Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

RCMP Musical Ride

Mountie

The Maple Leaf. Breathtaking Wilderness. A "Mountie". All are familiar international identifiers of our "True North Strong and Free". The image of the red-coated Mountie in broad-brimmed Stetson hat is instinctively associated with Canada around the world. But there is more to the Mounties than just a romantic image. The stage was set in 1873 for a role that would intimately connect the Mounted Police and its members with the development of Canada as a great nation. From the beginning of its long history, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) have served Canada and its people by establishing law and order in the frontier reaches of this vast nation. As the country grew in population and diversity, and its communities became more established, the Mounted Police adapted, ensuring the peace and security for its citizens.

Representing a colourful tradition and ceremony through the horse and the scarlet uniform, the RCMP created a spectacle known around the world as the Musical Ride. The Musical Ride provides Canadians, from coast to coast, with the opportunity to experience part of our heritage and national identity.

The early years

The early yearsThe Musical Ride was developed from a desire by early members of the North-West Mounted Police to display their riding ability and entertain both themselves and the local community. Considering that the original Mounted Police members had a British military background, it was inevitable that the series of figures they performed were traditional cavalry drill movements. These movements formed the basis of the Musical Ride. Although legend has it that the first Musical Ride was performed as early as 1876, the first officially recorded Musical Ride was performed in Regina under Inspector William George Matthews in 1887. The Musical Ride, consisting of twenty men, was put on public display for the first time in 1901. Over the years the popularity of the Ride has grown and it has become a familiar sight throughout most of the world.

Today's Musical Ride

Today's Musical RideMembers of the Musical Ride are first and foremost police officers who, after at least two years of active police work, volunteer for duty with the Musical Ride. Most members are non-riders prior to their equestrian training with the RCMP; however, once they complete the courses of instruction, they not only become riders but ambassadors of goodwill. Working through a unique medium, they promote the RCMP's image throughout Canada and the world. RCMP members only remain with the Musical Ride for three years which ensures an annual rotation of approximately one third (33%) of the riders.

Today, in keeping with tradition, the Musical Ride is performed by a full troop of thirty-two riders and horses, plus the member in charge. The Musical Ride consists of the execution of a variety of intricate figures and cavalry drill choreographed to music. Demanding utmost control, timing and coordination, these movements are formed by individual horses and riders, in two's, four's and eight's at the trot and at the canter. Months of training, practice and many kilometres/miles around the riding school make horse and rider one. The horses must not only appear in the Musical Ride, but on Parliament Hill, in parades, special events and have the ability to travel and adapt to different environments, not to mention, hours of petting and photo-taking that the horses must patiently endure.

One of the more familiar Musical Ride formations is the "Dome," once featured on the back of the Canadian fifty-dollar bill. The highlight of the Musical Ride is, without a doubt, the CHARGE when lances, with their red and white pennons, are lowered and the riders and their mounts launch into the gallop. The conclusion of the performance is the March Past performed to the strains of the RCMP's Regimental March where the Musical Ride traditionally salutes the guest of honour.

The RCMP Musical Ride tours throughout Canada, as well as international venues, performing at approximately forty to fifty locations a year between the months of May and October. Thirty-six riders, thirty-six horses, a farrier, a technical production manager and three NCOs travel with the Musical Ride.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Carrousel

GendarmeLa feuille d'érable. Un paysage spectaculaire. Un gendarme. Ce sont là des symboles de notre identité culturelle canadienne connus dans le monde entier. Dans tous les pays, l'image du gendarme à la tunique rouge et au Stetson à larges bords est immédiatement associée au Canada. Mais il ne faut pas s'arrêter à cette image romantique. En 1873, tout était en place pour que la Police à cheval et ses membres jouent un rôle prépondérant dans le développement du Canada en tant que grande nation. Dès sa création, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) a servi la population canadienne en assurant le maintien de l'ordre public dans les territoires éloignés de ce vaste pays. Devant la croissance et la diversification de la population ainsi que le développement de ses collectivités, la GRC s'est adaptée afin de continuer de maintenir la paix et d'assurer la sécurité des citoyens.

À la fois tradition et cérémonie haute en couleur où les chevaux et les Tuniques rouges sont à l'honneur, le spectacle connu dans le monde entier comme étant le Carrousel de la GRC donne à tous les Canadiens l'occasion de partager une partie de notre patrimoine et de notre identité nationale.

Les origines

Les originesLe Carrousel est né du désir des premiers membres de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest de démontrer leur adresse de cavaliers et de divertir la population. Comme il s'agissait d'anciens militaires britanniques, il était inévitable que les figures qu'ils exécutaient étaient des mouvements traditionnels de cavalerie, lesquels sont devenus les figures de base du Carrousel. Bien que la légende veuille que le premier carrousel ait eu lieu dès 1876, c'est en 1887, à Regina, que la première prestation officiellement reconnue du Carrousel a eu lieu, sous la direction de l'inspecteur William George Matthews. Le Carrousel, formé de vingt hommes, a donné une représentation publique pour la première fois en 1901. Sa popularité n'ayant cessé de grandir au fil des ans, le Carrousel est aujourd'hui connu partout dans le monde.

Aujourd'hui

Le Carrousel aujourd'huiLes membres du Carrousel sont avant tout des policiers qui, après au moins deux ans de travail policier, se portent volontaires pour faire partie du Carrousel. La plupart de ces volontaires n'ont jamais pratiqué l'équitation avant de suivre les cours de la GRC; cependant, une fois qu'ils ont terminé cet entraînement rigoureux, ils sont devenus non seulement des cavaliers accomplis, mais aussi des porte-parole. Par ce moyen original, ils s'emploient à faire connaître la GRC dans tout le pays et partout dans le monde. Les membres du Carrousel ne restent en place que trois ans, ce qui permet une rotation annuelle d'environ le tiers (33 p. 100) des cavaliers.

Aujourd'hui, selon la tradition, le Carrousel met en vedette une troupe de trente-deux cavaliers et chevaux et d'un officier responsable. Les cavaliers évoluent en exécutant des figures complexes et des mouvements réglementaires de cavalerie au son de la musique. Ces mouvements, exécutés au trot et au galop par des groupes de deux, quatre ou huit cavaliers, exigent une grande maîtrise, beaucoup de synchronisme et une excellente coordination. Après des mois d'entraînement et d'exercices et des centaines de kilomètres parcourus autour de l'école d'équitation, le cavalier et son cheval ne forment qu'un. Les chevaux sont présentés au public non seulement dans le cadre du Carrousel, mais aussi à l'occasion de cérémonies sur la colline du Parlement et de défilés; en outre, ils doivent supporter de nombreux déplacements et s'adapter à différents milieux, sans compter les interminables heures pendant lesquelles ils doivent se laisser caresser sans broncher et subir patiemment les séances de photos.

L'une des figures les plus connues du Carrousel est le « dôme », qui a déjà figuré sur le verso du billet de cinquante dollars. Le clou du spectacle est sans contredit la CHARGE, lorsque les cavaliers, leur lance à pennon rouge et blanc pointée en avant, lancent leur monture au galop. La prestation se termine par le défilé se déroulant aux accents de la Marche régimentaire de la GRC, alors que le Carrousel, selon la tradition, salue l'invité d'honneur.

Pendant sa tournée annuelle au Canada et à l'étranger, de mai à octobre, le Carrousel de la GRC se produit dans quarante à cinquante localités. Lors de ses déplacements, le Carrousel compte trente-six cavaliers, trente-six chevaux, un maréchal-ferrant, un directeur de la production technique et trois sous-officiers.