Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Disaster Victim Identification (DVI)

A disaster is an unexpected major event resulting in large-scale damage and significant loss of human life. Disasters may have natural causes, such as an earthquake or tsunami or they may be the result of human activity, as in the case of negligence or terrorism.

Disaster Victim Identification (DVI) is the term used internationally to represent the overall response for the identification of victims of disasters. An effective DVI response requires a broad range of expertise and participation of police agencies, medical professionals, as well as government and non-governmental organizations.

The RCMP, in partnership with federal, provincial and municipal partners is working towards enhancing competencies in DVI responsiveness to assist in developing and coordinating a multi-agency, whole-of-government Canadian DVI response. Events such as Swiss Air 111, the tsunami in Thailand and the earthquake in Haiti have reinforced the need to enhance and maintain this expertise in order to provide the response required to identify deceased victims and human remains, collect the pertinent evidence, and subsequent repatriation.

DVI is comprised of the following:

  • Family Liaison Assistance Group who assist victims’ families
  • Assessment Team evaluates the total scope of the DVI operation including logistical requirements,  team size,  subject matter expertise required and morgue location
  • Body Recovery Teams collect the bodies and personal effects from the disaster site and document all available relevant information about the individual
  • Ante-mortem Teams prepare missing persons files which include information required for the victim’s identification such as medical records, original dental records, fingerprints and DNA
  • Post-mortem Teams collect all post-mortem data including relevant dental, medical and forensic data from the victims during autopsy
  • The Reconciliation Teams are responsible for searching the ante-mortem and post-mortem records and ultimately presenting a report and recommendation to the Identification Board
  • The Identification Board confirms whether the victim’s identity has been established

DVI Assistance Outside Canada

Following a disaster abroad, the host country may contact Interpol to ask for DVI assistance and expertise. When DVI assistance is authorized by the Government of Canada, the RCMP will assist with organization and on-the-ground support for the operation. In this role, the RCMP will identify members of the Integrated Forensic Identification Service (IFIS) and partner police agency forensic identification members to take part in the DVI operation as well as coordinate assistance from the Canadian Forces, forensic odontologists and provincial forensic pathologists.

DVI Assistance in Canada

If a disaster occurs in Canada, the provinces and territories have primary responsibility for the identification of the deceased. If local resources become overwhelmed, a national DVI response can be initiated.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Identification des victimes de catastrophes (IVC)

Une catastrophe est un événement inattendu de grande envergure qui entraîne une forte dévastation et de lourdes pertes en vies humaines. Elle peut être d’origine naturelle, comme dans le cas d’un tremblement de terre ou d’un tsunami, ou découler de la négligence ou de l’activité humaine, par exemple en situation de terrorisme.

IVC est le terme employé à l’échelle internationale pour désigner l’ensemble des interventions visant à identifier les victimes de catastrophes. Pour être efficace, une intervention d’IVC doit miser sur une panoplie de compétences spécialisées et la participation de divers corps policiers, professionnels de la santé et organismes non gouvernementaux.

La GRC collabore avec ses partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux à l’amélioration des compétences en ce qui a trait aux interventions d’IVC dans un souci de contribution à l’élaboration et à la coordination d’une stratégie pangouvernementale et multiorganisationnelle en la matière. Des tragédies comme l’écrasement du vol 111 de Swiss Air, le tsunami en Thaïlande et le séisme en Haïti ont souligné la nécessité de renforcer et de maintenir ces compétences afin d’assurer les interventions requises pour identifier les restes humains, recueillir les preuves pertinentes et voir aux mesures de rapatriement.

L’IVC comporte plusieurs fonctions distinctes :

  • le groupe de liaison avec les familles vient en aide aux proches des victimes;
  • l’équipe d’évaluation détermine l’ampleur de l’opération (exigences d’ordre logistique, taille de l’équipe d’IVC, experts requis, emplacement de la morgue, etc.);
  • l’équipe de récupération des corps recueille les dépouilles et les effets personnels des victimes sur les lieux de la catastrophe et documente tous les renseignements pertinents à leur sujet;
  • l’équipe ante mortem prépare les dossiers sur les personnes disparues, où elle verse l’information requise pour l’identification des victimes (dossier médical, fiches dentaires, empreintes digitales, échantillons d’ADN, etc.);
  • l’équipe post mortem recueille toutes les données dentaires, médicales et médico-légales pertinentes au sujet des victimes pendant leur autopsie;
  • l’équipe de rapprochement se charge d’étudier les dossiers ante mortem et post mortem, puis de formuler une recommandation et de rédiger un rapport à l’intention du conseil d’identification;
  • le conseil d’identification confirme l’identification de la victime.

Prestation de services d’IVC à l’étranger

Après une catastrophe survenue à l’étranger, le pays touché peut communiquer avec Interpol pour demander une aide spécialisée en matière d’IVC. Dans les cas où le gouvernement du Canada autorise une intervention d’IVC, la GRC participe à son organisation et à son soutien sur le terrain en désignant les membres du Service intégré de l’identité judiciaire (SIIJ) et les spécialistes de l’identité judiciaire des corps policiers partenaires qui y prendront part et en coordonnant la participation des odontologistes judiciaires des Forces canadiennes et des médecins légistes provinciaux.

Prestation de services d’IVC au Canada

En cas de catastrophe au Canada, la responsabilité principale de l’identification des dépouilles des victimes incombe aux provinces et aux territoires. Si les ressources locales s’avèrent insuffisantes, une intervention nationale d’IVC peut être organisée.