Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Internet Safety

The Internet has become a part of our daily lives. The alarm on your cell phone wakes you up in the morning, you can read about what's happening around the world (as it's happening) and you figure out your plans each weekend by chatting with your friends on social media sites during the week.

However, all we seem to hear about are the negative sides of the Internet: people being bullied, ripped off, meeting people who aren't who they say they are etc. It's important that we realize that the Internet, social media sites and all of the other tools we use online aren't the issue – it's the way some people choose to use these tools.

As a youth, educator, parent or police officer, we all have a role to play in ensuring that our online experiences, as well as the experiences of those around us, are positive ones.

Interacting Online

The ways we interact online are almost endless. Learn more about the different ways to interact online, find tips on how to ensure your online interactions are positive, and to find out what to do if you have an issue while interacting online.

Online Scams and Fraud

The Internet has made it easier to find information we're looking for, stay in contact with friends, shop for clothes from our couch, play games with people halfway across the world and plan events without leaving home. However, the growing popularity of doing things online also means that you are at a greater risk of being taken advantage of online. Learn more about online scams and fraud to detect if someone may be trying to scam you!


Cyberbullying is when an individual repeatedly uses information and communication technologies in a way that is intended to cause, or should be known to cause, the intimidation or harassment of another person(s). Learn more about cyberbullying, its impacts and how to delete it from your community.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

La sécurité sur internet

Internet fait maintenant partie de nos activités quotidiennes. Au petit matin, on se fait réveillé par l'alarme de notre cellulaire, puis on s'informe en direct de ce qui se passe dans le monde et on planifie notre week-end en clavardant avec nos amis sur les sites des médias sociaux.

Cependant, il semble qu'on entend seulement parler des côtés négatifs d'Internet, comme l'intimidation, la fraude et l'imposture. Le problème n'est pourtant pas l'Internet, les sites de médias sociaux ni tous les autres outils que nous utilisons en ligne, mais bien la façon dont ils sont utilisés.

Jeunes, éducateurs, parents et policiers ont un rôle à jouer pour faire de la navigation sur Internet une expérience positive pour tous.

Communications en ligne

Il existe mille et une façons de communiquer sur Internet. Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, obtenir des conseils pour se protéger et savoir quoi faire en cas de problème consultez la page sur les communications en ligne.

Escroqueries et fraude en ligne

Internet nous permet de trouver facilement l'information que l'oncherche, de rester en contact avec nos amis, de magasiner depuis notre fauteuil, de jouer à des jeux avec des internautes de l'autre bout du monde et d'organiser des événements depuis le confort de notre maison. Cependant, la popularité croissante de ces activités en ligne se traduit par un plus grand risque d'être victime d'exploitation. Visitez le site web de la GRC pour en apprendre plus sur les escroqueries et la fraude en ligne afin de reconnaître ceux qui pourraient essayer de vous arnaquer!

Cyberintimidation

La cyberintimidation est le fait d'utiliser abusivement d'information et des technologies de communication dans l'intention d'intimider ou de harceler une autre personne. Apprenez-en plus sur la cyberintimidation, ses conséquences et son élimination de votre communauté.