Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Integrated Counterfeit Enforcement Teams

Counterfeit bank notes

The RCMP has three Integrated Counterfeit Enforcement Teams (ICETs) to conduct major counterfeiting investigations in Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver. The ICETs have been strategically located in these major centers because Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia are subject to the highest percentage of counterfeit notes passed and seized.

ICETs Mandate

The teams are mandated to provide the necessary enforcement capability to ensure a national response to organized counterfeit activity and to investigate criminal organizations and individuals involved in the production and mass distribution of counterfeit currency.

Background

The teams are inter-disciplinary and include specialists not only in banknote counterfeiting but also in surveillance, undercover operations and the use of human sources. They are supported by forensic examiners at the National Anti-Counterfeiting Bureau, the Counterfeit Analysis Program and the RCMP’s Technological Crime Branch. The teams work closely with the Bank of Canada, other government agencies and our policing partners.

ICETs encourage the participation of other law enforcement agencies on a case-by-case basis. This includes sharing intelligence and other information through the creation of active partnerships at the local, regional, national and international levels.

Counterfeiting has a direct impact on the stability of Canada’s currency. It exposes individuals and businesses to financial loss and provides opportunities for organized crime groups to profit.

Through the National Counterfeit Enforcement Strategy, the RCMP in close cooperation with the Bank of Canada and our policing partners is renewing its commitment to maintain public confidence in Canada’s currency.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Équipe intégrée de lutte contre la contrefaçon

Contrefaçon de billets de banque

La GRC a mis sur pied trois équipes intégrées de lutte contre la contrefaçon (EILC) qui ont pour mission de mener d’importantes enquêtes sur la contrefaçon à Toronto, Montréal et Vancouver. L’emplacement stratégique de ces équipes découle du fait que l’Ontario, le Québec et la Colombie-Britannique affichent les pourcentages les plus élevés de faux billets de banque mis en circulation et saisis.

Mandat des EILC

Le mandat des EILC consiste à déployer les efforts nécessaires pour contrecarrer, à l’échelle nationale, l’activité de contrefaçon organisée et enquêter sur les organisations criminelles ainsi que sur les individus impliqués dans la production et la distribution massive de monnaie contrefaite.

Contexte

Ces équipes interdisciplinaires regroupent non seulement des spécialistes de la contrefaçon des billets de banque, mais aussi ceux de la surveillance, des opérations d’infiltration et de l’utilisation de sources humaines. Elles sont appuyées par des examinateurs judiciaires du Bureau national de lutte contre la contrefaçon, par le Programme d’analyse des contrefaçons et par la Sous-direction de la criminalité technologique de la GRC. Elles travaillent aussi en étroite collaboration avec la Banque du Canada, avec des organismes gouvernementaux et avec les partenaires des services policiers.

Les EILC encouragent d’autres organismes d’application de la loi à participer selon les cas. Il s’agit notamment d’échanger des renseignements et de l’information par la création de partenariats actifs aux échelles locale, régionale, nationale et internationale.

La contrefaçon agit directement sur la stabilité de la monnaie canadienne. Elle expose les particuliers et les commerces à des pertes financières pendant qu’elle profite aux groupes du crime organisé.

Par sa participation à la Stratégie nationale de lutte contre la contrefaçon et sa collaboration avec la Banque du Canada et les partenaires des services policiers, la GRC renouvelle son engagement à garder la confiance du public dans la monnaie canadienne.