Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

22 Long Rifle calibre magazines for 10/22 platform firearms

***In light of several inquiries received recently regarding the legal status of 22 Long Rifle calibre magazines for 10/22 platform firearms, please see the following information:***

This further explains the Special Bulletin for Business No. 72 that was issued in September 2013.

The maximum capacity of a cartridge magazine is set out in Part 4 of the Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited, Restricted or Non-Restricted (the Regulations) under the Criminal Code. Pursuant to the Regulations, a magazine that has a capacity which exceeds the maximum permitted capacity is a prohibited device.

Specifically, paragraph 3 (1)(b) of the Regulations prohibit a cartridge magazine that is capable of containing more than 10 cartridges of the type for which the magazine was originally designed and that is designed or manufactured for use in a semi-automatic handgun that is commonly available in Canada.

22 Long Rifle calibre magazines designed or manufactured for 10/22 platform rifles are also inherently designed or manufactured for 10/22 platform handguns. Because 22 Long Rifle calibre 10/22 platform magazines are designed or manufactured for use in a semi-automatic handgun, they are prohibited devices if they are capable of containing more than 10 cartridges. The 10 cartridge limit for the 10/22 platform applies irrespective of the type of firearm it is used in.

Questions and Answers

What are the latest changes to the legal status of 22 Long Rifle calibre magazines designed for the 10/22 platform of firearms?

The legal status of 22 Long Rifle calibre magazines designed for the 10/22 platform of firearms has not changed.

The Regulations prohibit a cartridge magazine that is capable of containing more than 10 cartridges of the type for which the magazine was originally designed and that is designed or manufactured for use in a semi-automatic handgun that is commonly available in Canada.

What magazines are prescribed as prohibited?

Magazines designed for 22 Long Rifle calibre 10/22 platform firearms that have not been altered, or "pinned", so that they can hold more than 10 cartridges are prohibited devices.

Are 10 cartridge 22 Long Rifle calibre 10/22 platform magazines prohibited?

No. Factory made 22 Long Rifle calibre 10/22 platform magazines that cannot hold more than 10 cartridges are not prohibited.

Am I criminally in possession of a 22 Long Rifle calibre magazine?

If you are in possession of a 22 Long Rifle calibre magazine for 10/22 platform firearms that is not permanently altered, or "pinned" to meet the maximum capacity of a cartridge magazine, as set out in the Regulations, you may be in possession of a prohibited device.

If I am in possession of a 10/22 Long Rifle calibre magazine, how do I comply with the law?

A 10/22 platform magazine permanently altered, or "pinned", so that it cannot hold more than 10 cartridges, is no longer considered to be prohibited. Subsections 3(4) and 3(5) of Part 4 of the Regulations as outlined below describe the acceptable methods of altering or re-manufacturing a cartridge magazine so that it cannot hold more than the legal limit.

  • 3(4) A cartridge magazine described in subsection (1) that has been altered or re-manufactured so that it is not capable of containing more than five or ten cartridges, as the case may be, of the type for which it was originally designed is not a prohibited device as prescribed by that subsection if the modification to the magazine cannot be easily removed and the magazine cannot be easily further altered so that it is so capable of containing more than five or ten cartridges, as the case may be.
  • 3(5) For the purposes of subsection (4), altering or re-manufacturing a cartridge magazine includes:
    • (a) the indentation of its casing by forging, casting, swaging or impressing;
    • (b) in the case of a cartridge magazine with a steel or aluminum casing, the insertion and attachment of a plug, sleeve, rod, pin, flange or similar device, made of steel or aluminum, as the case may be, or of a similar material, to the inner surface of its casing by welding, brazing or any other similar method; or
    • (c) in the case of a cartridge magazine with a casing made of a material other than steel or aluminum, the attachment of a plug, sleeve, rod, pin, flange or similar device, made of steel or of a material similar to that of the magazine casing, to the inner surface of its casing by welding, brazing or any other similar method or by applying a permanent adhesive substance, such as a cement or an epoxy or other glue.

Lawful disposition options are available if you no longer wish to possess an overcapacity magazine. Please contact the Canadian Firearms Program at 1-800-731-4000 for further details.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Chargeurs contenant des munitions de calibre 22 Long Rifle pour les armes à feu de type 10/22

***Pour répondre aux nombreuses et récentes demandes de renseignements sur le statut juridique des chargeurs contenant des munitions de calibre 22 Long Rifle conçus pour les armes à feu de type 10/22, nous vous communiquons l'information suivante:***

Cette information explique davantage le Bulletin spécial à l'intention des entreprises – No 72 qui a été émis en septembre 2013.

La capacité maximale d'un chargeur est précisée dans la partie 4 du Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d'armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés, à autorisation restreinte ou sans restriction (le « Règlement ») en vertu du Code criminel. Conformément au Règlement, un chargeur dont la capacité dépasse la capacité maximale permise est prohibé.

En particulier, alinéa 3 (1)(b) du Règlement interdit tout chargeur de plus de dix cartouches du type pour lequel il a été initialement conçu et qui est conçu ou fabriqué pour servir dans une arme de poing semi-automatique qui est habituellement disponible au Canada.

Les chargeurs de calibre 22 Long Rifle conçus ou fabriqués pour les carabines 10/22 sont aussi intrinsèquement conçus ou fabriqués pour les armes de poing 10/22. Parce que les chargeurs des armes à feu de type 10/22 de calibre 22 Long Rifle sont conçus ou fabriqués pour être utilisés avec une arme de poing semi-automatique, ce sont des dispositifs prohibés s'ils peuvent contenir plus de 10 cartouches. La limite de 10 cartouches par chargeur pour les carabines 10/22 s'applique indépendamment du type d'arme à feu avec laquelle le chargeur est utilisé.

Questions et réponses

Quels sont les derniers changements au statut juridique des chargeurs contenant des munitions de calibre 22 Long Rifle conçus pour les armes à feu de type 10/22?

Le statut juridique des chargeurs pour les munitions de calibre 22 Long Rifle conçus pour les armes à feu de type 10/22 n'a pas changé.

Le Règlement interdit tout chargeur de plus de 10 cartouches du type pour lequel il a été initialement conçu et qui est conçu ou fabriqué pour servir dans une arme de poing semi-automatique qui est habituellement disponible au Canada.

Quels chargeurs sont prohibés?

Les chargeurs conçus pour recevoir des cartouches de calibre 22 Long Rifle pour les armes à feu de type 10/22 qui n'ont pas été modifiés ou « clavetés » afin qu'ils puissent contenir plus de 10 cartouches sont des dispositifs prohibés.

Les chargeurs des armes de type 10/22 de calibre 22 Long Rifle qui contiennent 10 cartouches sont-ils prohibés?

Non. Les chargeurs des armes de type 10/22 de calibre 22 Long Rifle fabriqués en usine qui ne peuvent pas contenir plus de 10 cartouches ne sont pas prohibés.

Est-ce que je commets un crime si je possède un chargeur pour des munitions de calibre 22 Long Rifle?

Si vous êtes en possession d'un chargeur pour des munitions de calibre 22 Long Rifle pour les armes à feu de type 10/22 qui n'a pas été modifié ou « claveté » de manière permanente pour respecter la capacité maximale indiquée dans le Règlement, vous pouvez être en possession d'un dispositif prohibé.

Comment puis-je respecter la loi?

Un chargeur d'arme de type 10/22 modifié ou « claveté » de manière permanente afin qu'il ne puisse pas contenir un plus de 10 cartouches, n'est plus considéré comme prohibé. Les paragraphes 3(4) et 3(5) de la partie 4 du Règlement, tels qu'ils sont énoncés ci-dessous, décrivent les méthodes acceptables de modification ou de remise à neuf d'un chargeur de cartouches pour qu'il ne puisse pas contenir un plus grand nombre de cartouches que la limite permise par la loi.

  • 3(4) Un chargeur visé au paragraphe (1) qui a été modifié ou refabriqué de façon à ne pouvoir contenir plus de cinq ou de dix cartouches, selon le cas, du type pour lequel il a été initialement conçu ne constitue pas un dispositif prohibé aux termes du paragraphe (1) si la modification apportée au chargeur ne peut être facilement défaite et si le chargeur ne peut être facilement modifié à nouveau pour pouvoir contenir plus de cinq ou de dix cartouches, selon le cas.
  • 3(5) Pour l'application du paragraphe (4), la modification ou la refabrication d'un chargeur vise notamment :
    • a) l'altération de son boîtier au moyen de dépressions créées par forgeage, coulage, matriçage ou estampage;
    • b) s'il s'agit d'un chargeur dont le boîtier est fait d'acier ou d'aluminium, l'insertion et la fixation d'une pièce — notamment une cheville, une gaine, une tige ou un collet — faite d'acier ou d'aluminium, selon le cas, ou d'un matériau similaire, aux parois intérieures du boîtier par soudage, brasage ou tout autre procédé analogue;
    • c) s'il s'agit d'un chargeur dont le boîtier n'est pas fait d'acier ou d'aluminium, la fixation d'une pièce — notamment une cheville, une gaine, une tige ou un collet — faite d'acier ou d'un matériau similaire à celui du boîtier, aux parois intérieures du boîtier par soudage, brasage ou tout autre procédé analogue ou par application d'un adhésif permanent, tel un ciment, une résine époxyde ou une autre colle.

Il existe des dispositions légales si vous ne voulez plus posséder un chargeur à surcapacité. Veuillez communiquer avec le Programme canadien des armes à feu au 1-800-731-4000 pour obtenir des précisions.