Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Methodology: Interactive Learning

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police Academy and the National Law Enforcement Training Unit have modified all courses to incorporate the most advanced teaching techniques. No longer are course candidates expected to sit and absorb knowledge by listening to the traditional lecture mode of instruction. Instead, the candidates are asked to actively participate in the learning process.

Today's methods focus on adult learning. The instructor/facilitator facilitates the learning process, and while lectures as a means of training have not disappeared, they have been complemented by such methods as Problem-based Learning, Individualized Instructional Modules and research assignments.

Problem-based Learning, which includes scenarios, is one of our most popular and successful instructional methods. It allows the candidates to practice what they have learned under the guidance of their course facilitator and other resource personnel, who then provide the feedback creating a dynamic learning environment.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Mthodologie : Formation interactive

L’École de la GRC et le Groupe de la formation policière nationale ont modifié tous les cours pour y incorporer des techniques de pointe. Les candidats ne se contenteront plus d’absorber des connaissances en écoutant passivement des cours magistraux. En revanche, ils devront participer activement à la démarche d’apprentissage.

Les méthodes actuelles sont basées sur l’apprentissage de l’adulte. L’instructeur, ou facilitateur, appuie la démarche d’apprentissage, et bien que les cours magistraux continuent de faire partie des méthodes de formation, on leur a ajouté des méthodes telles que l’apprentissage basé sur la résolution de problèmes, les modules d’enseignement personnalisé et les travaux de recherche.

L’apprentissage basé sur la résolution de problèmes, qui comprend les scénarios, est l’une de nos méthodes d’enseignement les plus populaires et les plus efficaces. Il permet aux candidats de mettre en pratique ce qu’ils ont appris tout en étant guidés par le facilitateur du cours et par d’autres personnes-ressources qui leur fournissent ensuite une rétroaction. Cette façon de procéder génère un milieu d’apprentissage dynamique.