Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Protocol On Foreign Criminal Investigators In Canada

Protocol On Foreign Criminal Investigators In Canada

Introduction

This Protocol sets out Canada’s notification and approval requirements for regulating the entry and monitoring of foreign criminal investigators pursuing foreign criminal investigations in Canada. It also describes the respective roles and responsibilities of foreign criminal investigators, foreign embassies, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT), the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) and Canada’s federal, provincial and municipal police services in the implementation of this Protocol.

Definitions

For the purposes of the Protocol:

Foreign criminal investigators ” includes: police officers, law enforcement officers, crown attorneys, attorneys or persons acting on their behalf of a foreign state engaging in the questioning, interviewing or statement taking from witnesses, suspects or accused persons which may lead to criminal court proceedings in a foreign state or jurisdiction.

Federal law enforcement services ” includes, for the Canadian Forces, the Military Police.

Objectives

The objectives of this Protocol are as follows:

  • to safeguard Canadian security, sovereignty and the public interest while providing clarity and assistance to foreign partners wishing to pursue foreign criminal investigations in Canada;
  • to promote effective criminal investigations and prosecutions by ensuring compliance with Canadian laws during a criminal investigation by foreign criminal investigators in Canada;
  • to protect the rights of all persons in Canada affected by foreign criminal investigations;
  • to provide a mechanism to promote effective relationships and communication with sovereign nations and criminal investigators based on cooperation, effective coordination and a shared understanding of cooperative arrangements; and
  • to foster effective communication and coordination among Canadian officials to minimize the likelihood that foreign criminal investigations in Canada will affect or interfere with other police operations that may be underway.

Step-by-step process

  • Step 1 : Foreign criminal investigators send a request to their home country foreign office/ministry if they wish to pursue a criminal investigation in Canada. The request is then submitted at least two weeks before the visit to Canada through diplomatic channels to DFAIT - Canada’s point of contact for receiving notifications under the Protocol about foreign criminal investigators in Canada. DFAIT then submits the request to the RCMP for assessment.
  • Step 2 : The RCMP reviews the request from an operational police perspective, coordinates with appropriate police agencies, and then advises DFAIT accordingly.
  • Step 3: After conducting its own foreign policy assessment, DFAIT makes the final decision on whether to approve or deny the request. It then notifies the relevant foreign embassy and, if applicable, communicates conditions that may apply for the visit. The entire process may take approximately two weeks.
  • Step 4 : When a foreign criminal investigator enters Canada, the police force of jurisdiction supervises his or her activities to ensure they meet the objectives of the Protocol. This is necessary, because foreign criminal investigators do not have peace officer status or powers in Canada.

Scope of Protocol

This Protocol applies to all foreign criminal investigations pursued in Canada by foreign criminal investigators except for those activities which are already governed by other notification and approval requirements under other bilateral or multilateral arrangements between the Government of Canada and the Government of a foreign state or between their respective national departments and agencies.

This Protocol does not apply to the following activities:

  • visits to Canada by foreign criminal investigators associated with the informal exchange of information among criminal law enforcement officials/agencies, secondment arrangements between law enforcement agencies, attendance at conferences or seminars, professional consultation, and police training and instruction;
  • visits to Canada by foreign criminal investigators facilitated via Interpol (an interface administered by the RCMP), or pursuant to requests for assistance made to the Minister of Justice, who is the Central Authority for Canada under the Canadian mutual legal assistance process, as administered by the International Assistance Group of the Department of Justice; the notification procedures to be followed in the latter cases will be those established by the Central Authority for Canada;
  • visits to Canada by foreign criminal investigators pursuant to the provisions of a bilateral or multilateral treaty or agreement of which the Government of Canada is a Party where these treaties and/or agreements contain separate notification requirements, which would be followed;
  • criminal investigations conducted by foreign military authorities when exercising rights conferred by the provisions of the Visiting Forces Act, status of forces agreements, and international arrangements that govern the exercise of such investigations in Canada;
  • visits to Canada made by foreign criminal investigators pursuant to the provisions of an agreement or written arrangement concluded on behalf of a Government of Canada department or agency that includes a provision for the notification of the Canadian department or agency; and
  • joint criminal investigations conducted with Canadian law enforcement authorities, provided that Canadian federal authorities are notified of the entry of foreign criminal investigators.

It should be reiterated that the Protocol does not change or supersede other arrangements between the Government of Canada and the Government of a foreign state or between their respective national departments and agencies, if those arrangements contain notification and approval requirements.

Roles and Responsibilities

This Protocol is consistent with the approach taken by many countries, which requires foreign criminal investigators or persons acting on their behalf who wish to enter a foreign state for criminal investigative purposes to give reasonable notification to the foreign state and obtain approval prior to their entry.

The various roles and responsibilities of the parties involved in the successful administration of this Protocol are outlined below.

Foreign Criminal Investigators

Foreign criminal investigators wishing to pursue a criminal investigation in Canada must make a request to their home foreign ministry/office to ensure that the request is forwarded to the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade through diplomatic channels (i.e. via the Canadian mission abroad, or through their foreign mission in Canada) in order to facilitate the process in obtaining timely Canadian approval.

The request must identify the names of the foreign criminal investigators or persons acting on their behalf, their coordinates and respective agencies; the planned dates of arrival and departure to and from Canada; the location of the planned criminal investigation; the nature of the criminal investigation and the identity of witnesses and suspects. Since foreign criminal investigators or persons acting on their behalf do not possess peace officer status or jurisdiction in Canada, they are required to rely on the assistance and supervision of the appropriate Canadian police force of local jurisdiction when they are pursuing their investigation in Canada.

At all times while pursuing a foreign criminal investigation in Canada, foreign criminal investigators must comply with Canadian law and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Foreign Missions

Foreign missions/embassies are responsible for notifying the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, via diplomatic note, at least two weeks in advance of the prospective visit from criminal investigators in their respective jurisdictions. In exceptional cases where it is not feasible to provide two weeks notice, Canada may still consider such requests and grant approval on a case-by-case basis.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT)

Under this Protocol, DFAIT has the lead on all international matters and is Canada’s principal point of contact for receiving requests from foreign states through diplomatic channels (i.e. from a foreign embassy) about planned visits by foreign criminal investigators in Canada.

DFAIT receives foreign criminal investigators’ requests for permission to enter Canada for the purpose of pursuing a criminal investigation from a foreign state via a diplomatic note.

DFAIT logs all requests to enter Canada under this Protocol and forwards them to the RCMP for coordination. If necessary, DFAIT will follow-up on requests that require further clarification on the nature of the criminal investigation.

Once advised by the RCMP on whether a request can be supported, DFAIT, after conducting its own assessment, makes the final decision and notifies the foreign mission that Canada agrees or objects to the proposed activities of the foreign criminal investigators in Canada, including any applicable condition. This concurrence does not exempt foreign criminal investigators from following applicable Canadian legislation, including legislation that sets out the requirements for entering Canada.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police

The Interpol Office at the RCMP plays an important national coordination role in communicating foreign requests to pursue criminal investigations in Canada to the appropriate police services.

Under this Protocol, once advised by DFAIT of a request, the Interpol Office reviews and determines what form of action or assistance is required, including:

  • determining whether the RCMP can be of direct assistance to the foreign criminal investigator because the foreign criminal investigation will take place within RCMP jurisdiction, or the RCMP may be involved in similar cases or has other information to share which is germane to the investigation;
  • determining whether the foreign criminal investigation will impact other criminal RCMP investigations planned or underway (e.g., a national security investigation, on-going surveillance of suspects, or undercover operation);
  • informing federal, provincial or municipal law enforcement services of requests to pursue a foreign criminal investigation in their respective jurisdictions;
  • advising DFAIT in a timely manner, following consultations with RCMP detachments, federal, provincial and municipal law enforcement services, whether or not a request to pursue a foreign criminal investigation in Canada can be supported and providing notification of any applicable conditions; and
  • facilitating the activities of all foreign criminal investigators within RCMP jurisdiction to promote compliance with Canada’s legal and Charter requirements, and providing any necessary assistance (e.g., interviewing witnesses, carrying out arrests).

In the event that an RCMP office, in whose jurisdiction the foreign criminal investigation would take place, receives a direct request from a foreign criminal investigator wishing to enter Canada for criminal investigative purposes, the RCMP office shall communicate Canada’s Protocol for requesting entry and advise RCMP HQ of the request to ensure national coordination. In these cases, the RCMP will advise DFAIT of the request.

Federal, Provincial, and Municipal Law Enforcement Services in Canada

Under this Protocol, once advised by the RCMP of a request to pursue a foreign criminal investigation within its jurisdiction, the law enforcement agency of jurisdiction reviews and determines what form of action or assistance is required, including:

  • determining whether the foreign criminal investigation will impact other criminal investigations planned or underway within the police service’s jurisdiction;
  • notifying the RCMP in a timely manner whether a request to pursue a foreign criminal investigation within its jurisdiction can be supported and identify applicable conditions; and
  • facilitating the activities of all foreign criminal investigators within its jurisdiction to promote compliance with Canada’s legal and Charter requirements and providing any necessary assistance.

In the event that a federal, provincial or municipal criminal law enforcement agency in whose jurisdiction the foreign criminal investigation would take place receives a direct request from a foreign criminal investigator wishing to enter Canada for criminal investigative purposes, the law enforcement agency communicates Canada’s Protocol for requesting entry and advises the RCMP of the request to ensure national coordination. In these cases, the RCMP will advise DFAIT of the request.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Protocole concernant les enquteurs criminels trangers au Canada

Protocole concernant les enquêteurs criminels étrangers au Canada

Introduction

Le présent protocole fait état des exigences en matière d’avis et d’autorisation régissant l’entrée et la surveillance d’enquêteurs criminels étrangers qui souhaitent y poursuivre une enquête criminelle au Canada. Il décrit également les rôles et les responsabilités des enquêteurs criminels étrangers, des ambassades étrangères, du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI), de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) et des services de police canadiens fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux à l’égard de sa mise en œuvre.

Définitions

Aux fins du présent protocole :

« Enquêteurs criminels étrangers » désignent les agents de police, les agents d’application de la loi, les avocats de la Couronne, les procureurs ou autres personnes agissant en leur nom d’un état étranger qui participent à l’interrogation ou à l’entrevue de témoins, de suspects ou d’accusés ou qui recueillent leurs déclarations, lesquelles activités pourraient mener à des poursuites criminelles dans un État étranger ou une administration étrangère.

« Services fédéraux d’application de la loi » englobent la police militaire dans le contexte des Forces canadiennes.

Objectifs

Les objectifs du protocole sont les suivants :

  • Préserver la sécurité, la souveraineté et l’intérêt public canadiens tout en fournissant des règles précises et de l’aide aux organismes étrangers désireux de poursuivre une enquête criminelle étrangère au Canada.
  • Promouvoir l’efficacité des enquêtes criminelles et des poursuites judiciaires en veillant à ce que les enquêteurs criminels étrangers respectent les lois canadiennes lorsqu’ils poursuivent une enquête criminelle au Canada.
  • Protéger les droits de toute personne au Canada touchée par une enquête criminelle étrangère.
  • Mettre en place un mécanisme visant à favoriser des relations et une communication efficaces entre les États souverains et les enquêteurs criminels en mettant l’accent sur la collaboration, la coordination et la compréhension commune des ententes de coopération.
  • Favoriser une communication et une coordination efficaces entre les responsables canadiens afin que les enquêtes criminelles poursuivies par des enquêteurs étrangers au Canada ne perturbent pas les opérations policières en cours.

Processus progressif

  • Étape 1 : Les enquêteurs criminels étrangers envoient une demande à leur bureau ou ministère des affaires étrangères pour signaler leur intention de poursuivre une enquête criminelle au Canada. Au moins deux semaines avant la date de la visite, la demande est acheminée par voie diplomatique au MAECI - point de contact du Canada pour la réception des notifications en vertu du Protocole relatif aux enquêteurs criminels étrangers au Canada. Le MAECI soumet ensuite la demande à la GRC pour évaluation.
  • Étape 2 : La GRC examine la demande sous l’angle opérationnel, coordonne les démarches avec les services de police concernés, puis avise le MAECI de sa décision.
  • Étape 3 : Après avoir mené sa propre évaluation, le MAECI prend la décision finale d’approuver ou de rejeter la demande, puis informe l’ambassade étrangère concernée de sa décision et, s’il y a lieu, communique les conditions qui peuvent s’appliquer à la visite. Le processus complet peut s’étaler sur environ deux semaines.
  • Étape 4 : Quand un enquêteur criminel étranger entre au Canada, le service de police du territoire visé supervise ses activités afin de s’assurer qu’elles sont conforment aux objectifs du Protocole. Cette supervision est nécessaire parce que les enquêteurs criminels étrangers n’ont ni le statut ni les pouvoirs d’un agent de la paix au Canada.

Portée du protocole

Le présent protocole s’applique à toutes les enquêtes criminelles étrangères menées au Canada par des enquêteurs criminels étrangers à l’exception des activités qui sont déjà régies par des exigences en matière d’avis et d’autorisation établies en vertu d’autres accords bilatéraux ou multilatéraux conclus entre le gouvernement du Canada et celui d’un État souverain ou leurs ministères et organismes nationaux respectifs.

Le présent protocole ne s’applique pas aux activités suivantes:

  • Visites au Canada d’enquêteurs criminels étrangers en vue d’échanger officieusement des renseignements avec des organismes d’application de la loi ou leurs représentants, dans le cadre d’ententes de détachement conclues avec des organismes d’application de la loi, en vue d’assister à des conférences ou à des séminaires, de consulter des professionnels ou encore, de suivre une formation policière.
  • Visites au Canada d’enquêteurs criminels étrangers organisées par l’entremise d’Interpol (une interface administrée par la GRC), ou à la suite de demandes d’aide présentées au ministre de la Justice, qui est l’autorité centrale pour le Canada en vertu du processus d’entraide judiciaire internationale, administré par le Groupe d’entraide internationale du ministère de la Justice; les procédures d’avis à suivre dans ce dernier cas sont établies par l’autorité centrale pour le Canada.
  • Visites au Canada d’enquêteurs criminels étrangers en vertu des dispositions d’un traité ou d’un accord bilatéral ou multilatéral dont le Canada est signataire lorsque l’accord ou le traité en question comporte des exigences distinctes en matière d’avis qui seraient appliquées.
  • Enquêtes criminelles poursuivies par des autorités militaires étrangères lorsque l’on exerce les droits conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur les forces étrangères présentes au Canada, aux conventions sur le statut des forces et aux accords internationaux régissant la tenue d’enquêtes de cette nature au Canada.
  • Visites au Canada d’enquêteurs criminels étrangers en vertu d’un accord écrit ou d’un protocole d’entente conclu avec un ministère ou un organisme fédéral canadien qui comporte une disposition prévoyant l’envoi d’un avis au ministère ou à l’organisme visé.
  • Enquêtes criminelles conjointes poursuivies avec des organismes d’application de la loi canadiens dans la mesure où les autorités fédérales canadiennes sont avisées de l’entrée d’enquêteurs criminels étrangers.

Il importe de réitérer que le Protocole ne modifie pas les autres ententes convenues entre le Canada et celui d’un État souverain ou leurs ministères et organismes respectifs et qu’il n’a pas préséance sur ces ententes dans la mesure où ces dernières contiennent des exigences en matière d’avis et d’approbation.

Rôles et responsabilités

Le présent protocole est compatible avec l’approche adoptée par de nombreux pays, en vertu de laquelle les enquêteurs criminels étrangers ou des personnes agissant en leur nom désireux d’entrer dans un état étranger pour y poursuivre une enquête criminelle sont tenus de l’en aviser suffisamment à l’avance afin d’obtenir l’autorisation requise.

Les divers rôles et responsabilités des parties chargées de l’administration du présent protocole sont décrits ci-après.

Enquêteurs criminels étrangers

Les enquêteurs criminels étrangers désireux de poursuivre une enquête criminelle au Canada doivent présenter une demande à leur ministère ou bureau chargé des affaires étrangères, qui veillera à faire parvenir celle-ci par les voies diplomatiques au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (p. ex., en passant par la mission canadienne à l’étranger ou à la mission du pays au Canada) afin d’obtenir du Canada l’autorisation d’entrer au pays au moment opportun.

La demande doit comporter le nom des enquêteurs criminels étrangers ou des personnes agissant en leur nom ainsi que celui de leur organisme respectif, leurs coordonnées, la date prévue de leur arrivée au Canada, la date prévue de leur départ du Canada, l’endroit où doit avoir lieu l’enquête criminelle, la nature de l’enquête criminelle et, enfin, l’identité des témoins et des suspects. Comme les enquêteurs criminels étrangers ou les personnes agissant en leur nom ne possèdent pas le statut d’agent de la paix au Canada et ne sont pas habilités à y travailler, ils doivent être aidés et surveillés par le service de police canadien compétent pendant la durée de leur enquête au Canada.

Pendant qu’ils poursuivent une enquête criminelle étrangère au Canada, les enquêteurs criminels étrangers doivent se conformer en tout temps aux lois canadiennes et à la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

Missions étrangères

Les missions et les ambassades étrangères doivent aviser le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, par note diplomatique, au moins deux semaines à l’avance de la visite possible de leurs enquêteurs criminels. Si, dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, il ne leur est pas possible de donner un préavis de deux semaines, le Canada peut quand même examiner leur demande au cas par cas et accorder aux enquêteurs l’autorisation d’entrer au pays.

Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI)

En vertu du présent protocole, le MAECI s’occupe de toutes les questions internationales et, à titre de principal point de contact du Canada, est chargé de recevoir toutes les demandes présentées par des États étrangers par voie diplomatique (p. ex., une ambassade étrangère) concernant l’entrée au Canada d’enquêteurs criminels étrangers.

Le MAECI reçoit les demandes d’autorisation concernant l’entrée au Canada d’enquêteurs criminels étrangers désireux de poursuivre une enquête criminelle qui lui sont présentées par un État étranger par note diplomatique.

Le MAECI doit enregistrer toutes les demandes d’autorisation d’entrer au Canada présentées en vertu du présent protocole et les acheminer à la GRC pour qu’elle en assure la coordination. Le cas échéant, le MAECI effectuera un suivi des demandes qui nécessitent des éclaircissements relativement à la nature de l’enquête criminelle.

Une fois que la GRC a indiqué au MAECI que la demande peut être approuvée ou non, il mène ensuite sa propre évaluation afin de rendre une décision finale. Il avise ensuite la mission étrangère que le Canada accepte ou refuse les activités proposées par les enquêteurs criminels étrangers et, en cas d’acceptation, lui fait part de toutes les conditions applicables. Les enquêteurs criminels étrangers autorisés doivent aussi respecter toutes les lois canadiennes applicables, y compris celles qui ont trait aux exigences en matière d’entrée au pays.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC)

Le bureau d’Interpol à la GRC joue un rôle important au chapitre de la coordination nationale; il est en effet chargé de transmettre les demandes d’enquêtes criminelles présentées par des organismes étrangers au service de police canadien approprié.

En vertu du présent protocole, après avoir été informée de la demande par le MAECI, le bureau d’Interpol doit examiner celle-ci et déterminer le type d’aide ou de mesures requises. Il doit notamment :

  • déterminer s’il peut fournir une aide directe aux enquêteurs criminels étrangers – parce que l’enquête criminelle en question relève de sa compétence – et s’il mène actuellement des enquêtes similaires ou s’il peut communiquer aux enquêteurs des renseignements utiles à l’enquête;
  • déterminer si l’enquête criminelle poursuivie par l’organisme étranger aura une incidence sur les enquêtes criminelles prévues ou en cours de la GRC (sécurité nationale, surveillance de suspects, opération d’infiltration, etc.);
  • informer les services d’application de la loi fédéraux, provinciaux ou municipaux qu’un organisme étranger a demandé de poursuivre une enquête criminelle relevant de leur compétence;
  • aviser le MAECI, en temps opportun, après avoir consulté le détachement approprié de la GRC ou les services d’application de la loi fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux compétents, si la demande pour mener l’enquête criminelle étrangère au Canada peut être acceptée ou non et, le cas échéant, préciser toutes les conditions applicables;
  • faciliter les activités de tous les enquêteurs criminels étrangers opérant sur le territoire de la GRC afin d’assurer le respect de toutes les lois canadiennes et de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et leur fournir toute l’aide nécessaire (interroger les témoins, procéder aux arrestations, etc.).

Le détachement de la GRC, sur le territoire duquel l’enquête criminelle étrangère doit avoir lieu, qui reçoit une demande directement d’un enquêteur criminel étranger désireux d’entrer au Canada pour y poursuivre une enquête criminelle doit lui communiquer le protocole canadien à suivre pour présenter une demande d’entrée au pays et informer la direction générale de la GRC de la demande aux fins de la coordination nationale. La GRC doit alors aviser le MAECI de la demande.

Services d’application de la loi fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux au Canada

En vertu du présent protocole, après avoir été avisé par la GRC d’une demande d’enquête criminelle étrangère sur son territoire, l’organisme d’application de la loi compétent doit examiner celle ci et déterminer le type d’aide ou de mesures requises. Il doit notamment :

  • déterminer si cette enquête criminelle étrangère aura une incidence sur d’autres enquêtes criminelles prévues ou en cours sur son territoire;
  • aviser la GRC, en temps opportun, si cette demande pour mener une enquête criminelle étrangère peut être acceptée ou non et préciser les conditions applicables;
  • faciliter les activités de tous les enquêteurs criminels étrangers sur son territoire pour veiller au respect des lois canadiennes et de la Charte des droits et libertés et leur fournir toute l’aide nécessaire.

L’organisme d’application de la loi fédéral, provincial ou municipal, sur le territoire duquel l’enquête criminelle étrangère doit avoir lieu, qui reçoit une demande directement d’un enquêteur criminel étranger désireux d’entrer au Canada pour y poursuivre une enquête doit communiquer à l’enquêteur le protocole canadien à suivre pour présenter une demande d’entrée au pays et informer la GRC de la demande aux fins de la coordination nationale. La GRC doit ensuite aviser le MAECI de cette demande.