Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Target Shooters

Alternate Version

PDF version (224 KB)

This fact sheet explains how the Firearms Act applies to individuals who wish to use a firearm for target shooting.

As set out in the Shooting Club and Shooting Ranges Regulations, a "shooting range" means a place that is designed or intended for the safe discharge, on a regular and structured basis, of firearms for the purpose of target practice or target shooting competitions. All shooting ranges operate under the approval of the Chief Firearms Officer (CFO) of the province or territory in which they are located, unless:

  • They are on the premises of a licensed firearms business and are used only by licensed owners and employees of that business; or
  • They are only used by public officers, such as police officers, in relation to their lawful employment duties.

Individuals may call 1-800-731-4000 to confirm whether a club or range they are interested in joining has been approved by the provincial or territorial CFO.

Authorizations to Transport Restricted Firearms and Prohibited Handguns

Firearms owners need an Authorization to Transport (ATT) issued by a CFO in order to transport a restricted or prohibited firearm to or from anywhere in Canada. It is only valid for the specific locations indicated on it. A separate ATT will be required for additional locations.

For Target Practice

An ATT can be issued for a term of:

  • up to five years; or
  • up to the expiry date of the firearms licence; or
  • up to the expiry of the shooting club membership.

An ATT may be issued for a relatively longer period to cover multiple trips for the same purpose. Example: transport to or from a shooting club or range for target practice. In this case, form RCMP 5490 is to be completed and submitted to the office of the applicable CFO (one can also apply by phone by calling 1-800-731-4000. A copy of the valid shooting club membership must be provided as well.

Probationary Club Memberships

Some shooting clubs or ranges have introduced "probationary" club memberships. These temporary memberships are designed for potential club or range members who are new to the club or previous members who have not actively used the range for a specified period of time (i.e., 2-3 years). The terms and conditions of these memberships (such as duration and attendance at range safety seminars) are established and monitored by the shooting club or range.

For the purposes of the issuance of a long-term ATT for target practice, CFO's generally require that the ATT applicant has a "full" club membership (i.e., has met the terms and conditions of the probationary membership and has been issued a subsequent "full" club or range membership).

Licence Renewal

On renewal of a firearms licence (every five years as required by law) and in accordance with subsection 67(2) of the Firearms Act, a CFO is required to review and confirm the purpose for which an individual possesses restricted or prohibited firearms, except for firearms which are relics as set out in subsection 67(4).

Allowable purposes for possession, under paragraph 28(b) of the Firearms Act, include: a) target practice or target shooting competition (under certain ATT conditions or at an approved shooting club or range); or b) to form part of a gun collection, if the individual meets certain criteria. As part of the confirmation of purpose, the CFO "…shall decide whether any of those firearms or handguns that the individual possesses are being used for…" target practice or competition or collection.

Further, the CFO has the authority under subsection 15(1) of the Shooting Clubs and Shooting Ranges Regulations to request written confirmation from a shooting club or range of "…the participation, if any, of a current or past member…of the shooting club…in target practice or target shooting competitions within the previous five years…." The CFO is able to confirm the purpose for which an individual indicated he or she was acquiring the firearm by looking at an individual's history of ATT issuance over the term of their licence (for target practice) and, if necessary, by reviewing the records kept by a club or range.

For Other Purposes

Restricted or prohibited firearm owners are also required to obtain an ATT for purposes other than target shooting. Examples of this would be transportation of a restricted or prohibited firearm due to change of address, or for consignment sale, repair and appraisal.

The information required to issue the ATT in this case may be provided to the CFO of the province or territory in which the firearm owner resides by calling 1-800-731-4000. Once the ATT has been approved, confirmation will be sent to the owner .

Please note that when the owner of a firearm is moving and plans to relocate a restricted or prohibited firearm, an ATT must be obtained prior to the move. This will also serve to update their address and ensure they receive relevant and timely information related to the Firearms Act. Moving a restricted or prohibited firearm without an ATT could result in charges being laid under the Criminal Code.

Non-Resident Target Shooters

For an individual without a valid Canadian firearms licence, a Non-Resident Firearm Declaration (form RCMP 5589) that has been confirmed by a customs officer at his or her point of entry has the same effect as a firearms licence for up to 60 days. Individuals who are bringing a restricted firearm into Canada will generally need to have a customs officer confirm their declaration before applying for an ATT by phone. All of the CFO offices can be reached from Monday to Friday, between 9 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., at 1-800-731-4000.

Important Notice

Until further notice, due to ongoing litigation, Quebec residents are required to register non-restricted firearms with the Canadian Firearms Program.

Information

For more information, contact the CFP.

This fact sheet is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act and their corresponding regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Tireurs à la cible

Cette fiche d'information explique de quelle façon la Loi sur les armes à feu s'applique à vous si vous souhaitez utiliser une arme à feu pour le tir à la cible.

Le Règlement sur les clubs de tir et les champs de tir précise qu'un « champ de tir » est un lieu conçu ou aménagé pour le tir sécuritaire, sur une base régulière et structurée, d'armes à feu pour le tir à la cible ou les compétitions de tir. Tous les champs de tir doivent être agréés par le contrôleur des armes à feu (CAF) de la province ou du territoire où ils sont situés, sauf dans l'un ou l'autre des cas suivants :

  • Ils font partie des locaux d'une entreprise d'armes à feu titulaire d'un permis et ils ne sont utilisés que par les propriétaires et les employés titulaires de permis de l'entreprise;
  • Ils sont utilisés exclusivement par des fonctionnaires publics, comme des policiers, dans le cadre de leurs fonctions.

Si vous souhaitez devenir membre d'un club ou d'un champ de tir et que voulez savoir si celui-ci est agréé, communiquez avec le CAF de votre province ou territoire en composant le 1-800-731-4000.

Autorisation de transport d'armes à feu à autorisation restreinte et d'armes de poing prohibées

Vous devez obtenir une autorisation de transport (AT) d'un CAF pour pouvoir transporter une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibée à n'importe quel endroit au Canada. Une AT peut être autorisé par un CAF comme condition d'un permis d'armes à feu ou comme AT sur papier, dépendant des fins de transport.

Pour obtenir une AT, veuillez contacter 1 800 731-4000 ou remplissez le formulaire GRC 5490.

Renouvellement de permis

Au moment du renouvellement d'un permis d'armes à feu (tous les cinq ans comme l'exige la loi), et conformément au paragraphe 67(2) de la Loi sur les armes à feu, le CAF est tenu d'examiner et de confirmer le motif pour lequel le particulier possède une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibée, sauf dans le cas des armes à feu qui ont une valeur de commémoration au sens du paragraphe 67(4).

Les motifs de possession établis à l'alinéa 28b) de la Loi sur les armes à feu sont les suivants : (i) tir à la cible ou participation à une compétition de tir (conformément à certaines conditions d'une AT ou sous les auspices d'un club de tir ou d'un champ de tir agréé), et (ii) collection d'armes à feu, si le particulier remplit certaines conditions. Dans le cadre du processus de confirmation du motif de possession, le CAF doit déterminer si les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte ou les armes de poing prohibées que le titulaire possède sont utilisées aux fins du tir à la cible, d'une compétition de tir ou d'une collection.

Par ailleurs, le CAF a le pouvoir, en vertu du paragraphe 15(1) du Règlement sur les clubs de tir et les champs de tir, de demander une confirmation écrite du club ou du champ de tir de « toute activité de tir à la cible ou de toute compétition de tir à laquelle a pris part, au cours des cinq dernières années, un membre […] — ancien ou actuel — […] ». Le CAF peut confirmer le motif d'acquisition indiqué par le particulier en examinant les AT qui ont été délivrées au particulier pendant la période de détention de son permis (pour le tir à la cible) ainsi que les dossiers conservés par le club ou le champ de tir.

À d'autres fins

En tant que propriétaire d'une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibée, vous êtes également tenu d'obtenir une AT pour autre chose que le tir à la cible. Par exemple, le transport d'une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibée en raison d'un changement d'adresse ou pour la vente en consignation, la réparation ou l'évaluation de l'arme.

Si vous désirez obtenir une AT dans un cas particulier, vous devez fournir les renseignements nécessaires au CAF de la province dans laquelle vous résidez, en communiquant avec lui par téléphone au 1-800-731-4000. Une fois que l'AT est accordée, une confirmation vous est envoyée.

Veuillez noter que si vous déménagez et que vous prévoyez apporter des armes à feu à autorisation restreinte et prohibées, vous devez obtenir une AT avant le déménagement. Cela permettra également de mettre à jour votre adresse et de vous communiquer les renseignements pertinents en temps opportun au sujet de la Loi sur les armes à feu. Si vous déménagez une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibée sans avoir obtenu d'AT, vous pourriez faire l'objet d'accusations en vertu du Code criminel du Canada.

Tireurs à la cible non-résidents

Si vous n'êtes pas titulaire d'un permis d'armes à feu canadien valide, la Déclaration d'armes à feu pour non-résident (formulaire GRC 5589) attestée par un agent des douanes à votre point d'entrée tient lieu d'un permis d'armes à feu pour une période maximale de 60 jours. Si vous apportez une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte au Canada, vous devrez généralement attendre d'être arrivé au Canada et d'avoir fait attester votre déclaration par un agent des douanes avant de présenter votre demande d'AT par téléphone. Vous pouvez communiquer avec tous les bureaux de CAF en composant le 1-800-731-4000, et ce, du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à 16 h 30.

Renseignements

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, contactez le PCAF.

Cette fiche a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu ainsi que leurs règlements d'application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires et les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.