Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Amendments to Regulations Supporting the Firearms Act

Canadian Firearms Program

The following summarizes the key substantive changes to the regulations supporting the Firearms Act. The amendments are coming into force in stages to give affected businesses, individuals and public agencies time to develop or adjust appropriate procedures to comply.

Regulation Name:

Importation and Exportation of Firearms Regulations (Individuals)

(Only provisions applying to temporary imports by non-residents are currently in place.)

Effective or Anticipated In-Force Date: to be published in Canada Gazette (www.gazette.gc.ca)

Importation and Exportation of Firearms Regulations (Businesses)

Effective or Anticipated In-Force Date: to be published in Canada Gazette (www.gazette.gc.ca)

Firearms Marking Regulations

Effective or Anticipated In-Force Date: to be published in Canada Gazette (www.gazette.gc.ca)

Key Amendment
The regulations set out specific requirements for permanently stamping or engraving information of newly manufactured or newly imported firearms. They specify what markings will be required, the minimum size of the markings and where markings will need to be placed. There are exemptions for certain temporary imports, including firearms being “specially imported” by a licensed business or brought to Canada by a non-resident for lawful purposes.

Effect of Amendment
These are new regulations that enable Canada to meet its international obligations under the Protocol against the Illicit Manufacturing of and Trafficking in Firearms, Their Parts and Components and Ammunition, supplementing the United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime and the Inter-American Convention Against the Illicit Manufacturing of and Trafficking in Firearms, Ammunition, Explosives, and Other Related Materials.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Modifications des règlements d'application de la Loi sur les armes à feu

Programme canadien des armes à feu

Voir ci-dessous les modifications de fond clés apportées aux règlements d’application de la Loi sur les armes à feu. Les modifications entrent en vigueur par étape afin de donner aux entreprises, aux particuliers et aux agences publiques le temps d’élaborer ou de restructurer les procédures appropriées afin de s’y conformer.

Nom du règlement:

Rglement sur l'importation et l'exportation d'armes à feu (particuliers)

(Seules les dispositions applicables aux importations temporaires par des non-résidents sont en place actuellement.)

Date d'entrée en vigueur ou date d'entrée en vigueur : à publier dans la Gazette du Canada (www.gazette.gc.ca)

Règlement sur l'importation et l'exportation d'armes à feu (entreprises)

Date d'entrée en vigueur ou date d'entrée en vigueur : à publier dans la Gazette du Canada (www.gazette.gc.ca)

Règlement sur le marquage des armes à feu

Date d’entrée en vigueur ou date d’entrée en vigueur : à publier dans la Gazette du Canada (www.gazette.gc.ca)

Modification clés

Le règlement établit des exigences spécifiques quant à l’estampage ou à la gravure permanente d’armes à feu nouvellement fabriquées ou importées. Ces exigences précisent quel marquage est nécessaire, la taille minimale du marquage et l’endroit précis où apposer le marquage. Il existe des exemptions pour certaines armes à feu importées temporairement, y compris les « armes à feu importées de façon spéciale » par une entreprise titulaire d’un permis ou qui sont apportées au Canada par un non-résident à des fins légitimes.

Effet des modification

Ce règlement est nouveau et permettra au Canada de satisfaire à ses obligations internationales en vertu du Protocole contre la fabrication et le trafic illicites d’armes à feu, de leurs pièces, éléments et munitions, additionnel à la Convention des Nations Unies contre la criminalité transnationale organisée et de la Convention interaméricaine contre la fabrication et le trafic illicites des armes à feu, munitions, explosifs et autres matériels connexes.