condamnés

le 13 février 2004
100 premières correspondances entre deux lieux de crime

le 27 mai 2004
2000 premières correspondances entre des lieux de crime et des condamnés

le 21 février 2005
3000 premières correspondances entre des lieux de crime et des condamnés

le 19 mai 2005
Adoption des articles 5, 16, 17 et 30.1 du projet de loi C-13

le 14 août 2006
Plus de 100,000 profils d`identification génétique de condamnés ont été soumis dans le système CODIS

le 19 avril 2007
7000 premières correspondances entre des lieux de crime et des condamnés