Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Current Trends in Firearms Trafficking and Smuggling in Canada

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

November 23, 2007

Current Trends in Firearms Trafficking 
and Smuggling in Canada

PDF PDF Version (262 KB)

Table of Contents

Purpose

This Criminal Intelligence Brief provides an overview of the current trends in firearms trafficking and smuggling in Canada and the impact on law enforcement personnel.

Key Findings

  • The United States is the primary source for smuggled firearms or firearms parts entering Canada, due in part to its close proximity, differences in gun control legislation, and a large firearms manufacturing base.
  • There are larger amounts of firearms being seized per investigation, and this trend is expected to continue.
  • Firearms choices are influenced by rural or urban settings, and vary according to the region of Canada in which they are being used.
  • There is an inconsistent collection of information relating to the seizure of firearms.

Background

The United States is the primary source for smuggled firearms or firearms parts into Canada -- due in part to its close proximity, differences in gun control legislation, and a large firearms manufacturing base. According to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), in 2006, 96 per cent of all firearms seized originated in or transited through the United States. The majority of these seizures occurred at land border ports of entry, and were from private and/or commercial vehicles of legitimate U.S. travelers, especially hunters and truckers, who failed to declare these firearms. In addition, in 2006 there were 32 firearms seized between ports of entry, as compared to 12 in 2005. CBSA also reported a small quantity of guns being smuggled into Canada from various other countries, including Belgium, Switzerland, Georgia and China and Hong Kong.

Current Status

According to Statistics Canada, in 2006, handguns accounted for 108 of the 190 victims killed by a firearm. Of the remaining 82 victims, 36 were killed by a rifle or shotgun, 24 by a sawed-off rifle or shotgun and 22 by another or unknown type of firearm.

The statistics available from the RCMP Firearms Support Service Directorate, Tactical Intelligence Unit (TAU), for the first three quarters (Jan 1, 2007 to Sept 30, 2007), indicate that 3,851 seized firearms were reported to the TAU. Of these 3,851 firearms reported seized or recovered, 52 per cent were deemed to be crime guns1. Approximately 90 per cent of firearms reported seized or recovered did not have any known association to organized crime; only 0.5% were deemed to have a definite connection to a gang or a criminal organization.

Crime Guns1 1st QTR 2nd QTR 3rd QTR YTD
Yes 882 569 548 1999
No 716 660 322 1698
Unknown 89 57 8 154
Total Firearms 1687 1286 878 3851

The majority of seizures occur at land border ports of entry where the firearms are either concealed in hidden compartments in personal vehicles or duct-taped to the body. However, the occasional seizure does take place in the postal system, which is commonly used by smugglers to ship disassembled firearms or firearms parts which are not considered under Canadian legislation as firearms.

Across Canada, handguns remain the most common firearm seized in larger urban centres, whereas long guns are more prevalent in rural areas. The available data indicate that firearms choices vary according to the region of Canada, and are also influenced by availability within the rural or urban settings.

  • In most parts of British Columbia, handguns are the most common illegal firearm; in large urban centres, the most common type of handgun seized is the semi-automatic pistol.
  • Long guns are preferred by the criminal element in the Prairies as they are more readily available in rural areas.
  • In Saskatchewan and Manitoba, cut down/sawed off long guns are commonly used. Also in Saskatchewan, air or pellet guns have been involved in a number of firearms occurrences and seizures.
  • In Ontario, both handguns and long guns are available throughout the province.
  • In Quebec, long guns are the most commonly seized firearms, with the exception of large urban areas where handguns are most prevalently seized.
  • In the Atlantic Provinces, long guns are prevalent, with the exception of large urban areas where handguns are more common.
  • In the three Northern territories, long guns are the most available illegal firearm.

There continues to be significant cross-border firearms movement, particularly in British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, Quebec, and the Atlantic region, where many of the seizures are concentrated.

  • In British Columbia, a large number of firearms originate in the United States, with a high proportion coming from Washington State.
  • In Alberta, most of these firearms come from Washington State, Idaho and California.
  • In Ontario, the I-75 corridor is the main supply vein for illegal firearms from Florida, Georgia, Ohio and Michigan.
  • In Quebec, the following states are key sources for illegal firearms: Vermont, New Hampshire and Maryland.
  • There is an increasing number of illegal firearms reported being smuggled across the New Brunswick-Maine border, entering the Atlantic region.

Most firearms smuggled from the United States are high quality, semi-automatic handguns. Handguns are reportedly commonly traded for narcotics on the street: the price of the handgun correlates with the current street price for the specific narcotic. “High end” handguns are presently selling on the street for three times the retail price. Fully automatic rifles are also highly sought after firearms. Recent seizures have seen a marked increase in assault rifles and fully automatic submachine guns.

Domestically, firearms are commonly reaching the hands of criminals through various methods, such as:

  1. Firearms which are lost, missing or stolen from private residences and commercial businesses.
  2. Firearms that were originally shown as deactivated, and therefore removed from the Canadian gun registry, but reactivated.
    Example: A business in B.C., entrusted with a business licence to sell firearms, reports firearms deactivated to the Canadian Firearms Registry in order to have them removed from the database. The guns are then sold on the street or sold to another party who sells them on the street. Seized firearms have included WW2 era military rifles, machine pistols, and sub-machine guns; guns are in turn sold to the criminal community as they are easily reactivated for use.
  3. Firearms that are imported legally by legitimate dealers, but are then diverted to the black market.
  4. Family members of a deceased who had owned firearms that had never been registered are selling them privately and not reporting back to the Canadian Firearms Registry (CFR).
  5. Restricted Firearm Registration System (RWRS) and unregistered firearms: when the Canadian Firearms Information System replaced the Restricted Firearms Registration System, many firearms were not re-registered, and are still in circulation. Some citizens have not registered their firearms as they do not recognize or support the current Canadian firearms legislation.

Involvement Of The Criminal Element

The illicit firearms market is characterized by a wide range of criminal participants, particularly individual entrepreneurs to full-fledged members of criminal organizations. These participants drive the market, either as consumers or, occasionally, through random individual sales to other criminals.

Handgun

Predominantly, single criminally-inclined individuals and independent organized crime groups play significant roles in the Canadian illicit firearms supply chain. Independent organized crime groups appear to be involved in providing specialized goods and services to a number of other criminal organizations -- sub-contracting services that may facilitate importation/exportation and inter-provincial movement of drugs, precursors, firearms and cash. It is difficult to identify key individuals or crime groups involved in the firearms trade as this is often a secondary level criminal activity in support of their primary activity, which often involves the illicit drug market.

A large number of criminal organizations use firearms, thus the demand for this reusable commodity continues to fuel the illicit firearms market in Canada. Firearms can remain in circulation for many years and be used multiple times as they have an indefinite shelf life.

Emerging Trends

There has been an emergence of the use of unmarked and interchangeable pistol barrels. It is suspected the barrels are changed after being used in the commission of an offence in an effort to avoid identification through police ballistics tests. However, the RCMP Forensic Laboratory Services can still link the spent cartridge to the barrel; therefore, it is recommended that the seized firearm(s) be analyzed by the firearms lab.

Firearns

Some firearms dealers, located in British Columbia, have taken advantage of movie production companies filming in various Canadian locations. Under special permits, these companies are allowed to legally purchase firearms, in bulk, internationally, and import them to Canada for use on their movie sets. These local gun dealers have positioned themselves as intermediaries between the suppliers and these production companies to facilitate the importation of these firearms. In this process, these dealers have exploited a loophole in the Canadian firearms legislation, which specifies that firearms must be registered as soon as practicable. However, there is no exact time frame defined, allowing the dealers to circumvent the registration process and keep the firearms. Frequently, these firearms end up on the streets of Canada after being sold in illicit markets.

Hand guns and sawed off firearms are being utilized by criminals as “get out of jail free” cards, i.e., providing information on the location of firearms or physically turning firearms over to the police in exchange for reduced sentences or other considerations.

There has been an increase in the use of non-regulated firearms, such as replicas and air/pellet guns. For example, Airsoft devices, made in China, use a CO2 cartridge and only shoot a pellet. While these devices are not considered firearms and are not as deadly as the real thing, they are identical in weight, look and feel of real firearms.

Challenges To Assessing The Problem

Various legislative and procedural gaps are currently being exploited by the criminal element. Current firearms legislation lacks a clear definitive time frame within which to register firearms, allowing individuals to circumvent the law. The standards for deactivating firearms have been revised, to stress that modifications to deactivate a firearm must be permanent, making it extremely difficult to reactivate the firearm. A licensed gunsmith (under the Firearms Act) must confirm that the firearm has been modified according to the instructions set out in the guidelines, and notify the Registrar in writing whenever a firearm is deactivated.

The penalties for the possession of firearms, as currently applied, do not act as a sufficient deterrent for criminals. Oftentimes, firearms charges are dropped as incentive for cooperation from suspects on what is seen to be more significant offences, such as drug trafficking.

Implications For Canadian Law Enforcement

Criminals pose a threat to the general public when they engage in shooting rampages. Frequently, innocent bystanders become victims of this indiscriminate violence, thus compromising the safe homes, safe communities environment the RCMP aspires to achieve. Within the last year, several innocent bystanders were either wounded or killed by stray gunfire, often in or just outside their own homes. In Surrey, a resident of an apartment building and a gas fireplace serviceman working in the building became innocent victims of gang violence. In Toronto, a young mother of three was fatally shot, and three others were seriously wounded, at a backyard party, when bullets were fired in the vicinity. Also in Toronto, an 11-year-old boy was shot to death outside his home saying goodbye to birthday partygoers; he was caught in the middle of a gang gun battle.

The RCMP Operations Manual, under Section 4.14 (Tracing Firearms) and Appendix 4-11-1, (the Public Agents Firearms Regulations) delineates the reporting and disposal requirements for all seized firearms. Members should be cognizant of these directives when firearms are seized during investigations.

Outlook

Within the province of Ontario, under the Ontario Police Act, all police agencies are required to report all firearms seizures, once a year. Similar legislation, entitled the Public Agents Firearm Reporting Regulations, has been proposed by the Federal Government and is currently awaiting approval. It is anticipated that by 2008-10-31, each Canadian police agency will be compelled to report all seized firearms to the Federal Government, within 30 days of seizure, which is not currently standard procedure. In the interim, the Investment to Combat the Criminal Use of Firearms (ICCUF) has developed a standardized collection template to gather this information. All ICCUF members are responsible for promoting this template to all law enforcement agencies, and Criminal Intelligence Service Canada (CISC) has agreed to assist in doing so, using its pre-established network of provincial bureaus. Similarly, Quebec is modeling a provincial template after ICCUF’s; it should be ready for implementation in January 2008. Firearms seizures would be reported to the Quebec Ministry of Public Safety

In Canada, in recent years, there are larger amounts of firearms being seized per investigation, and this trend is expected to continue. It is also expected that the indiscriminate use of firearms during the commission of an offence will either increase or remain at the status quo; however, it is not anticipated to decrease.

1 The term crime guns refers to any firearm that is illegally possessed, used in a crime or suspected to have been used in a crime, or has an obliterated serial number.

To read Adobe Acrobat (PDF) files, you may need to download and install the free Adobe Reader available from Adobe Systems Incorporated.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Tendances actuelles du trafic et de la Contrebande d’armes à feu au Canada

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d'autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

23 novembre 2007

Tendances actuelles du trafic et de la Contrebande d’armes à feu au Canada

PDF PDF Version (360 Ko)

Table des matières

Objet

La présente Note de renseignements criminels donne un aperçu des tendances actuelles du trafic et de la contrebande d’armes à feu au Canada et de leur impact sur les agences d’application de la loi.

Principales constatations

  • Les armes à feu ou pièces d’armes à feu de contrebande entrant au Canada proviennent essentiellement des États-Unis. Ceci est dû, en grande partie, à la proximité immédiate de ce pays, des différences de la législation sur le contrôle des armes à feu et d’une importante base manufacturière d’armes à feu.
  • De plus grandes quantités d’armes à feu sont saisies par enquête et on s’attend à ce que cette tendance se maintienne.
  • Les choix d’armes à feu varient selon qu’il s’agit d’un milieu rural ou urbain et selon la région du Canada où les armes sont utilisées.
  • Il existe un manque d’uniformité au niveau de la collecte d’information sur les saisies d’armes à feu.

Contexte

Les armes à feu de contrebande ou pièces d’armes à feu de contrebande proviennent essentiellement des États-Unis, en grande partie, en raison de la proximité immédiate de ce pays, des différences de législations sur le contrôle des armes à feu et d’une importante base manufacturière d’armes à feu. Selon l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), en 2006, 96 pour cent de toutes les armes à feu saisies provenaient des États-Unis ou y avaient transité. La plupart de ces saisies ont été effectuées à des points d’entrée transfrontaliers, dans des véhicules privés et/ou commerciaux appartenant à des voyageurs américains légitimes et, de façon plus particulière, à des chasseurs et à des camionneurs n’ayant pas déclaré ces armes à feu. De plus, en 2006, 32 armes à feu ont été saisies entre des points d’entrée, comparativement à 12 en 2005. L’ASFC a également rapporté qu’une petite quantité de fusils ont été introduits de façon illicite au Canada à partir de divers autres pays dont la Belgique, la Suisse, la Géorgie, la Chine et Hong Kong.

Situation actuelle

Selon Statistique Canada, en 2006, les armes de poing étaient à l’origine de 108 des 190 décès attribuables à une arme à feu. Des 82 autres décès, 36 étaient attribuables à l’utilisation d’une carabine ou d’un fusil de chasse, 24 à une carabine ou à un fusil de chasse à canon tronçonné et 22 à l’utilisation d’un autre type ou d’un type inconnu d’arme à feu.

Selon les statistiques fournies par le Groupe des renseignements tactiques (GRT) du Service de soutien sur les armes à feu de la GRC, durant les trois premiers trimestres (du 1er janvier 2007 au 30 septembre 2007), 3 851 saisies d’armes à feu ont été signalées au GRT. De ces 3 851 armes à feu déclarées saisies ou récupérées, 52 pour cent étaient considérées comme des armes à feu liées à un crime1. Environ 90 pour cent des armes à feu déclarées saisies ou récupérées n’avaient pas de lien connu avec le crime organisé; seulement 0,5 % des armes à feu étaient considérées comme étant clairement reliées à un gang ou à une organisation criminelle.

Armes à feu liées à un crime — 3e trim. 2007


Armes à feu liées à un crime1 1er trim. 2e trim. 3e trim. Cumul annuel
Oui 882 569 548 1999
Non 716 660 322 1698
Inconnu 89 57 8 154
Total armes à feu 1687 1286 878 3851

Partout au Canada, les armes de poing demeurent l’arme à feu la plus couramment saisie dans les grands centres urbains, tandis que les armes d’épaule sont plus couramment saisies dans les régions rurales. Les données obtenues indiquent que les choix d’armes à feu varient selon la région du Canada et dépendent aussi de ce qui est offert dans les milieux ruraux ou urbains.

  • Dans une grande partie de la Colombie-Britannique, l’arme de poing est l’arme à feu illégale la plus couramment saisie; dans les grands centres urbains, le type d’arme de poing le plus couramment saisi est le pistolet semi-automatique.
  • Les éléments criminels établis dans les Prairies préfèrent les armes d’épaule car elles sont plus facilement accessibles dans les régions rurales.
  • En Saskatchewan et au Manitoba, on utilise couramment des armes d’épaule transformées ou à canon tronçonné. En Saskatchewan, des armes à air ou à plombs ont aussi été reliées à certains incidents et saisies mettant en cause des armes à feu.
  • En Ontario, on trouve des armes de poing et des armes d’épaule partout dans la province.
  • Au Québec, les armes d’épaule sont les armes à feu les plus couramment saisies, sauf dans les grands centres urbains, où il y a davantage de saisies d’armes de poing.
  • Dans les provinces de l’Atlantique, les armes d’épaule sont prédominantes, sauf dans les grands centres urbains, où on trouve plus couramment des armes de poing.
  • Dans les trois territoires situés dans le nord du pays, l’arme d’épaule est l’arme prédominante.

La circulation transfrontalière d’armes à feu demeure importante, en particulier en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Ontario, au Québec et dans la région de l’Atlantique, où sont concentrées un grand nombre des saisies.

  • En Colombie-Britannique, un grand nombre d’armes à feu proviennent des Etats-Unis, dont un grand nombre provenant de l’état de Washington.
  • En Alberta, la plupart de ces armes à feu proviennent de l’état de Washington, de l’Idaho et de la Californie.
  • En Ontario, le corridor I-75 est la principale route d’approvisionnement en armes à feu illégales provenant de la Floride, de la Géorgie, de l’Ohio et du Michigan.
  • Au Québec, les États suivants sont des sources d’approvisionnement importantes en armes à feu illégales : Vermont, New Hampshire et Maryland.
  • On fait état d’un nombre croissant d’armes à feu illégales introduites de façon illégale dans la région de l’Atlantique à partir de la frontière entre le Nouveau-Brunswick et le Maine.

La plupart des armes à feu introduites de façon illégale à partir des États-Unis sont des armes de poing semi-automatiques de haute qualité. Elles sont échangées couramment contre des stupéfiants dans la rue : le prix de l’arme de poing coïncide avec le prix courant de vente de la drogue dans la rue. À l’heure actuelle, le prix des armes de poing « haut de gamme » dans la rue est trois fois plus élevé que le prix de vente au détail. Les fusils-mitrailleurs sont également des armes à feu très recherchées. Une forte augmentation du nombre de fusils d’assaut et de fusils-mitrailleurs a également été constatée lors de saisies récentes.

Au Canada, les armes à feu se retrouvent entre les mains de criminels pour diverses raisons :

  1. Armes à feu perdues, disparues ou volées dans des résidences privées et des entreprises.
  2. Armes à feu qui, au départ, étaient désactivées et donc retirées du Registre canadien des armes à feu, mais qui ont été réactivées.
    Exemple : Une entreprise de C.-B. titulaire d’un permis de vente d’armes à feu rapporte des armes à feu désactivées au Registre canadien des armes à feu afin qu’elles soient retirées de la base de données. Les armes sont ensuite vendues dans la rue ou à un tiers qui les vend dans la rue. Des armes à feu saisies comprenaient des carabines de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, des pistolets-mitrailleurs et des mitraillettes; les armes sont ensuite vendues aux milieux criminels car elles sont facilement réactivées afin d’être utilisées.
  3. Armes à feu importées légalement par des vendeurs d’armes légitimes mais détournées vers le marché noir.
  4. Les membres de la famille d’une personne décédée qui possédait des armes à feu n’ayant jamais été enregistrées les vendent à d’autres personnes sans en informer le Registre canadien des armes à feu (RCAF).
  5. Système d’enregistrement des armes à autorisation restreinte (SEAAR) et armes à feu non enregistrées : lorsque le Système canadien d’information relativement aux armes à feu a remplacé le Système d’enregistrement des armes à autorisation restreinte, plusieurs armes à feu n’ont pas été réenregistrées et demeurent en circulation. Certains citoyens n’ont pas enregistré leurs armes à feu car ils ne reconnaissent pas ou n’appuient pas la législation canadienne actuelle sur les armes à feu.

Participation de l’élément criminel

Le marché illicite des armes à feu se caractérise par une vaste gamme de participants criminels allant d’entrepreneurs individuels à des membres à part entière d’organisations criminelles. Ces participants mènent le marché, que ce soit comme consommateurs ou, parfois, par le biais de ventes individuelles aléatoires à d’autres criminels.

armes de poing

Les individus ayant des prédispositions criminelles et les groupes indépendants du crime organisé jouent des rôles importants dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement en armes à feu illicites au Canada. Les groupes indépendants du crime organisé semblent être impliqués dans l’obtention des biens et des services spécialisés par d’autres organisations criminelles, confiant à des sous-traitants des services pouvant faciliter l’importation/l’exportation et la circulation interprovinciale de drogues, de précurseurs, d’armes à feu et d’espèces. Il est difficile d’identifier les individus clés ou groupes criminels étant donné que le trafic d’armes à feu constitue souvent une activité criminelle secondaire venant appuyer leur principale activité, qui comprend souvent le commerce illicite des drogues.

Un grand nombre d’organisations criminelles utilisent des armes à feu. Par conséquent, la demande concernant cette marchandise réutilisable continue d’alimenter le commerce illicite des armes à feu au Canada. Les armes à feu peuvent demeurer en circulation pendant de nombreuses années et être utilisées à plusieurs reprises car leur durée de conservation est indéfinie.

Nouvelles tendances

On voit de plus en plus de pistolets à canon ne portant aucune marque distinctive ou interchangeable. On suppose que les canons sont changés après que l’arme a servi à commettre une infraction, pour éviter l’identification résultant des essais balistiques de la police. Cependant, les Services de laboratoire judiciaire de la GRC peuvent encore relier la cartouche utilisée au canon; par conséquent, on recommande de faire analyser l’(les) arme(s) à feu saisie(s) par les laboratoires d’armes à feu.

Armes à feu

Certains trafiquants d’armes à feu en Colombie-Britannique tirent profit des sociétés de production cinématographiques qui tournent à divers endroits au Canada. En utilisant des permis spéciaux, ces sociétés peuvent acheter des armes à feu légalement, en vrac, au niveau international, et les importer au Canada pour les utiliser sur leurs plateaux de tournage. Ces trafiquants d’armes locaux servent d’intermédiaires aux fournisseurs et à ces sociétés de production pour faciliter l’importation de ces armes à feu. Par ce stratagème, ces trafiquants exploitent une faille dans la législation canadienne sur les armes à feu, qui veut que les armes à feu soient enregistrées dès que possible. Cependant, aucune période de temps n’est précisée, ce qui permet aux trafiquants d’échapper au processus d’enregistrement et de conserver les armes à feu. Souvent, ces armes à feu aboutissent dans les rues canadiennes après être vendues dans des marches illicites.

Les criminels utilisent les armes de poing et les armes à feu à canon tronçonné afin d’atténuer leurs sentences, c.-à-d. en fournissant de l’information sur l’emplacement des armes à feu ou en remettant des armes à feu à la police en échange de peines réduites ou d’autres considérations.

On assiste à une augmentation de l’utilisation d’armes à feu non réglementées, comme des reproductions et des armes à air comprimé/à plomb. Par exemple, les dispositifs Airsoft, sont fabriqués en Chine à l’aide d’une cartouche de CO2 et ne tirent qu’un plomb. Même si ces dispositifs ne sont pas considérés comme des armes à feu et ne sont pas aussi mortelles que ces dernières, ils ont les mêmes poids et apparence que des armes à feu réelles.

Difficultés dans l’évaluation du problème

Les criminels tirent profit de diverses lacunes procédurales et législatives. La législation actuelle sur les armes à feu ne prévoit aucun délai précis pour enregistrer les armes à feu, ce qui permet à certains de contourner la loi. On a révisé les normes permettant de désactiver les armes à feu afin de préciser que les modifications en vue de désactiver une arme à feu doivent être permanentes, rendant ainsi extrêmement difficile de réactiver l’arme. Un armurier agréé (en vertu de la Loi sur les armes à feu) doit confirmer que l’arme à feu a été modifiée en fonction des lignes directrices qui ont été fournies, et informer le directeur de l’enregistrement des armes à feu par écrit qu’une arme à feu a été désactivée.

Les peines actuelles imposées pour la possession d’armes à feu, ne sont pas un moyen de dissuasion suffisant pour les criminels. Les retraits d’accusations relatives aux armes à feu servent souvent à inciter des suspects à collaborer lors d’infractions considérées comme tant plus importantes, comme le trafic de drogue.

Incidence sur les agences d’application de la loi canadiennes

Les criminels menacent le public en général lorsqu’ils se livrent à des tueries. Des passants innocents deviennent souvent victimes de cette violence qui frappe, sans faire de distinction, compromettant ainsi la sécurité des foyers et des collectivités que la GRC désire établir. Au cours de la dernière année, plusieurs passants innocents ont été blessés ou tués en raison d’une balle perdue, et ce, souvent à l’intérieur ou en sortant tout juste de leur maison. À Surrey, un résident d’un immeuble d’habitation et un employé d’un service d’installations au gaz qui travaillait dans cet immeuble sont devenus d’innocentes victimes de la violence des gangs. À Toronto, une jeune femme a été tuée, laissant dans le deuil ses trois enfants, et trois autres personnes ont subi de graves blessures lors d’une fête dans une cour arrière, alors que des balles ont été tirées dans le voisinage. Également à Toronto, un jeune garçon de 11 ans a été abattu à l’extérieur de chez lui alors qu’il disait au revoir aux amis venus fêter un anniversaire : il s’est trouvé en plein milieu d’une bataille de gang de rue.

Dans le Manuel des opérations de la GRC, à l’article 4.14 (Dépistage des armes à feu) et à l’Annexe 4-11-1 (Règlement sur les armes à feu des agents publics), on précise les exigences en matière de rapport et de disposition qui sont applicables à toutes les armes à feu qui sont saisies. Les membres doivent être au courant de ces directives lorsque des armes à feu sont saisies dans le cadre d’enquêtes.

Perspectives

En Ontario, en vertu de la Loi de police, tous les services de police doivent faire état de toutes les saisies d’armes à feu, de façon annuelle. Le gouvernement fédéral a proposé une réglementation similaire, intitulée Règlement sur les armes à feu des agents publics, et attend qu’elle soit approuvée. On prévoit que d’ici le 31 octobre 2008, chaque service de police canadien sera tenu d’informer le gouvernement fédéral de toutes les armes à feu saisies, dans les 30 jours suivant la saisie, ce qui n’est pas fait de façon uniforme actuellement. Entre-temps, les responsables de l’initiative Investissements dans la lutte contre l’utilisation d’armes à feu à des fins criminelles ont élaboré un modèle de collecte normalisé pour recueillir cette information. Tous les participants à cette initiative doivent promouvoir l’utilisation de ce modèle auprès de tous les organismes d’application de la loi, et le Service canadien de renseignements criminels (SCRC) a accepté de participer à ces activités de promotion, en faisant appel à son réseau de bureaux provinciaux. De même, le Québec est à préparer un modèle provincial inspiré du modèle créé dans le cadre de l’initiative précitée; il devrait être prêt à être mis en œuvre en janvier 2008. Les saisies d’armes à feu seraient déclarées au ministre de la Sécurité publique du Québec.

Au Canada, au cours des dernières années, les saisies d’armes à feu par enquête se font plus nombreuses et on s’attend à ce que cette tendance se maintienne. On s’attend aussi à ce que l’utilisation générale d’armes à feu pour commettre une infraction augmente ou reste la même; on ne s’attend pas cependant à ce qu’elle diminue.

1Toute arme à feu illégale, utilisée pour commettre un crime ou soupçonnée d’avoir été utilisée pour commettre un crime ou dont on a modifié le numéro de série.

Pour consulter les fichiers Adobe Acrobat (PDF), il peut être nécessaire de télécharger et installer le lecteur Adobe gratuit fourni par Adobe Systems Incorporated.