Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Frequently Asked Questions on Human Trafficking

Questions

Answers

What is the difference between human trafficking and human smuggling?

Human trafficking and human smuggling are not the same thing. The differences are as follows:

Human Trafficking involves the recruitment, transportation or harbouring of persons for the purpose of exploitation (typically in the sex industry or for forced labour). Traffickers use various methods to maintain control over their victims, including force, sexual assault, threats of violence and physical or emotional abuse. Human trafficking may occur across or within borders, may involve extensive organized crime networks, and is clearly a violation of the basic human rights of its victims. The relationship between the trafficker and the victim is continuous and extends beyond the border crossing. Victims may be forced into labour, prostitution or some other form of servitude. Victims may suffer abuse from their traffickers and may face severe consequences if they attempt to escape.

A distinction between international and domestic human trafficking is made by the RCMP for law enforcement purposes in order to determine the application of the appropriate piece of legislation as well as determine the jurisdictions based on law enforcement mandates. The RCMP defines these two concepts as follows:

Domestic Human Trafficking refers to any victim of human trafficking who is trafficked within Canada (regardless of the victim's status).

International Human Trafficking refers to any victim of human trafficking who, in the process of being trafficked, crossed an international border (regardless of the victim's status).

Human smuggling is a form of illegal migration involving the organized transport of a person across an international border, usually in exchange for a sum of money and sometimes in dangerous conditions. When the final destination is reached the business relationship ends, and the smuggler and the individual part company. In some cases, a person who has agreed to be smuggled into a country becomes a trafficking victim at the hands of the smuggler.

Who would be vulnerable to becoming a victim of domestic or international HT in Canada?

Vulnerable populations at risk of becoming trafficked include migrant workers, new immigrants, youth, Aboriginal women and girls, those who are socially or economically disadvantaged, or those who may have been lured to urban centres or have gone of their own free will with the hopes of bettering their lives. Convictions for human trafficking for the purpose of sexual exploitation demonstrate that Canadian girls and women are often victims.

What is the scope of human trafficking in Canada and internationally?

Canada has been identified as a transit and destination country for human smuggling. The extent of human trafficking is difficult to assess due to the clandestine nature of these offences, the reluctance of victims/witnesses to come forward to law enforcement and the difficulty in distinguishing between human trafficking victims and illegal migrants. Canada is also a country where domestic trafficking for sexual exploitation prevails.

Who are the traffickers?

The involvement of transnational organized crime groups in human trafficking is part of a growing global trend. Human trafficking generates huge profits for criminal organizations, which often have operations extending from the source to the destination countries. These transnational crime networks also utilize smaller, decentralized criminal groups that may specialize in recruiting, transporting or harbouring victims. Human trafficking is also known to be perpetrated by small family criminal groups who control the entire operation. Individuals working independently also traffic persons for profit/personal gain.

How are victims recruited and controlled?

Traffickers approach potential victims in a variety of manners including:

  • direct contact with the person
  • direct contact with family and relatives
  • agents who scout for potential victims in source regions, sometimes representing themselves as a potential sponsor or love interest
  • misleading advertisements promising jobs and opportunity
  • contact on the internet

More abusive methods are also used and range from:

  • coerced compliance
  • extortion
  • kidnapping
  • servitude
  • violence, including physical and emotional abuse

Human trafficking may occur locally or domestically, without any movement, such as within the same city.
In international cases, victims may be transported by plane, boat, train or any type of vehicle, and often a combination of them, using genuine and/or fraudulent documents that are usually removed from them upon arrival at their destination.
Victims may be isolated and/or taken to illicit businesses where they may be subjected to physical and sexual abuse and concealment. They may be forced to perform a variety of services including working in the sex trade, factories, restaurants, agriculture, or providing domestic work.

How would I recognize a victim? (Usually includes a combination of indicators).
  • they may be controlled or intimidated by someone else (i.e. being escorted or watched)
  • they may not speak on their own behalf and may not be English/French speaking
  • they may not have a passport or other I.D.
  • they may not be familiar with the neighborhood they live/work in
  • they may be moved frequently by their traffickers
  • they may have injuries/bruises from beatings and/or weapons
  • they may show visible signs of torture i.e. cigarette burns, cuts
  • they may show visible signs of branding or scarring (indicating ownership by the trafficker)
  • they may show signs of malnourishment
  • they may express fear and intimidation through facial expressions and/or body language

There are very few clear black and white indicators of human trafficking. 

Where would I find a victim who has been trafficked for sexual exploitation?

Victims may be found anywhere in Canada.  Some basic examples include:

  • nightclubs/bars
  • modeling studios
  • hospitals
  • escort services
  • massage parlours
  • shelters
  • private residences
  • internet
Where would I find a victim who has been trafficked for forced labour?

Victims can be found anywhere in Canada.  Some basic examples include:

  • non-unionized industries
  • restaurants
  • commercial agriculture sites
  • construction sites
  • domestic servitude
Considering the clandestine nature of human trafficking, how does law enforcement learn of potential cases to investigate?

Information may be obtained from:

  • the public reporting suspicious activities including the reporting of missing persons/children to police
  • government agencies and non-government organizations (i.e. working at ports of entry or dealing with health and social services)
  • international agencies working in partnership to combat human trafficking
  • victims escaping from traffickers
  • law enforcement conducting criminal investigations.

It is also the responsibility of law enforcement to seek out and identify potential victims through awareness initiatives and investigations.

What is the role of law enforcement in addressing human trafficking?
  • identify children and adults at risk
  • inform potential victims of their rights
  • identify and investigate criminal elements of circumstances and seek to prosecute individuals involved in human trafficking
  • refer potential victims who are not Canadian citizens or permanent residents to Citizenship and Immigration Canada to learn of their options regarding immigration status
  • identify support services and refer victims/potential victims to specialist non-government organizations that may assist with finding safe accommodation, and various needs including medical, psychological, legal assistance, education, and work placement
  • conduct interviews, seek intelligence, undertake investigations with immigration officials and any other appropriate parties, and ensure that links are made with other agencies and national/international policing organizations
  • provide protection to victims and staff supporting them
  • work closely with Citizenship and Immigration Canada, Canada Border Services Agency, provincial/territorial and municipal agencies, social services, child welfare authorities and any non-government organizations involved in service delivery to provide protection to victims, including children
  • conduct a continuous risk assessment with respect to the safety and welfare of the victims and their families at every stage of the investigation and judicial process and beyond
  • enforce the laws of Canada including those in the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) Section 118, and the Criminal Code, Section 279.01-279.03 (Section 279 is kidnapping).
What enforcement powers do the human trafficking Criminal Code provisions give law enforcement?

Sections 279.01-279.04 contain four indictable offences which specifically address human trafficking:

  • Section 279.01 prohibits anyone from recruiting, transporting, transferring, receiving, holding, concealing or harbouring a person, or exercising control or influence over the movements of a person, for the purpose of exploiting or facilitating the exploitation of that person (maximum penalty: life where it involves the kidnapping, aggravated assault or aggravated sexual assault, or death of the victim and 14 years in any other case);
  • Section 279.011prohibits anyone from recruiting, transporting, transferring, receiving, holding, concealing or harbouring a person under the age of eighteen years, or exercising control or influence over the movements of a person under the age of eighteen years, for the purpose of exploiting or facilitating the exploitation of that person (maximum penalty: life and a minimum of 6 years where it involves the kidnapping, aggravated assault or aggravated sexual assault, or death of the victim; maximum penalty: 14 years and a minimum of 5 years in any other case);
  • Section 279.02 prohibits anyone from receiving a financial or other material benefit for the purpose of committing or facilitating the exploitation of that person (maximum penalty: 10 years);
  • Section 279.03 prohibits the withholding or destruction of documents, such as a victim's travel documents or documents establishing their identity, for the purpose of committing or facilitating the exploitation of that person (maximum penalty: 5 years).
  • Section 279.04 defines exploitation as causing a person to provide, or offer to provide, labour or services by engaging in conduct that leads the victim to reasonably fear for their safety or that of someone known to them, if they fail to comply. It would apply to the use of force, deception or other forms of coercion causing the removal of a human organ or tissue.
  • Section 7(4.11) states thateveryone who, outside Canada, commits an act or omission that if committed in Canada would be an offence against section 279.01, 279.011, 279.02 or 279.03 shall be deemed to commit that act or omission in Canada if the person who commits the act or omission is a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident within the meaning of subsection 2(1) of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

These Criminal Code sections complement the existing Immigration and Refugee Protection Act trafficking offence and existing trafficking-related Criminal Code provisions. These offences enable law enforcement to address not only international but also domestic human trafficking cases. Human trafficking does not require the crossing of borders or any movement at all. Exploitation is the key element of the offence. Canadian law enforcement has a significantly enhanced ability to ensure that charges - whether under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act or the Criminal Code - best respond to the facts of a specific human trafficking investigation. 

For specific legislative wordings on S. 7(4.11) and S. 279.01 to 279.04, refer to http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/C-46/page-195.html.

What training is available for law enforcement to enhance their investigative skills regarding human trafficking?

National and international conferences expose participants to best practices, roundtables, discussions, workshops and seminars to raise awareness of human trafficking.

Information pertinent to training for police regarding cases of missing persons/children can be obtained through the National Centre for Missing Persons and Unidentified Remains (NCMPUR).

The RCMP's Human Trafficking National Coordination Centre has developed a Human Trafficking Tool Kit available to all law enforcement officers across Canada. One of the main objectives is to inform investigators of the human trafficking legislation.

An informative and detailed "Human Trafficking Reference Guide for Canadian Law Enforcement" is available.

The RCMP's Human Trafficking National Coordination Centre (HTNCC) has developed an online training course for law enforcement that is available through the Canadian Police Knowledge Network (CPKN) at www.cpkn.ca.
The RCMP Human Trafficking National Coordination Centre (HTNCC) in collaboration with the Canadian Police College has developed a Human Trafficking Investigator's Course for Canadian law enforcement.

British Columbia's Office to Combat Trafficking in Persons (OCTIP) developed an on-line training course for front line service providers. It can be accessed by visiting Human Trafficking: Canada is Not Immune.

Where can I find more information on human trafficking?

For more information, visit http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/ht-tp/index-eng.htm.

How can I help?

If you or someone you know is being exploited, contact your local police.

If you or someone you know needs help, speak to a trusted adult (family member, teacher or school counselor), or contact a counselor anonymously at the Kids Help Phone at 1-800-668-6868 or online at www.kidshelpphone.ca.

If you wish to report a crime anonymously, call Crime Stoppers at 1-800-222-TIPS (8477). Remember, do not take the law into your own hands or get involved in any illegal activities.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Foire aux questions sur la traite de personnes

Questions

Réponses

Quelle est la différence entre la traite de personnes et le passage de clandestins?

La traite de personnes et le passage de clandestins sont deux infractions différentes.
La traite de personnes est le fait de recruter, de déplacer ou d'héberger des personnes en vue de les exploiter (habituellement pour l'industrie du sexe ou le travail forcé). Les trafiquants n'hésitent pas à faire usage de force ou de violence physique ou émotionnelle, à agresser sexuellement leurs victimes ou à les menacer de violence pour les garder sous leur emprise.  La traite de personnes peut se faire à l'intérieur d'un pays ou d'un pays à un autre, peut impliquer de vastes réseaux du crime organisé et constitue sans l'ombre d'un doute une violation aux droits de la personne fondamentaux. Les victimes et les trafiquants sont en relation continue, même après le passage à la frontière. Les victimes peuvent être contraintes au travail forcé, à la prostitution ou à d'autres formes de servitude, subir des abus et elles risquent les conséquences sérieuses si elles essaient de s'échapper.

À des fins d'application de la loi, la GRC fait une distinction entre traite interne et traite internationale de personnes afin de déterminer quelle loi s'applique et quelles autorités doivent intervenir selon leur mandat. Elle définit ainsi ces deux concepts :

Les victimes de la traite interne de personnes, peu importe leur statut, sont trafiquées à l'intérieur du Canada.
Les victimes de la traite internationale de personnes, peu importe leur statut, sont des victimes trafiquées qui, au moment de la traite, passent une frontière internationale.

Le passage de clandestins est une forme de migration illégale où il y a passage organisé à la frontière internationale d'une personne, habituellement en échange d'une somme d'argent et parfois dans des conditions dangereuses. Une fois la personne parvenue à destination, elle n'a plus de lien avec le trafiquant.  Il arrive que la personne ayant accepté d'entrer illégalement dans un pays devienne ensuite la victime du passeur.

Au Canada, qui sont les personnes qui risquent le plus d'être victimes de la traite interne ou internationale de personnes?

Les personnes les plus à risque sont notamment les travailleurs migrants, les nouveaux immigrés, les jeunes, les filles et femmes autochtones et les personnes défavorisées sur le plan social ou économique ou qui ont été attirées vers un centre urbain sous un faux prétexte ou dans l'espoir d'une meilleure qualité de vie. Des condamnations pour traite de personnes aux fins d'exploitation sexuelle démontrent que des filles et des femmes canadiennes sont souvent victimes de cette forme de criminalité. 

Quelle est l'ampleur de la traite de personnes au Canada et à l'échelle internationale?

Le Canada est un pays de destination et de transit pour le passage de clandestins. L'ampleur de la traite de personnes est difficile à évaluer en raison de la nature clandestine de cette activité, de la réticence des victimes et des témoins à faire intervenir les autorités et de la difficulté à distinguer les cas de traite de personnes des cas de passage de clandestins.  La traite interne à des fins d'exploitation sexuelle est aussi prédominante au Canada.

Qui sont les trafiquants?

La tendance mondiale témoigne de la participation accrue de groupes transnationaux du crime organisé à la traite de personnes. La traite de personnes est une source de profits énormes pour les organisations criminelles dont les activités s'étendent des pays d'origine aux pays de destination. Les réseaux transnationaux du crime organisé utilisent également des petits groupes criminels décentralisés spécialisés dans le recrutement, le déplacement ou l'hébergement des victimes. La traite de personnes est également perpétrée par de petits groupes criminels familiaux qui contrôlent toute l'opération. Des individus travaillant seuls pratiquent également la traite de personnes pour les profits personnels.

Comment sont recrutées les victimes?

Les trafiquants recrutent leurs victimes de diverses façons, dont celles-ci :

  • contact direct avec la personne; 
  • contact direct avec la famille et les proches;
  • individus qui parcourent les régions sources en se présentant parfois comme un parrain potentiel ou un amoureux;
  • annonce trompeuse où l'on promet des emplois et des possibilités d'affaires
  • contact sur l'internet.

D'autres méthodes plus abusives sont également utilisées, à savoir :

  • la coercition;
  • l'extorsion;
  • l'enlèvement;
  • la servitude;
  • la violence, y compris la violence physique et psychologique.

La traite de personnes peut avoir lieu à l'échelle locale ou nationale, sans aucun déplacement, comme dans une ville.

Pour la traite internationale, les victimes sont déplacées par avion, bateau, train ou autre véhicule, souvent par plusieurs de ces moyens de transport à la fois, et munies de vrais ou de faux documents qui leur sont cependant retirés lorsqu'elles arrivent à destination.

Les victimes peuvent être ensuite amenées dans des endroits isolés ou des commerces illicites où elles sont cachées et parfois soumises à des agressions physiques et sexuelles. Elles peuvent être contraintes à fournir divers services, comme travailler dans des usines et des restaurants, à travailler dans le commerce du sexe et l'agriculture ou à effectuer des travaux domestiques.

Comment reconnaître une victime? (Présente généralement plusieurs indicateurs).
  • elle peut être contrôlée ou intimidée par quelqu'un (p. ex. elle est accompagnée ou surveillée);
  • elle ne parle pas en son nom ou ne parle pas anglais ou français;
  • elle n'a pas de passeport ou autre pièce d'identité;
  • elle ne connaît pas le quartier où elle habite ou travaille;
  • elle est souvent déplacée par ses trafiquants;
  • elle a des blessures ou des ecchymoses dues à des coups ou à une arme;
  • elle a des marques visibles de torture (brûle de cigarettes, coupures, etc.);
  • elle a des traces visibles de marquage ou de cicatrisation (marques indiquant la possession);
  • elle montre des signes de malnutrition;
  • elle montre des signes d'intimidation ou de peur par les expressions de son visage ou la gestuelle de son corps.

Les signes qu'une personne est victime de traite sont rarement évidents.

Où trouve-t-on des victimes de la traite à des fins d'exploitation sexuelle?

Les victimes sont partout au Canada. On les trouve par exemple dans :

  • les boîtes de nuit et les bars;
  • les studios de mannequin;
  • les hôpitaux;
  • les services d'escorte;
  • les studios de massage;
  • les refuges;
  • les résidences privées; 
  • sur Internet.
Où trouve-t-on des victimes de la traite à des fins de travail forcé?

Les victimes sont partout au Canada. On les trouve, par exemple dans :

  • les industries non syndiquées;
  • les restaurants;
  • les sites d'agriculture commerciale;
  • les chantiers de construction;
  • le domaine de la servitude domestique.
Compte tenu de la nature clandestine de la traite de personnes, comment les autorités policières sont-elles informées des cas qui nécessitent de faire enquête?

De l'information peut être obtenue des sources suivantes :

  • citoyens qui signalent des activités suspectes incluant les cas d'enfants et personnes disparues reporté aux corps de police;
  • organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux (c.-à-d. présents dans les ports d'entrée ou qui fournissent des services sociaux et de santé);
  • organismes étrangers qui travaillent en partenariat pour lutter contre la traite de personnes;
  • victimes qui ont échappé à leurs trafiquants;
  • organismes d'application de la loi qui effectuent des enquêtes criminelles.

Trouver et identifier des victimes potentielles au moyen d'initiatives de sensibilisation et d'enquêtes est la responsabilité des organismes d'application de la loi.

Quel est le rôle des organismes d'application de la loi dans la lutte contre la traite de personnes?
  • identifier les enfants et les adultes à risque;
  • informer les victimes potentielles de leurs droits;
  • enquêter sur les éléments criminels après les avoir identifiés et traduire en justice les individus impliqués dans la traite de personnes.
  • adresser les victimes potentielles qui ne sont pas des citoyens canadiens ou des résidents permanents à Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada afin de leur faire connaître leurs options relatives au statut d'immigration;
  • trouver des services de soutien et adresser les victimes et les victimes potentielles à des organismes non gouvernementaux spécialisés qui peuvent aider à trouver un hébergement sûr et d'autres services (soins médicaux et psychologiques, assistance juridique, éducation et placement professionnel);
  • effectuer des entrevues, obtenir des renseignements, entreprendre des enquêtes avec les responsables de l'immigration et tout autre intervenant compétent, et assurer la liaison avec d'autres organismes et services de police canadiens ou étrangers;
  • assurer la protection des victimes et du personnel qui les soutient;
  • collaborer étroitement avec Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, les organismes provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux, les services sociaux, les bureaux de protection de l'enfance et tout organisme non gouvernemental qui offre des services de protection aux victimes, y compris aux enfants;
  • évaluer constamment les risques à la sécurité et au bien-être des victimes et de leur famille à toutes les étapes de l'enquête et du processus judiciaire et les étapes subséquentes, s'il y a lieu;
  • faire appliquer les lois du Canada, y compris l'article 118 de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés (LIPR) et les articles 279.01 à 279.03 du Code criminel (l'article 279 porte sur l'enlèvement).
Quels pouvoirs les dispositions du Code criminel donnent-elles aux autorités policières?

Les articles 279.01 à 279.04 portent sur quatre infractions distinctes relatives à la traite de personnes :

  • L'article 279.01 interdit à quiconque de recruter, de transporter, de transférer, de recevoir, de détenir, de cacher ou d'héberger une personne, ou d'exercer un contrôle ou une influence sur les mouvements d'une personne, en vue de l'exploiter ou de faciliter son exploitation (peine maximale d'emprisonnement à perpétuité s'il y a enlèvement, voies de fait graves ou agression sexuelle grave sur la victime ou mort de celle-ci, et peine maximale de quatorze ans dans les autres cas);  
  • L'article 279.011 interdit à quiconque de recruter, de transporter, de transférer, de recevoir, de détenir, de cacher ou d'héberger une personne âgée de moins de dix-huit ans, ou d'exercer un contrôle ou une influence sur les mouvements d'une telle personne, en vue de l'exploiter ou de faciliter son exploitation (peine maximale d'emprisonnement à perpétuité et peine minimale de six ans s'il y a enlèvement, voies de fait graves ou agression sexuelle grave sur la victime ou mort de celle-ci, et peine maximale de quatorze ans et peine minimale de cinq ans dans les autres cas);
  • L'article 279.02 interdit à quiconque de bénéficier d'un avantage pécuniaire ou matériel en vue d'exploiter ou de faciliter l'exploitation d'une personne (peine maximale : emprisonnement de dix ans);
  • L'article 279.03 interdit à quiconque de retenir ou de détruire tout document de voyage d'une personne ou tout document pouvant établir ou censé établir son identité en vue de l'exploiter ou de faciliter son exploitation (peine maximale : emprisonnement de cinq ans).
  • L'article 279.04 définit l'exploitation comme un moyen d'amener une victime à fournir ou à offrir de fournir son travail ou ses services, par des agissements qui font croire qu'un refus de sa part mettrait en danger sa sécurité ou celle d'une personne qu'elle connaît. Cet article s'applique à l'usage de la force, de la tromperie ou de toute autre forme de contrainte exercée dans le but de prélever un organe ou des tissus.
  • L'article 7(4.11) indique que le citoyen canadien ou le résident permanent au sens du paragraphe 2(1) de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés qui, à l'étranger est l'auteur d'un fait — acte ou omission — qui, s'il était commis au Canada, constituerait une infraction aux articles 279.01, 279.011, 279.02 ou 279.03 est réputé l'avoir commis au Canada.

Ces articles du Code criminel complètent la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés et les dispositions existantes du Code criminel sur la traite de personnes. Ainsi, les autorités policières peuvent non seulement faire enquête sur les cas internationaux de traite de personnes, mais aussi sur les cas internes. La traite de personnes n'implique pas obligatoirement le passage de la frontière ni un déplacement quelconque. L'exploitation est l'élément clé de l'infraction. Les organismes canadiens d'application de la loi seront davantage en mesure de déterminer s'il convient de déposer des accusations en vertu de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés ou du Code criminel compte tenu des faits d'une enquête sur un cas de traite en particulier.

Pour obtenir le libellé exact des articles 7(4.11) et 279.01 à 279.04, veuillez consulter le site suivant :

http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/C-46/page-195.html.

Quelle formation est offerte aux agents d'application de la loi afin qu'ils puissent améliorer leurs compétences en matière d'enquête sur la traite de personnes?

Des conférences nationales et internationales où les participants échangent des pratiques exemplaires, assistent à des tables rondes, à des ateliers et à des séminaires sur la traite de personnes sont organisées.

Des renseignements pertinents de formation pour les corps policiers reliés aux cas des personnes/enfants disparus peuvent être obtenus du Centre national pour personnes disparues et restes non identifiés.

Le Centre national de coordination contre la traite de personnes (CNCTP) de la GRC a élaboré une trousse de sensibilisation pour tous les agents chargés de l'application de la loi au Canada. Un des principaux objectifs de cette trousse est d'informer les enquêteurs des lois contre la traite de personnes au Code criminel.

Human Trafficking Reference Guide for Canadian Law Enforcement est un guide informatif et détaillé que l'on peut consulter.

Le Centre national de coordination contre la traite de personnes (CNCTP) de la GRC a élaboré un cours en ligne à l'intention des organismes d'application par l'intermédiaire du Réseau canadien du savoir policier (RCSP).  Le cours est disponible à l'addresse www.cpkn.ca.

Le Centre national de coordination contre la traite de personnes (CNCTP) de la GRC en collaboration avec le Collège canadien de police a élaboré un cours d'enquêteur sur la traite de personnes.

L'Office to Combat Trafficking in Persons de la Colombie-Britannique a élaboré un cours en ligne à l'intention des fournisseurs de services de première ligne. Vous pouvez y accéder à l'adresse suivante : Human Trafficking: Canada is Not Immune [anglais seulement].

Où puis-je obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la traite de personnes?

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez le http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/ht-tp/index-fra.htm.

Comment puis-je aider?

Si vous ou une personne que vous connaissez êtes victimes d'exploitation, communiquez avec votre service de police local.

Si vous ou une personne que vous connaissez avez besoin d'aide, parlez à un adulte de confiance (famille, professeur, conseiller pédagogique) ou communiquez de façon anonyme avec un conseiller de Jeunesse J'écoute au 1-800-668-6868 ou en ligne à www.jeunessejecoute.ca.

Si vous souhaitez signaler un crime tout en gardant l'anonymat, communiquez avec Échec au crime au 1-800-222-TIPS (8477). Surtout, il ne faut pas intervenir soi-même ni se livrer à des activités illégales.