Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Centre for Youth Crime Prevention's role?

The CYCP provides Canadians with evidence-based and age appropriate crime prevention messages, information, tool, and programs to prevent youth crime and victimization. By providing factual information and working with partners across Canada, we want to encourage youth to think critically, build skills that support positive decision making and to make changes in their lives and communities.

What is Bullying?

Bullying is generally defined as repeated behaviour that is intended or known to cause fear, intimidation, humiliation, distress or other forms of harm to another person's body, feelings, self-esteem, reputation or property. Typically bullying involves an imbalance of power between the individual who bullies, and the victim. It can take place by written, verbal, physical or electronic mean or any other form of expression.

What makes bullying so harmful is that it can be direct or indirect, meaning it can be done in plain view, in front of many people, or behind the scenes with only few witnesses. All forms of bullying are harmful to those involved.

What is Cyberbullying?

Cyberbullying is when an individual uses information and communication technologies in a way that is intended or known to cause the intimidation or harassment of another person(s).

It can include using cellular and smartphones, email, or social media to post or distribute insults, threats, gossip, hate speech and modified and/ or intimate photographs or videos.

Cyberbullying is often defined by young people as "trolling," gossiping, hating online, spreading false stories, causing drama, etc. Trolling can be defined as the act of writing comments on forums and in chat rooms with the intent of angering and offending other participants. Any form of cyberbullying, whether it was intended as a joke or not, may be hurtful and embarrassing.

What can I do if I have been a victim of cyberbullying or if someone I know has?

Here is what you can do if you or someone you know is a victim of cyberbullying:

  • Start by blocking the individual or by leaving the chat room or forum.
  • Save copies of the text before you "X" out of the browser, this way you have proof should you decide to report it.
  • Talk to a trusted adult or authority figure to have them intervene.
  • Report it to the administration of the website or "flag" the information/comments.

Take a look at our bullying fact sheet for more information and some helpful tips to combat bullying.

What can I do if I have been victim of bullying, or if I know someone who has?

Here is what you can do if you or someone you know is a victim of bullying:

  • Walk away, or leave the situation altogether.
  • Keep track of the bullying (write down what happened and who was there, especially any potential witnesses).
  • Tell a trusted adult (parent or authority figure); if none are available, give Kids Help Phone a call.
  • Report criminal offences to the police such as threats, assaults and sexual exploitation. 
  • If it is someone you know, tell the bully to stop (if you feel it is safe to do so), or find others who can stop it.
  • Also, try befriending the person being bullied; that little extra strength beside them will go a long way.

Take a look at our Bullying fact sheet for more information and for some helpful tips on how to put an end to bullying.

Is Cyberbullying illegal?

In Canada, traditional crimes that are committed through the use of an electronic device fall under provisions of the Criminal Code of Canada.

The act of cyberbullying can break various laws, depending on the circumstances. For instance, it can constitute criminal harassment (which includes stalking), defamation of character, etc. Every incident is different and should be investigated on a case by case basis.

How can I report cyberbullying?

Cybertip.ca is a great resource to report any online exploitation and cyberbullying. It allows Internet users to report online exploitation. They do initial investigations on the tips they receive to see if a crime has occurred. If they believe that a crime did occur, they report the tip to the police for that specific jurisdiction.

It is important to report cyberbullying even when it doesn't affect you. If you see any form of inappropriate behaviour on the Internet, go ahead and report it to the website administrators.

Needhelpnow.ca is a website that strives to provide information to youth who have been impacted by online exploitation. It provides them with practical steps victims can take to regain control over the situation.

Many websites allow users to report any content that they believe is exploitative and qualifies as cyberbullying. Here are a few links to the Report Abuse pages on some of the more popular websites:

Twitter: support.twitter.com/articles/20169998-reporting-abusive-behavior#

Facebook: www.facebook.com/help/181495968648557/

Tumblr: tumblring.net/how-to-report-people-on-tumblr-for-abuse/ (send an e-mail to report abuse@tumblr.com)

If you believe that any of the content you have seen has crossed the line and are illegal, report it to the police (remember to keep copies of evidence). The police of jurisdiction will then be able to determine if a crime occurred and whether it is in their jurisdiction to investigate the offences.

Who polices the Internet?

While there are multiple agencies that monitor Internet activities, it's our job as Internet users to ensure that the agencies are made aware of any harmful content online. Therefore, when you think that a crime has been committed online, it's important that you talk to the police of jurisdiction and report all incidents of cyberbullying. They will be able to decide if a crime has taken place and what the next correct course of action would be.

What if the person bothering me (or my friend) is from a different country?

Cybertip.ca has developed partnerships all over the world. Through Interpol and a large database of website administrators, they have the capacity to investigate Internet child exploitation issues. However, you should also contact your local department and explain the situation. They should be in a good position to determine who should be contacted.

Is Marijuana illegal?

In Canada, it is illegal to smoke and possess marijuana. There are people who receive medical marijuana which is used to help them cope with certain medical conditions; however, it can only be prescribed by a doctor and is for serious medical issues only.

Can I drive after having just one drink?

Alcohol is a dangerous substance and should never be ingested before operating a motorized vehicle. The legal limit for your blood-alcohol level is .08 (for a criminal charge), however, anything higher than .05 can lead to a license suspension, fines, and an increase in your insurance. Furthermore, Canada has adopted a no-tolerance blood-alcohol rule. This includes that drivers under a certain age (ex. 21 years old) can have no alcohol in their system while operating a motorized vehicle. The age for this varies across different provinces/ territories, so the best course of action is that, if you have had even just one drink, it's best not to drive.

As a parent, what can I do to prepare my child for the youth crime and victimization issues they will be faced with?

When it comes to youth crime and victimization issues, it is important to ensure that the line of communication between you and your child/children remains open. Maintaining a constant informal dialogue with them will ensure that they feel comfortable approaching you if any issues surface. It is easier to understand and help them through their day-to-day issues when they feel comfortable speaking with you. Remember not to judge them, to remain open-minded and to be thankful that they are opening up to you.

If a topic ever requires emergency action, please contact your local police as soon as possible.

What are some issues that I should be talking about with my youth?

Drugs and alcohol:

Be sure to educate them on the serious and long-term consequences of substance use. Remind them that there are legal and social consequences to these behaviours, and that their effects may lead to implications that last a lifetime. To learn more about drugs and alcohol and how they can affect someone's life visit our Drugs and Alcohol fact sheet.

Also, ensure that they are aware of the consequences of impaired driving. Encourage them to never get into a vehicle with someone who is impaired.

Relationships and Friendship:

Friendships and relationships are a big part of growing up. It's important that your child knows how to surround themselves with people who will have a positive influence in their lives. Try to get to know who your child is spending his or her time with. Invite them over to your place. Teach your children the importance of having a supportive network of friends.

Furthermore, try to recognize the warning signs that your child may have unhealthy relationships with peers, friends or partners.

Take a look at our Dating and Relationship Violence and Bullying fact sheets for more information.

What can I use to protect myself when I am out jogging or walking alone at night?

Bring a friend along with you! Instead of running solo, create a friendly competition between friends, especially at night.

Make sure to keep your phone with you at all times and have it readily accessible, in case of an emergency. Most phones can also be used as a flashlight if needed. If you are listening to music be sure that the volume is at a reasonable level so that you are still aware of your surroundings.

Before heading out, let someone know where you will be going and at what time you expect to be back. It is always best to go during the day (with natural day light), but if you decide to go out at night, then be sure to stay in well-lit areas.

I'm considering a career in law enforcement; where should I go for more information?

Go to the RCMP.ca website to find out more about possible job opportunities and for information on recruitment to become a police officer for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

For those who are students and are in high school, CEGEP, college or university you can also look for employment using the Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP) website.

I'd like to volunteer my time to make my community a better place. Where should I start?

In most cases RCMP volunteers have to be 19 years old.

Check to see if your province or territory has an Auxiliary Constable Program. This volunteer program encourages community members to play a positive role in their communities after being trained by the RCMP.

Visit the RCMP website to determine what volunteer opportunities are available to you in your province/ territory!

What can I do to make my community a better place?

Visit our "Get Involved" page to find out what you can do to get involved in crime prevention initiatives and make your community a better place!

How can I stay connected to the RCMP?

If you are trying to stay connected with the RCMP, be sure to add us on social media!

Also stay in the loop with our news feed and special features section.

If you can't find the answer to your question, feel free to use our web form to contact us.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Foire aux questions

Quel est le rôle du Centre de prévention du crime chez les jeunes (CPCJ)?

Le CPCJ vise à fournir aux Canadiens des messages, de l'information, des outils et des programmes adaptés à l'âge et fondés sur des faits en vue de prévenir la criminalité et la victimisation chez les jeunes. En fournissant de l'information factuelle et en travaillant avec des partenaires de partout au Canada, nous voulons encourager les jeunes à penser de façon critique, à acquérir les compétences leur permettant de prendre des décisions positives et à apporter des changements dans leur vie personnelle et au sein de leur communauté.

Qu'est-ce que l'intimidation?

Par intimidation, on entend généralement un comportement répétitif visant à susciter, ou dont on devrait savoir qu'il va susciter, un sentiment de peur, d'humiliation ou de détresse ou d'autres formes de préjudices à une autre personne en ce qui a trait à sa condition physique, à ses sentiments, à son estime de soi, à sa réputation ou à ses biens. L'intimidation suppose habituellement un déséquilibre de pouvoir entre l'intimidateur et la victime et peut se manifester sous forme écrite, verbale, physique ou électronique ou par l'intermédiaire de toute autre forme d'expression.

Ce qui rend l'intimidation si préjudiciable est le fait qu'elle peut être directe ou indirecte, ce qui signifie qu'elle peut avoir lieu bien en vue, devant beaucoup de gens, ou en coulisse devant très peu de témoins. Toutes les formes d'intimidation portent préjudice aux personnes impliquées.

Qu'est-ce que la cyberintimidation?

La cyberintimidation est lorsqu'une personne utilise les technologies de l'information et de communication avec l'intention d'intimider ou de harceler une autre personne.

Elle comprend diffuser des insultes, des menaces, des rumeurs, des discours haineux et des photos ou des vidéos modifiées ou intimes au moyen de téléphones cellulaires et intelligents, du courriel ou des médias sociaux.

Les jeunes définissent souvent la cyberintimidation ainsi : « pêche à la traîne », commérage, messages haineux en ligne, propagation de fausses histoires, création de drame, etc. La pêche à la traîne désigne l'affichage de commentaires sur des forums et des sites de clavardage dans le but de frustrer et de froisser d'autres participants. Plaisanterie ou non, toute forme de cyberintimidation peut être blessante et embarrassante.

Que puis je faire si je suis victime de cyberintimidation ou si je connais quelqu'un qui l'est?

Voici ce que tu peux faire :

  • Commence par « bloquer » cette personne ou par quitter le forum ou le salon de clavardage.
  • Sauvegarde le texte avant de fermer le navigateur (« X ») pour conserver une preuve si tu décides de le signaler.
  • Parles-en à un adulte en qui tu as confiance ou à une personne en autorité pour qu'il ou elle intervienne.
  • Signale-le aux administrateurs du site Web ou appose un indicateur (« flag ») à l'information ou aux commentaires.
Consulte notre fiche de renseignements sur l'intimidation pour obtenir plus d'information et des conseils sur la façon de lutter contre l'intimidation.

Que puis-je faire si je suis victime d'intimidation ou si je connais quelqu'un qui l'est?

Voici ce que tu peux faire dans cette situation :

  • Éloigne-toi ou quitte la situation.
  • Garde des preuves de l'intimidation (note ce qui est arrivé et qui était là, surtout les témoins potentiels).
  • Parles-en à un adulte en qui tu as confiance (parent ou personne en autorité); si tu n'as personne, appelle Jeunesse, J'écoute.
  • Signale toute infraction criminelle à la police (menaces, voies de fait, exploitation sexuelle).
  • Si tu connais l'intimidateur, dis-lui d'arrêter (si tu te sens en sécurité de le faire), ou trouve quelqu'un qui peut t'aider à l'arrêter.
  • Essaie de te lier d'amitié avec la personne intimidée; cette petite force supplémentaire à ses côtés l'aidera beaucoup.

Consulte notre fiche de renseignements sur l'intimidation pour obtenir plus d'information et des conseils sur la façon de lutter contre l'intimidation.

La cyberintimidation est-elle illégale?

Au Canada, les infractions traditionnelles commises à l'aide d'un appareil électronique relèvent de dispositions du Code criminel.

La cyberintimidation peut enfreindre diverses lois, selon les circonstances. Par exemple, elle peut constituer un acte de harcèlement criminel (la traque, par exemple), une atteinte à la réputation, etc. Chaque incident est différent et doit faire l'objet d'une enquête au cas par cas.

Comment puis je signaler la cyberintimidation?

Cyberaide.ca est une excellente ressource pour signaler les incidents d'exploitation et d'intimidation sur Internet. Ses analystes mènent une première enquête à partir des renseignements reçus pour voir si un crime a été commis. S'ils jugent qu'un crime a bel et bien été commis, ils acheminent les renseignements au service de police local.

Il est important de signaler la cyberintimidation même si elle ne te concerne pas. Si tu constates un comportement inapproprié sur Internet, signale-le aux administrateurs du site Web.

AidezMoiSVP.ca est un site Web qui offre de l'information aux jeunes qui ont été touchés par un incident d'exploitation en ligne. Il suggère aux victimes des mesures concrètes pour reprendre le contrôle de la situation.

De nombreux sites Web permettent aux utilisateurs de signaler du contenu qu'ils jugent comme étant de l'exploitation et de la cyberintimidation. Voici les liens vers les pages de signalement de comportements abusifs de certains sites Web bien connus :

Twitter : support.twitter.com/articles/20170180-signaler-les-comportements-abusifs

Facebook : https://fr-ca.facebook.com/help/181495968648557/

Tumblr : tumblring.net/how-to-report-people-on-tumblr-for-abuse/ [anglais seulement] (signale les abus par courriel à abuse@tumblr.com)

Si tu constates du contenu qui te semble illégal ou dépasser les limites, signale-le à la police (n'oublie pas de garder des preuves). Le service de police local pourra ensuite déterminer si un crime a été commis et s'il peut faire enquête.

Qui assure la surveillance sur Internet?

De nombreux organismes surveillent les activités sur Internet, mais il nous incombe tous en tant qu'internautes de porter à leur attention tout contenu préjudiciable en ligne. Par conséquent, si tu penses qu'un crime a été commis, il est important d'en parler au service de police local et de lui signaler tout incident de cyberintimidation. La police pourra alors déterminer si un crime a été perpétré et choisir le plan d'action approprié.

Et si la personne qui me dérange (ou qui dérange un ami) habite dans un autre pays?

Cyberaide.ca a établi des partenariats dans le monde entier. Grâce à Interpol et à une grande base de données d'administrateurs de sites Web, elle a la capacité d'enquêter sur les cas d'exploitation d'enfants sur Internet. Toutefois, tu devrais aussi communiquer avec ton service de police local et lui expliquer la situation. Il devrait être en mesure de savoir qui contacter.

La marihuana est elle illégale?

Au Canada, il est illégal de fumer et de posséder de la marihuana. Certaines personnes souffrant de troubles médicaux peuvent en recevoir; toutefois, elle doit être prescrite par un médecin et est utilisée uniquement pour les troubles graves.

Puis je conduire après avoir pris un seul verre?

L'alcool est une substance dangereuse et ne devrait jamais être consommé avant de conduire un véhicule motorisé. La limite légale d'alcool dans le sang est établie à 0,08 (pour une accusation criminelle), mais un taux d'alcoolémie supérieur à 0,05 peut entraîner une suspension du permis de conduire, une amende et une augmentation de tes frais d'assurance. De plus, le Canada a adopté la règle de tolérance zéro en matière d'alcool au volant, ce qui signifie que les conducteurs sous un certain âge (p. ex. 21 ans) ne peuvent absolument pas consommer d'alcool avant de prendre le volant. L'âge varie selon la province ou le territoire, donc tu es mieux de ne pas conduire après avoir pris ne serait-ce qu'un seul verre.

En tant que parent, que puis je faire pour préparer mon enfant à faire face aux problèmes de criminalité et de victimisation auxquels il sera confronté?

Lorsqu'il est question de criminalité et de victimisation, il est important de maintenir les lignes de communication ouvertes entre vous et votre enfant. Si vous dialoguez souvent avec lui de façon détendue, il se sentira à l'aise de vous parler des problèmes qu'il vit, et vous pourrez plus facilement le comprendre et l'aider. Rappelez-vous de ne pas le juger, de garder l'esprit ouvert et d'être reconnaissant qu'il se confie à vous.

Si un sujet venait à exiger une mesure d'urgence, communiquez avec votre service de police local le plus tôt possible.

Quels sujets devrais je aborder avec mon enfant?

Drogues et alcool

Informez-le des conséquences graves et à long terme de la consommation de drogues et d'alcool. Rappelez-lui que ces comportements peuvent avoir des conséquences juridiques et sociales et qu'il peut en subir les séquelles toute sa vie. Pour en savoir plus sur les drogues et l'alcool et l'incidence qu'ils peuvent avoir sur une vie, consultez notre fiche d'information sur la drogue et l'alcool.

Assurez-vous également qu'il est au courant des conséquences de l'alcool au volant et qu'il sait qu'il ne doit jamais monter dans un véhicule avec une personne dont les facultés sont affaiblies.

Relations et amitiés :

Les amitiés et les relations font partie intégrante du développement d'un enfant. Il est important que votre enfant sache comment s'entourer de personnes qui auront une influence positive sur lui. Apprenez à connaître les personnes qu'il fréquente. Invitez-les chez vous. Enseignez à votre enfant l'importance d'avoir un réseau de soutien composé d'amis(es).

Essayez aussi de reconnaître les signes avant-coureurs d'une relation malsaine entre votre enfant et des pairs, des amis(es) ou des partenaires.

Consultez nos fiches d'information sur la violence dans les fréquentations et l'intimidation.

Comment me protéger lorsque je vais courir ou marcher seul en soirée?

Demande à un ami de t'accompagner! Au lieu de courir seul, organise une compétition amicale, surtout en soirée.
Garde ton cellulaire sur toi en tout temps et assure-toi qu'il est facilement accessible, en cas d'urgence. La majorité des téléphones peuvent aussi servir de lampe de poche, au besoin. Si tu écoutes de la musique, règle le volume à un niveau raisonnable pour pouvoir savoir ce qui se passe autour de toi.

Avant de sortir, informe quelqu'un de ta destination et du moment prévu du retour. Il est toujours préférable de sortir le jour (étant donné la lumière naturelle); reste dans des endroits bien éclairés.

J'envisage de faire carrière dans la police, comment puis je obtenir plus d'information?

Visite le site Web GRC.ca pour en savoir plus sur les possibilités d'emploi offertes et sur le recrutement pour devenir policier de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Si vous tu es à l'école secondaire, au cégep, au collège ou à l'université, tu peux aussi consulter le site Web du Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant (PFETE) pour trouver un emploi.

J'aimerais donner de mon temps à ma communauté. Où devrais je commencer?

Dans la plupart des cas, les bénévoles de la GRC doivent avoir 19 ans.

Renseigne-toi pour savoir si le Programme des gendarmes auxiliaires est offert dans ta province ou ton territoire. Ce programme de bénévolat encourage les membres de la communauté à jouer un rôle positif dans leur milieu et leur offre une formation à cette fin.

Visite le site Web de la GRC pour connaître les possibilités de bénévolat offertes dans ta province ou ton territoire.

Que puis je faire pour améliorer la qualité de vie dans ma communauté?

Visite notre page « Fais ta part » pour découvrir comment participer à des initiatives visant à prévenir la criminalité et ainsi faire de ta communauté un meilleur endroit où vivre!

Comment puis je rester en contact avec la GRC?

Si vous souhaitez rester en contact avec la GRC, joignez-vous à nous sur les médias sociaux.

  • Aimez notre page Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/rcmpgrc
  • Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @rcmpgrcpolice, envoyez-nous des messages en utilisant le mot-clic #GRCjeunesse

Notre fils de nouvelles et notre section En vedette vous permettront également de rester informé.

Si vous n'avez pas trouvé la réponse à votre question, n'hésitez pas à utiliser notre formulaire Web pour communiquer avec nous.