Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Form 3774

Suspected Counterfeit Bank Notes & Forged Payment Cards

Purpose

This form is to be used only by financial institutions, retail businesses and police agencies when a passer is not present. In the event that the passer is present, contact local police immediately.

Utilization of this form will assist in the disposition of suspected counterfeit bank notes in an effective and efficient manner.

Directions for Financial Institutions

  • This form must be completed by the financial institution with all available pertinent information recorded.
  • If the source of the bank note is known, the information provided should be as detailed as possible.
  • The bank note should be attached to this form and turned over to the local police as soon as possible. The method used to forward the bank note to the police will be determined by the police in your jurisdiction.
  • In cases where multiple bank notes are received, a single form can be completed provided that the source of the bank note and the time frame during which it was passed are similar.
  • It is very important to record the date on which the suspected counterfeit bank note was first detected.

Suspected counterfeit bank notes identified at the financial institution's Central Cash Operations Centre should either be sent back to the police agency with primary jurisdiction or to the originating financial institution for proper disposition to that police agency. In such cases, it is imperative that this form be utilized and that the identity and address of the financial institution connected to the bank note be properly recorded. For bank notes received at the Central Cash Operations Centre where the source cannot be established, these bank notes should be forwarded to the police agency in that jurisdiction.

Directions for Law Enforcement Agencies

  • Police agencies are requested to submit suspected counterfeit bank notes received from financial institutions or retail businesses together with a completed form, to the National Anti-Counterfeiting Bureau in Ottawa as soon as possible.
  • The National Anti-Counterfeiting Bureau will only accept bank notes from police agencies and a police occurrence or case report number must be included.
  • Police agencies may use discretion as to the manner in which bank notes are to be received from financial institutions or retail businesses. Many larger police agencies have made arrangements with financial institutions or retail businesses whereby the completed forms and bank notes are dropped off at the police agencies for onwards transmission to the National Anti-Counterfeiting Bureau.

Directions for Retail Businesses

  • This form must be completed by the retail business with all available pertinent information recorded.
  • The bank note should be attached to this form and turned over to the local police as soon as possible. The method used to forward the bank note to the police will be determined by the police in your jurisdiction.
  • In cases where multiple bank notes are received, a single form can be completed provided that the source of the bank note and the time frame during which it was passed are similar.
  • It is very important to record the date on which the suspected counterfeit bank note was first detected.

Forged Payment Cards

It is requested that this form also be used when suspected forged payment cards are turned in or seized by financial institutions or retail businesses. In such cases, a completed form and the payment card should be sent to the card company for recording and disposition. If the user of the card is present, call local police immediately.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Formulaire 3774

Présumés billets de banque et cartes de paiement contrefaits

But

L'utilisation de ce formulaire facilitera la disposition des billets bancaires contrefaits suspects de façon effective et efficace.

La GRC a développé ce formulaire comme essaie afin de standardiser la méthode dans laquelle les passages de billets bancaires contrefaits sont documentés et expédiés à le Bureau d'expertise des contrefaçons et des documents pour fins d'inspection et classification. L'utilisation de ce formulaire facilitera la disposition des billets bancaires contrefaits suspects de façon effective et efficace.

Instructions pour les institutions financiers

  • Ce formulaire doit être complété par l'institution financier autant que possible avec tout renseignement pertinent noté.
  • Si la source du billet bancaire est connue, l'information fournie devait être le plus détaillée que possible.
  • Le billet bancaire devait accompagner ce formulaire et remis à la police locale le plus tôt que possible. La méthode utilisée afin d'envoyer le billet bancaire à la police sera déterminée par la police dans votre juridiction.
  • Dans les cas où plusieurs billets bancaires sont reçus, un seul formulaire suffira à condition que la source du billet bancaire ainsi que la période de temps dans laquelle celui-ci fut passé sont semblables.
  • Il est très important de noter la date sur laquelle le billet bancaire contrefait suspect a été initialement détecté.

Des billets bancaires contrefaits suspects identifiés au Centre central des opérations monétaires de l'institution financier devaient être renvoyés soit à l'organisme policier qui a juridiction, soit à l'institution financier émetteur pour fins de disposition convenable à cet organisme policier. Dans tels cas, il est impératif que ce formulaire soit utilisé et que l'identité et l'adresse de l'institution financier lié au billet bancaire soient correctement notées. Pour ce qu'il y a des billets bancaires reçus au Centre central des opérations monétaires où la source ne peut être établie, ces billets bancaires devaient être expédiés à l'organisme policier dans cette juridiction.

Instructions pour les organismes de la mise en vigueur des lois

  • Les organismes policiers sont priés de soumettre des billets bancaires contrefaits suspects qui ont été reçus des institutions financiers, ensemble avec un formulaire complété, à le Bureau national de lutte contre la contrefaçon à Ottawa le plus tôt possible.
  • Le Bureau national de lutte contre la contrefaçon n'acceptera que des billets bancaires provenant des organismes policiers; un numéro de rapport policier d'incidents ou de cas doit être compris.
  • La façon dans laquelle les billets bancaires devont être reçus des institutions financières sera laissée à la discretion des organismes policiers. Plusieurs grandes organismes policiers ont fait des arrangements avec les institutions financières par lequel les formulaires complétés et les billets bancaires sont expédiés par la poste aux organimes policiers pour fins de transmission avancée à le Bureau national de lutte contre la contrefaçon.

Instructions pour les commerces de détail

  • Ce formulaire doit être complété par le commerce de détail autant que possible avec tout renseignement pertinent noté.
  • Le billet bancaire devait accompagner ce formulaire et remis à la police locale le plus tôt que possible. La méthode utilisée afin d'envoyer le billet bancaire à la police sera déterminée par la police dans votre juridiction.
  • Dans les cas où plusieurs billets bancaires sont reçus, un seul formulaire suffira à condition que la source du billet bancaire ainsi que la période de temps dans laquelle celui-ci fut passé sont semblables.
  • Il est très important de noter la date sur laquelle le billet bancaire contrefait suspect a été initialement détecté.

Cartes de paiement contrefaits

Il est demandé que ce formulaire soit aussi utilisé lorsque des cartes de paiement contrefaits suspects sont restituées ou saisies par des institutions financières. Dans tels cas, un formulaire complété et la carte de paiement doivent être envoyés à la compagnie de cartes pour fins d'en prendre note et d'en faire la disposition. Si l'utilisateur de la carte est présent, communiquez avec la police locale immédiatement.