Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Immediate Action Rapid Deployment (IARD) Program

  • IARD can best be defined as the swift and immediate deployment of law enforcement resources to an ongoing , life threatening situation where delayed deployment could result in death or grievous bodily harm to innocent persons.
  • The safety and security of young people is one of the RCMP's strategic priorities. With that in mind, and as a result of several tragic shootings in recent years in both Canada and the U.S., the RCMP has developed a training program and policies to address such threats, called the Immediate Action Rapid Deployment program (some refer to such tactics as "active aggressor" training).
  • IARD allows trained RCMP members to engage a threat such as an active shooter immediately, and to take whatever action they deem necessary, as opposed to attempting to contain a threat. The ultimate goal of IARD is the safety of the public.
  • The RCMP is in the process of evaluating and researching new tools that will enhance public and member safety during active shooter incidents (i.e. enhanced body armour and appropriate weapon systems) .

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programme de déploiement rapide pour action immédiate (DRAI)

  • La sécurité des jeunes est l'une des priorités stratégiques de la GRC. À la suite de plusieurs fusillades, tant au Canada qu'aux É.-U., ces dernières années, la GRC a conçu un programme de formation et a élaboré des politiques pour répondre à de telles menaces. Il s'agit du Programme rapide d'action immédiate.
  • On pourrait définir le programme de Déploiement rapide pour action immédiate (DRAI) de la façon suivante: Le déploiement immédiat et rapide des membres de service aux situations où il y a une menace active qui, faute de délai par la police, pourrait causer la mort ou des lésions corporelles graves aux personnes innocentes.
  • Le programme DRAI permet à des membres formés de la GRC de faire face immédiatement à une menace, par exemple un tireur actif, et de prendre toutes les mesures qui leur semblent nécessaires, plutôt que d'essayer de circonscrire la menace. Le but ultime du DRAI est la sécurité du public.
  • La GRC en est à évaluer et à chercher de nouveaux outils pour accroître la sécurité du public et des membres lors de fusillades en cours (p. ex. une cuirasse améliorée et diverses armes).