Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Women in the RCMP

Women have made significant contributions to the RCMP over the years serving as wives, public servants, civilian members and as regular members.

As early as the 1890s the Force employed females as matrons and gaolers to deal with female offenders and as part of the escort when female prisoners were moved from one place to another.

In the early 1900s women filled positions such as fingerprint technicians and lab technicians. Dr. Francis McGill, often referred to as the “First Woman Mountie” was the Force’s first Honourary Surgeon appointed in 1946, but she had been the director of the Saskatchewan lab from 1922 to 1942 and associated with the Force for many years in the fields of medical science, forensic medicine and pathology.

On May 23, 1974 RCMP Commissioner M.J. Nadon made an announcement that the RCMP would begin accepting applications from woman for regular police duties. This announcement opened up positions in areas which had previously been reserved for males. The first troop of 32 female regular members was Troop 17. Their engagements took place from locations across the country and they arrived at Depot, Regina, on September 18 and 19, 1974, to commence training. This first all female troop graduated from Depot on March 3, 1975.

Since 1975 women have made considerable progress. For example, in 1981 the first female was promoted to corporal and the first females served on the Musical Ride; in 1987, the first female served in a foreign post; in 1990, the first female was appointed detachment commander; in 1992, the first female officers were commissioned; and in 1998 the first female Assistant Commissioner was appointed.

The following sources are suggested for further reading:

Joy Duncan. Red Serge Wives (Co-op Press Ltd., 1974)
James Mackenzie. Troop 17: The Making of Mounties (Calgary, Detselig Enterprises, 1992)

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Les femmes la GRC

Au fil des ans, les femmes ont apporté une contribution importante à la GRC en tant qu’épouses, employées de la fonction publique, membres civiles et membres régulières.

Dès les années 1890, la Gendarmerie a employé des surveillantes et gardiennes de prison pour s’occuper des délinquantes et les escorter durant les déplacements.

Au début des années 1900 apparaissent des techniciennes en dactyloscopie et des techniciennes de laboratoire. Le Dr Frances McGill, souvent appelée la « première policière montée », est la première chirurgienne honoraire de la Gendarmerie, nommée en 1946. Auparavant, elle avait été directrice du laboratoire de la Saskatchewan de 1922 à 1942 et s’était associée à la Gendarmerie pendant de nombreuses années dans les domaines de la médecine, de la médecine légale et de la pathologie.

Le 23 mai 1974, le Commissaire M.J. Nadon annonçait que la GRC accepterait dorénavant les femmes dans les postes réguliers. Cette annonce leur a ouvert des postes jusqu’alors réservés aux hommes. La première troupe composée de 32 membres régulières était la Troupe 17. Provenant de partout au pays, ces femmes sont arrivées à la Division Dépôt, à Regina, les 18 et 19 septembre 1974 pour commencer y leur formation, qui s’est achevée le 3 mars 1975.

Depuis 1975, les femmes ont fait du chemin. Ainsi, en 1981, l’une d’elle est promue caporale tandis que d’autres deviennent membres du Carrousel pour la première fois; en 1987, une femme est affectée à un poste à l’étranger; en 1990, une femme se retrouve à la tête d’un détachement; en 1992, une femme devient officière et en 1998, la GRC nomme sa première commissaire adjointe.

Autres lectures suggérées :

Duncan, Joy. Red Serge Wives, [s.l.], Co-op Press Ltd., 1974
MacKenzie, James. Troop 17: The Making of Mounties, Calgary, Detselig Enterprises, 1992, 184 p.