Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Family Violence

Family violence occurs when there is abuse, maltreatment or neglect between family members. Anyone can be a victim of family violence, no matter what their age, sex, and background (Department of Justice).

There are several categories of family violence:

  • Intimate partner violence: Intimate partner violence is when there is violence or abuse that occurs between two people who are in a relationship, who are married, used to be married or who are in a common law partnership (Royal Canadian Mounted Police). Intimate partner violence usually follows a continuous cycle and rarely improves without someone on the outside intervening. This cycle is known as the Cycle of Violence.
  • Child maltreatment: Child maltreatment is any type of abuse or neglect by someone in a position of authority or trust, toward someone under the age of 18. The effects of abuse vary from child to child, some may not show any effects; while others will have profound effects.
  • Elder abuse and neglect: Elder abuse is any action that causes harm or distress to an older person by someone who is in a position of authority or trust. Neglect is any lack of action by someone in a position of authority of trust (Seniors).

Types of Abuse:

There are several types of abuse that can occur at any age:

Type of Violence Definition Examples
Neglect When an individual is not provided with the basic needs for his or her physical, psychological, or emotional development, or well-being and survival. Neglect of physical needs: food, medical care, clothing and shelter. The neglect of emotional needs: love, safety and a sense of worth. (Department of Justice)
Emotional Abuse Emotional abuse is the constant tearing down of another human being. It is often based on power and control over another person. Put-downs, intimidation, bullying, controlling what a person wears or who they see. It can also constitute threats, isolation, ignoring, rejection, degradation, etc.
Physical Abuse Physical abuse is the most visible form of abuse. It is any non-accidental act that results in trauma or physical injury. Kicking, hitting, pushing, shaking, burning, etc.
Sexual Abuse Sexual abuse is when one person forces another to engage in a sexual act. Inappropriate or unwanted sexual touching, forcing someone to engage in sexual intercourse, forcing someone to watch sexual acts, movies or read pornographic material. (Kids Help Phone)
Harassment/ Criminal Harassment Harassment is when someone does something repeatedly over time that causes the victim to fear for their safety. No physical injury needs to occur for something to be considered harassment. Harassment can be sexual and/or non-sexual. Stalking, making unwanted sexual comments or sexual suggestions, persistent phone calls, sending many unwanted text messages or text messages with unwanted content, etc. (Kids Help Phone)
Financial Abuse Financial abuse occurs when someone uses another person's money in an illegal or an unauthorized way. Someone cashing another person's pension cheque and keeping all or some of the money, forcing someone to change their legal documents, improper use of guardianship or power of attorney, etc. (Seniors)
Honour-based violence When someone is abused by her family or community because their clothing, behaviour or choices is perceived has unacceptable and damaging to their family's "honour." A girl and her family move to Canada, where the girl dresses in non-traditional clothing. The father sees this as damaging to their honour and punishes her physically. (ICWA)
Forced Marriages When someone is forced to marry someone they don't want to. Other forms of abuse may be used to make them obey. Two families forcing their children to marry each other, even though they don`t love each other. (Forced Marriages)

Warning Signs

A youth may be experiencing or witnessing family violence if they:

  • Withdraw from their usual activities;
  • Show anger or aggression;
  • Demonstrate low self-esteem;
  • Seem powerless and incapable of making decisions independently, sometimes around certain people;
  • Make excuses for someone else;
  • Have unexplained physical injuries;
  • Have major behavioural changes;
  • Have learning problems or changes in school performance (in cases of child abuse);
  • Have unusual knowledge or inappropriate sexual behaviour; or
  • Lack sufficient clothing or have poor hygiene (more often with children). (Source: End Violence Against Women and Girls)

Impacts

Legal Impacts

There is no specific Criminal Code offence called "family violence;" however, the different types of violence are in the Criminal Code. For example, assault, sexual assault, failure to provide the basic necessities of life, uttering threats, making indecent and harassing phone calls and intimidation are all offences under the Criminal Code of Canada (Department of Justice). However, it is important to note that not all types of abuse are crimes in Canada.

Health Impacts

The effects experienced by those who have been abused vary depending on each situation. Those who have experienced family violence may have trouble listening to authority, suffer from mental health issues, not get along with their peers or experience delays in their development (bed-wetting). They may also experience many physical impacts such as headaches, stomach aches, eating disorders, etc. Even people who do not directly experience family violence can feel the effects of it. By witnessing or hearing violence, or seeing the results of violence in their family, children and youth can also suffer from a number of psychological and emotional effects (RCMP).

What You Can Do

Youth

If you are experiencing any type of family violence…

  • Call 9-1-1 if you are in immediate danger;
  • Know that it is not your fault and that you deserve to feel safe;
  • If possible, leave, and stay with a friend or family member you trust until the issue has been dealt with;
  • Remember that there are people who will support you;
  • Talk to someone you trust, whether that's a teacher, a friend or another family member. Or contact the Kids Help Phone at 1-800-668-6868 (they have counsellors available to talk 24/7).

Adult

If you suspect someone is experiencing any type of family violence…

  • Call 9-1-1 if they are in immediate danger;
  • Report known or suspected child abuse or neglect to the local police or child protection agency, as required by law;
  • Support, believe and trust them;
  • Reassure them that what they have been through is not their fault;
  • If there's no immediate danger, encourage them to contact the police;
  • Ensure that they have a place to stay;
  • Be patient and listen openly and carefully. (Royal Canadian Mounted Police)

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

La violence familiale

La violence familiale est lorsqu'il y a de la maltraitance, de mauvais traitement ou de négligence entre les membres d'une famille. N'importe qui pourrait être victime de la violence familiale, peu importe son âge, son sexe ou son contexte (ministère de la Justice).

La violence familiale comporte plusieurs catégories :

  • La violence au foyer : Il s'agit d'actes de violence survenant entre deux personnes en relation, soit entre époux, ex-époux ou conjoints de fait (deux personnes qui vivent ensemble et partagent leur vie, mais sans être mariés). Tant les hommes que les femmes peuvent être victimes de violence au foyer (Gendarmerie royale du Canada). La violence au foyer constitue un cycle continu qui ne peut être brisé sans aide extérieure. Ce cycle est connu comme le Cycle de la violence.
  • La violence faite aux enfants : Toute forme de mauvais traitements infligés par quelqu'un dans une position de confiance ou d'autorité, envers une personne de moins de 18 ans. La violence faite aux enfants varie d'enfant en enfant, certains ne démontrent pas les effets, tandis qu'autres auront des effets très profonds.
  • La violence faite aux aînés : Tout acte qui cause du tort ou de la souffrance à un aîné de la part d'une personne en position d'autorité ou de confiance. La négligence est tout manque d'action de la part d'une personne en position d'autorité ou de confiance (Aînés).

Types de mauvais traitements :

Les mauvais traitements peuvent être exercés contre des personnes de tous âges.

Type de violence Définition Exemples
Négligence Lorsqu'une personne est privée des soins de base nécessaires à son bien-être physique, psychologique, affectif ainsi qu'à sa survie et à sa croissance. Négligence des besoins physiques : alimentation, soins médicaux, vêtements, abri; et négligence des besoins affectifs : amour, sécurité et dignité. (ministère de la Justice)
Violence psychologique Le fait de systématiquement mettre en pièces une personne. La violence psychologique repose souvent sur un abus de pouvoir et de contrôle sur une autre personne. Humiliation, intimidation, contrôle de ce qu'une personne peut porter ou qui elle peut fréquenter. Il peut aussi s'agir de menaces, d'isolement, d'indifférence, de rejet, etc.
Violence physique La forme la plus visible de mauvais traitements. Tout acte non accidentel qui entraîne un traumatisme ou une blessure physique. Coups de pied, coups de poing, bousculades, brûlures, etc.
Violence sexuelle Tout acte sexuel exercé envers une personne non consentante. Attouchements non désirés ou inappropriés, agression sexuelle, contraindre une personne à des rapports sexuels, à être témoin d'actes sexuels, à regarder un film ou à lire une histoire pornographique. (Jeunesse, J'écoute)
Harcèlement/harcèlement criminel Conduite répétée à l'endroit d'une personne qui amène celle-ci à craindre pour sa sécurité. Il n'y a pas nécessairement de préjudices physiques. Le harcèlement peut être de nature sexuelle ou non. Traque furtive, commentaires sexuels non souhaités, appels téléphoniques persistants, suggestions sexuelles non désirées, etc. (Jeunesse, J'écoute)
Exploitation financière Le fait pour une personne d'utiliser l'argent d'une autre de façon illégale ou non autorisée. Le fait d'encaisser le chèque de pension d'une autre personne et d'en garder une partie ou la totalité des fonds, forcer quelqu'un à modifier ses documents juridiques, ou l'abus du pouvoir de tutelle ou de procuration, etc. (Aînés)
Violence d`honneur Lorsqu'une personne est victime de violence dans sa famille ou sa collectivité parce que ses vêtements, son comportement ou ses choix sont perçus comme étant inacceptables et entachant « l'honneur » de la famille. Une jeune fille et sa famille déménagent au Canada, où la fille décide de porter des vêtements non-traditionnels. Le père voit cela comme dommageable pour leur honneur et lui punit physiquement. (ICWA – en anglais seulement)
Mariages forcés Lorsqu'une personne est forcée d'épouser une personne contre son gré. D'autres formes de violence peuvent être utilisées pour la faire obéir. Deux familles forcent leurs enfants à marier les uns les autres, sans leur consentement. (Forced Marriages – en anglais seulement)

Signes avant-coureurs

Signes qu'une personne aurait été victime de violence familiale :

  • manifeste un repli face aux activités habituelles;
  • éprouve des sentiments de colère ou d'agressivité;
  • a une faible estime de soi;
  • apparaît démunie et incapable de prendre des décisions par elle-même, parfois avec certaines personnes de son entourage;
  • s'excuse constamment pour le comportement de l'autre ou prend sa défense;
  • présente des blessures physiques inexpliquées;
  • manifeste des changements de comportement importants;
  • a des connaissances inusitées ou manifeste un comportement sexuel inapproprié;
  • manque de vêtements suffisants ou a une pauvre hygiène (plus fréquent chez les enfants).
    (Fin à la violence faite aux femmes et aux filles)

Répercussions

Conséquences juridiques

Le Code criminel ne comporte aucune infraction désignée « violence familiale »; cela dit, on y trouve différents genres de violence : voies de fait, agression sexuelle, le défaut de fournir les choses nécessaires à l'existence, proférer des menaces, le fait de tenir des propos indécents au téléphone ou de faire des appels téléphoniques harassants et l'intimidation, qui constituent tous des infractions aux termes du Code criminel (ministère de la Justice). Toutefois, il est important de mentionner que ce ne sont pas tous genres d'abus qui sont considérés des crimes au Canada.

Répercussions sur la santé

Les victimes de violence familiale manifestent souvent des problèmes de comportement, des rapports négatifs avec leurs pairs, un retard de développement (incontinence d'urine) et de nombreux maux physiques comme les maux de tête, les maux d'estomac, les troubles de l'alimentation, etc. Même les gens qui ne sont pas l'objet direct de la violence peuvent en être victimes. Par le simple fait d'être témoin de violence au sein de la famille, les enfants et les adolescents peuvent souffrir des mêmes effets que les victimes directes de la violence (GRC).

Mesures à prendre

En tant que jeune

Si tu es victime de quelque forme que ce soit de violence familiale…

  • appelle la police si tu cours un danger immédiat;
  • sache que tu n'es pas à blâmer et que tu as le droit de te sentir en sécurité;
  • si c'est possible, quitte les lieux et reste chez un ami ou un membre de ta famille en qui tu as confiance jusqu'à ce que le problème soit réglé;
  • souviens-toi qu'il y a des gens autour de toi qui te soutiendront;
  • parle à quelqu'un en qui tu as confiance; soi un enseignant, un ami ou un autre membre de la famille. Ou, si tu n'oses pas parler à quelqu'un que tu connais, communique avec Jeunesse, J'écoute au 1 800-668-6868, des conseillers sont disponibles en permanence, 24h sur 24, sept jours par semaine.

En tant qu'adulte

Si tu soupçonnes quelqu'un d'être victime de tout genre de violence familiale…

  • appelle le 911 si la personne court un danger immédiat;
  • donne-lui ton soutien et ta confiance;
  • rassure-la qu'elle n'est pas à blâmer pour ce qui lui arrive;
  • communique avec le service de police compétent ou encourage la personne à le faire;
  • assure-toi qu'elle a quelque part où rester;
  • encourage-la à améliorer son estime d'elle-même;
  • offre ton écoute attentive. (Gendarmerie royale du Canada)