Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Inherited Firearms

Information for Executors

While the Firearms Act sets out how firearms may be transferred and who may possess them, provincial estate laws determine the role of the executor. In Quebec, the Executor of an Estate is referred to as the Liquidator of the Succession.

While estate law may vary from province to province, an executor generally has the same rights the deceased had to possess firearms, while the estate is being settled. Even if an individual is not personally licensed to possess firearms, they can possess a firearm left in an estate for a reasonable amount of time while the estate is being settled.

An individual who is under a court-ordered prohibition from possessing firearms cannot take possession of firearms left in an estate. They can, however, act as executor and facilitate the transfer of the firearm(s) to someone who may lawfully acquire them.

If the deceased owner did not have

  1. a firearms possession licence AND
  2. a registration certificate for their restricted or prohibited firearm*,

they were in illegal possession of the firearm. This puts the executor at risk of penalties for possessing the firearm unless they act quickly to comply with the law.

To act as the executor and obtain information on the estate firearms, the executor is required to provide the following documentation to the RCMP Canadian Firearms Program (CFP):

  • form RCMP 6016 Declaration of Authority to Act on Behalf of an Estate and
  • confirmation that the registered owner is deceased:
    • the death certificate, or
    • letters of probate, or
    • a document (on letterhead) from a police department or coroner

Transporting and Storing Firearms

All firearms must be unloaded and transported or stored in a safe and secure manner to deter loss, theft and accidents, as set out in the Storage, Display, Transportation and Handling of Firearms by Individuals Regulations.

There are two options for shipping any class of registered firearm:

  • using Canada Post's most secure method which requires a signature upon delivery, or
  • via a licensed carrier to a location inside or outside Canada. This is the only option for shipping prohibited firearms other than prohibited handguns. 

More information can be obtained by contacting a Chief Firearms Officer (CFO).

Transferring Ownership of a Registered Firearm

When a firearm is transferred to a new owner, a specific process must be followed:

  • the executor/transferor must ensure the new owner is eligible to acquire and possess the firearm, and
  • for registered restricted or prohibited firearms*, the transfer is initiated by calling the CFP at 1-800-731-4000. The entire transfer process can be completed over the phone or by requesting a paper application (form RCMP 5492).

Note: Both the executor and the new owner must participate in the transfer process. The firearms licence number of the deceased owner and the new eligible owner must be provided. The registration certificate number and firearm information (make, model, action, type, caliber, shots, barrel length and serial number) for each firearm must also be provided.

Prohibited Firearms

  • Prohibited firearms can be transferred to an individual who has a Possession and Acquisition Licence (PAL) which includes the appropriate prohibited licence privilege.
  • If the deceased individual had prohibited privileges on his or her licence, prohibited firearms in the estate can be transferred to certain family members even if they do not have grandfathered privileges, providing:
    • the prohibited firearm is a grandfathered handgun described in subsection 12(6.1) of the Firearms Act, with a barrel equal to or less than 105 mm in length or designed or adapted to discharge .25 or .32 caliber cartridges; and
    • the prohibited handgun was manufactured before 1946; and
    • the individual is the spouse, common-law partner, brother, sister, child or grandchild of the deceased registered owner; and
    • the handgun is used for a permitted purpose such as target shooting or as part of a collection.

Firearm Verification

Verification of firearm information such as make, model, action, type, caliber, shots, barrel length and serial number may be required to transfer or register an inherited firearm. Contact the CFP for assistance in verifying a firearm.

Ineligible Heirs or Unwanted Firearms

If there is no eligible heir, or if the heir does not want an inherited firearm, the estate may choose one of the following options:

  • sell or give the firearm to any individual, museum or business with a licence to acquire that particular type of firearm through the official transfer process; or
  • export it to a country that allows it. The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (1-800-267-8376) can provide information on export permit requirements. For restricted or prohibited firearms, an Authorization to Transport (ATT) is required and can be obtained from the provincial or territorial CFO; or
  • have the firearm permanently deactivated by a gunsmith so it no longer meets the definition of a firearm and is therefore exempted from the requirements of the Firearms Act; or
  • surrender the firearm to a police officer or a firearms officer for disposal. These authorities must be contacted beforehand.

Other Requirements

If the deceased owner had a firearms licence, it should be returned, along with a copy of their death certificate, to the following address:

Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Canadian Firearms Program
PO Box 1200
Miramichi, New Brunswick E1N 5Z3

Licence Requirements

To legally acquire a firearm by any means, including through inheritance, the recipient is required to hold a Possession and Acquisition Licence (PAL). Form RCMP 5592 is required to apply for a PAL or to upgrade licence privileges for different firearm classes. A PAL is valid only for the class or classes of firearms listed on it.


For more information, contact the CFP.

This fact sheet is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act and their corresponding regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Armes à feu reçues en héritage

Renseignements à l'intention des exécuteurs testamentaires

Bien que la Loi sur les armes à feu établisse comment les armes à feu peuvent être cédées et qui peut en avoir en sa possession, ce sont les lois provinciales sur les successions qui déterminent le rôle de l'exécuteur testamentaire. Au Québec, l'exécuteur testamentaire est appelé le liquidateur de la succession.

Même si les dispositions législatives sur les successions peuvent varier d'une province à l'autre, pendant le règlement de la succession l'exécuteur jouit généralement des mêmes droits de posséder des armes à feu que ceux dont bénéficiait le défunt propriétaire. Par conséquent, même s'il n'est pas lui-même titulaire d'un permis l'autorisant à posséder des armes à feu, l'exécuteur peut habituellement garder en sa possession, pendant une période de temps raisonnable, une arme à feu léguée par testament tandis qu'il s'occupe de liquider la succession.

Lorsqu'une ordonnance du tribunal interdit à une personne de posséder des armes à feu, celle-ci ne peut prendre possession des armes à feu qui lui sont léguées par testament. Mais elle peut tout de même servir d'exécuteur et faciliter la cession de ces armes à feu à une personne qui peut légalement les acquérir.

Si le défunt propriétaire n'avait pas :

  1. de permis de possession d'armes à feu,
  2. de certificat d'enregistrement pour son arme à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibée*,

il était donc en possession illégale de l'arme à feu. Cette situation peut entraîner pour l'exécuteur des risques de sanction, à moins qu'il ne prenne rapidement des mesures pour se conformer à la loi.

Pour agir à titre d'exécuteur testamentaire et obtenir des renseignements sur les armes à feu laissées en héritage, l'exécuteur doit fournir les documents suivants au Programme canadien des armes à feu (PCAF) de la GRC :

  • le formulaire GRC 6016 Déclaration relative à l'autorisation d'agir au nom d'une succession,
  • la confirmation que le propriétaire enregistré est décédé :
    • le certificat de décès ou
    • les lettres d'homologation ou
    • un document (sur papier à en-tête) d'un service de police ou d'un coroner.

Transport et entreposage des armes à feu

Toute arme à feu doit être déchargée et transportée ou entreposée de façon sécuritaire, conformément au Règlement sur l'entreposage, l'exposition, le transport et le maniement des armes à feu par des particuliers, afin d'éviter la perte ou le vol de l'arme à feu ou un accident.

Deux options sont offertes pour l'expédition d'une arme à feu enregistrée, quelle que soit sa classe :

  • utiliser le mode d'expédition le plus sécuritaire offert par Postes Canada pour lequel une signature à la livraison est exigée;
  • faire appel à un transporteur titulaire d'un permis pour expédier l'arme à feu à un autre endroit au Canada ou à l'étranger. Il s'agit de la seule option pour expédier des armes à feu prohibées autres que des armes de poing prohibées.

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, veuillez consulter le site Web du PCAF ou communiquer avec un contrôleur des armes à feu (CAF).

Cession de propriété d'une arme à feu enregistrée

Lorsqu'une arme à feu est cédée à un nouveau propriétaire, il faut suivre un processus précis :

  • l'exécuteur/le cédant doit s'assurer que le nouveau propriétaire remplit les conditions requises pour acquérir et posséder l'arme à feu
  • pour les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibées*, qui sont enregistrées, il faut téléphoner au 1-800-731-4000 pour amorcer la cession. Tout le processus de cession peut se faire par téléphone ou sur papier, en se procurant un formulaire de demande papier (formulaire GRC 5492).

Note : L'exécuteur et le nouveau propriétaire doivent tous les deux prendre part au processus de cession. Il faut fournir le numéro de permis d'armes à feu du défunt propriétaire ainsi que celui du nouveau propriétaire. Il faut aussi fournir le numéro du certificat d'enregistrement et les renseignements relatifs à chacune des armes à feu (marque, modèle, mécanisme, type, calibre, capacité du chargeur, longueur du canon et numéro de série).

Armes à feu prohibées

  • Des armes à feu prohibées peuvent être cédées à un particulier qui est titulaire d'un permis de possession et d'acquisition (PPA) assorti des privilèges appropriés relatifs aux armes à feu prohibées.
  • Si le défunt était titulaire d'un permis assorti de privilèges relatifs aux armes à feu prohibées, les armes à feu prohibées laissées en héritage peuvent être cédées à certains membres de sa famille même si ces derniers ne possèdent pas de droits acquis, seulement si :
    • l'arme à feu prohibée est une arme de poing assortie de droits acquis, visée par le paragraphe 12(6.1) de la Loi sur les armes à feu, pourvue d'un canon dont la longueur ne dépasse pas 105 mm ou conçue ou adaptée pour tirer des cartouches de calibre 25 ou 32;
    • l'arme de poing prohibée a été fabriquée avant 1946;
    • l'héritier est l'époux, le conjoint de fait, le frère, la sœur, l'enfant ou le petit-fils ou petite-fille du défunt propriétaire au nom de qui l'arme à feu est enregistrée;
    • l'arme de poing est utilisée à une fin autorisée, comme le tir à cible ou comme pièce de collection.

Vérification de l'arme à feu

La vérification des renseignements relatifs à l'arme à feu comme la marque, le modèle, le mécanisme, le type, le calibre, la capacité du chargeur, la longueur du canon et le numéro de série, peut être requise dans le cadre d'une cession ou de l'enregistrement d'une arme reçue en héritage. Contactez le PCAF pour obtenir de l'aide pour la vérification d'une arme à feu.

Héritiers non admissibles ou armes à feu non voulues

Si aucun héritier n'est admissible à posséder des armes à feu ou si l'héritier ne veut pas des armes à feu laissées en héritage, l'exécuteur testamentaire peut choisir l'une des options suivantes :

  • vendre ou donner l'arme à feu à un particulier, à un musée ou à une entreprise titulaire d'un permis l'autorisant à acquérir le type d'arme à feu en question au moyen du processus officiel de cession;
  • exporter l'arme à feu vers un pays qui le permet : Affaires mondiales Canada (1-800-267-8376) peut fournir des renseignements sur les exigences concernant la licence d'exportation. Pour les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte ou les armes à feu prohibées, il est nécessaire d'obtenir du CAF de la province/du territoire une autorisation de transport (AT);
  • faire neutraliser de façon permanente l'arme à feu par un armurier, de sorte qu'elle ne corresponde plus à la définition d'arme à feu et soit, par conséquent, exemptée des exigences relatives à la Loi sur les armes à feu;
  • remettre l'arme à feu à un policier ou à un préposé aux armes à feu pour qu'il en dispose. Il faut communiquer avec ces autorités au préalable.

Autres exigences

Si le défunt propriétaire était titulaire d'un permis d'armes à feu, il faut faire parvenir ce permis et une copie de l'acte de décès à l'adresse suivante :

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Programme canadien des armes à feu
C.P. 1200
Miramichi (Nouveau-Brunswick) E1N 5Z3

Exigences relatives au permis

Pour pouvoir acquérir légalement une arme à feu, peu importe de quelle façon et notamment par héritage, le bénéficiaire doit détenir un permis de possession et d'acquisition (PPA). Pour obtenir un PPA ou pour reclasser un permis pour des classes d'armes à feu différentes, il faut remplir le formulaire GRC 5592. Un PPA n'est valide que pour les classes d'armes à feu inscrites sur le formulaire.

Renseignements

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, contactez le PCAF.

Cette fiche a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu ainsi que leurs règlements d'application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires et les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.