Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

INTERPOL Ottawa

Law Enforcement's Gateway to the World

Quick Facts

  • Interpol OttawaCanada joined INTERPOL in 1949 and the RCMP was given the responsibility of operating INTERPOL Ottawa.
  • INTERPOL’s I-24/7 system provides a gateway to numerous criminal databases and allows member countries to securely share information.
  • INTERPOL can issue seven different notices
  • An arrest warrant issued by a foreign country is not valid in Canada. A foreign fugitive can only be arrested if:
    • he or she committed the crime in Canada;
    • he or she is in violation of the Canadian Immigration Refugee and Protection Act and;
    • an arrest warrant is issued by Canadian authorities following the receipt of a Provisional Arrest Request from a foreign country.

December 5, 2011
INTERPOL/CPIC Interface

Overview

Created in 1923, INTERPOL is the world's largest international police organization, representing 190 member countries. Its goal is to facilitate cross-border police co-operation and to assist with preventing and combating international crime.

INTERPOL is the first point of contact for many countries pursuing an international investigation. It does not actively investigate crimes, but acts as a conduit for member countries to share information and seek assistance in criminal investigations in their respective jurisdictions.

INTERPOL has six priority crime areas:

  • Drugs and criminal organizations
  • Financial and high tech crime
  • Fugitives
  • Public safety and terrorism
  • Trafficking in human beings
  • Corruption

Some of INTERPOL’s unique services include:

  • Access to a range of criminal databases and the ability to conduct international checks on criminal records, passports, vehicle identification numbers, firearms etc.
  • Issuing INTERPOL Notices to all member countries to help locate a fugitive, a missing person or to gather information on a subject.
  • Coordinating and providing assistance in locating/deporting/extraditing foreign fugitives on Canadian soil and Canadian fugitives abroad.
  • Providing up-to-date information to police investigators on legislation pertaining to criminal investigations and on Canadian requirements for pre-extradition.

In each of the member countries, INTERPOL is represented by a National Central Bureau (NCB), which is usually located in the capital city of the country. INTERPOL Ottawa, which is the Canadian NCB, serves as the primary link between law enforcement agencies in Canada and around the world. It also coordinates all international requests for assistance with the appropriate Canadian law enforcement agencies.

INTERPOL Ottawa is managed by the RCMP and is comprised of RCMP regular and civilian members, public service employees and seconded police officers from other Canadian police agencies. Current Canadian police partners include Sûreté du Québec, Ontario Provincial Police and the Service de Police de la Ville de Montréal. Canadian law enforcement agencies interested in a secondment with INTERPOL Ottawa, should contact the organization directly.

INTERPOL Ottawa is divided into the following four main areas:

Operations Center

The Operations Center acts as Canada's front-line responder for Canadian police investigators and government departments requiring international assistance in criminal matters. The Center is responsible for receiving, evaluating and efficiently processing all requests for assistance from INTERPOL member countries.

Crime Unit

The INTERPOL Crime Unit coordinates and provides assistance in pursuing major international criminal investigations. The Unit offers timely information to police investigators on legislation surrounding criminal investigations and on country requirements for pre-extradition requests. The Unit can also coordinate and provide assistance in locating, deporting and extraditing foreign fugitives in Canada and Canadian fugitives abroad.

Notices and National Criminal Registry Unit

The Notices and National Criminal Registry Unit is responsible for entering all internationally wanted and missing persons on CPIC. The Unit also performs quality review of this pertinent information.

Liaison Services

Liaison Services identifies and coordinates the participation of Canadians to INTERPOL conferences, symposia and meetings. It circulates publications, international crime statistics and analytical studies on criminal activity to the Canadian law enforcement community. In addition, it manages and authorizes access to the INTERPOL Secure Communication Network.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

INTERPOL Ottawa

Porte d'entre sur le monde pour la police

Faits en bref

  • Interpol OttawaLe Canada a adhéré à INTERPOL en 1949 et la GRC a été désignée pour gérer INTERPOL Ottawa.
  • Le système de communication d’INTERPOL, I-24/7, donne accès à un grand nombre de bases de données de renseignements criminels et permet aux pays membres d’échanger de l’information en toute sécurité.
  • Les six crimes prioritaires d’INTERPOL sont : drogue et crime organisé, criminalité financière et technologique, criminels en fuite, sécurité publique et terrorisme, traite de personnes et corruption.
  • INTERPOL peut émettre sept types de notices
  • Les mandats d’arrestation délivrés par une autorité étrangère ne sont pas valides au Canada. Un fugitif étranger peut seulement être arrêté dans les cas suivants :

5 décembre 2011
Interface INTERPOL/CIPC

Aperçu

Créé en 1923, INTERPOL est, avec ses 190 pays membres, la plus importante organisation policière internationale au monde. INTERPOL ne mène pas d’enquêtes criminelles, mais facilite la coopération transfrontalière entre les services de police et sollicite l’aide des pays membres lorsqu’une enquête criminelle est menée sur leur territoire.

INTERPOL est représenté dans chaque pays membre par un bureau central national (BCN). INTERPOL Ottawa, qui est le BCN du Canada, représente les intérêts d’ INTERPOL au Canada. INTERPOL Ottawa relève de la Police internationale de la GRC et est constitué de membres réguliers et de membres civils de la GRC, d’employés de la fonction publique ainsi que de policiers en détachement d’autres services de police canadiens.

Les six crimes prioritaires d’INTERPOL :

  • Drogue et crime organisé
  • Criminalité financière et technologique
  • Criminels en fuite
  • Sécurité publique et terrorisme
  • Traite de personnes
  • Corruption

Les services uniques qui sont offerts par INTERPOL inclus :

  • Donner accès à une gamme de bases de données de renseignements criminels et à effectuer des vérifications internationales relatives aux casiers judiciaires, aux passeports, à l’identification de véhicules, à l’identification d’armes à feu, etc.
  • Diffuser des notices à tous les pays membres d’INTERPOL afin de retrouver un fugitif ou une personne disparue, ou afin de recueillir de l’information sur un sujet.
  • Coordonner et assurer l'aide qui permet de retracer, de déporter et d'extrader les fugitifs étrangers en sol canadien ainsi que les fugitifs canadiens à l'étranger.
  • Fournir de l'information à jour aux enquêteurs de police sur les lois régissant les enquêtes criminelles et les procédures canadiennes à suivre en prévision d'extraditions.

INTERPOL est représenté dans chaque pays membre par un Bureau central national (BCN), le plus souvent établi dans la capitale du pays. INTERPOL Ottawa, qui est le BCN du Canada, est le principal intermédiaire entre les services de police au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde.

INTERPOL Ottawa est géré par la GRC et son personnel se compose de membres réguliers, de membres civils et d’employés de la fonction publique de la GRC ainsi que de policiers détachés d’autres services de police canadiens. Parmi les services de police canadiens actuellement partenaires, on compte la Sûreté du Québec, la Police provinciale de l’Ontario et le Service de police de la Ville de Montréal. Les services de police canadiens intéressés à détacher un de leurs membres à INTERPOL Ottawa doivent communiquer directement avec INTERPOL Ottawa.

INTERPOL Ottawa se divise en quatre groupes principaux :

Groupe des opérations

Le Groupe des opérations est l’intervenant de première ligne au Canada en ce qui concerne l’assistance internationale en matière de criminalité fournie aux enquêteurs des services de police canadiens et des ministères gouvernementaux. Le Groupe est chargé de recevoir, d’évaluer et de traiter efficacement toutes les demandes d’assistance provenant des pays membres d’INTERPOL.

Groupe des affaires criminelles

Le Groupe des affaires criminelles d’INTERPOL fournit de l’assistance et coordonne les enquêtes criminelles internationales majeures. Il offre des informations à jour aux enquêteurs de police sur les lois régissant les enquêtes criminelles et sur les procédures précédant les extraditions. Enfin, le Groupe fournit de l’assistance et coordonne la localisation, l’expulsion et l’extradition de criminels étrangers en fuite au Canada et de criminels canadiens en fuite à l’étranger.

Registre National des notices et dossiers criminels

Registre National des notices et dossiers criminels est chargé de saisir dans le CIPC les données relatives aux personnes disparues et aux personnes recherchées sur le plan international. Le Groupe effectue aussi le contrôle de la qualité de ces informations pertinentes.

Groupe des services de liaison

Le Groupe des services de liaison détermine et coordonne la participation de Canadiens aux conférences, symposiums et réunions d’INTERPOL. Il diffuse des publications, des statistiques sur la criminalité internationale et des études analytiques sur les activités criminelles auprès de la communauté canadienne de l’application de la loi. De plus, il gère et autorise l’accès au système mondial de communication policière sécurisée d’INTERPOL.