Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Human Trafficking

Human Trafficking

You may have heard of the term 'trafficking' before, referring to the dealing and/or trade of drugs. However, human trafficking involves the exploitation of people through force, coercion, threat, fraud or deception.

In Canada, there have been cases of both domestic and international human trafficking.

  • International Human Trafficking refers to any victim who, in the process of being trafficked, crosses an international border (regardless of the victim's status in Canada).
  • Domestic Human Trafficking refers to any victim of human trafficking who is trafficked within Canada (regardless of the victim's status in Canada).

Human trafficking is often confused with human smuggling. Smuggling is the organized, illegal movement of persons across international borders into a country, with their consent, in exchange for a sum of money. Typically, the relationship between the smuggler and smuggled person ends once the person arrives at his or her destination. However, in some cases, the person who has agreed to be smuggled may become a victim of human trafficking at the hands of the smuggler. The offence of human trafficking does not require the crossing of an international border, or any movement at all.3

Victims of human trafficking can be exploited in various ways, and as a result of the way they are controlled and treated, they feel that they cannot escape their situation:

  • Sexual Exploitation: This means a person is exploited for a sexual purpose; the person is forced to provide sexual services through prostitution, work in massage parlours, escort agencies, or in the adult entertainment industry, (strip clubs), etc. The victims have little say in what they are required to do and where or when they work. Most or all of the money is controlled by their pimp/boyfriend/trafficker.
  • Forced Labour: The person is forced to provide labour or service under exploitive circumstances such as working long hours for little or no pay; being promised that they would be doing a certain type of work but being forced/coerced to do something else: and working in dangerous environments with little or no safety equipment. Their living arrangements might also be controlled by their trafficker, (where they live, what they eat and who they can talk to).
  • Domestic Servitude: This could include being forced to work as a nanny or live-in caregiver who is pressured to work long hours, or providing labour and services outside their reasonable duties (or outside of a regular 8-hour day). For example: forcing the nanny to be on-call for the children at all hours, being forced to wash the employer's vehicles or give them massages, etc.4

How Does Human Trafficking Occur?

Usually, a person is recruited, then they are isolated or transported, and ultimately they are forced to provide labour or a service.

  • Recruitment: Traffickers approach potential victims in many ways, including pretending to be a potential boyfriend or friend, contacting them via social media such as Facebook, posting newspaper or Internet ads for jobs and opportunities, or even threatening or kidnapping them. Often, promises will be made to the victims such as money, brand name clothes, work or education, financial aid for their family, etc.
  • Transportation/Isolation: Victims are often (but not always) moved around by traffickers, sometimes with the promise of a better life, as a way to isolate them from family and/or people they know or areas that are familiar to them.
  • Exploitation: Exploitation is the key element of human trafficking offences within the Criminal Code of Canada. Exploitation occurs when someone forces another person to provide labour or a service by having them fear for their safety, or the safety of someone known to them.
  • Traffickers often use violence, intimidation and/or deception to make victims do as they say.7

Why Does Human Trafficking Occur?

  • There is a lot of money involved in human trafficking; the same victim can be used over and over again to make money for the trafficker. It is not like drugs where people can only sell the items once before having to acquire more drugs to sell.
  • If a human trafficker is in the company of the victim, it's very hard to identify that the person needs help just by looking at them. Most of the evidence of the offence would come from the victim's testimony; this can be very difficult to get if the victim or someone known to them have been threatened.
  • Victims don't come forward to the police or organizations for help for a variety of reasons such as; not recognizing they are a victim of human trafficking, lack of knowledge of their rights, lack of trust in police or other organizations to provide help, or threats made to the victim or towards people known to them.
  • North American culture has put an emphasis on hypersexualization in TV ads and programs, the Internet and particularly in music lyrics and videos. It can be easy to be attracted to a pimp (often the victim doesn't know the person is a pimp), and drawn towards their lifestyle as it looks glamorous and exciting.
  • Many traffickers prey on victims who are looking for the promise of a better life, a job opportunity or a romantic relationship.

Warning Signs

Signs that someone may be a victim of human trafficking include:

  • Being controlled by others, driven to and from locations, and escorted or watched all the time;
  • Not having a passport or other forms of I.D. in their possession;
  • Not being familiar with the neighbourhood they live or work in;
  • Being moved frequently;
  • Having visible signs of assaults or beatings such as bruises or cuts;
  • Branding with tattoos of the trafficker's name or symbol; and/or,
  • Expressing fear and intimidation through facial expressions or body language.

Victims may:

  • Not know they are being victimized because they have a relationship with their trafficker - it could be their boyfriend or friend;
  • Not appear to need assistance because they have a place to live, food to eat, nice clothes, medical care and even a "paying job";
  • Be unaware of their rights, or may have been intentionally misinformed about their rights so they don't know they can receive help;
  • Be taught to distrust and fear the government and law enforcement officers because they are afraid they will get arrested or deported (if from another country); and/or
  • Fear for their safety or the safety of someone known to them, as some traffickers will threaten to harm the victim, their friends or family members if they report their situation to, or cooperate with law enforcement.8

Impacts

Section 118 of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act and Sections 279.01-04 of the Criminal Code make trafficking in persons (both domestic and international human trafficking situations) illegal in Canada. For more information visit Frequently Asked Questions on Human Trafficking.

In some cases, other offences may apply. Commonly related ones can include: assault, forcible confinement, extortion, living on the avails of prostitution, uttering threats, etc. Every situation is different depending on the specific circumstances of those involved.

Health

The health impacts are very difficult to determine in cases of human trafficking due to the nature of the crime. Many victims suffer trauma and psychological effects. In human trafficking related to sexual exploitation, the victims may be exposed to higher incidences of HIV and sexually transmitted infections.

In many cases, traffickers purposely move victims away from their homes, families and/or friends so the victims remain completely dependent on them. This is a control tactic. The victims feel they have nowhere else to turn; subsequently they will do as they are told. Traffickers also threaten the victims or persons known to them such as family members, to retain control over them. The victims often live in constant fear for their safety or that of their family or friends.

What You Can Do

Learn the warning signs of human trafficking and make sure those around you know them as well. It may simply take one person to report suspicious behaviour to uncover cases of human trafficking.

  • The public is the best tool for identifying victims of human trafficking – get to know your community and report any suspicious activity.
  • If you think someone you know is a victim of human trafficking contact your local police or if you wish to report a crime anonymously, call Crime Stoppers at 1-800-222-TIPS (8477). Youth should talk to their parents, guidance counsellor and school liaison officer or call the local police - there are people and services that can help.
  • If you are a victim of human trafficking or you think you may become a victim of human trafficking, call your local police for assistance or to report anonymously, call the Canadian Crime Stoppers national tip line at 1-800-222-TIPS (8477). Regardless of your status or citizenship in Canada, there are support systems in place available to assist victims.

Footnotes

1  Human Trafficking, Department of Justice

2  What is Human Trafficking?, Department of Justice

3  Frequently Asked Questions on Human Trafficking, RCMP

4  Frequently Asked Questions on Human Trafficking, RCMP

5  What is Human Trafficking?, Department of Justice

6  Canadian Women's Foundation

7  Human Trafficking National Coordination Centre, RCMP

8  Frequently Asked Questions on Human Trafficking, RCMP

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Traite de personnes

Traite de personnes

Tu as peut-être déjà entendu le terme « trafiquant » en lien avec le commerce de la drogue. Dans le cas de la traite de personnes, le « trafiquant » est la personne qui exploite des sujets par la force, la coercition, la menace, la fraude ou la tromperie.

Au Canada, il y a eu des cas de la traite internationale et de la traite intérieure de personnes.

  • Les victimes de la traite internationale de personnes sont des victimes trafiquées qui, au moment de la traite, passent une frontière internationale (en dépit de leur état de citoyenneté de la victime au Canada).
  • Les victimes de la traite intérieure de personnes sont trafiquées à l'intérieur du Canada (en dépit de leur état de citoyenneté de la victime au Canada).

La traite de personnes est souvent confondue avec le passage de clandestins. Le passage de clandestins est une forme de migration illégale où il y a passage organisé d'une personne consentante à la frontière en échange d'argent. Essentiellement, la relation entre le passeur et le clandestin se termine lorsque la personne arrive à destination. Toutefois, dans certains cas, la personne qui accepte qu'on lui fasse franchir la frontière illégalement peut devenir la victime du passeur. Pour la traite de personnes, il n'est pas nécessaire que les victimes traversent une frontière internationale - aucun mouvement n'est nécessaire.3

Les victimes de la traite de personnes peuvent être exploitées de diverses manières et en raison du contrôle et du traitement, les victimes sentent qu'ils ne peuvent pas s'évader de la situation :

  • Exploitation sexuelle : La personne est exploitée sexuellement; elle est forcée de se livrer à des actes sexuels en se prostituant ou en travaillant dans des salons de massage, pour des services d'escorte ou dans l'industrie du divertissement pour adultes (bars de danseuses). Les victimes ont peu à dire sur ce qu'elles sont obligées de faire et sur le moment ou l'endroit où elles doivent travailler. Tout leur argent ou presque est contrôlé par leur proxénète (trafiquant).
  • Travail forcé : La personne est forcée de travailler ou de fournir un service dans des conditions d'exploitation comme de travailler de longues heures pour très peu ou pas d'argent, d'être forcée ou contrainte de faire un type de travail autre que celui qu'on lui avait promis, de travailler dans des milieux dangereux avec peu ou pas d'équipement de protection et de voir ses conditions de logement parfois contrôlées par son trafiquant (où elle vit, ce qu'elle mange et à qui elle peut parler).
  • Servitude domestique : La personne peut notamment être forcée de travailler comme gardienne d'enfants ou aide familiale et contrainte de travailler de longues heures et de fournir des services autres que ses tâches raisonnables (ou après une journée de travail habituelle de huit heures). Par exemple : forcer une gardienne d'enfants à être disponible pour les enfants en tout temps, à laver les véhicules de son employeur ou à lui donner des massages.4

Comment la traite de personnes se produit-elle?

Premièrement, une personne est premièrement et par la suite, elle est isolée, transportée et finalement forcée à fournir un service ou à travailler gratuitement.

  • Recrutement : Les trafiquants approchent les victimes potentielles de bien des façons, notamment en prétendant être un futur petit ami ou copain, en les contactant au moyen des médias sociaux comme Facebook, en publiant dans les journaux ou dans Internet des annonces pour des possibilités d'emploi ou même en les menaçant ou en les enlevant. Souvent, les victimes se font promettre de l'argent, des vêtements griffés, du travail ou des études, de l'aide financière pour leur famille, etc. 
  • Transport et isolement : Les victimes sont souvent déplacées par les trafiquants, qui leur promettent parfois une nouvelle vie; il s'agit d'un moyen de les isoler des personnes et des régions qu'elles connaissent. Cela dit, il n'est pas nécessaire que les victimes soient déplacées pour qu'une affaire comprenne des éléments de traite de personnes. 
  • Exploitation : L'exploitation est la principale caractéristique des infractions de traite de personnes dans le Code criminel. Une personne en exploite une autre si elle l'oblige à fournir du travail ou des services en lui faisant craindre pour sa sécurité ou celle d'un proche.
  • Les trafiquants font souvent preuve de violence, d'intimidation et de tromperie pour contraindre leurs victimes à faire ce qu'ils disent.7

Pourquoi la traite de personnes se produit-elle?

  • Beaucoup d'argent est en jeu dans la traite de personnes; une victime peut être exploitée à de très nombreuses reprises pour faire de l'argent pour les trafiquants. Ce n'est pas comme la drogue que les trafiquants ne peuvent vendre qu'une seule fois avant de devoir se réapprovisionner. 
  • Si un trafiquant de personnes se trouve en compagnie de la victime, il est très difficile pour la police ou le public de savoir que cette personne a besoin d'aide simplement en la regardant. La majorité des preuves proviennent du témoignage de la victime et il peut être très difficile de faire témoigner ce dernier si elle ou un de ses proches a été menacé.
  • Les victimes ne recherchent pas de soutient auprès des policiers ou autres organisations pour plusieurs raisons, telles qu'un manque de reconnaissance qu'elles sont victimes de la traite de personnes, manque de connaissances sur leurs droits, manque de confiance dans les policiers et autres organisations pour de l'aide, ou des menaces à leur sécurité où la sécurité de leur proche.
  • Dans la culture nord-américaine, une place d'importance est accordée à l'hypersexualisation dans les publicités et les émissions télévisées, dans Internet et plus particulièrement dans les paroles de chansons et les vidéoclips. Il peut être facile d'être attiré par un proxénète (sans savoir qu'il en est un) et le style de vie prestigieux et excitant qu'il semble mener.
  • De nombreux trafiquants ciblent les victimes qui cherchent une vie meilleure, une possibilité d'emploi ou une relation amoureuse.

Signes qu'une personne est peut-être victime de la traite

La personne peut :

  • Être contrôlée par d'autres et escortée ou surveillée en tout temps;
  • Ne pas avoir de passeport ni d'autres pièces d'identité dans leur possession;
  • Ne pas connaître le voisinage où elle vit ou travaille;
  • Être déplacée fréquemment;
  • Avoir des marques visibles d'agression ou de voies de fait comme des ecchymoses ou des coupures;
  • Avoir des marques ou des tatouages avec le nom ou symbole du trafiquant; et/ou
  • Montrer des signes de peur ou d'intimidation par les expressions de son visage ou la gestuelle de son corps.

Les victimes peuvent :

  • Ne pas savoir qu'elles sont victimes, car elles ont une relation amoureuse ou d'amitié avec leur trafiquant;
  • Ne pas sembler avoir besoin d'aide, car elles ont un logis, de la nourriture, de beaux vêtements, des soins médicaux et même un « emploi rémunéré »;
  • Ne pas connaître leurs droits ou en avoir été volontairement mal informées et ainsi ne pas savoir qu'elles peuvent recevoir de l'aide;
  • Ne pas faire confiance au gouvernement et aux policiers et les craindre, car elles ont peur d'être arrêtées ou expulsées (si elles viennent d'un autre pays);
  • Craindre pour leur sécurité ou celle de leurs proches, car certains trafiquants menaceront de leur faire du mal, à elles et à leurs proches, si elles signalent leur situation ou coopèrent avec la police.8

Répercussions

Légales

L'article 118 de la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiées et les articles 279.01 à 279.04 du Code criminel interdisent la traite de personnes (interne et internationale) au Canada. Pour plus de renseignements, visiter Foire aux questions sur la traite de personnes.

Dans certains cas, d'autres infractions peuvent s'appliquer. Parmi les infractions qui y sont le plus souvent liées, on trouve, entre autres, celles de voies de fait, de séquestration, d'extorsion, de subsistance grâce aux produits de la prostitution, de profération de menace, etc. Chaque situation est différente selon les circonstances propres aux personnes concernées.

Santé

Dans les cas de traite de personnes, il est très difficile de déterminer les effets sur la santé compte tenu de la nature du crime. Plusieurs victimes souffrent du traumatisme et des effets psychologiques. Toutefois, dans les cas de traite de personnes à des fins d'exploitation sexuelle, les victimes peuvent être exposées à des taux plus élevés d'infections par VIH et d'infections transmissibles sexuellement.

Dans bien des cas, les trafiquants éloignent les victimes de leur foyer afin qu'elles demeurent entièrement dépendantes d'eux. Ceci est un moyen utilisé pour leurs contrôler. Ne pouvant aller nulle part, elles feront ce qu'on leur dit. De plus, les trafiquants menacent les victimes ou leurs proches pour conserver leur emprise sur elles. Souvent, les victimes craignent constamment pour leur vie et celle de leurs proches.

Mesures à prendre

Apprends à reconnaître les signes de la traite de personnes et assure-toi que ton entourage les connaît aussi. Il suffit parfois qu'une seule personne signale un comportement suspect pour découvrir des cas de traite de personnes.

  • Le public est le meilleur allié pour identifier les victimes de la traite de personnes - apprends à connaître ta collectivité et signale toute activité suspecte.
  • Si tu crois qu'une personne que tu connais est victime d'exploitation, communique avec ton service de police local. Si tu souhaites signaler un crime tout en gardant l'anonymat, communique avec Échec au crime au 1-800-222-TIPS (8477). Tu devrais parler à tes parents, à ton conseiller en orientation ou à l'agent de liaison avec les écoles, ou appeler ton service de police local - des personnes et des services sont là pour aider. 
  • Si tu es une victime de la traite de personnes ou penses peut-être le devenir, appelle ton service de police local, ou appelle Échec au crime au 1-800-222-TIPS (8477). Peu importe ton statut ou ta citoyenneté au Canada, il y a des systèmes de soutien en place à la disposition de toutes les victimes.

Notes de bas de page

1  Traite de personnes, Ministère de la Justice

2  Qu'est-ce que la traite des personnes?, Ministère de la Justice

3  Foire aux questions sur la traite de personnes, GRC

4  Foire aux questions sur la traite de personnes, GRC

5  Qu'est-ce que la traite des personnes?, Ministère de la Justice

6  La Fondation canadienne des femmes

7  Centre national de coordination contre la traite de personnes, GRC

8  Foire aux questions sur la traite de personnes, GRC