Security measures - 2018 G7 Summit – Charlevoix, Quebec

This page will be updated regularly in order to disseminate all security information in a timely manner.

Integrated Security Unit (ISU)

An Integrated Security Unit (ISU) was formed to arrange and provide for security during the G7 Summit. The ISU's mandate is to provide for the security of all participants, visitors and residents during this large‑scale event. Led by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), the ISU is comprised of partners from the Sûreté du Québec (SQ), the Service de police de la Ville de Québec (SPVQ) and the Canadian Armed Forces. The ISU will also work with many other federal, provincial and municipal partners.

Information for residents and merchants of La Malbaie and surrounding areas

Community Relations Group

Four community relations officers have been on site in La Malbaie since September 2017. Their role is to ensure regular and transparent communications with the community, residents, merchants, and local and regional stakeholders about security measures surrounding the Summit. The four officers, from the RCMP and the SQ, will provide liaison between the community and the ISU in order to address citizens' security concerns. Discussion and cooperation will be prioritized in order to provide a secure, positive event.

Should you have any questions about security, please contact our community relations officers by telephone at 1-866-848-5849 or by email at infosecurite-G7-securityinfo@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.

Security measures

The security measures surrounding the G7 Summit involve, among other things, establishing protected areas and security perimeters. These measures will allow us to ensure the safety of the participants, residents and visitors during the event. The Integrated Security Unit is at the planning stage. Detailed information about these measures that may affect the citizens in their everyday activities will be transmitted as soon as possible.

Reconnaissance exercises

From now until the Summit in June 2018, the Integrated Security Unit will conduct various reconnaissance exercises in the Charlevoix region. Whether on land, on the water or in the air, it is possible that citizens will witness trials or identification maneuvers. These exercises are part of the normal planning of security measures surrounding such an event and are of no danger to the public. The public's health and safety and respect for rights and privacy will not be compromised in any circumstance.

Protests

During the G7 Summit, the ISU will ensure that the right to peaceful assembly and freedom of expression for all is respected. A free speech area will be set up for this purpose in La Malbaie for the duration of the event. The location has not yet been determined. We will share this information as soon as possible.

Appeal to the public

Should you witness a suspicious incident or have information about the illicit activities of individuals or groups of individuals that could represent a potential threat and potentially be linked to Summit security, please contact the Integrated Intelligence Unit (IIU) for the Summit by telephone at 1-866-848-5853 or by email at RCMP.G7_2018_JIG-G7_2018_GIR.GRC@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.

About the G7 Summit

The Government of Canada is hosting the G7 Summit on June 8 and 9, 2018, at the Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, located in La Malbaie in the Charlevoix Region of Quebec. To find out more about the event, please visit the Road to the 2018 G7 Summit in Charlevoix page.

Should you have any other questions about the event, please contact Global Affairs Canada's Summits Management Office by telephone at 1-833-472-4275 or by email at G7Charlevoix@international.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Mesures de sécurité - Sommet du G7 2018 – Charlevoix, Québec

Cette page sera mise à jour régulièrement afin de diffuser toute l'information sur la sécurité en temps opportun.

Groupe intégré de la sécurité (GIS)

Un Groupe intégré de la sécurité (GIS) a été mis sur pied pour planifier et assurer les opérations de sécurité durant le Sommet du G7. Le mandat du GIS consiste à assurer la sécurité de l'ensemble des participants, des visiteurs, des résidents et des manifestants pendant la tenue de cet événement d'envergure. Dirigé par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), le GIS est composé de partenaires de la Sûreté du Québec (SQ), du Service de police de la Ville de Québec (SPVQ) et des Forces armées canadiennes. Le GIS collabore également avec de nombreux autres partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux.

Information pour les résidents et commerçants de La Malbaie et des environs

Agents des relations communautaires

Quatre agents des relations communautaires sont en poste à La Malbaie depuis septembre 2017. Leur rôle consiste à assurer des communications régulières et transparentes avec la communauté, les résidents, les commerçants, les intervenants locaux et régionaux à propos des mesures de sécurité entourant la tenue du Sommet. Les quatre agents, issus de la GRC et de la SQ, assureront la liaison entre la communauté et le GIS afin d'aborder les préoccupations des citoyens en matière de sécurité. L'échange et la collaboration seront priorisés afin d'assurer un déroulement positif et sécuritaire de l'événement.

Mesures de sécurité

Les mesures de sécurité entourant la tenue du Sommet du G7 concernent, entre autres, l'établissement de zones contrôlées et de périmètres de sécurité. Ces mesures nous permettent d'assurer la sécurité des participants, des résidents et des visiteurs durant l'événement. Le Groupe intégré de la sécurité est à l'étape de planification. Les informations détaillées entourant les mesures qui pourraient toucher les citoyens dans leurs activités quotidiennes seront transmises aussitôt que possible.

Exercices de reconnaissance

D'ici à la tenue du Sommet en juin prochain, le Groupe intégré de la sécurité effectuera divers exercices de reconnaissance dans la région de Charlevoix. Que ce soit sur terre, sur l'eau ou dans les airs, il est possible que les citoyens soient témoins d'essais ou de manœuvres de repérage. Ces exercices font partie de la planification normale des mesures de sécurité entourant un tel événement et ne posent aucun danger pour la population.

Pour toute question relative à la sécurité, communiquez avec nos agents des relations avec la communauté par téléphone au 1-866-848-5849 ou par courriel à infosecurite-G7-securityinfo@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.

Appel au public

Vous êtes témoin d'un incident suspect ou avez des renseignements sur des activités illicites d'individus ou de groupes d'individus pouvant représenter une menace potentielle et ayant un lien possible avec la sécurité du Sommet, communiquez avec le Groupe intégré du renseignement pour le Sommet au 1-866-848-5853 ou par courriel à RCMP.G7_2018_JIG-G7_2018_GIR.GRC@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.

À propos du Sommet du G7

Le Gouvernement du Canada est l'hôte du Sommet du G7 qui se tiendra les 8 et 9 juin 2018 au Fairmont Le Manoir Richelieu, situé à La Malbaie dans la région de Charlevoix au Québec. Pour en savoir plus sur l'événement, consultez la page En route vers le Sommet du G7 de 2018 dans Charlevoix.

Pour toutes questions, communiquez avec le Bureau de gestion des sommets d'Affaires mondiales Canada par téléphone au 1-833-472-4275 ou par courriel à G7Charlevoix@international.gc.ca.

Date de modification :