Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Selling, Giving or Trading Firearms

Alternate Version

PDF version (227 KB)

When a restricted or prohibited firearm is sold, given or traded to a new owner, the registration record must be updated to reflect this transfer, and a new registration certificate issued to the new owner.

The Government of Canada amended the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act to eliminate the requirement to register non-restricted firearms as of April 5, 2012

Important Notice

Until further notice, due to ongoing litigation, Quebec residents are required to register non-restricted firearms with the Canadian Firearms Program.

Transfers within Canada

What firearms can be transferred

When transferring a non-restricted firearm, the transferor (a seller or giver) may contact the CFP and request confirmation of whether the transferee (a buyer or recipient), at the time of transfer, holds a licence authorizing them to acquire and possess that kind of firearm.

Restricted or prohibited firearms must be verified by an approved verifier if they are being transferred to a new owner and have not been previously verified. A provincial or territorial Chief Firearms Officer (CFO) must approve all transfers of restricted and prohibited firearms. Individuals may contact the CFP for more information on this process or for help to verify a firearm. An Authorization to Transport (ATT) is required to transport restricted and prohibited firearms. Call the CFP or submit form RCMP 5490 to apply. There is no fee for an ATT.

Note: Individuals who possess restricted or prohibited firearms that have not yet been registered, or any restricted or prohibited firearms that were registered under the former law, but not re-registered under the Firearms Act, are in illegal possession of those firearms. To minimize the risk of penalties, immediate steps must be taken to register these firearms or to dispose of them lawfully – for example, by turning them in to a police or firearms officer. Please do not take firearms into your local police detachment for disposal. Police must be contacted first to make suitable arrangements for the firearms to be picked up or delivered.

Who can be a transferee

In Canada, a firearm may only be transferred to one of the following:

  • an adult (18 or older) with a Possession and Acquisition Licence (PAL) that is valid for that class of firearm;
  • a business, museum, or other organization with a Firearms Business Licence; or
  • a public service agency – for example, a police force, a police academy or certain government departments or agencies.

How to transfer a firearm

Online transfers

The online service can be used to transfer restricted or prohibited firearms in the following situations:

  • a business buys from, or sells to, an individual;
  • a business buys from, or sells to, another business or museum; or
  • a business sells to a public service agency.

The business would initiate the transfer, identify either the transferee or transferor, and obtain the required information in order to complete the transfer.

Telephone transfers

Transfers of non-restricted firearms (where both residents are outside Quebec) can be conducted without contacting the CFP, as registration is no longer required for this class of firearm. The transferor is nevertheless required to verify that the transferee has a valid PAL. The transferor can call the CFP toll-free number (1-800-731-4000) to confirm the validity of the transferee's licence before making a sale.

Transfers of restricted firearms by telephone can be carried out by calling the CFP and selecting the transfer option from the menu of services. Callers should have the following information ready when they call:

  • Their full name, address and firearms licence number, if they are an individual transferor;
  • Their business licence and identification number, if they are a business transferor;
  • Their PAL number, name and address, if they are an individual transferee;
  • Their business licence and identification number, if they are a business transferee;
  • The registration certificate number and firearms identification number for the restricted firearm.

The person who initiates the transfer will be given a reference number, which must be transmitted to the other party for them to reference when they call. The CFP must speak with both parties to positively identify them before the transfer can be approved. A business may, however, identify the buyer or seller involved in the transfer.

Transfers of restricted firearms are sent to the CFO for the jurisdiction, who will review the transfer, to ensure that the transferee is acquiring the firearm for one of the permitted purposes set out in section 28 of the Firearms Act. In addition, the transferee will need to obtain an ATT to transport the firearm to its new location.

For telephone transfers of prohibited firearms, please call the CFP.

Both parties will receive a confirmation notice to advise them of the completion of the transfer, and the registration certificate will be mailed to the new owner within a few weeks.

Paper application

Form RCMP 5492 can be used for restricted and prohibited firearms. This is a two-part form. The transferor must complete one part while the new owner must complete the other. Contact the CFP to obtain a form.

Exporting firearms to another country

When a firearm is exported to someone in another country, the laws of the other country as well as the laws of Canada apply. In the United States, the laws may vary from state to state.

An export permit may be required by Canadian law or the laws of the importing country. For more information, and to apply for an export permit if needed, exporters should call the Export Control Division of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade at 1-800-267-8376.

A firearm cannot be shipped to another country by Canada Post. Instead, a carrier company licensed to transport firearms under the Firearms Act must be used.

For a restricted or prohibited firearm, proof that the firearm has been permanently exported from Canada, such as a copy of a Canadian export permit or an import document from the other country, is required to have the records changed so that the original owner is no longer listed as the registered owner. The name, address and firearms licence number, as well as the firearm's registration certificate number and firearm identification number are also required.

This information can be sent with a covering letter to the following address:

Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Canadian Firearms Program
PO Box 1200
Miramichi, New Brunswick E1N 5Z3

Non-residents with restricted firearms registered in Canada are required to notify the Registrar at the above address if they dispose of any of their registered firearms.

Information

For more information, contact the CFP.

This fact sheet is intended to provide general information only. For legal references, please refer to the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act and their corresponding regulations. Provincial, territorial and municipal laws, regulations and policies may also apply.

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Vendre, donner ou changer des armes feu

Version alternative

Version PDF (238 Ko)

Quand une arme à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibée passe à un nouveau propriétaire par vente, par don ou par échange, il faut modifier le dossier d'enregistrement en conséquence, et un certificat d<enregistrement doit être délivré au nouveau propriétaire.

Depuis le 5 avril 2012, il n'est plus nécessaire d'enregistrer les armes à feu sans restrictions, le gouvernement du Canada ayant modifié le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu en ce sens.

Avis important

Jusqu'à nouvel ordre, en raison d'une procédure judiciaire en cours, les résidents du Québec sont tenus de faire enregistrer leurs armes à feu sans restriction par le Programme canadien des armes à feu.

Cessions au Canada

Quelles armes à feu peut-on céder?

Lors de la cession d'une arme à feu sans restrictions, le cédant (vendeur ou donateur) peut communiquer avec le PCAF et lui demander de confirmer que le cessionnaire (acheteur ou personne à qui on donne une arme à feu) détient bien, au moment de la cession, un permis qui l'autorise à acquérir et à posséder ce genre d'arme à feu.

Les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibée qui passent à un nouveau propriétaire sont à faire vérifier par un vérificateur autorisé si ce n'était déjà fait. Il revient aux contrôleurs des armes à feu (CAF) provinciaux et territoriaux d'approuver toutes les cessions d'armes à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibées. On communiquera avec le PCAF si l'on a besoin de renseignements sur le processus ou encore d'aide pour faire vérifier une arme à feu. Pour transporter une arme à feu prohibée ou à autorisation restreinte, l'autorisation de transport (AT) est obligatoire. Pour en faire la demande, appelez le PCAF ou soumettez le formulaire GRC 5490. L'obtention d'une AT est gratuite.

Nota : Tout particulier qui possède des armes à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibées soit non encore enregistrées, soit enregistrées en vertu de l'ancienne loi mais non réenregistrées sous le régime de la Loi sur les armes à feu, se trouve dans l'illégalité. Pour réduire au minimum le risque de sanctions, il devra prendre immédiatement des mesures pour enregistrer ces armes ou pour s'en défaire légalement, par exemple en les remettant à un agent de police ou à un préposé aux armes à feu. Il ne faut pas se présenter sans prévenir au poste de police local pour se débarasser d'armes à feu. Il faut communiquer avec la police au préalable pour organiser la cueillette ou la livraison.

Qui peut être cessionnaire?

Au Canada, on ne peut céder une arme à feu qu'à :

  • un adulte (18 ans et plus) détenant un permis de possession et d'acquisition (PPA) valide pour la classe d'armes concernée;
  • une entreprise, un musée ou toute autre organisation détenant un permis d'armes à feu pour entreprise;
  • une agence de services publics — corps policier, école de police, certains ministères ou organismes gouvernementaux, etc.

Comment céder une arme à feu?

En ligne

On emploie le service en ligne pour les achats d'armes à feu prohibées ou à autorisation restreinte :

  • d'entreprises à particuliers, ou inversement;
  • entre entreprises ou musées;
  • d'entreprises à agences de services publics.

L'entreprise entame la cession, désigne le cessionnaire ou le cédant, et obtient l'information nécessaire pour achever la cession.

Par téléphone

Les cessions d'armes à feu sans restrictions (quand les deux parties résident à l'extérieur du Québec) peuvent se faire sans avoir à communiquer avec le PCAF, puisque l'enregistrement de cette classe d'arme à feu nMest plus requis. Toutefois, le cédant doit vérifier que le cessionnaire détient un PPA. Le cédant peut appeler le PCAF au 1-800-731-4000 (numéro sans frais) pour confirmer la validité du permis du cessionnaire avant de conclure une vente.

On peut procéder aux cessions d'armes à feu à autorisation restreinte en appelant le PCAF et en choississant l'option « cession » dans le menu des services. L'appelant doit avoir en main les renseignements suivants :

  • son nom complet, son adresse et son numéro de permis d'armes à feu, s'il est le cédant (particulier);
  • son numéro de permis d'entreprise et son numéro d'identification, si le cédant est une entreprise;
  • son numéro de PPA, son nom et adresse, s'il est le cessionnaire (particulier);
  • son numéro de permis d'entreprise et son numéro d'identification, si le cessionnaire est une entreprise;
  • son numéro de certificat d'enregistrement et le numéro d'identification de l'arme àfeu à l'autorisation restreinte.

La personne qui entame la cession recevra un numéro de référence, qui doit être transmis à l'autre partie pour qu'elle puisse le mentionner lorsqu'elle appelle le programme. Un représentant du PCAF doit parler aux deux parties pour confirmer leur identité avant d'approuver la cession. Cependant, une entreprise peut être identifier l'acheteur ou le vendeur participant à la cession.

Les cessions d'armes à feu à autorisation restreinte et prohibées sont transmises au CAF de la province ou du territoire, qui l'examinera pour vérifier que le cessionnaire acquière l'Arme à feu pour l'une des raisons autorisées qui sont prévues à l'article 28 de la Loi sur les armes à feu. DE plus, le cessionnaire devra obtenir une autorisation de transport (AT) pour transporter l'arme à feu jusqu'au nouvel empacement.

Les deux parties recevront un avis de confirmation les informant que la cession a été effectuée, et le certificat d'enregistrement sera envoyé par la poste au nouveau propriétaire dans les semaines qui suivront.

Pour des cessions par téléphone des armes à feu prohibées, veuillez contactez le PCAF.

Avec les formulaires papier

Le formulaire GRC 5492 peut être utilisé pour les armes à feu à autorisation restreinte ou prohibées. Il comporte deux parties. Le cédant doit remplir une partie et le cessionnaire doit remplir l'autre. Communiquez avec le PCAF pour obtenir un formulaire.

Exporter des armes à feu

Dans les cas d'exportation, les lois de l'autre pays s'appliquent au même titre que les lois canadiennes. Aux États-Unis, elles peuvent varier d'un État à l'autre.

Il arrivera que les lois du Canada ou de l'autre pays exigent une licence d'importation. Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires à ce sujet et, s'il y a lieu, pour demander une licence d'exportation, les exportateurs peuvent communiquer avec la Division des contrôles à l'exportation du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international au 1-800-267-8376.

On ne peut exporter aucune arme à feu par l'intermédiaire de Postes Canada. Il faut plutôt passer par un transporteur autorisé au sens de la Loi sur les armes à feu.

Dans le cas d'une arme à autorisation restreinte, la modification du dossier pour que le propriétaire initial cesse d'être le propriétaire enregistré exige une preuve (copie de la licence d'exportation canadienne ou du document d'importation étranger) que l'arme a bien été exportée du Canada pour de bon. Autres renseignements exigibles : nom, adresse, numéro de permis d'armes à feu, numéro d'enregistrement de l'arme, numéro du certificat d'enregistrement.

Tout ce qui précède s'envoie à l'adresse suivante, avec une lettre de présentation :

Gendarmerie royale du Canada
Programme canadien des armes à feu
Case postale 1200
Miramichi (Nouveau-Brunswick) E1N 5Z3

Les non-résidents qui ont des armes à feu à autorisation restreinte enregistrées au Canada doivent informer le directeur de l'enregistrement des armes à feu, en envoyant une lettre à l'adresse fournie ci‑dessus, s'ils cèdent leurs armes à feu enregistrées.

Renseignements

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, contactez le PCAF.

Cette fiche a pour but de vous fournir des renseignements généraux. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu ainsi que leurs règlements d'application. Les lois, règlements et politiques des provinces et des territoires et les règlements et politiques des municipalités peuvent également s'appliquer.