Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Canadian Firearms Program

Important notices


Licensing requirements vary depending on whether you are an individual or a business. There are also special requirements for shooting clubs and ranges, target shooters, executors and heirs, and collectors.

Report any instances of compromised firearms licences and fraudulent sales.

Renew your firearms licence online using Individual Web Services.


In Canada, there are three different classes of firearms:

  • non-restricted
  • restricted
  • prohibited

You can only register a restricted or prohibited firearm if you have a Possession and Acquisition Licence (PAL) and the firearm was verified. There is no need to register non-restricted firearms in Canada.

Safety training

You must pass a firearms safety training course before you can apply for a Possession and Acquisition Licence.