Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About D Division

The RCMP polices 99% of Manitoba via:

  • 87 RCMP Detachment Areas
  • 1,089 regular members (police officers)
  • 156 civilian members
  • 282 public service employees

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is the Canadian national police service and an agency of the Ministry of the Solicitor General of Canada. The RCMP is a unique identity as we’re a national, federal, provincial and municipal policing body.

The RCMP is proud of its traditions and confident in meeting future challenges in today’s society. We are committed to preserving peace, upholding the law and providing quality-policing service in partnership with our communities.

“D” Division achieves the above by practicing intelligence-led policing and by focusing on the national strategic priorities in combination with our own.

Our policing environment is constantly changing and the challenges we face today are much different than those faced by the North West Mounted Police in 1873.

We are faced with changing demographics, geography, evolving cultures, shifting values, terrorist activities, and technological advances. “D” Division meets these challenges by concentrating on intelligence-led policing, building strategic partnerships with the communities we serve, and by utilizing current technological equipment.

In 2016 we will continue to develop solutions to community safety issues, ensure the safety of our communities, and deliver the highest quality, professional policing service that Manitobans deserve. I look forward to the year ahead and to working with our policing partners, local governments, and community groups to ensure Manitoba is a safe place to call home.

I am pleased to share the Division's priorities for 2016, which will guide and focus our work in Manitoba

Strong Leadership and a Safe and Healthy Workforce:

A safe and healthy workforce sets the foundation for a strong organization. I am proud to be the Commanding Officer of a division where all employees are valued and empowered to deliver on our mission. By building trust and credibility with local officials and community leaders, our officers will instill confidence in a Force that works more effectively with all our stakeholders and partners.

Community Safety:

The RCMP in Manitoba are determined to reduce calls for service, and prevent crime and victimization in our communities - in particular, domestic violence and violence against children and youth. Working with our local partners, we will focus on evidence-based strategies and leverage community connections to address the root causes of crime. Public safety is a shared responsibility and we will continue our efforts to become more effective and better able to direct resources toward existing as well as emerging threats to community safety.

Enhancements to service delivery and operational excellence:

Working with our contract partners, we will continue to explore ways to be more effective to ensure the safety of all Manitobans. As a trusted, professional police service, we will deliver policing results while being respectful of all people. Through sound analysis and evaluation, our aim is to ensure the Division is well positioned to serve Manitoba citizens with the most effective and efficient policing model possible.


I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank all of you who help through sharing our messages on Twitter and Facebook. Social media has provided us a great opportunity to share important public safety information with a broad audience, but without our helpful followers our message wouldn’t have the impact it does. Thank you for helping us communicate what’s important in your community, whether it be finding a missing person, personal safety tips, or sharing our operational successes. Public safety is everyone’s responsibility, and we appreciate the virtual “eyes on the street” of our large social media community.


Community Policing

In addition to the above, “D” Division is committed to front-line policing. Community policing is the philosophy that we use to maximize our service delivery. This involves our officers working with their community partners to develop joint initiatives such as crime prevention programs, drug education and awareness programs like D.A.R.E (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) and restorative justice, a philosophy based upon community healing that provides resolution for certain criminal matters without formal involvement by Manitoba Justice.

“D” Division members will continue to provide enhanced policing services by working with each community to ensure that its policing needs are met.

As well as our traditional policing roles, our members contribute to:

  • National security
  • Education in the classroom
  • Providing investigation services
  • Conducting search and rescue services
  • Conducting crime scene analysis
  • Monitoring organized crime
  • Offering crime prevention and victim services
  • Preventing vandalism
  • Auxiliary policing
  • Offering explosive disposal services
  • Drug enforcement
  • Violent crime analysis
  • Monitoring Manitoba’s highways

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Renseignements sur la Division D

La GRC assure des services de police dans 99 p. 100 du territoire manitobain grâce à :

  • 87 détachements locaux;
  • 1 089 gendarmes réguliers;
  • 156 membres civils;
  • 282 fonctionnaires.

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada est le service de police national et un organisme qui relève du ministère du Solliciteur général du Canada. La GRC est unique au monde puisqu'elle est un service de police municipal, provincial et national.

Fière de ses traditions et sûre de pouvoir relever les défis des années à venir, la GRC s'engage à maintenir la paix, à assurer le respect de la loi et à offrir un service de qualité de concert avec les collectivités qu'elle sert.

La Division « D » remplit ce mandat au moyen d’une approche policière intelligente et en concentrant ses efforts sur les priorités stratégiques nationales ainsi que sur ses propres priorités.

L’environnement de la GRC est en constante évolution; les défis auxquels nous faisons face aujourd’hui sont complètement différents de ceux relevés par la Police montée du Nord-Ouest en 1873. Nous sommes actuellement confrontés à une démographie, une géographie, des cultures et des valeurs en évolution, ainsi qu’à la menace des activités terroristes et à l’avancement technologique. La Division « D » remplit ce mandat en mettant l’accent sur une approche policière intelligente, en établissant des partenariats stratégiques avec les collectivités desservies et en utilisant de l’équipement technologique de pointe.

En 2016, nous poursuivrons notre travail visant à trouver des solutions aux problèmes de sécurité des communautés, à assurer leur sécurité et à donner un service de police professionnel et de grande qualité que les Manitobains méritent. J’ai hâte de voir ce que l’année nous réserve et de travailler avec nos partenaires policiers, les gouvernements locaux et les groupes communautaires à faire du Manitoba un endroit sûr pour tous.

Je suis heureux de vous faire part des priorits de la Division en 2016, qui guideront et orienteront notre travail au Manitoba.

Leadership solide et employs en sant et en scurit

Des employs en sant et en scurit sont le fondement d'une organisation solide. Je suis fier d'tre le commandant d'une division o tous les employs sont apprcis et capables de contribuer l'excution de notre mission. Nos policiers btiront notre confiance et notre crdibilit auprs des autorits locales et des dirigeants communautaires afin qu'ils se fient un service de police qui collabore plus efficacement avec tous nos intervenants et partenaires.

Scurit des communauts

La GRC du Manitoba s'engage rduire le nombre d'appels de service, et prvenir la criminalit et la victimisation dans nos communauts, notamment la violence familiale et la violence faite aux enfants et aux jeunes. De concert avec nos partenaires locaux, nous nous concentrerons sur les stratgies bases sur les preuves et nous miserons sur les liens communautaires pour rsoudre les causes fondamentales de la criminalit. Puisque la scurit publique est la responsabilit de tous, nous continuerons de nous efforcer d'amliorer notre efficacit et de mieux diriger les ressources vers les menaces existantes et mergentes.

Amlioration de la prestation des services et excellence oprationnelle

En collaboration avec nos partenaires contractuels, nous continuerons de trouver des moyens d'tre plus efficaces afin d'assurer la scurit de tous les Manitobains. En tant que service de police professionnel et digne de confiance, nous produirons des rsultats en matire d'application de la loi tout en respectant chaque membre de la communaut. Par le biais d'une analyse et d'une valuation judicieuses, nous visons nous assurer que la Division est bien place pour servir les citoyens du Manitoba en utilisant le modle de services de police le plus efficace possible.


Je voulais profiter de l’occasion pour remercier tous ceux qui nous ont apporté leur aide en partageant nos messages sur Facebook et sur Twitter. Les médias sociaux nous permettent de transmettre à un vaste auditoire des renseignements importants sur la sécurité publique, mais sans votre présence, nos messages n’auraient pas le même poids. Merci de nous aider à communiquer ce qui touche votre communauté, que ce soit pour nous aider à retrouver une personne disparue, à transmettre des conseils de sécurité ou à partager nos réussites. La sécurité publique est l’affaire de tous et nous sommes reconnaissants de l’importante présence de la communauté sur les médias sociaux.


La police communautaire

Outre ces priorités, la Division « D » s’engage à assurer un service de police de première ligne. La police communautaire demeure la philosophie par laquelle nous accomplissons notre mandat en vue d’optimiser la prestation des services policiers. Nos policiers travaillent donc de concert avec nos partenaires communautaires en vue de créer des initiatives conjointes, dont notamment les programmes de prévention du crime, les programmes d’éducation et de sensibilisation aux dangers de la drogue tels que le programme D.A.R.E (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) et les programmes de justice réparatrice, une philosophie fondée sur des initiatives de guérison communautaire qui permet de résoudre certaines affaires criminelles sans avoir recours à l’intervention officielle du ministère de la Justice du Manitoba.

Les employés de la Division « D » continueront à améliorer la prestation des services de police en travaillant de concert avec les collectivités pour répondre à leurs besoins en matière d’application de la loi.

Outre les rôles traditionnels assumés par la police, nos employés contribuent à :

  • la sécurité nationale
  • l’éducation dans les écoles
  • les services d’enquête
  • les services de recherche et de sauvetage
  • l’analyse des scènes de crimes
  • la surveillance du crime organisé
  • les services de prévention du crime et d’aide aux victimes
  • la prévention du vandalisme
  • les services de police auxiliaires
  • les services d’enlèvement des explosifs
  • la lutte antidrogue
  • l’analyse des crimes violents
  • la surveillance des routes du Manitoba