Clandestine Synthetic Drug Laboratories

When you think of "clandestine laboratories" (clan labs) you picture technicians wearing protective glasses, gloves and masks, secure, ventilated and clean premises, pipettes, burners and smoking beakers sitting on marble benchtops? You believe that each ingredient is scrupulously selected from a shelf where each component is clearly identified and commercially labeled? If that's what you think, you will be doubly shocked by what follows!

The expression "clan lab" refers to any location where drugs are grown, produced or prepared. Under the Criminal Code, these labs operate in total illegality, whether in Quebec or in Canada.

Not in my backyard?

First shocking truth: clandestine synthetic drug production labs, i.e. 100% chemical based, can be found anywhere: motel rooms, rental trucks, abandoned warehouses, apartments, garden sheds, garages, barns, etc., in any neighbourhoods both in urban and rural areas. Smaller mobile labs can even be concealed in car trunks or truck boxes! The reason for this is simple: some types of production require very little equipment and external electrical supply (artificial light, heat, venting or moisture), compared to marihuana grow operations for example.

Clan labs are generally well concealed. For smaller ones, a kitchen will do – with the stove serving as a source of heat. Hot plates can also be used in a garage. The location is chosen with no consideration given to the fact that toxic, volatile and explosive substances will be handled and processed by individuals who often have no knowledge of chemistry.

Situation in Quebec

(Above photos) Typical insalubrity found in many clandestine laboratories/Clan lab hidden in a rich-looking house garage.

Another shocking truth: the province of Quebec is known as a major synthetic drug producer in Canada. Methamphetamine (street named meth or speed) and MDMA (also called ecstasy) are the two most widely known illicit substances.

The drugs produced in Quebec supply both local and international markets. Clan labs are therefore bigger and very productive. They require extensive equipment and systems for the various stages of production. Some drugs are so easy to make that criminals recruit "cooks" without any scientific training. These cooks simply follow a recipe using ingredients identified only with letters. A blindly dangerous behaviour!

While many types of individuals are associated to clan labs, their modus operandi and motives are the same. Clan labs are generally operated by organized crime – the powerful market ruler – reaping most of the profits. Why? To make money, a lot of money, fast, without a thought for the health and safety of drug users. The presence of clan labs leads to increased criminal activity in the area where they are set up. Synthetic drug trafficking is also used by organized crime to fund many other criminal activities at the expense of society.

Facing the risks

Clan lab operating in a basement house.

Clan labs are real time bombs, always synonym of poisoned air, contaminated walls, and toxic environments. Those living around clan labs – sometimes including children unfortunately – will suffer short, medium and long term consequences on their health.

They put their own lives at risk as well as the lives of other residents and neighbours since accidents (fire, explosion, burns, electrocution) are common place. Often, first responders (police officers, firefighters, paramedics) are the first victims of the risks incurred by the community.

Unfortunately, detecting clandestine synthetic drug labs can be difficult. The signs may not be significant. Guard dogs, surveillance cameras, curtains always drawn are not necessarily evidence but could be signs of the presence of a clan lab.

Fire broke out in a kitchen used as a clan lab.
Extreme safety measures taken by dismantling teams to face very high toxicity and danger of explosion or fire on the location

A few facts to keep in mind

  • No clandestine laboratory is without risk.
  • Clandestine tablet production labs pose a risk of explosion, fire, skin and air contamination caused by the toxicity of the substances stored and chemical reactions sparked by approximate and hazardous recipes.
  • The presence of a clan lab in your environment is certainly not desirable.
  • The public plays a key role in ensuring community safety by abiding by the law, cooperating with the police and reporting information on any illicit activity.

The public plays a key role in ensuring community safety by abiding by the law, cooperating with the police and reporting information on any illicit activity.

Date modified:

Laboratories clandestins de drogues synthétiques

L'expression « laboratoire clandestin » évoque pour vous des techniciens à lunettes de protection gantés et masqués, des espaces protégés, aseptisés et ventilés, des pipettes, brûleurs et béchers fumants sur des paillasses marbrées reluisantes? Vous croyez que chaque ingrédient est scrupuleusement sélectionné sur une tablette où chaque composante est clairement identifiée et étiquetée commercialement? Si c'est le cas, vous serez doublement choqué par ce qui suit!

L'expression « laboratoire clandestin » désigne n'importe quel endroit où l'on cultive, fabrique ou prépare des drogues. En vertu du Code criminel, ces laboratoires fonctionnent dans la plus totale illégalité, tant au Québec qu'au Canada.

Pas dans ma cour?

Première vérité-choc : les laboratoires clandestins qui abritent la production de drogues synthétiques, c'est-à-dire 100 % chimiques, se retrouvent partout. Songez à des chambres de motel, des camions loués, des entrepôts désaffectés, des appartements, des cabanes de jardin, des hangars, des granges, etc., et ce, dans tous les quartiers, en ville comme à la campagne. Les plus petits laboratoires mobiles se dissimulent même dans des coffres de voiture ou des bennes de camion! La raison est simple : certains types de production nécessitent très peu d'appareils et d'apport externe en électricité (lumière artificielle, chaleur, ventilation ou humidité), comparativement à une plantation de cannabis, par exemple.

Les laboratoires clandestins sont généralement bien dissimulés. Pour les plus petits, une cuisine fera l'affaire - pour la source de chaleur de la cuisinière - mais des réchauds peuvent tout autant être utilisés dans un garage. Les emplacements sont choisis sans tenir compte des dangers que représentent la manipulation et la transformation de substances toxiques, volatiles et explosives, par des gens qui n'ont souvent aucune notion de chimie.

Situation au Québec

(Photos ci-haut) Insalubrité typique dans plusieurs laboratoires clandestins/Laboratoire clandestin dissimulé dans un garage de maison cossue

Autre vérité-choc : le Québec est connu comme étant un important producteur de drogues de synthèse au Canada. La méthamphétamine (surnommée meth ou speed dans la rue) et la MDMA (aussi appelée ecstasy) sont les deux substances illicites les plus connues.

La production québécoise s'adresse tant au marché local qu'international. Les laboratoires sont donc plus volumineux et très productifs. Ils nécessitent quantité d'appareils et de systèmes pour les différentes étapes de la fabrication. Certaines drogues sont si simples à produire que les criminels recrutent des « chefs » (cook, en anglais) sans aucune formation scientifique. Ces derniers ne font que suivre la recette en utilisant des ingrédients identifiés par de simples lettres. Un comportement aveuglément dangereux!

Bien que plusieurs types d'individus soient associés à ces laboratoires, leur mode d'opération est semblable et leurs motifs sont comparables. Ils sont généralement exploités par le crime organisé, grand dominateur du marché, qui en retire la majorité des bénéfices. Le but? Faire de l'argent, beaucoup d'argent, et rapidement, sans égard pour la santé et la sécurité des consommateurs. La présence de laboratoires clandestins entraîne aussi une augmentation de l'activité criminelle dans les secteurs où ils s'installent. Le trafic des drogues de synthèse permet au crime organisé de financer de multiples autres activités criminelles aux dépens de la société.

Le danger vu d'en face

Laboratoire clandestin opérant dans un sous-sol de résidence.

Les laboratoires clandestins sont de véritables bombes à retardement, toujours synonymes d'air empoisonné, de parois contaminées, de sources de toxicité variées. Ceux qui y vivent, incluant malheureusement parfois des enfants, devront subir les conséquences pour leur santé à court, moyen et long termes.

Ils mettent ainsi en péril leur propre vie, celle des autres occupants des lieux et leurs voisins, puisque les accidents (incendies, explosions, brûlures, électrocutions) sont monnaie courante. Bien souvent, les premiers intervenants (policiers, pompiers, ambulanciers) sont les premières victimes des dangers encourus par la communauté.

Malheureusement, détecter les laboratoires de drogues de synthèse peut être ardu. Il faut être à l'affût de certains signes souvent discrets. Les chiens de garde, les caméras de surveillance et les fenêtres aux draperies toujours fermées ne sont évidemment pas toujours des preuves, mais peuvent être des indices de la présence d'un laboratoire clandestin.

Incendie dans une cuisine servant de labo clandestin.
La très haute toxicité et les dangers d'explosion et d'incendie obligent les équipes de démantèlement à prendre des mesures exceptionnelles.

Quelques faits à retenir

  • Aucun laboratoire clandestin n'est sans risque.
  • Les laboratoires clandestins de fabrication de comprimés représentent des dangers d'explosion, d'incendie, de contamination par la peau et par l'air, causés par la toxicité des produits entreposés, et des réactions chimiques provoquées par des recettes approximatives et hasardeuses.
  • La présence de l'un ou de l'autre dans votre environnement n'est assurément pas souhaitable.
  • Le public joue un rôle primordial dans la sécurité des collectivités en respectant les lois, en collaborant avec la police et en lui communiquant tout renseignement sur une activité illicite.

Si vous avez apprécié cette chronique, peut-être serez-vous intéressé à poursuivre votre recherche par d'autres informations et sujets investigués sous :

Date de modification :