Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

DOCAS Programs

Many successful initiatives have been developed with the guidance of police officers in all regions of Canada, and the diversity of ideas has contributed significantly to the Service's success. At present, the following programs components are available to assist communities.

For more information about these programs, please contact us at docas@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.

Program Description Recent Activities
Aboriginal Shield Program The Aboriginal Shield Program (ASP) was re-launched in 2009/2010. The redesigned pilot program was created to better enable Aboriginal youth to make informed healthy lifestyle choices regarding alcohol, drugs and positive alternatives. The Program has been updated to reflect a greater diversity of Aboriginal cultures, and to incorporate the latest facts about Canadian drug issues, including emerging social challenges like Aboriginal gangs.
The Aboriginal Shield Program consists of two multi-lesson instruction booklets intended for youths in grades 5/6 and grades 7/8.
More Information
25 representatives representing ten Aboriginal communities across Canada were trained in November 2009 and taught the program upon their arrival to their respective communities.
DOCAS HQ has not only created a parents information letter that provides a brief description about what the ASP is about, but also two additional information letters that provide an overview of the lesson plans their child will be participating in. These documents are available to the public in both official languages as well as Ojibway, Swampy Cree and Inuktitut.
D.A.R.E. The D.A.R.E. (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) program is designed to equip school children with the skills to recognize and resist social pressures to experiment with tobacco, alcohol, and other drugs. The program uses uniformed officers to teach a formal curriculum to students in a classroom setting.
In 2010/11, a total of 3,087 D.A.R.E classes were conducted (each D.A.R.E class consist of 10 Lessons), 251 presentations to children in Kindergarten to grade 4 as well as presentations to 156 parents. The program reached 49,510 students in 1,071 schools and of those, 4,319 of the students were Aboriginal.
Drugs and Sport The Drugs and Sport program offers positive alternatives to drug use in young athletes. In 2009/10, the prevention concept was delivered to 2,569 amateur and professional athletes. A total of 2,424 Drugs and Sport publications were disseminated.
Drug Awareness Officers Training This training provides RCMP officers with knowledge and skills regarding addiction, prevention, drug symptomology, emerging drug issues, drug awareness service initiatives, community mobilization, facilitation skills, media messaging, age appropriate education, and drug awareness resources. One five-day Drug Awareness Officer Training (DAOT) course scheduled to be held in the fall of 2009 has been rescheduled for June 2010.
Drug Endangered Children Drug Endangered Children (DEC) DEC is an early intervention initiative that seeks to stop the cycle of child abuse caused by the exposure to drug activity. The program involves a resource guide which has been translated into French, and training programs for service delivery personnel, supervisors/managers, protocol partners and the general public. The resource manual has been completely revised with Canadian content. A facilitator guide is being created with pilot sites to be delivered in the fall of 2010.
Drugs in the Workplace Promoting a safe and drug free workplace is the goal of this program. It has eight modules that deal with various aspects of drug use in the workplace from identifying signs or symptoms to help for employees with substance abuse problems. In 2009/10, a total of 113 prevention presentations were delivered to industries and businesses across Canada.
Kids and Drugs The Kids & Drugs A Parents Guide to Prevention program is a bilingual series of facilitated community workshops, designed for Canadian parents who are concerned about preventing their children from using drugs.
The program is designed to be community led and police assisted in order to enhance its implementation and sustainability.
More Information
There were 246 new facilitators trained from communities throughout Canada that can deliver the Kids and Drugs Program to parents. Internationally, the Canadian embassy from Caracas Venezuela requested a DOCAS expert to travel to Venezuela to participate in a week long prevention initiative which included presentations, discussions, panels, and a facilitated workshop on our Kids & Drugs program. The Canadian Embassy in Venezuela has translated our K & D parent's guide to prevention booklet in Spanish to share with their experts in prevention in Venezuela.
Synthetic Drug Initiative Project E-Aware, was rolled out in the fall of 2009; 20,000 posters entitled The Agony of Ecstasy have been distributed nationally. Project E-Aware is based on a true story of a young woman who died after consuming MDMA (Ecstasy). A poster and a web site outlining her story and information about chemical drugs have been developed to engage parents and youth and educate them of the dangers involved with synthetic drugs, more specifically Ecstasy.
More Information
These posters were designed to direct people to a newly created website containing information and resources for parents and youth. The promotion of this initiative linked many partners such as Health Canada, CASH (Canadian Association for School Health), Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP) and Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse (CCSA).
During the first month of the promotional campaign, the E-Aware website was visited 2,444 times and 12,572 pages were viewed.
Synthetic Drug Initiative Clan Lab DVD An educational DVD was created in 2009 to raise awareness about the presence of clandestine drug laboratories in ordinary Canadian neighbourhoods, and the dangers resulting from these labs. The Clandestine Drug Labs DVD presentation contains a 14 minute (English) and a 22 minute (French) video intended for a high school or adult audience. DOCAS developed a presentation guide to be used when presenting the DVD in order to maximize the learning and retention of information from audiences.
The DVD can be viewed on You Tube at
(Part 1 of 2)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6O1_I7mnKzI
(Part 2 of 2)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-BHXJD2e0k

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

SSDCO Programmes

Nombre d’initiatives réussies ont été élaborées de concert avec des policiers de toutes les régions du Canada. C’est d’ailleurs en grande partie à la diversité de leurs idées que le Service de sensibilisation aux drogues et au crime organisé (SSDCO) doit ses succès. Présentement, les programmes suivants sont offerts aux collectivités pour appuyer leurs efforts.

Pour plus d’information au sujet de ces programmes, veuillez communiquer avec nous à l’adresse docas@rcmp-grc.gc.ca.

Programme Description Activités récentes
Programme Bouclier autochtone Le Programme Bouclier autochtone (PBA) a été relancé en 2009-2010. Il s’agit d’un programme pilote remanié qui vise à mieux aider la jeunesse autochtone à choisir des styles de vie sains, à prendre des décisions éclairées en ce qui concerne la consommation d’alcool et les drogues, ainsi qu’à privilégier des solutions de rechange positives. Il a été actualisé pour qu’il tienne compte de la grande diversité des cultures autochtones et des derniers faits relatifs aux problèmes des drogues au Canada, y compris les nouveaux défis sociaux tels que les gangs autochtones.
Le PBA consiste en deux manuels de leçons, l’un destiné aux jeunes de cinquième et de sixième années, et l’autre, aux jeunes de septième et de huitième.
Plus dinformation
En novembre 2009, 25 représentants de 10 collectivités autochtones de partout au Canada ont reçu une formation sur le PBA qu’ils ont, à leur tour, enseigné à leurs concitoyens respectifs.
Le SSDCO de la DG a non seulement créé une lettre d’information à l’intention des parents décrivant brièvement le principe du PBA, mais il a aussi ajouté deux autres lettres qui donnent un aperçu des plans de leçons auxquelles leurs enfants participeront. Ces documents sont fournis au public dans les deux langues officielles ainsi qu’en ojibwa, en maskegon et en inuktitut.
DARE Le programme DARE (sensibilisation aux dangers de la drogue) vise à équiper les écoliers des compétences dont ils ont besoin pour reconnaître les pressions sociales qui pourraient les inciter à essayer le tabac, l’alcool ou d’autres drogues, et y résister. Des policiers en uniforme donnent des cours aux élèves en salle de classe. En 2010-2011, 3 087 cours du DARE ont été donnés (chaque cours contient 10 leçons), 251 présentations à des élèves de la maternelle à la quatrième année et aussi des exposés ont été présentés à 156 parents. Le programme a visé 49510 élèves, dont 4319 Autochtones, de 1071 écoles.
La drogue et le sport Le programme La drogue et le sport offre des solutions de rechange positives à la consommation de drogues chez les jeunes athlètes. En 2009-2010, 2 569 athlètes amateurs et professionnels ont reçu une formation sur le concept de prévention. Au total, 2 424 publications sur la drogue et le sport ont été diffusées.
Formation des agents de sensibilisation aux drogues Cette formation donne aux policiers de la GRC les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires concernant la toxicomanie, la prévention, les symptômes de la toxicomanie, les nouveaux enjeux en matière de drogues, les initiatives du Service de sensibilisation aux drogues, la mobilisation communautaire, les techniques de facilitation, la communication de messages aux médias, la sensibilisation en fonction de l’âge et les ressources en matière de sensibilisation aux drogues. Une formation d’une durée de cinq jours prévue pour l’automne 2009 a été reportée à juin 2010.
Enfants menacés par la drogue L’Initiative des enfants menacés par la drogue (EMD) est une intervention qui vise à rompre dès ses débuts le cycle des mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants exposés à des activités liées aux drogues. Le programme s’accompagne d’un guide de ressources et de programmes de formation destinés au personnel affecté à la prestation de services, aux superviseurs ou gestionnaires, aux partenaires du protocole et au grand public. Le guide a été entièrement révisé en fonction d’éléments canadiens. Un guide de l’animateur est en cours d’élaboration et des sites pilotes sont en voie d’être désignés pour l’automne 2010.
Drogues en milieu de travail Ce programme vise à promouvoir un milieu de travail sain sans drogues. Il comprend huit modules traitant de divers aspects de la consommation des drogues en milieu de travail : de la reconnaissance des signes ou symptômes jusqu’à l’aide aux employés souffrant de problèmes d’abus de substances. En 2009-2010, 113 exposés de prévention ont été présentés dans des secteurs d’activité et entreprises un peu partout au Canada.
Les enfants et la drogue Le programme Les enfants et la drogue - Guide de prévention à l’intention des parents est une série d’ateliers communautaires bilingues animés qui viennent en aide aux parents canadiens soucieux de prévenir la consommation de drogues chez leurs enfants.
Ce programme est censé être axé sur la collectivité et bénéficier de l’appui de la police afin que sa mise en œuvre et sa viabilité soient renforcées. Plus dinformation
On a procédé à la formation de 246 nouveaux animateurs venant de collectivités d’un bout à l’autre du Canada, capables de présenter le programme Les enfants et la drogue aux parents. À l’étranger, l’ambassade du Canada à Caracas (Venezuela) a demandé à un expert du SSDCO de se rendre au Venezuela pour participer à une initiative de prévention d’une semaine incluant des exposés, des discussions, des formations et un atelier animé sur notre programme Les enfants et la drogue. L’ambassade s’est occupée de traduire en espagnol le guide de prévention à l’intention des parents afin d’en faire profiter les experts de la prévention vénézuéliens.
Initiative visant les drogues synthétiques Le Projet E-Aware a été lancé à l’automne 2009; 20 000 affiches intitulées « l’agonie de l’ecstasy » ont été diffusées à l’échelle du pays. Ce projet s’inspire de l’histoire vraie d’une jeune femme morte après avoir consommé du MDMA (ecstasy). Une affiche et un site Web relatant son histoire et donnant de l’information sur les drogues chimiques ont été créés afin d’éveiller l’intérêt des parents et des jeunes, et de les sensibiliser aux dangers des drogues synthétiques et plus particulièrement de l’ecstasy.
Plus dinformation
Ces affiches dirigent le public vers un nouveau site Web contenant de l’information et des ressources pour les parents et les jeunes. La promotion de cette initiative a réuni de nombreux partenaires : Santé Canada, l’Association canadienne pour la santé en milieu scolaire, l’Association canadienne des chefs de police et le Centre canadien de lutte contre l’alcoolisme et les toxicomanies.
Durant le premier mois de la campagne de sensibilisation, le site Web du Projet a reçu 2 444 visites et 12 572 pages ont été vues.
Initiative visant les drogues synthétiques - DVD de labos clandestins En 2009, un DVD éducatif a été produit pour sensibiliser la population à l’existence de laboratoires de drogues clandestins dans des quartiers canadiens ordinaires, ainsi qu’aux dangers de ces labos. Le DVD contient une vidéo de 22 minutes (en français) et une autre de 14 minutes (en anglais), toutes les deux destinées aux élèves du secondaire comme aux adultes. DLe SSDCO a élaboré un guide à utiliser lors de la présentation du DVD afin de maximiser l’apprentissage et la rétention de l’information par le public.
Les vidéos peuvent être vues sur You Tube :
(Partie 1 de 2)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6O1_I7mnKzI
(Partie 2 de 2)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-BHXJD2e0k